Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 223ft.   3 / 199ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Two for Two

1    10/1/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 356  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course in a public park. With two sets of tees and two sets of targets on every hole, this course provides a ton of variety and elevation changes. The course plays through open park land as well as an undeveloped and wooded area of the park. I played this course as part of a disc golf trip to 12 states in 12 days. This was the only course I played in the state of Maryland.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Challenge and Variety
This course has it all. It will challenge top players and provide variety for all skills of players. It has open holes and wooded holes, There is elevation in play as well. The Blue Course (long tees to Gold targets) is the longest and most difficult layout while the Red Course (short tees to Red pins) is the shortest for new players.


Born Together
Some two target/two tee courses play like they put another target or tee to change up the original design. On many dual target/dual tee courses it is obvious that the second tee or second target was an afterthought. After playing a few holes at Ditto Farm, it seemed that both sets of tees and both sets of targets were designed and installed together as they compliment each other well. All of the possible course layouts look smart and purposeful. Multiple options provide not just a longer tees or a trickier target locations, but often completely different routes with completely different challenges.


No confusion here
Navigation is a breeze no matter which layout you choose to play. Every tee has a sign that shows the locations of the pins as well as an arrow to the next tee. I played a few multiple tee/pin courses on this trip and some were completely confusing. Thankfully Ditto Farms was well thought out and there is very little confusion as to the location of your target or the way to your next tee. While I did not play both layouts completely, I did walk to both sets of tee and targets to take photos.

18, 36, 54 or 72 Holes
Ditto Farms is an 18 hole course that could technically be considered four different courses. There are 18 Yellow targets and 18 Red targets. There are an endless number of courses because of this unique design. I played a mix for the first few holes, then played long tees to the Yellow targets. This is the Blue layout and it has a lot of distance, variety and elevation in play. Accuracy is rewarded at Ditto Farms. No matter which layout you play, this course requires players to execute proper shots to score well.

Two Tees
Each hole has two large concrete tees. The tee areas are well maintained. Each tee has a separate tee sign. Each tee sign includes distances from that tee and also shows all the pin locations, the other tee and direction to the next tee.


No Smoking
At least there is no smoking in the wooded area of the park as there are signs posted. Not sure if you can smoke in the park. One great thing about no smoking is the lack of cigarettes butts on the course. I appreciate that.

Free
There is no charge to enter the park or play the course.

Not Disc Golf Exclusive
This course is in a giant community park with playgrounds and soccer fields. Part of the course is right next to private back yards and part of this course borders a ball golf course. While the course is set properly away from the other activities, players will have to watch out for the occasional runner or dog walker. I played this course super early on a Saturday and was surprised to have to wait for some dog owners to walk across the open fairways on 4 and 18.

All 18 in a row

Once you leave the parking area, you will not return to this area of the park until you after Hole 18. Plan to take all the water and supplies you need for the entire round. Luckily the park is very compact and the design does not require a lot of walking between holes. I had plenty of energy to play a second round.


Split personality
I love fun and challenging courses, but I also appreciate courses with a unique vibe and personality. While most of the park is a traditional developed park setting there is a nice "undeveloped" park area used for holes 5 through 17. This part of the course makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere even though you are in the middle of someone's neighborhood and not out in the country. I felt relaxed and challenged at the same time. I just wish there was this much personality on the rest of the course.

Restrooms
There is a full service restroom with running water next to the parking lot and practice basket. There were no other restrooms or portables on the course, but there were at least a couple of opportunities for privacy on the wooded holes.

Kids, Carts and Strollers
Except for a couple of holes in the woods, you should have no problem bringing a cart. Not sure you would want to push a stroller with kids in ti through the thick grass on some of the fairways. Kids will have no problem walking along the terrain. There is a big playground and restrooms with running water before you reach the first tee. You will play all 18 holes before you return to the parking lot. You could also play a short 5 hole layout with the kids. Play 1 through 4 and walk over and play Hole 18 back.

Bugs and Poison Ivy
I played on in a light rain and didn't notice any bugs. There is poison ivy in the woods, take precautions if you are affected.
Cons:
Personality
While the course does have challenge and variety, it is set in a regular public park. It was missing that wow factor that makes it memorable.

Public Park
Even though this course is mostly in the undeveloped area of the park, there is the chance for other park users to walk onto the course. Be mindful and cautious when other park users are present.
Other Thoughts:
Allow time
If you decide to play this course, allow yourself the time to play it twice on your visit. Play the first time through on one layout, take a break and switch it up for the second round. This course is all about variety and you should take the time to enjoy what it does best.


Bookends
On the first day of my journey to play 12 States and 12 Days, the first course I played had two targets and two tees. Ditto Farms was the final course on my journey. Like the first course, Ditto also had two targets and two tees on every hole. During this trip I played at least 6 courses with multiple tees and targets. I will say tat Ditto Farms was the most thoughtfully designed of these multi tee/target courses.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

great course with 2 baskets and 2 tees

1    9/21/2016   9/30/2016
Review By: discNDav
Played: 340  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 30.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a very well maintained suburban park! Everything in the park looked new including the DGC!

Two sets of cement tees and 2 baskets on all 18 holes, red (short) and yellow (long) allows 4 different possible ways to play each hole. Outstanding tee signs at each tee (long and short).

A few long to long holes are par 4.

Starts out very open but has 15 wooded holes. Wood chipped areas around the tees and in places along the fairways or around the baskets.

Great use of elevation, I didn't expect it after entering the woods.

Indoor rest rooms.

Close to the highway, within 5 minutes of I-70.
Cons: Where to start the course is not marked well. I saw both #1 baskets but it took a few minutes before locating the tee(s) to the right and uphill from both the restroom building and then pavilion.

Two of the tighter wooded holes seemed repetitive, #11 and #12?
Other Thoughts: The practice basket is not near hole #1.

Print the map from here, it's excellent.

I usually rate courses slightly lower than their average but in this case it's one of the few I rated higher than it's average, it's that good! I will be back even though it's 3 hrs from me.



7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    7/16/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: rvnash
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great options, easy, medium1, medium2, and hard on each hole. You can choose which "course" to play on any given day, or hole-by-hole. I was tired when I arrived, so I played the easiest, and it was great fun.
Well tended. Baskets, tees and fairways in great condition. Every placement of tee pad and pin has a line or two that will work. Look at the signs. Well designed in that sense, like someone really thought that through. I really liked the hole where the easy basket is up against a cliff face, and the hard basket is above it on top of the cliff. Clever.
Cons: Tee boxes could be a bit longer for me, but probably fine for most.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't very crowded on a Sunday afternoon, mid summer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Get in the woods

5+    3/10/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got to play this course before it had tees and got to watch it grow into a wonderful place to play. Whoever maintains it has done a great job of clearing areas and getting tees in and signs. There are two pins for each hole and I'm pretty sure two tees each hole. Mostly wooded, it has all different shots to play. There are good elevations and tunnel shots and all different types of shots are necessary to put up a decent score. The long to long setup is challenging for pros and intermediate players, but the short ones are great for beginners. It has grown into a very fun course to play, having watched it build up from the beginning
Cons: You can lose discs. Since it's all in the woods I always have two or three hairy times trying to find a getaway that hit a tree or something. There are a couple places that are a "that's not comin back" situation. Although I think I've always brought all discs back, I know lots of people that have lost them so throw the ones you don't love the most. Some of the short to short are very short, but obviously you don't have to play those if you don't want

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Design

1    1/15/2016   1/15/2016
Review By: MikeK
Played: 246  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 21.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With two sets of baskets and two sets of tees, Ditto Farms has a layout for everyone from total newbies up to top-tier professionals. There's a variety of open, short, tight, long, hyzer, anhyzer, uphill and downhill looks throughout the place. The grass in the open areas is well maintained, the concrete pads are nice and flush to the ground and have good grip, and the baskets are Innova Pro 28s that catch very well. One interesting feature to me, was that it seemed like the further I got into the course, the better the holes got. I like that in a course. This course is also only about two miles off of Interstate 70, so it's not too difficult to find. Nice view of distant mountain on hole 8, and a cool finishing hole that plays up,up,up to the long basket. There's also a practice basket by the parking lot.
Cons: The cons I list are all pretty nitpicky; they didn't really bother me, but some people might get bothered by them.

No benches, some nasty thorns here and there, and in the dead of winter it is a bit muddy even several days after a rain. Wear shoes with good traction, because the slickness of the hillsides combined with steep trails in a couple places could result in a fall if you're not careful. There's also not a water hole on the course (again this is pretty nitpicky).
Other Thoughts: I think the only thing that keeps me from rating this course a 5 is that there just isn't one hole out there that I would call "epic", although 14,15, and 18 are memorable. This is certainly a great place to hold a tournament.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ditto

1    12/30/2015   12/30/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a great course that starts out in the open, but then works it's way deep into the woods. Two Discatcher baskets per hole allows you to play a different course every time. The short tees are perfect for beginners, and the long tee giving a good challenge to the even more advanced players. The tee pads were all concrete, for both short tees and longs. The holes are challenging enough, but nothing is unfair. There were multiple ace runs, but few shots that were easily executed. The holes were not repetitive, meaning their was a new drive, approach, and putt on each hole. I enjoyed the mix of holes when playing 2nd tees to Yellow Basket. There was only one dull hole, a long open par 5, but the green was nicely protected.
Cons: There was only one tee sign per hole, meaning if you were playing short tees and wanted to know distances, you would have to find the long tees. There was no Out of Bounds which made the course not incredibly challenging. The biggest con was that I only had time to play once.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play while I was travelling to Baltimore. I was only able to play this one, but I know there were many nice courses near here with Seneca Creek and Patapsco Valley.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Most Fun Farm I've Been Too

1    5/11/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 129  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 4.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a very well-designed park course that offers a great mix of holes. It's a diverse community park that offers chances to open up and throw long bombs as well as opportunities to thread tight lines in the woods. There are plenty of amenities here and it is a good park to take your family to with a huge parking area, multiple bathrooms and playgrounds, and soccer fields nearby. The course starts past the practice basket and playgrounds near the property fence.

It starts out feeling like your ordinary park course but then takes you through a unique setting in the woods. The open shots on 1 and 2 allow for an opportunity to warm up for the woods, with most of the rest of the course navigating through this part of the park. 4 and 18 also give you opportunities to open up, which definitely helps the course feel more complete with a nice variety of woodenness. The open holes aren't just simple par 3's either, with two of them being over 600 feet from the longs and two more approaching a protected basket.

That said, the real place where Ditto Farms shines is in the woods. This part is thoughtfully designed and offers a great variety even within its wooded setting. Playing through my round, I felt that no two holes were too similar and there are some really cool, unique greens incorporated in this part of the course. Pins are often set among a tight patch of trees and sometimes on top of a rock face.

While there aren't any extreme elevation changes, there is still good incorporation of elevation on numerous holes. 6 is a nice multi-stage, slightly uphill hole and 9, 13, and 15 are really fun downhill shots.

There is a great replayability quality here. One aspect is due to the multiple routes offered on a hole, on many of the holes. The greatest contributor to this, though, is having the two permanent baskets per hole. The different pin positions do a tremendous job of changing up the hole, with the reds always being a little shorter and usually with a slightly easier approach. However, the two locations mostly just do a great job of changing the look of the hole, giving variety to the type of drive needed and to the approach.

Navigation is pretty simple, usually offering short walks from tee to basket. The tee signs are also great in aiding navigation, giving a very detailed map of the hole and even displaying nearby baskets and tees. This really helps negate the possible confusion due to holes being packed closely together in spots. Navigation is physically aided as well with steps carved into a few of the hills.

While it is hard to hit all of your lines due to the tight nature of the course, recovering from a bad shot is fair and offers the player chances to save par. Not too many pitch outs needed here.
Cons: Probably the biggest con to the course - which isn't even that big of a deal - is the thick growth in the woods due to it being a relatively new course. None of it was black hole-level rough, just the annoyance of sometimes having taller grass in the fairways and weeds/growth right off the fairway. The open parts of the course were in pristine shape when I played, but this part seems to get overlooked in maintenance - to some extent.

While there are shorter tees, they are hard to find and seemingly nonexistent on some of the holes. Pink flags mark them but they were not always in maintained areas either. Having two permanent pins helps negate this problem a little bit, but even the red baskets are a challenge from the long tees. It wouldn't be disastrous for a beginner to play here, but this isn't the best course to take one to either.

I can definitely see the argument for some of the fairways being too thick, but I didn't feel that this was a constant problem. Most of the course was well carved out within the woods and offered challenging but fair shots.
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms would challenge even some of the top players to hit their lines. This is very good woods golf that presents a nice variety of hole lengths and pars. The pictures - as usual for a tightly wooded course - don't do it justice. There is some very interesting design with great shot variety and cool pin locations. A lot of work has clearly gone into designing this course and clearing out a lot of trees. I think the course would appeal to a wide variety of players - a great test of accuracy without being too punishing.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wooded beast!

1    5/5/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 7/7/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. This is a nice course. Well maintained with 2 baskets per hole and pretty good tee pads. Starts open then gets into the thick stuff! Imtr resting shot variety from open to wooded, as well as into the woods from open, and visa versa. This is a challenging course for an intermediate player like myself, but rewards good shot and disc selection as well as accuracy. I played on a Friday morning with 3 other groups playing and it never felt rushed or crowded. Very secluded feeling.

Update: I have played this course several more times since my initial review. The more I play it the more I find myself challenged to make good decisions. The long tees on some holes are a little easier, with more direct lines to the basket, while on others are long and technical. Smart play is the name of the game here, with a good mix of holes that will challenge every shot you have, and even make you learn a new one or two. Best course in this area of maryland.
Cons: Some holes could use a small amount of thinkng in my opinion. I like wooded courses, especially ones like this that are well thought out with lines of play considered on each hole, but some of the newer growth (last 1-3 years probably) seems out of place. At times a very young branch or sapling interferes with what seems to be an intended window of play. Hole maps show 2 pads and 2 baskets per hole but I didn't see the 2nd pad sets. The signs also have color coded "lines of play" indicated for all 4 possible tee/pin combos and is a little confusing at times as the colored lines don't match from hole to hole.

Update: I would really like the short tees to be concrete like th long ones. It looks like they may have that planned for the future as the areas where these tees are have been cleared a bit more and re flagged. Poison ivy has set in in many places, but this is pretty typical for the east coast woods. Gets a bit soggy after a hard rain, making some of the holes really slick and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really cool course. I will play it again, and again, and probably again! The more I play this course, and the more my game improves, the more I like it. Would have gotten a 4.5 if the short tees were as good as the long tees. Super diverse course with lots of fun factor.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must play if you're a disc golfer

1    5/13/2015   5/13/2015
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: first of all what a great course. the course winds around and through old farm land in Washington County Maryland. the first two holes are wide open giving you a chance to open up and loosen up your arms. the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with wide open spaces and fairways as well as technical shots abound.
we drove almost an hour and a half to play this course. We've played most of the courses around our area and find ourselves traveling further to play new courses. I would definitely come back to this course and would recommend it to any other disc golfer
Cons: Not too many cons when it comes to this course. Maybe concrete pads for the amateur tees but other than that not too much about this course I did not like.
Other Thoughts: we found two discs there and were able to track down one of the owners. Please remember to put your name and contact information on your discs

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

def worth playing!

1    5/9/2015   5/9/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: almost went 4.5 here. basically one tee pad per hole, but two (different color) baskets. allegedly "short" tee pads, but not really. no matter, the regular tee pads to the shorter baskets were a real treat. for those looking for more challenging pars (and more bogeys than birdies), the long baskets were all quite challenging.
overall, gorgeous course with mix of open and long shots, shorties, up hill, down hill, lefty right and plenty of tight fairways.
Cons: the growth off the path in the more rugged areas made finding discs as a solo player tricky, but not impossible.
the red baskets, which were shortER, but still challenging, were almost ALL blind once you got to the forest.
Other Thoughts: they would appear to be doing all the right things at this course :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.