Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #18 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 203ft.   4 / 400ft.   3 / 301ft.   4 / 620ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A beginners adventure

1    10/9/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: chasfowler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Again, I am speaking from the voice of a beginner in this sport. The course is very well kept. It has open fields, and wooded challenges.
Cons: Poison plants in thick bush areas...Watch out for those three leaves when picking up your disc. Sometimes hard to find a few tees for the first time out.
Other Thoughts: I am very new at this sport. I am always looking for courses where I can develop my skills in throwing the disc and playing the game. This course, I do like because it is friendly and challenging from each tee.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

1    6/11/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course starts in an open area near other park activities but quickly weaves itself in to the woods where it remains for the most part until the end when it pops back out. There's one pad and two permanent pins on every hole.

The multiple pins are well placed and do a good job of changing the shot. The longer pin is tucked back in a few places or just longer but nicely placed so you can still make the shot in most cases; unlike some other courses I've played.

There's a really nice mix of hole and shot types throughout the course. The blend of open holes thrown in offsets some of the tight technical shots that play out over short but steeper elevation changes in the trees. A few holes play from more open areas in to tighter wooded gaps and that also adds a nice change of pace in a few areas. The more open holes are mostly straight bomber holes that let you just rip.

Nice mix of longer and shorter holes too; as the course plays now there are several higher par holes including a few that are closer to par 3 in length but due to the tight gaps play more like multi shot holes. This adds an element of not only gap hitting but placement to the course which I thought was a nice touch.

You'll need to be able to really work a disc to score well here as well as keeping it on the tight lines. There's many holes where the course forces you to throw driver due to low canopy height and length over elevation. Really pushes you to get out of your comfort zone on a few holes.

Some holes offer multiple paths which is another nice touch, the course in the woods can be tight but does allow some creativity in your shot shaping.

There's a good many really fun holes on this course especially as it closes out. Some really interesting green areas add to the mix and I found my round here extremely enjoyable and challenging at the same time.

Equipment - Nice large and level concrete teepads on the longs as well as signs. Two baskets per hole that are color coded and pretty new. Practice basket near the parking lot with scorecards/maps within.

Atmosphere - The course starts in an area right beside other park activities and finishes there but once you get past the first few holes you get in to some real seclusion which is nice. The open holes at the beginning/end have some sparse small rocks embedded in the ground and gives it almost a links feel to it.
Cons: Layout - - Some of the holes in the woods are a bit too tight at present. There's a few angles on some holes that aren't very realistic either. They looked like really solid holes that needed to just be cleared out more and we ran in to some people involved with the course which gave us the impression they're slowly ironing out how to proceed.
Beyond that there's one or two holes I found a bit less than par for the course however overall I don't really have any complaints with the design.
One of the bigger cons was how thick the shule can be in some places due to the course being pretty new. It's got some growing pains but I think with play a lot of what's wrong with it will be ironed out.

Equipment - Short pads are natural and there no signs there. Not really a con for me but if you're a newer player that affects you.

Atmosphere - - Nothing major here except the shule as I mentioned before, made for a few long disc searches. There's some brier in parts as well but that's nothing out of the ordinary.

Other Thoughts: I had a good time at this course and definitely recommend people to stop and play it if you're in the area. I think once it breaks in and the people involved iron out all the kinks it'll be a gem. It's one of those times that solid land and good design came together.

Watch out for the hole on hole 9

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course

1    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of variety. Some open holes, some forested, some long, some short. Most holes are very fair and give you a chance to do some good shots without being too easy The scenery is nice and the park is decent. The woods are not too thick compared to most around the region. Current layout is nice and simple, long baskets and short baskets.
Cons: I had some trouble finding the start because there is a practice basket near the parking lot that isn't really close to the hole 1 tee. The signs are out dated and the measurements are not accurate. They claim to have multiple tees but I never found any. A few spots can be a little dense and a risk for losing a disc. Finding the baskets will likely require a walk down the fairway when playing the first time.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I have seen in Maryland. I recommend playing here. Once you play through and get familiar with the holes, this course is hard to criticize. I you're playing here for the first time, Hole 1 tee is at the top of the hill near the playground and the houses. and the Hole 4 basket is at the other end of the field. (yes its that long)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oh, so close!!!

1    5/22/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in nice, well kept local park. Scorecards and maps at practice basket. Nice touch.

Tee pads, signs and upkeep all very nice. Maintenance seems top notch. Grass was mowed short, and there was virtually no trash anywhere on course. Pretty nice, and very rare. Well done Hagerstown.

Nice variety. There are some nice long, open holes, and some very tight technical holes. Most of course is tight and wooded, but there is a few chances to really throw whatever you'd like.

Baskets were all in great shape. Basket positions were all pretty well done. When possible they were near slopes, on elevated areas or placed just the right distance from protective trees. Nothing too brutal, but nice touches.

Hole length variety from 766' to 211'. Course forces you to use all your shots. And that says a lot about a course.

Several multi path holes. Holes 6, 14 and 15 stand out as places where you have a couple options on how to approach the hole. These type of holes add some challenge and fun to the game. And make playing the course more interesting over a longer period of time.

Design does a great job of keeping course and players away from houses and play areas. Well done.
Cons: Man I so wanted to absolutely love this course. It is clean, varied and challenging. But every time it was close to greatness some minor flaw or angle crushed my spirit. Here's my examples:

Hole 5 - Nice little 211' ace run. But the tree on the right side hasn't been trimmed blocking any chance at an ace. Forced to lay up for a drop in two. Unless you can throw a roller and make it bounce in the basket!

Holes 9 and 10 were more luck than design. If there were about 1 strategic tree removed to open up a chance at a shot it would play totally different. As it stands it is either a lot of luck or play short and take what you can get.

16 felt a little tight off the tee which seemed to take away from the cool approach and basket area. The angle just doesn't quite work.

Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really nice course. There were several holes that would fit in the best of a John Houck or Stan McDaniel course. And that says a lot. I loved playing 14 and 15 back to back. 14 was really good, and 15 is exceptional. A nice downhill tee shot and a winding fairway on a 452' hole. Just gorgeous. 14 has multiple paths to the basket and a basket position atop a small steep hill. Fun stuff.

With a good handsaw, a pair of loppers and a couple hours this could be an even better course than it already is. And if I had them with me I would have gone to work. Because this course as good as it is, has more in the tank. But it is still more than worthy of your time if you are nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

More of the Same, Please

5+    3/22/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two baskets (red short, yellow long) per hole.

Two tee locations (long-n-wide-flat concrete, with signs, at the longs, currently natural and signless at the shorts).

Variety - quite tight to wide open, and everything in-between; frequent elevation changes; variable lengths.
Cons:
A few of the wooded throwing lanes devolve into random chaos at the midpoint.

Dangerous (somewhat) down-up-down walking / future erosion issues for the ridge which hosts tees 13 and 15, and basket 14.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set at the back of a moderate-sized multi-purpose park, with food/petrol options available nearby on route 40. Starting and ending on a grassy hillside, where you may have to wait occasionally for a non-discing park user (kite flyers the last time we were there), the bulk (5-17) of the course is located in a wooded ridge, well away from most non-players. While the footprint of this wooded ridge isn't overly large, the fairways/throwing lanes don't overlap - very well designed, and easy to navigate.

In addition to the variety that two baskets/two tees offers a player, the course's greatest strength is its variety of elevation changes - roughly 1/3rd each for up/down /flat, with some elevation changes being constant the entire length of the fairway, while others happen early/middle/late in the fairway/throwing lane. While (initially) straight off the tee will serve you well on most holes, lefts or rights, typically later in the flight, will be needed on a good number of holes.

Favourite hole: too close to call between #14 and #15.
+ Number-14 gives you a choice of throwing either a left- or right-turning shot from the tee down moderate-sized fairways, with scattered trees towards the end. While the short basket sits at the bottom of a small cliff, the long basket is atop it, with a couple of large trees preventing it from being easily approached.
+ Number-15's tee sits atop the ridge, with hardwoods scattered below. Initially straight, then left, for both baskets, continuing far to the left for the short basket, but changing course to the right then straight to find the long basket.

The ~150 mile stretch of I81, from Creekside (Camp Hill, PA) to Signal View (Maurertown, VA) boasts many fine course, with Ditto Farms (Hagerstown, MD) at the approximate midpoint, and arguably the best of the strong bunch - remember this stretch of I81 (VA-WV-MD-PA) for your next road trip!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ditto the Black Rock

1    12/28/2013   3/28/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Championship style 18 hole course with 4 playable layouts for each hole. Dual tees, concrete at the long tees, currently natural short tees, and dual Discatcher baskets on each hole, red baskets are short and yellow are long. Great variety of hole distances and fairway shapes with a couple par 4s. Nice tee signs and navigation is fairly easy. Excellent use of the rolling elevation and terrain providing some unique holes and challenges and a lot of fun. Nice mix of mostly woods and some open areas. Some of the baskets are on fast greens and protected by trees or ridges or in ground bunkers. Restrooms on site although they appear to be locked in the winter. Playground.
Cons: Just some nit picking... Poison ivy, it is not bad now, but there was a lot of eradication which has led to some extra muddy fairways during the snow melt. The course plays close to neighbors yards the first few holes. A couple of holes didn't have a legit "fairway" so to speak.
Other Thoughts: Ditto is easily one of my favorite courses in MD, right on par with Seneca Creek and Patapsco, but they are all quite different from each other. Ditto has more interesting elevation changes and unique terrain features that gives it a higher fun factor IMO. Ditto is quite suitable for beginners with the short tees and baskets and little worry about losing discs. Pros are going to love this course as well from the long tees to the long baskets with it's fast greens and technical shots as well as a couple bombs. With Whispering Falls only 20 minutes away this area is becoming a hot bed of great golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This Will Be Great

1    4/25/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Crooow
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new Innova Discatchers. Practice basket is yellow - most others are red which make them easier to spot. Two baskets on every hole. Played from the long tees - nice variety of hole lengths. A few long open holes but mostly medium or short technical holes through the woods. Fairways have been cleared of large trees. Good variety of shapes - you can use all your throws here. The park is beautiful and has lots of parking and has restrooms. Back nine features one great hole after another - loved #10, #13, #14, #15 in particular. First hole is wide open; second is mostly open which allows you to get some warmup. Number #4 is 766 feet of wide open for those who like to show off their big arm. It had rained a little the previous evening but the only wet spot was the grass leading up to the 18th tee.
Cons: Navigation was tricky even with the map but that is a 1-time only problem. Hole #1 is too close to where people hang out and play. Number #4 is 766 feet of wide open which won't be fun for smaller arms. No trash cans or next tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I revisited again and have updated my review and well as increased my rating. People have put a lot of work into it and it is a proud addition to the I-81 corridor (it will remind you of Whispering Falls and Poor House Farm but prettier than either of those). When I got to #10, I thought "This will be my favorite hole" - long and straight but narrow and slightly downhill. Then I got to #13 and thought "No, this is it" - big downhill through the woods with scattered trees (plus I deuced it). Then I played #14 - uphill with the basket perched up on a ledge that forces you to land your disc nearby for a par - awesome. Then I played #15 - throw off that same ledge and curve it along the valley with scattered trees to a basket at the edge of the thicker woods. #18 finishes uphill with a 584-foot job that actually wasn't as hard as that sounds.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/8/2013 Designer Response by: ferretdance03
We are still in the very early stages with the course. Signage along with two concrete tees per hole will hopefully be installed by Fall 2013. A temporary signage solution is being worked on as we speak. We are expecting the second set of baskets, to give us a permanent short/long layout late 2013, early 2014. The county is doing their best to keep up with mowing/ivy eradication. Keep in mind they also are responsible for many multi-use facilities throughout the county as well as baseball, soccer and lacrosse fields. Trash cans, benches and next tee signs have been on our list since the start. Not sure we can help you with the insects though.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.