Birmingham, AL 
George Ward Park Share
Uploaded By: twisted Hole #5 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Rock n roll

1    12/26/2016   12/26/2016
Review By: TheRealRedRoach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My favorite course so far. Only played 18 and will definitely be back to play again and throw all 24. There are at least two pin options on every hole I played. Busy course even the day after Christmas. I would say it was very well-maintained. A lot of thought was put into making the pin placement challenging. Enough trees to be a factor and make you shave some of your shots but not enough to make it really frustrating. I would recommend this course to beginners and veterans.
Cons: They were only two pins on some of the holes maybe due to vandalism? Some of the distances look like they might be a little off.
Other Thoughts: Added to favorites.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really nice, Club kept course.

2-4    8/26/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10
Pros: -Nicely kept by the club
-A nice guy selling discs there at hole 1.
-Easy to follow
-Quality baskets.
-approachable for beginners, can be challenging for other skill levels.
-Short pins are really easy if you just need a quick round.
Cons: -Needs next tee signs for the back 15 (including the inner holes).
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course. I don't think it's challenging enough to earn a 4 or 5, but I definitely enjoyed it and so will you!

 My Home Course

5+    7/12/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: wilcushman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -easy to follow layout
-many options for play
-benches at every tee
-multiple hole locations
-Tom Moore is the course pro
-perfect level of traffic
-good course for beginners and experts alike
-optional extra holes
Cons: -pretty short holes(but there are ways to play them longer)
-inconsistent groundskeeping
-extra holes are occupied by several homeless camps
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played on. I have been playing for a few months now, and having played several other courses around the south I still love coming back to this one when I am home.

A must play course

2-4    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: AceHarris10
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mixture of difficulty and diversity.
Cons: Course is located in a city park with a walking trail winding through the course, so there are lot of people in the way at times. One time we watched a couple make out for like 5 minutes directly in the way of our tee shot. They were just far away that our yelling didn't get their attention. No big deal, but definitely a con.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course to play if you are in the Birmingham area. Most will enjoy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

There is something really enjoyable here

5+    6/26/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tee pads on all holes except the extra holes A-F
-3 possible pin locations for every hole
-Course flow is great! Love that you can easily start on 1 or 10 right from the parking lot, and both end at the parking lot as well.
-Pretty easy to navigate even the first time around without a map.
Cons:
-No indicators of what pin location was being used with quite a few blind tee shots.
-Quite a few non disc golfers using the park, might have to wait on them to clear every once in a while.
-The drive to the course was through a rough area, never had any concerns while playing course though.
-Disappointed with the extra 6 holes A-F. They just seemed not up to par compared to rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
This is a very well thought out course and it was easy to enjoy the couple of rounds I was able to play here. In general the course is lightly wooded and pretty open except for a few areas. The elevation and terrain play very well here. The course flows really well and its relatively easy to navigate. It's not a very difficult course but it still offers challenges for all players. I felt like the extra holes (A-F) didn't really fit in with the rest of the course. They were definitely not at the same caliber/quality as the main 18. I did like that holes A-F were more wooded but that's about all that they added to the course. This course has quite a few really cool well thought out holes. This is a course I could enjoy playing multiple times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic City Park Course

5+    5/7/2015   5/7/2015
Review By: AlphaGenerator
Played: 86  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied pin locations, good tee pads, Disc Golf Legend Tom Monroe (white van), lots of dg traffic, front and back 9 end at the parking lot, plenty of trash cans, and fun to play.
Cons: Lots of dg traffic, nothing extremely technical, no restroom onsite.
Other Thoughts: A definite must play if you are traveling through the area. Birmingham's oldest course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    7/14/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: Lwassner
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, multiple pins at every hole, well groomed, nice park.
Cons: No really technical holes
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a course worth playing. With having two baskets at every hole, two rounds is like 36 different holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's ok.

5+    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: TomHawk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Meh
Cons: Meh
Other Thoughts: I think reasonable is the most reasonable rating for this course. Literally nothing ab it is special. The main 18 are fine, the other 6 are pretty lame. You can read plenty of other opinions on this course. Just don't expect a whole lot and I'm sure you'll have fun and not be disappointed. When you see a rating over 4 for this course you can rest assured its from a DGB member trying to bump that rating. Same with all the "not helpful" votes on any review that even kinda bashes it. Like I said, it's fun, but not much different than throwing on a football field over and over.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Solid Course

5+    8/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Varied layout. Nice setting. Good signage. Good pads.
Cons: No cons, really.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest, most beautiful course in the country, but it's in my hometown, and I like it just fine. Some chances to really fling it, and some skill shots required. It's like a walk in the park. Oh wait. It is.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for players of all skill levels

5+    5/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great design. 1-9 and 10-18 both circle back to the parking lot, so you can play the front or back depending on the crowd.
* Discs for sale on site. Tom is a very knowledgable and fair disc golf salesman. Can usually find a good deal from him. He's friendly, and sometimes has snacks too, so that helps when it's hot out.
* Well manicured course.
* Concrete tee boxes on all holes.
* Great signage and easy to follow course.
* Decent mix of open/tight shots. A great course to bring someone who is interested in the game, but hasn't really played.
* Multiple baskets for each hole.
Cons: * Regular pedesterians walking through the park can interfere with your shots, and possibly get hit with a disc.
* Extra holes on the back 9 are lacking proper signage.
* Most holes are a bit too easy, but very enjoyable nonetheless.
* Can get crowded on a beautiful day.
* Not necessarily in the best part of town, but there is usually always fellow players in the lot to watch after your car.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course, though I am a little biased. It's in my hometown, so when I return its usually playing and catching up with old friends. Plus, we usually go out to a local bar/restaurant close by (lots to chose from) and always have a good time.

Hole 1 is a great start and sets the tone for the rest of the course.

A really great course and highly recommended for anyone in the metro Birmingham area or just passing through. It's worth playing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.