Birmingham, AL 
George Ward Park Share
Uploaded By: twisted Hole #1 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Really nice, Club kept course.

2-4    8/26/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
Pros: -Nicely kept by the club
-A nice guy selling discs there at hole 1.
-Easy to follow
-Quality baskets.
-approachable for beginners, can be challenging for other skill levels.
-Short pins are really easy if you just need a quick round.
Cons: -Needs next tee signs for the back 15 (including the inner holes).
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course. I don't think it's challenging enough to earn a 4 or 5, but I definitely enjoyed it and so will you!

My Home Course

5+    7/12/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: wilcushman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -easy to follow layout
-many options for play
-benches at every tee
-multiple hole locations
-Tom Moore is the course pro
-perfect level of traffic
-good course for beginners and experts alike
-optional extra holes
Cons: -pretty short holes(but there are ways to play them longer)
-inconsistent groundskeeping
-extra holes are occupied by several homeless camps
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played on. I have been playing for a few months now, and having played several other courses around the south I still love coming back to this one when I am home.

A must play course

2-4    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: AceHarris10
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mixture of difficulty and diversity.
Cons: Course is located in a city park with a walking trail winding through the course, so there are lot of people in the way at times. One time we watched a couple make out for like 5 minutes directly in the way of our tee shot. They were just far away that our yelling didn't get their attention. No big deal, but definitely a con.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course to play if you are in the Birmingham area. Most will enjoy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

There is something really enjoyable here

5+    6/26/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 56  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tee pads on all holes except the extra holes A-F
-3 possible pin locations for every hole
-Course flow is great! Love that you can easily start on 1 or 10 right from the parking lot, and both end at the parking lot as well.
-Pretty easy to navigate even the first time around without a map.
Cons:
-No indicators of what pin location was being used with quite a few blind tee shots.
-Quite a few non disc golfers using the park, might have to wait on them to clear every once in a while.
-The drive to the course was through a rough area, never had any concerns while playing course though.
-Disappointed with the extra 6 holes A-F. They just seemed not up to par compared to rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
This is a very well thought out course and it was easy to enjoy the couple of rounds I was able to play here. In general the course is lightly wooded and pretty open except for a few areas. The elevation and terrain play very well here. The course flows really well and its relatively easy to navigate. It's not a very difficult course but it still offers challenges for all players. I felt like the extra holes (A-F) didn't really fit in with the rest of the course. They were definitely not at the same caliber/quality as the main 18. I did like that holes A-F were more wooded but that's about all that they added to the course. This course has quite a few really cool well thought out holes. This is a course I could enjoy playing multiple times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic City Park Course

5+    5/7/2015   5/7/2015
Review By: AlphaGenerator
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied pin locations, good tee pads, Disc Golf Legend Tom Monroe (white van), lots of dg traffic, front and back 9 end at the parking lot, plenty of trash cans, and fun to play.
Cons: Lots of dg traffic, nothing extremely technical, no restroom onsite.
Other Thoughts: A definite must play if you are traveling through the area. Birmingham's oldest course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    7/14/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: Lwassner
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, multiple pins at every hole, well groomed, nice park.
Cons: No really technical holes
Other Thoughts: It's definitely a course worth playing. With having two baskets at every hole, two rounds is like 36 different holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's ok.

5+    3/1/2014   3/1/2014
Review By: TomHawk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Meh
Cons: Meh
Other Thoughts: I think reasonable is the most reasonable rating for this course. Literally nothing ab it is special. The main 18 are fine, the other 6 are pretty lame. You can read plenty of other opinions on this course. Just don't expect a whole lot and I'm sure you'll have fun and not be disappointed. When you see a rating over 4 for this course you can rest assured its from a DGB member trying to bump that rating. Same with all the "not helpful" votes on any review that even kinda bashes it. Like I said, it's fun, but not much different than throwing on a football field over and over.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Solid Course

5+    8/16/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: BirmingDan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Varied layout. Nice setting. Good signage. Good pads.
Cons: No cons, really.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest, most beautiful course in the country, but it's in my hometown, and I like it just fine. Some chances to really fling it, and some skill shots required. It's like a walk in the park. Oh wait. It is.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for players of all skill levels

5+    5/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: captain_d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great design. 1-9 and 10-18 both circle back to the parking lot, so you can play the front or back depending on the crowd.
* Discs for sale on site. Tom is a very knowledgable and fair disc golf salesman. Can usually find a good deal from him. He's friendly, and sometimes has snacks too, so that helps when it's hot out.
* Well manicured course.
* Concrete tee boxes on all holes.
* Great signage and easy to follow course.
* Decent mix of open/tight shots. A great course to bring someone who is interested in the game, but hasn't really played.
* Multiple baskets for each hole.
Cons: * Regular pedesterians walking through the park can interfere with your shots, and possibly get hit with a disc.
* Extra holes on the back 9 are lacking proper signage.
* Most holes are a bit too easy, but very enjoyable nonetheless.
* Can get crowded on a beautiful day.
* Not necessarily in the best part of town, but there is usually always fellow players in the lot to watch after your car.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite course, though I am a little biased. It's in my hometown, so when I return its usually playing and catching up with old friends. Plus, we usually go out to a local bar/restaurant close by (lots to chose from) and always have a good time.

Hole 1 is a great start and sets the tone for the rest of the course.

A really great course and highly recommended for anyone in the metro Birmingham area or just passing through. It's worth playing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/29/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent layout and a very pretty course. (#1 especially pretty from tee!) Multiple basket locations on each hole from same tee. Good variation of shots required. Good use of elevation. Good marking makes navigation easy for visitors. A beginner friendly course and very fun to play. Would recommend stopping in if traveling I-65. Worth the side trip.
Cons: Most alternate basket locations simply added length with no real change to the hole or throw required. Baskets are getting old and course needs a general "sprucing up." Baskets, tees, signs, and benches could all use some repair/replacement. Fairly crowded the day I played and slow. Lots of novice players and other park users. No bathrooms. Course appeared to be a rough area to a one time visitor.
Other Thoughts: Some friendly, welcoming locals at the first tee. When I mentioned that I had played Inverness, they were very negtive about that course. Surprised at their comments since I felt Inverness to be the better course for my taste. Would expect local players to be positive and supportive of all local courses and simply point out the positives of all area courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.