Hagerstown, MD 
Ditto Farms DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 364ft.   3 / 368ft.   3 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Get in the woods

5+    3/10/2016   5/14/2016
Review By: ramonstone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got to play this course before it had tees and got to watch it grow into a wonderful place to play. Whoever maintains it has done a great job of clearing areas and getting tees in and signs. There are two pins for each hole and I'm pretty sure two tees each hole. Mostly wooded, it has all different shots to play. There are good elevations and tunnel shots and all different types of shots are necessary to put up a decent score. The long to long setup is challenging for pros and intermediate players, but the short ones are great for beginners. It has grown into a very fun course to play, having watched it build up from the beginning
Cons: You can lose discs. Since it's all in the woods I always have two or three hairy times trying to find a getaway that hit a tree or something. There are a couple places that are a "that's not comin back" situation. Although I think I've always brought all discs back, I know lots of people that have lost them so throw the ones you don't love the most. Some of the short to short are very short, but obviously you don't have to play those if you don't want

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Design

1    1/15/2016   1/15/2016
Review By: MikeK
Played: 224  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 21.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With two sets of baskets and two sets of tees, Ditto Farms has a layout for everyone from total newbies up to top-tier professionals. There's a variety of open, short, tight, long, hyzer, anhyzer, uphill and downhill looks throughout the place. The grass in the open areas is well maintained, the concrete pads are nice and flush to the ground and have good grip, and the baskets are Innova Pro 28s that catch very well. One interesting feature to me, was that it seemed like the further I got into the course, the better the holes got. I like that in a course. This course is also only about two miles off of Interstate 70, so it's not too difficult to find. Nice view of distant mountain on hole 8, and a cool finishing hole that plays up,up,up to the long basket. There's also a practice basket by the parking lot.
Cons: The cons I list are all pretty nitpicky; they didn't really bother me, but some people might get bothered by them.

No benches, some nasty thorns here and there, and in the dead of winter it is a bit muddy even several days after a rain. Wear shoes with good traction, because the slickness of the hillsides combined with steep trails in a couple places could result in a fall if you're not careful. There's also not a water hole on the course (again this is pretty nitpicky).
Other Thoughts: I think the only thing that keeps me from rating this course a 5 is that there just isn't one hole out there that I would call "epic", although 14,15, and 18 are memorable. This is certainly a great place to hold a tournament.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ditto

1    12/30/2015   12/30/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a great course that starts out in the open, but then works it's way deep into the woods. Two Discatcher baskets per hole allows you to play a different course every time. The short tees are perfect for beginners, and the long tee giving a good challenge to the even more advanced players. The tee pads were all concrete, for both short tees and longs. The holes are challenging enough, but nothing is unfair. There were multiple ace runs, but few shots that were easily executed. The holes were not repetitive, meaning their was a new drive, approach, and putt on each hole. I enjoyed the mix of holes when playing 2nd tees to Yellow Basket. There was only one dull hole, a long open par 5, but the green was nicely protected.
Cons: There was only one tee sign per hole, meaning if you were playing short tees and wanted to know distances, you would have to find the long tees. There was no Out of Bounds which made the course not incredibly challenging. The biggest con was that I only had time to play once.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play while I was travelling to Baltimore. I was only able to play this one, but I know there were many nice courses near here with Seneca Creek and Patapsco Valley.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Most Fun Farm I've Been Too

1    5/11/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 118  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 3.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ditto Farms is a very well-designed park course that offers a great mix of holes. It's a diverse community park that offers chances to open up and throw long bombs as well as opportunities to thread tight lines in the woods. There are plenty of amenities here and it is a good park to take your family to with a huge parking area, multiple bathrooms and playgrounds, and soccer fields nearby. The course starts past the practice basket and playgrounds near the property fence.

It starts out feeling like your ordinary park course but then takes you through a unique setting in the woods. The open shots on 1 and 2 allow for an opportunity to warm up for the woods, with most of the rest of the course navigating through this part of the park. 4 and 18 also give you opportunities to open up, which definitely helps the course feel more complete with a nice variety of woodenness. The open holes aren't just simple par 3's either, with two of them being over 600 feet from the longs and two more approaching a protected basket.

That said, the real place where Ditto Farms shines is in the woods. This part is thoughtfully designed and offers a great variety even within its wooded setting. Playing through my round, I felt that no two holes were too similar and there are some really cool, unique greens incorporated in this part of the course. Pins are often set among a tight patch of trees and sometimes on top of a rock face.

While there aren't any extreme elevation changes, there is still good incorporation of elevation on numerous holes. 6 is a nice multi-stage, slightly uphill hole and 9, 13, and 15 are really fun downhill shots.

There is a great replayability quality here. One aspect is due to the multiple routes offered on a hole, on many of the holes. The greatest contributor to this, though, is having the two permanent baskets per hole. The different pin positions do a tremendous job of changing up the hole, with the reds always being a little shorter and usually with a slightly easier approach. However, the two locations mostly just do a great job of changing the look of the hole, giving variety to the type of drive needed and to the approach.

Navigation is pretty simple, usually offering short walks from tee to basket. The tee signs are also great in aiding navigation, giving a very detailed map of the hole and even displaying nearby baskets and tees. This really helps negate the possible confusion due to holes being packed closely together in spots. Navigation is physically aided as well with steps carved into a few of the hills.

While it is hard to hit all of your lines due to the tight nature of the course, recovering from a bad shot is fair and offers the player chances to save par. Not too many pitch outs needed here.
Cons: Probably the biggest con to the course - which isn't even that big of a deal - is the thick growth in the woods due to it being a relatively new course. None of it was black hole-level rough, just the annoyance of sometimes having taller grass in the fairways and weeds/growth right off the fairway. The open parts of the course were in pristine shape when I played, but this part seems to get overlooked in maintenance - to some extent.

While there are shorter tees, they are hard to find and seemingly nonexistent on some of the holes. Pink flags mark them but they were not always in maintained areas either. Having two permanent pins helps negate this problem a little bit, but even the red baskets are a challenge from the long tees. It wouldn't be disastrous for a beginner to play here, but this isn't the best course to take one to either.

I can definitely see the argument for some of the fairways being too thick, but I didn't feel that this was a constant problem. Most of the course was well carved out within the woods and offered challenging but fair shots.
Other Thoughts: Ditto Farms would challenge even some of the top players to hit their lines. This is very good woods golf that presents a nice variety of hole lengths and pars. The pictures - as usual for a tightly wooded course - don't do it justice. There is some very interesting design with great shot variety and cool pin locations. A lot of work has clearly gone into designing this course and clearing out a lot of trees. I think the course would appeal to a wide variety of players - a great test of accuracy without being too punishing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wooded beast!

1    5/5/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 7/7/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. This is a nice course. Well maintained with 2 baskets per hole and pretty good tee pads. Starts open then gets into the thick stuff! Imtr resting shot variety from open to wooded, as well as into the woods from open, and visa versa. This is a challenging course for an intermediate player like myself, but rewards good shot and disc selection as well as accuracy. I played on a Friday morning with 3 other groups playing and it never felt rushed or crowded. Very secluded feeling.

Update: I have played this course several more times since my initial review. The more I play it the more I find myself challenged to make good decisions. The long tees on some holes are a little easier, with more direct lines to the basket, while on others are long and technical. Smart play is the name of the game here, with a good mix of holes that will challenge every shot you have, and even make you learn a new one or two. Best course in this area of maryland.
Cons: Some holes could use a small amount of thinkng in my opinion. I like wooded courses, especially ones like this that are well thought out with lines of play considered on each hole, but some of the newer growth (last 1-3 years probably) seems out of place. At times a very young branch or sapling interferes with what seems to be an intended window of play. Hole maps show 2 pads and 2 baskets per hole but I didn't see the 2nd pad sets. The signs also have color coded "lines of play" indicated for all 4 possible tee/pin combos and is a little confusing at times as the colored lines don't match from hole to hole.

Update: I would really like the short tees to be concrete like th long ones. It looks like they may have that planned for the future as the areas where these tees are have been cleared a bit more and re flagged. Poison ivy has set in in many places, but this is pretty typical for the east coast woods. Gets a bit soggy after a hard rain, making some of the holes really slick and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really cool course. I will play it again, and again, and probably again! The more I play this course, and the more my game improves, the more I like it. Would have gotten a 4.5 if the short tees were as good as the long tees. Super diverse course with lots of fun factor.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A must play if you're a disc golfer

1    5/13/2015   5/13/2015
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: first of all what a great course. the course winds around and through old farm land in Washington County Maryland. the first two holes are wide open giving you a chance to open up and loosen up your arms. the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with wide open spaces and fairways as well as technical shots abound.
we drove almost an hour and a half to play this course. We've played most of the courses around our area and find ourselves traveling further to play new courses. I would definitely come back to this course and would recommend it to any other disc golfer
Cons: Not too many cons when it comes to this course. Maybe concrete pads for the amateur tees but other than that not too much about this course I did not like.
Other Thoughts: we found two discs there and were able to track down one of the owners. Please remember to put your name and contact information on your discs

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

def worth playing!

1    5/9/2015   5/9/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: almost went 4.5 here. basically one tee pad per hole, but two (different color) baskets. allegedly "short" tee pads, but not really. no matter, the regular tee pads to the shorter baskets were a real treat. for those looking for more challenging pars (and more bogeys than birdies), the long baskets were all quite challenging.
overall, gorgeous course with mix of open and long shots, shorties, up hill, down hill, lefty right and plenty of tight fairways.
Cons: the growth off the path in the more rugged areas made finding discs as a solo player tricky, but not impossible.
the red baskets, which were shortER, but still challenging, were almost ALL blind once you got to the forest.
Other Thoughts: they would appear to be doing all the right things at this course :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very decent local course

5+    4/13/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: new4261
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course isn't too easy or too difficult. Holes vary from open to very narrow to moderately tight lines. Good for new players and more experienced alike.
Cons: Course claims to have short and long tee pads and baskets. I've never truly been able to find very many of the short tees themselves. I always just play from the same tee and depending on the day choose what baskets to go for. After the winter some of the signage isn't in the best shape and should be replaced.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun and relaxing. Difficult enough to make you try but it's not too hard that you can't go out and just throw to have a good time without being serious either.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course!

1    4/18/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of holes, tight to wide open, elevations changes, and 2 baskets per hole to pick your own adventure.It will test your game especially if you play long tees to long baskets.The long tees are the concrete pads and the short tees are marked by small flags and are natural tee boxes.
Cons: It's a tight course, with holes 1, 2, 4, and 18 being wide open. The only real con I can think of is the short tee boxes could use some permament makers.
Other Thoughts: I really like some of the pin placements, and the course will make you throw every shots you have. I'll definitely play Ditto Farms again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

1    3/14/2015   3/14/2015
Review By: Wildbuck
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love a good wooded course. Still a few longer holes to air it out on. Tight fairways and some nice uses of elevation. Despite what the internet pros might say, I like a few tee shots that involve a little luck mixed with skill. Glad there was a map file on here to download. 2 tees and pins are hole helps mix it up. Good flow throughout the course.
Cons: A few of the signs were peeling off. The shorter tees could use a little more permanent marking for them.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely stop by if I'm ever on the area again

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.