Eudora, KS 
Bluejacket DGC Share
Uploaded By: breaking the chains Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach: Basket in background is #1



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Dsjoats
Played: 77  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course with scattered immature trees. Absolutely no rough. This is a well maintained park setting.
For me this course was just long enough to be interesting. The elevation changes made each throw a bit different.
No need for hiking boots, you can play this course in flip flops if you want.
Great place to practice.
Not a lot of traffic.
Cons: Tee pads would be nice, but the grass is in good enough shape that this it was not a huge deal for me today.
The tee pads are only marked with small red pavers, and are a bit difficult to find the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: This place is wide open. You can see just about every basket from the 1st tee. Enjoy the simplicity of this course. There are challenging courses in Lawrence, Lake Perry and the KC Metro area if this is not your cup of tea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The elevation made it worth the trip...

2-4    5/23/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: phantom51
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Chainstar baskets are in excellent shape. The course is frequently mowed. In fact, Parks & Rec were out there trimming the weeds when I first showed up. There wasn't much pedestrian traffic. Some parents had kids playing on the nearby playground but they never interfered with play.
The course is short, which won't challenge any advanced or beyond players. I threw mostly from a stand still (Lack of tees.) and landed frequently within putting range on the majority of holes.
As for the trees, keep waiting, as they will change the difficulty in the years to come.
The elevation of the hills here, while not steep, did make throws interesting enough. I think that was the only perk that made the trip worthwhile for me. There's plenty of uphill and downhill approach shots to practice.
The lack of underbrush and tall grass helps in not losing any discs, a plus for all disc golfers.
Cons: First of all, the obvious lack of tees and signage. The park is small and I understand placing tees in will reduce the park's scenic appeal. The stone markers are flat with the ground, so I recommend if you are playing out here for the first time, walk the course first. The tees and baskets often run close to each other. It can be deceiving on where to throw. Is that basket #1 or #7? Hint: #1 is behind the tree and not entirely visible from #1's tee.
No public restrooms out here. The closest gas station that I saw was a Quik Trip near the K-10 off/on ramp into Eudora. No trash cans nearby other than near a picnic shelter, so please pack out what you bring. As for that fact, I saw no litter.
Other Thoughts: Overall, not a bad little course for a small town. I hope that it does get used by the local players. For practice, this works! I'm sure though that if you're going to make longer than a 15-20 minute drive, go ahead and play Centennial Park in nearby Lawrence or Shawnee Mission Park in Shawnee. I had a few hours to kill before work so I drove out from Olathe to cross this one off the list. Didn't regret it, but wasn't overly impressed either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Practice Site

1    6/4/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: coopera
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice collection of 9 baskets on interesting topography. It is a wonderful location to go out and play safari and to work on a variety of shots. Easy to find multiple shots as it is mowed well and there isn't underbrush to obscure anything.

It will also be a great place to introduce people to the game and to not overwhelm them with difficulty.
Cons: There are no tees of any sort. Calling it a course is a bit of a stretch for now but it can certainly grow into that. That being said, if you live close enough, it is highly recommended to get some practice in.
Other Thoughts: My rating is an average of my belief that this is a 2.0 course and a 4.0 practice venue. I think this is in the early stages and I'm excited to see what else is planned for the land but for what it is it is enjoyable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It's a beginning

2-4    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 107  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great new baskets.
Mowed regularly.
Updated to a 2. Now has a single paving stone (12" sq?) with white number painted on it. Level with ground, so if you don't know where to look, it is difficult to find.
Cons: All of the trees are newly planted, so they are small.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad Eudora put in a course. I'm sure this is just a beginning, but they really need to mark some tee boxes, if nothing else, with a rebar post or something.

Give the trees 8-10 years to grow, and it will seriously alter the flight lines.
15-20 years to grow, and it will be a completely different course

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Could be a good beginners' course

1    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No problems finding discs due to the lack of brush and grass mowed reasonably. 10/10

There is quite a bit of elevation, which I wasn't expecting going in based on what I had seen of Eudora on the drive between Lawrence and Olathe. The elevation was also used pretty well, with a variety of different slopes. 8/10

Grass was pretty short and the course was pretty short so even though there were no benches comfort was not a problem. No water or restrooms that I've noticed. 6/10

There are not many obstacles on this course, but the ones it has are used decently. Most holes have a couple of trees that could come into play, but there are no major or memorable obstacles. 5/10
Cons: The biggest problem is navigation between holes. There are spray painted markers for the tees that I found on 7 holes but they weren't very visible. No map available at the park. Baskets now have hole numbers on them. If I hadn't found the map on this site on my phone it would have been nearly impossible to determine which hole was which. 1/10

No alternate hole positions, pretty much by necessity since there is no room for them 0/10

Although most of the baskets can be seen from the start, you pretty much just have to guess on where the tees are and which of the baskets in view you're throwing to. 1/10

All of the holes are pretty open, there are lots of small newly planted trees that could be more of a factor down the road. A couple of baskets are guarded by trees but overall there's not much variety of openness. 2/10

Because of how open it is, there aren't a variety of shot paths forced. 2/10

This course is pretty easy, and won't give experienced players much of a challenge unless they just want practice with midrange shots. 3/10

Grass was mowed, but not only were tee signs not present, tees were absent altogether. There was also no map present to show course layout. Overall maintenance 3/10

Baskets are new and in good condition, but the lack of tees brings Condition of baskets and tees to a 3/10 overall

Most holes are pretty straightforward and don't require much decisionmaking. The first and last holes are exceptions, but it's still 3/10

There is not much variety in the lengths of the holes, Many of them play do play different lengths since some are uphill and some are downhill and some are through rolling hills though so it's not too noticeable. 4/10
Other Thoughts: This course is worth playing if you are close, but for only nine holes it's probably not worth a long drive. This course could be good for beginners assuming that tees of some kind are added. If the course gets more people playing there could be an issue with how close together the baskets are. After the trees have grown this course could get more interesting. Plus, more advanced players could use it to practice and just make up different holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.