Birmingham, AL
George Ward Park Share
Uploaded By: twisted Hole #22 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #D Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
It's ok.

5+    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: TomHawk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Meh
Cons: Meh
Other Thoughts: I think reasonable is the most reasonable rating for this course. Literally nothing ab it is special. The main 18 are fine, the other 6 are pretty lame. You can read plenty of other opinions on this course. Just don't expect a whole lot and I'm sure you'll have fun and not be disappointed. When you see a rating over 4 for this course you can rest assured its from a DGB member trying to bump that rating. Same with all the "not helpful" votes on any review that even kinda bashes it. Like I said, it's fun, but not much different than throwing on a football field over and over.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Good Solid Course

5+    8/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varied layout. Nice setting. Good signage. Good pads.
Cons: No cons, really.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest, most beautiful course in the country, but it's in my hometown, and I like it just fine. Some chances to really fling it, and some skill shots required. It's like a walk in the park. Oh wait. It is.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course for players of all skill levels

5+    5/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great design. 1-9 and 10-18 both circle back to the parking lot, so you can play the front or back depending on the crowd.
* Discs for sale on site. Tom is a very knowledgable and fair disc golf salesman. Can usually find a good deal from him. He's friendly, and sometimes has snacks too, so that helps when it's hot out.
* Well manicured course.
* Concrete tee boxes on all holes.
* Great signage and easy to follow course.
* Decent mix of open/tight shots. A great course to bring someone who is interested in the game, but hasn't really played.
* Multiple baskets for each hole.
Cons: * Regular pedesterians walking through the park can interfere with your shots, and possibly get hit with a disc.
* Extra holes on the back 9 are lacking proper signage.
* Most holes are a bit too easy, but very enjoyable nonetheless.
* Can get crowded on a beautiful day.
* Not necessarily in the best part of town, but there is usually always fellow players in the lot to watch after your car.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course, though I am a little biased. It's in my hometown, so when I return its usually playing and catching up with old friends. Plus, we usually go out to a local bar/restaurant close by (lots to chose from) and always have a good time.

Hole 1 is a great start and sets the tone for the rest of the course.

A really great course and highly recommended for anyone in the metro Birmingham area or just passing through. It's worth playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/29/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent layout and a very pretty course. (#1 especially pretty from tee!) Multiple basket locations on each hole from same tee. Good variation of shots required. Good use of elevation. Good marking makes navigation easy for visitors. A beginner friendly course and very fun to play. Would recommend stopping in if traveling I-65. Worth the side trip.
Cons: Most alternate basket locations simply added length with no real change to the hole or throw required. Baskets are getting old and course needs a general "sprucing up." Baskets, tees, signs, and benches could all use some repair/replacement. Fairly crowded the day I played and slow. Lots of novice players and other park users. No bathrooms. Course appeared to be a rough area to a one time visitor.
Other Thoughts: Some friendly, welcoming locals at the first tee. When I mentioned that I had played Inverness, they were very negtive about that course. Surprised at their comments since I felt Inverness to be the better course for my taste. Would expect local players to be positive and supportive of all local courses and simply point out the positives of all area courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic City Park course!

2-4    9/3/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Birmingham area has several great courses each with their own unique flavor. George Ward park is no exception and I enjoyed playing here. There is a great variety of holes and although it is not the most difficult course out there you still need to throw well to get a decent score. The course is set in a city park not far from downtown Birmingham and is easily accessible from all parts of the city. The majority of the course crosses the park itself and does not restrict itself to the perimeter like other courses tend to do. This allows the course to be more open and not be solely restricted to tunnel shots down a narrow fairway. The course meanders through the park and does a great job of using the space well and is able to use the topography of the park to its advantage but does not impede on the use of the park for other patrons. The majority of the course is lightly wooded so it is a great place to introduce the game to your family and friends as it is very beginner friendly and the chance of losing a disc here is minimal. Most of the course is fairly open but there are still plenty of trees that will penalize you for errant shots. Even though the holes are open many of them have well protected greens so its not too easy. A few of the holes are in more densely wooded areas so its not all out in the open (in particular holes 10-12 and the bonus holes A-F) There is some elevation on the course and the designers made great use of it. Overall the course is well designed and should be enjoyed by all disc golfers. Below are some of main positive points about the course.
1: Course is well marked. I had no trouble finding the tees or the baskets on any of the holes and this was without a map. Very first timer friendly.
2: The course is free and has a dedicated parking lot next to the practice basket for disc golfers. There is a guy who sells discs and bags out of a van in the parking lot so if you need something he is right there.
3: Good use of the parkland and elevation. Has plenty of hole types to suit just about every type of player.
4: Beginner friendly - This course would be great to bring friends and family and introduce them to the game but still challenging enough to test the skills of seasoned players.
5: Signature Holes. Every great course should have at least one memorable hole and George Ward has at least a few for me. Hole 1 is a great hole to start off with as you head down the hill and try and hit the green that is defending by the granite boulders. Hole 13 with the creek running down the right side which will cause instant pain for an errant throw and hole 15 just because I enjoy throwing a disc off a high teepad.
6: Bonus holes: I beleive the course was designed with 18 holes but there is now an additional 6 holes set in the South West corner of the park between holes 14 and 15. These holes are more technical than most of the others and is a great addition to the course.

Cons: The course is well designed and I can't really think of any complaints. I did find a couple of things that players should be aware of:
1: Its a popular park including a lot of non disc golfers. Several of the holes are in areas where other people may be using the park so keep an eye out for pedestrians before throwing. Most of the time it was people walking their dogs or just strolling around the park so its not a big inconvience.
2: The bonus holes A-F are not quite as finished as the other 18 holes. I don't recall them having concrete tees which is not something that bothers me but it is a concern for some. I am sure that with time these holes will be brought up to the same standard as the original 18.
Other Thoughts: George Ward Park is an excellent course and should be on the map for any disc golfer who is in the Birmingham area. If I am in the Birmingham area again I will definetely have to stop by to play a round or two. This is an excellent example of how a city park course should be and is a good showcase for disc golf. If you have limited time in Birmingham and can only play one course you can't go wrong here. Nearby courses are more technical and challenging and well suited for expierienced players but George Ward is great for playing a good round of disc golf without having to spend loads of time looking for your disc after a bad throw.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Birmingham Classic

5+    11/5/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: rhynoman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well designed park course.
- Balanced mix of different elevation, right/left, distance, wooded/open.
- Friendly, helpful locals and course pro on sight.
- Often discs for sale on sight.
- Good baskets, benches, signs, practice basket and bulletin board.
Cons: - Tough to find the parking area by hole 1 the first time.
- Bathrooms are not always easily available.
- Walkers can come into play on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I think GW is just a classic course. It's a beautiful park. It uses the hilly terrain of the area really well in the course design. I love holes 14 and 15 (I think) that play around the creek. The locals are great and plastic has been available each time I've been out there so far. I've played it about 5 times and it's one of my all-time favorite courses.

I just moved here from an area that had more courses, but we didn't have many that approached GW in terms of quality and character. You'll use all of your shots on this one and enjoy a really nice city park. There are new plantings around the course and it's well maintained. The 6 wooded holes (A-F) didn't all have concrete tee pads, but I thought they were more than sufficient.

I think one great improvement to the course would be some kind of sign on the Green Springs Hwy parking lot indicating where to park for disc golf. It's not obvious, and the first two times I played GW (separated by about 7 years time), I ended up there. This would be great for out-of-towners as GW is a "destination course" in my opinion. I even ran into someone else who was in the same boat: he had played there back in the day but couldn't remember where hole 1 was located from that side.

This one added feature would greatly improve the sketchy vibe that comes from ending up in the park's often-abandoned Green Springs' side parking lot. There's not as much activity over there. The real disc golf parking area (linked on the "Map Location" button here) is off of 4th Street South, just past the tennis complex.

Once you get there, you'll probably see other disc golfers, dog walkers and people using the sports facilities. I've personally never felt unsafe at George Ward, and the last time I played, I took my three kids. We played until dark and had a good time. It's a well used park, and this parking area is between the front and back 9 (with six bonus holes in the woods on the back side).

There's apparently a bathroom at the tennis center which is only open a couple of days per week or possibly at the baseball area nearby, but even the locals weren't really clear on this. Restroom options either on-site or nearby would be a helpful addition to the bulletin board. Apparently, girls like real bathrooms.

You're going to run into people walking dogs and such, but this only comes into play in a big way on maybe 2 holes. There are some other holes where it may be a very occasional issue.

Of course, one of the best things about this course is the presence of course pro Tom Monroe most afternoons. If you see his white van you'll have a great selection of plastic and some good conversation with a local legend. Tom teaches disc golf classes for two colleges nearby and is a super nice guy. The last time I was out, I had left my putters in the basket at home. He insisted that my kids borrow a couple of discs for their round.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Monroe

I'm still kind of amazed after reading the Wikipedia article on Tom. I'll have to soak up some disc golf wisdom next time I'm out there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course in urban park

5+    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: drumin5216
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice tee signs at every hole that show each pin position and where the next tee is located
- Multiple pin placements
- New baskets were added this past spring, so most holes have 2 basket options
- Huge variety of shots including easy to difficult, short to long, left to right, etc.
- Good use of elevation changes
- Course pro at park almost every day
- Parking lot is between front 9 and back 15
- Most of the tee pads are in great condition
- Benches on every hole, sometimes multiple benches on a single hole
- Weekly league rounds on Wednesday evenings
- Great local club (Disc Golf Birmingham) that takes care of the course and runs events
- Big course map on back of bulletin board at hole 1
- Dog friendly
Cons: - Needs concrete tee pads on back 6 (supposedly in the works to happen soon)
- Occasional wait for joggers on walking paths
Other Thoughts: It's hard to find a course that is more fun to play than g-dub. The course is mostly open with big, mature trees to shoot around. Back 6 holes are slightly wooded, but not too tight.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

3 out of 5

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Loomis
Played: 332  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course offers several challenges and requires you to have several shots in your bag. Accuracy in space is important as you play through trees and try to place a few surgical strikes in open space.
Cons: The "newer" side is still a little rough, but it's nothing too serious.
Other Thoughts: It's worth stopping to play this course. I found it to be one of the best stops on my journey. The club here is also very helpful and friendly.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course to call home

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ward has a lot to offer players of all levels. It's a very pretty park and the course is challenging, but not brutal. The course has lots of hills and big, old trees.

There are short holes and long holes and lefts, rights, and straights. I like to throw rollers there, too. The baskets and tee pads are good.
Cons: It does get a little crowded at times and some of the shots are tight on the pedestrian walkways.
Other Thoughts: If you're traveling to B-ham, hit me up and we'll play a round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

5+    6/25/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 56  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Well taken care of
*Pin positions changed daily
*Course is fair but challenging
*Can use all your shots in a round
*Tom to buy discs from in the parking lot
*Front 9 and back 9 holes separated perfectly
Cons: *Some holes can play extremely long
*Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This is my Home course, and a great one to learn on

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.