Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 269ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A must play if you're a disc golfer

1    5/13/2015   5/13/2015
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: first of all what a great course. the course winds around and through old farm land in Washington County Maryland. the first two holes are wide open giving you a chance to open up and loosen up your arms. the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with wide open spaces and fairways as well as technical shots abound.
we drove almost an hour and a half to play this course. We've played most of the courses around our area and find ourselves traveling further to play new courses. I would definitely come back to this course and would recommend it to any other disc golfer
Cons: Not too many cons when it comes to this course. Maybe concrete pads for the amateur tees but other than that not too much about this course I did not like.
Other Thoughts: we found two discs there and were able to track down one of the owners. Please remember to put your name and contact information on your discs

def worth playing!

1    5/9/2015   5/9/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 25
Pros: almost went 4.5 here. basically one tee pad per hole, but two (different color) baskets. allegedly "short" tee pads, but not really. no matter, the regular tee pads to the shorter baskets were a real treat. for those looking for more challenging pars (and more bogeys than birdies), the long baskets were all quite challenging.
overall, gorgeous course with mix of open and long shots, shorties, up hill, down hill, lefty right and plenty of tight fairways.
Cons: the growth off the path in the more rugged areas made finding discs as a solo player tricky, but not impossible.
the red baskets, which were shortER, but still challenging, were almost ALL blind once you got to the forest.
Other Thoughts: they would appear to be doing all the right things at this course :)

Very decent local course

5+    4/13/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: new4261
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course isn't too easy or too difficult. Holes vary from open to very narrow to moderately tight lines. Good for new players and more experienced alike.
Cons: Course claims to have short and long tee pads and baskets. I've never truly been able to find very many of the short tees themselves. I always just play from the same tee and depending on the day choose what baskets to go for. After the winter some of the signage isn't in the best shape and should be replaced.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun and relaxing. Difficult enough to make you try but it's not too hard that you can't go out and just throw to have a good time without being serious either.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course!

1    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of holes, tight to wide open, elevations changes, and 2 baskets per hole to pick your own adventure.It will test your game especially if you play long tees to long baskets.The long tees are the concrete pads and the short tees are marked by small flags and are natural tee boxes.
Cons: It's a tight course, with holes 1, 2, 4, and 18 being wide open. The only real con I can think of is the short tee boxes could use some permament makers.
Other Thoughts: I really like some of the pin placements, and the course will make you throw every shots you have. I'll definitely play Ditto Farms again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

1    3/14/2015   3/14/2015
Review By: Wildbuck
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love a good wooded course. Still a few longer holes to air it out on. Tight fairways and some nice uses of elevation. Despite what the internet pros might say, I like a few tee shots that involve a little luck mixed with skill. Glad there was a map file on here to download. 2 tees and pins are hole helps mix it up. Good flow throughout the course.
Cons: A few of the signs were peeling off. The shorter tees could use a little more permanent marking for them.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely stop by if I'm ever on the area again

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course, could be better

5+    11/20/2014   11/20/2014
Review By: ericfriesr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. Wide variety of shots. Decent distance.
Cons: Tight. Way too tight. I like a challenge and playing lines that I need to wok for, but c'mon. I feel like 75% of the time my shot gets trough is luck. There are plenty of big trees that are great and make you think about disc selection and paths, but there are
100+ trees that are 1-2 inches wide scattered EVERYWHERE and makes it beyond difficult. It would be much more enjoyable thinned out. Id rather strategically make shots through trees than throw and pray I make it through the super dense fairways.
Other Thoughts: Gave it a 4 because it has potential to be great. Currently it's more luck off the tee pad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A beginners adventure

1    10/9/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: chasfowler
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Again, I am speaking from the voice of a beginner in this sport. The course is very well kept. It has open fields, and wooded challenges.
Cons: Poison plants in thick bush areas...Watch out for those three leaves when picking up your disc. Sometimes hard to find a few tees for the first time out.
Other Thoughts: I am very new at this sport. I am always looking for courses where I can develop my skills in throwing the disc and playing the game. This course, I do like because it is friendly and challenging from each tee.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

1    6/11/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course starts in an open area near other park activities but quickly weaves itself in to the woods where it remains for the most part until the end when it pops back out. There's one pad and two permanent pins on every hole.

The multiple pins are well placed and do a good job of changing the shot. The longer pin is tucked back in a few places or just longer but nicely placed so you can still make the shot in most cases; unlike some other courses I've played.

There's a really nice mix of hole and shot types throughout the course. The blend of open holes thrown in offsets some of the tight technical shots that play out over short but steeper elevation changes in the trees. A few holes play from more open areas in to tighter wooded gaps and that also adds a nice change of pace in a few areas. The more open holes are mostly straight bomber holes that let you just rip.

Nice mix of longer and shorter holes too; as the course plays now there are several higher par holes including a few that are closer to par 3 in length but due to the tight gaps play more like multi shot holes. This adds an element of not only gap hitting but placement to the course which I thought was a nice touch.

You'll need to be able to really work a disc to score well here as well as keeping it on the tight lines. There's many holes where the course forces you to throw driver due to low canopy height and length over elevation. Really pushes you to get out of your comfort zone on a few holes.

Some holes offer multiple paths which is another nice touch, the course in the woods can be tight but does allow some creativity in your shot shaping.

There's a good many really fun holes on this course especially as it closes out. Some really interesting green areas add to the mix and I found my round here extremely enjoyable and challenging at the same time.

Equipment - Nice large and level concrete teepads on the longs as well as signs. Two baskets per hole that are color coded and pretty new. Practice basket near the parking lot with scorecards/maps within.

Atmosphere - The course starts in an area right beside other park activities and finishes there but once you get past the first few holes you get in to some real seclusion which is nice. The open holes at the beginning/end have some sparse small rocks embedded in the ground and gives it almost a links feel to it.
Cons: Layout - - Some of the holes in the woods are a bit too tight at present. There's a few angles on some holes that aren't very realistic either. They looked like really solid holes that needed to just be cleared out more and we ran in to some people involved with the course which gave us the impression they're slowly ironing out how to proceed.
Beyond that there's one or two holes I found a bit less than par for the course however overall I don't really have any complaints with the design.
One of the bigger cons was how thick the shule can be in some places due to the course being pretty new. It's got some growing pains but I think with play a lot of what's wrong with it will be ironed out.

Equipment - Short pads are natural and there no signs there. Not really a con for me but if you're a newer player that affects you.

Atmosphere - - Nothing major here except the shule as I mentioned before, made for a few long disc searches. There's some brier in parts as well but that's nothing out of the ordinary.

Other Thoughts: I had a good time at this course and definitely recommend people to stop and play it if you're in the area. I think once it breaks in and the people involved iron out all the kinks it'll be a gem. It's one of those times that solid land and good design came together.

Watch out for the hole on hole 9

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course

1    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 38  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of variety. Some open holes, some forested, some long, some short. Most holes are very fair and give you a chance to do some good shots without being too easy The scenery is nice and the park is decent. The woods are not too thick compared to most around the region. Current layout is nice and simple, long baskets and short baskets.
Cons: I had some trouble finding the start because there is a practice basket near the parking lot that isn't really close to the hole 1 tee. The signs are out dated and the measurements are not accurate. They claim to have multiple tees but I never found any. A few spots can be a little dense and a risk for losing a disc. Finding the baskets will likely require a walk down the fairway when playing the first time.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have seen in Maryland. I recommend playing here. Once you play through and get familiar with the holes, this course is hard to criticize. I you're playing here for the first time, Hole 1 tee is at the top of the hill near the playground and the houses. and the Hole 4 basket is at the other end of the field. (yes its that long)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oh, so close!!!

1    5/22/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in nice, well kept local park. Scorecards and maps at practice basket. Nice touch.

Tee pads, signs and upkeep all very nice. Maintenance seems top notch. Grass was mowed short, and there was virtually no trash anywhere on course. Pretty nice, and very rare. Well done Hagerstown.

Nice variety. There are some nice long, open holes, and some very tight technical holes. Most of course is tight and wooded, but there is a few chances to really throw whatever you'd like.

Baskets were all in great shape. Basket positions were all pretty well done. When possible they were near slopes, on elevated areas or placed just the right distance from protective trees. Nothing too brutal, but nice touches.

Hole length variety from 766' to 211'. Course forces you to use all your shots. And that says a lot about a course.

Several multi path holes. Holes 6, 14 and 15 stand out as places where you have a couple options on how to approach the hole. These type of holes add some challenge and fun to the game. And make playing the course more interesting over a longer period of time.

Design does a great job of keeping course and players away from houses and play areas. Well done.
Cons: Man I so wanted to absolutely love this course. It is clean, varied and challenging. But every time it was close to greatness some minor flaw or angle crushed my spirit. Here's my examples:

Hole 5 - Nice little 211' ace run. But the tree on the right side hasn't been trimmed blocking any chance at an ace. Forced to lay up for a drop in two. Unless you can throw a roller and make it bounce in the basket!

Holes 9 and 10 were more luck than design. If there were about 1 strategic tree removed to open up a chance at a shot it would play totally different. As it stands it is either a lot of luck or play short and take what you can get.

16 felt a little tight off the tee which seemed to take away from the cool approach and basket area. The angle just doesn't quite work.

Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really nice course. There were several holes that would fit in the best of a John Houck or Stan McDaniel course. And that says a lot. I loved playing 14 and 15 back to back. 14 was really good, and 15 is exceptional. A nice downhill tee shot and a winding fairway on a 452' hole. Just gorgeous. 14 has multiple paths to the basket and a basket position atop a small steep hill. Fun stuff.

With a good handsaw, a pair of loppers and a couple hours this could be an even better course than it already is. And if I had them with me I would have gone to work. Because this course as good as it is, has more in the tank. But it is still more than worthy of your time if you are nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.