Birmingham, AL 
George Ward Park Share
Uploaded By: twisted Hole #19 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #A Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Fun times

5+    3/5/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: livinitupzzz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. With one notable exception (see below) it's a pretty easy course to navigate.
2. It's a well balanced course. Beginners won't be so frustrated that it's too hard and Experienced players won't be frustrated that there is no challenge.
3. It's almost always very well maintained. There is a grass cutting crew whose full time job is to keep this park cut.
4. As has been mentioned, being able to go buy your car half way through really pays off sometimes. Also the ease of playing either 9 first helps when the course is busy.
5. Course pro to buy disc and to give info. He's almost always there.
6. Terrain is varied but it's not so hilly that it's all you can think about.
Cons: 1. I understand that signage is being worked on but it needs it badly WITH directions to the next tee box.
2. Course is fairly easy to navigate except for a few transitions (notably holes 11-13 get very confusing)
3. Really enjoy the length now but as a beginner it was just a little long. I wish they would bump a couple holes to par 4 status. There are a few holes (like 5, 7 and 14) that really don't belong as a par 3 unless your playing in a pro tournament. You can make up some ground on those with some of the wooded holes but only if your on line for the day.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy GW park. I have to admit I have a personal affinity and prefer Civitan (when the grass is cut) but that's not to take away from George Ward. I play here fairly regularly and really enjoy it. I still consider myself a beginner. I've been playing roughly 3 years and probably have played an average of twice a month. (sometimes more and sometimes less)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/9/2011   12/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being from Florida, I loved the elevation changes. It isn't often that I get to throw up and down hills. I loved the layout. It was very friendly to get you back to your car half way through the round. The pads were generous. Pin placements were excellent and I like that there were multiple pin options on many of the holes. A couple of exceptions where it was hard to tell which pin you were throwing at. I love how this course tests your accuracy but also gives you a few chances to air it out a bit. I also like the fact that it didn't really have any water. I just hate losing discs. Beautiful piece of land and convenient to I-65. Friendly locals who were very helpful is always a plus as was the big map by the parking lot.
Cons: Needs new signs. It got confusing where the next pad was and it was confusing at times as to which pin you were throwing at. One time through is enough to figure it out but it was confusing the first time around. Other than that, I can't really think of anything that could be improved. Great course.
Other Thoughts: I hope to play this course again!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with great variety!

1    10/3/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Good variety of distance (~200' - 400')
2. Good shot variety required to score low (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
3. Restroom facilities available in park
4. Good use of existing elevation, with uphill, downhill, and pretty flat holes all in play.
5. Good mix of open / tight fairways.
6. Decent signage
7. Multiple basket placement
8. Good course flow (fairly easy to follow for first timer)
9. Concrete tee boxes
Cons:
1. Only 1 set of tee boxes
2. Some of the tee signs are unreadable
3. No tee boxes for bonus holes A-F
Other Thoughts: Overall, I rated the course "Very Good." I found the course pretty easy to navigate and thought it had a good variety of hole types. Most players will find the course challenging, but not overly frustrating. There's some water in play (creeks) on a few holes, which could make things more interesting during the rainy season. The use of the existing elevation is very good and allows for some fun downhill grip-and-rip style throws.

Overall the course is fun and has a nice variety for all skill levels. If you're in the area and can't make it down to Bowers Park in Tuscaloosa, this is the next best thing in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun time at George Ward

1    5/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play regardless of skill. There are multiple pin positions. The course is very well maintained and clean. Makes good use of what elevation they had. It is a very forgiving course. Many birdies can be achieved. The park that it is in is very pretty.
Cons: Not a lot of real challenging holes and I could see it being a birdie or bust course pretty much for a pro level player. The 6 newest holes are ok at best and I think the original 18 could stand on there own.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course and will play it again when I am in the area. I ran into some of the locals and they were very friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) just a well thought out course, some trees, great use of elevation...ect

2) Nice people, ran into two other groups ( i was playing alone) and they both let me play through immediately

3) well maintained, saw a couple of tee pads being replaced...glad to see a course being worked on

4) GREAT tee signs.

5) fairly easy navigation

6) Scorecards...always a small plus in my book
Cons: 1)Hole 4 and 16 both seemed off from the tee signs.

2) Holes A-F (the new ones i assume) while it is nice to have wooded holes, I was slipping all over the place on this hill...Carpet tees too...Fairly easy to follow, but most people still seemed to play the original 18

3)Hard finding hole 14's tee box, a directional sign would be useful...
Other Thoughts: overall, a good course, probably a 4 if not for holes A-F.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice City Course With Lots of Pedistrian Traffic!

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The local club has put a lot of work into this course with muliple basket positions, kisosk, signage, some engineering work such as steps and bridges. It's fine land for a course with nice rolling terrain, enough trees for shade on the Alabama days and a drainage ditch to throw over and around. The course is very well designed in that both the front and back nine start and finish at the parking lot. This gives one the option of playing 9 holes (front or back), the full 18, or the extended 24, all the while starting and ending at the lot. Six additional holes have been added up on a hill. This course is not the longest but provides enough challenge but most every players. Pros are probably looking for a course with more distance. The local pro always seems to be in the parking lot selling discs and talking golf.
Cons: It's a high use park and much of the course crosses a new walking/jogging path. Also a picnic shelter comes into play on one hole. The recently installed walking/jogging path creates some very tight OB on some holes. Local pro giving unsolicted advice.
Other Thoughts: The added six holes aren't yet fully developed, no teepads or signs, but that will come. It's a little bit difficult to find the park as the park entrance isn't signed. Read 33tango other thoughts on getting to the course. Well worth playing in the Birmingham area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/8/2010   6/14/2009
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course could be a 4 or 4.5 if not for the walking paths. It presents a variety of fairways which demand creative and accurate shots without artificial OB's or masses of trees. Only a few holes are actually in the woods. Most wind through a well-manicured park, and use the available elevation, water, trees, and shrubberies to great effect. The alternate pin positions are significant but mostly add just distance. The concrete tees are good size and have excellent signs. There is also a great putting basket near hole #1. Restrooms, trashcans, water, and other ammenities are available but not overly convenient. The locals are friendly, I've never seen the course empty, and on average the course seems to be used by more skilled players than most courses. (So, you can probably get a good, competitive round in when you drop by.)
Cons: Many of the holes (particularly on the front nine) require throwing over walking paths or drives. My favorite hole, #15, is a great shot off a hill and out of the woods over a creek, but it is marred slightly by crossing a road and by its proximity to a patio-like seating area. A few of the tees on the back nine are hard to find the first time. Also, beware the red clay of Alabama; when the guys before you have tracked it onto the tees, they will stay slick.
Other Thoughts: I'm partial to a course that starts and ends with a relatively easy shot near the parking lot. This course does so.

The best thing about the course is Tom Monroe hanging out in the parking lot. Talking to him would be very usefulf for new players, but apart from that, I'd recommend the course to more advanced players. The holes are a little long for newbies, and the hills can be wearying if you're just out for a lark in the park.

The local disc golf club is active; check their event calendar if you are planning to drop by.

The park has a few entrances. Not all of them will lead you to the disc golf course. Check a map; you need to get to the top of the hill, behind the tennis courts.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A gem of a course

1    4/22/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking lot is situated to where it is centered on course, course flows away at #1 and back at #9, away at 10 and back at 18. Local vendor on site selling discs. Concrete tee pads. Lots of friendly locals, at 4pm on a Wednesday course was seeing heavy use but it moved along pretty quickly. Course layout makes good use of elevation especially on #15, a great signature hole starting you out at a height throwing down across a bumblebee laden clover field next to a stream, very scenic. A very fun course with interesting pin placement and shot shaping requirements to get through the vegetation in places.
Cons: Many unleashed uncurbed dogs leaving canine landmines on the front 9, especially at the water on #4. Slight safety concern on #16, lots of players hyzering near a group of people at the pavilion having to yell "FORE" to try and avoid hitting other park goers. Improved erosion control needed in places. Some irregular sized (short) tees or tees with unforgiving drop offs at the end. The bridge from #15 to #16 needs some work.
Other Thoughts: I played alone rather than try and find a group but the group ahead offered to let me play through. I declined and watched the group ahead so I knew where some of the tee locations are. Asking around before starting my round I got the tee locations (all in "c" position noted on tee signs) and warnings about blind water in places(left side of #4). If you only have time to play 9, play the back nine so you can play #15. Did not notice any restrooms. Enter park from the north heading south, turning in off 16th Ave S. through entrance to what looks like the projects apartments. Somewhat baffling, there is no sign for the park on 16th Ave. As you drive into the park ignore the first parking lot and bear left at the tennis shop, continue to the end and that is the disc golf parking lot.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and a Great Atmosphere

1    5/26/2007   10/25/2008
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The People, Very Challenging, good layout, lots of different hole options, well maintained, very nice scenery
Cons: Almost too challenging, some of the mando's seemed unnecessary
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a few friends one being a local while passing through it was a great time everybody was friendly and willing to chat for a bit as well as talk to trash cross holes with other groups. It was definitly a fun course even though my score didn't reflect it

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2/23/2008   2/24/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very fair course with a great mix off the tee pad on every hole. Sparse trees with the 18 orignal holes; very wooded extra 6 holes. Multiple pin placements on nearly every hole (3 on most, 4 on a few) providing for great variability with each round. Great elevation providing for some nervy putts and unlucky roll aways (I guess a con for some ;-)) There are some blue tees on a few of the holes which aren't clearly marked (natural pads) but provide for an extra challenge on many holes.
Cons: Not very challenging for pro players. Not a pitch and putt course by any means but there's not a lot of distance. Three holes have placements beyond 400 ft, every other hole is very easily reachable from the tee. Its hard to get into trouble on the course due to a lack of trees and OB. The extra six are natural tees which can make for an awkward transition during tournament play.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and its where I learned the game. Its a great course for me to bring my friends out and introduce them to the game. The local club (DGB) is very active and making lots of improvements around the course. Course pro Tom Monroe sells discs out of his van in the parking lot and is out there almost everday. If you're in the area this is definately a course worth stopping by and playing.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.