Birmingham, AL 
George Ward Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Good Solid Course

5+    8/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Varied layout. Nice setting. Good signage. Good pads.
Cons: No cons, really.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest, most beautiful course in the country, but it's in my hometown, and I like it just fine. Some chances to really fling it, and some skill shots required. It's like a walk in the park. Oh wait. It is.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    6/29/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent layout and a very pretty course. (#1 especially pretty from tee!) Multiple basket locations on each hole from same tee. Good variation of shots required. Good use of elevation. Good marking makes navigation easy for visitors. A beginner friendly course and very fun to play. Would recommend stopping in if traveling I-65. Worth the side trip.
Cons: Most alternate basket locations simply added length with no real change to the hole or throw required. Baskets are getting old and course needs a general "sprucing up." Baskets, tees, signs, and benches could all use some repair/replacement. Fairly crowded the day I played and slow. Lots of novice players and other park users. No bathrooms. Course appeared to be a rough area to a one time visitor.
Other Thoughts: Some friendly, welcoming locals at the first tee. When I mentioned that I had played Inverness, they were very negtive about that course. Surprised at their comments since I felt Inverness to be the better course for my taste. Would expect local players to be positive and supportive of all local courses and simply point out the positives of all area courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 3 out of 5

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course offers several challenges and requires you to have several shots in your bag. Accuracy in space is important as you play through trees and try to place a few surgical strikes in open space.
Cons: The "newer" side is still a little rough, but it's nothing too serious.
Other Thoughts: It's worth stopping to play this course. I found it to be one of the best stops on my journey. The club here is also very helpful and friendly.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Winter Course!

2-4    2/7/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice park setting that utilizes many old trees, lawns and open fields. The course accommodates a "grip & rip" type of play for a majority of the drives, while forcing accurate placement for the approaches on the longer holes. Topography is utilized well such as great elevation changes and a deep creek bed that runs through several holes.

The signature hole for me (as many others noted here) is #15, which tees from an elevated position out into a field with some early guardian trees, and the pin positioned in front od a deep creek bed, making most approaches a knee- knocker! If you can only play 9 holes, I recommend the back 9.

Each 9 holes loops back to the beginning- a big bonus. Nice tee pads, benches, and signs (though showing wear).
Cons: Without a map (or a local), there are many tees that would be difficult to find.

The longest hole #5 is a yawner - wide open, flat and not a single obstacle (has an OB path, but you really have to shank one).

Alternate holes (A-F) are not marked so I couldn't play them. Even the local I played with did not know how to play them! At LEAST they could number the baskets and mark the tees with temp. stakes and numbers.
Other Thoughts: Earlier reviews mentioned that the pin positions are ALL in A, B, or C. That was not the case when I was here.

You must enter through the North end of the park, and go to the 2nd lot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/9/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The original 18 holes have good concrete tee pads with 3 pin placements for every hole. They also have 6 more holes, but they are not as developed at this time. With the many pin placements, decent elevation change, and the beauty of the park, this is a great course that is fun to play for players of all skill levels. From what I can tell, they keep the positions mixed most of the time, so that the course is never too easy, but also never too difficult for casual players, as well as keeping a great mixture on the shot variety throughout the course. The park seems to be well taken care of, with active casual players who are there at all times of the day. The course does loop back to the front at the half way point.
Cons: As already mentioned the 6 new holes could use concrete tees, to further compliment the course, particularly come tournament time. The long pins help but the course could use some longer shots to challenge the pros.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course, but it is fairly open. Even in the longs, the challenge is generally to try and get the birdie on most every hole for higher level players. With that said, as a whole, the design is excellent considering the amount of elevation and trees they have to work with.

The local club is very active and is always making improvements and running lots of tournaments at this course. As mentioned, Tom Monroe is almost always at the course selling discs and hanging out with players.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.