Fountain Hills, AZ 
Fountain Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Terrible Course for Experienced Players

1    11/21/2015   11/23/2016
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2016
6 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It's a pretty setting. The facilities are nice. The circular tee off areas are interesting. It's a somewhat challenging course because of the water (I tend to shoot around 54). There are numerous birdie opportunities.
Cons: The bird poop. The terrible smell when the wind blows the wrong way. It's a very public location, which makes it easier to accidentally hit someone with a disc. All the water holes are the same. You will inevitably put a disc in the water, which forces you to play junk discs.
Other Thoughts: The water holes are unimaginative. They should set up a more interesting course up in the foothills. The location is INAPPROPRIATE. Too many people... too many public events.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Desert Oasis

1    8/28/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 58  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This iconic course, most well-known for the Memorial, is seated in the valley of the McDowell Mountain range. Of course, there is the giant fountain in the middle of the lake (which we did not get to see). There are many dining options within walking distance of the course. If you have little ones with you, there is a splash park between holes 1 and 18.

The first thing that I notice once we got to hole 1 is the giant round teepads. Ok, some seemed larger than others. Still, the first round pads that I have played on. Very cool.

Course Design: I wont give a full play by play. However, the course does play in counter clockwise fashion around the lake. There are a few stand out holes to me. Hole 3 is pretty awesome downhill shot, and the only one that I remember with OB on the right. Hole 18 also stands out... mostly because i remember Cale Leiviska nailing thay awesome putt for a deuce in like 2ft deep standing water at the memorial circa 2014.

The designer(s) pretty much used up the entire property as well as hit the highlights of the elevation change.

Although this is a very open (and therefore a mostly boring course in terms of shot-shaping), it is no wonder that it hosts such a great pro tournament. This course is very easy to film with it being open, as well as the fountain and mountains in the background.

Blah blah blah.... Mach X baskets.

No bugs. Read: it is the desert. Hot as balls with zero humidity=no pesky life forms to swat.
Cons: In terms of design, it would have been great just to one time have the lake on your right hand side. A small loop and howdy do point would have done this for me. Just to mix it up a bit.

Other than hole 18, this course fizzled out to me. After hole 13, it was just a bunch of back and forth shots without line shaping at all. Plant a few trees somewhere near the pad (not right on top of it... im talking 20 feet out).

Pedestrians- a park this popular, you are going to have to wait.

Signage- or lack there of. Please replace it! I didnt even see a large course map anywhere. When there are that many different long pads/long baskets, signage is very important.

Other Thoughts: Overall, this is an iconic course in the middle of the desert. The club seems very involved if not just for hosting the Memorial. I would say that the rating at rhis point is pretty true to form at 3.7. With appropriate signage, this easily goes to a 4. Plant a few trees to shape some shots... make a howdy do point/switchback somewhere so that we can have one, just one hole with the lake to the right.... and this is probably a 4.25 to 4.5 rated course. These are good things... there is room for improvement! Thanks for taking care of this course to the local club!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fountain Hills Park

1    5/6/2016   5/6/2016
Review By: reezyF
Played: 106  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My three pros:

-Beautiful course. One of the prettiest courses ive played considering the well taken care of lake and park along with the mountains always visible in the distance. A cool aspect of the course design is that the front 9 mostly plays along the lake within the walking trail giving golfers the primary enjoyment f the lakefront, the back nine played outside the loop mostly giving walkers their time to enjoy the lake- its nice to see the park shared in such a way. The course itself has very nice teepads, baskets, and signs at most holes.
-Course flow is a nice one way route counterclockwise around the lake, once you find one its mostly obvious navigation.
-Risk/reward at this park is high, allowing throws over the lake/ near the road for glory or safer lines for comfort. The thrill of throwing a great shot over water adds to a great round for me and this course has plenty of shots that dont disapoint.

Cons: My three cons:
-somewhat long walk from parking lot to hole 1- park near playground and walk counterclockwise around lake or check the map first.
-tons of walkers and park goers to wait for. I played on a very nice friday morning around 11 and had to wait for walkers several times; however the walking path is far enough from most lines that you dont end up waiting long- just often.
-I played during the park watering which had big sprinklers running along holes 1 & 2. Unfortunately the course is watered with 'recycled' water so those that are grossed out easily wold have wanted to skip those holes. A broken sprinkler under the #2 basket made the hole unplayable if I wanted to stay dry- being from Dallas I knew I may not get the chance to come back out so i played the hole and got sprayed.
Other Thoughts: A course i had on my wish list that did not disapoint. There were steady winds at 20-25 mph making me question if i should even try the course but i did and I'm glad. I had the course to myself on a beautiful day, shot under par and kept all discs out of the water- perfect day on the course. PLAY THIS COURSE IF YOU'RE IN PHOENIX.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Please be patient with pedestrians

5+    1/30/2016   2/1/2016
Review By: todd9500
Played: 258  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Wow!! What a beautiful Disc Golf course with the iconic fountain and the McDowell Mountains in the background. I have the utmost respect for local disc golf leaders in convincing the city of Fountain Hills to go along with installing an 18 hole disc golf course knowing that this is one of the most walked public parks in the entire Phoenix Valley.

Amenities: Outstanding. They have excellent bathroom facilities between hole 18 and 1. There are quality restaurants adjacent to the course.

Rating: I give it a 4.0 rating. Fountain Hills is one of my favorite courses to play in the Phoenix Valley. It's mostly because of the Memorial layout. You won't fully appreciate the difficulty of the Fountain Hills course until you're under pressure to maintain or pick up strokes and you're dealing with some serious wind.

Course design/difficulty/obstacles/out-of-bounds: This course would be considered a rather open course that builds in the course difficulty by locating baskets near water or near roads and sidewalks. The course designers used the elevation changes quite nicely on a few holes. There are trees to mess with your putting on four holes. Talking to a couple of lefties they thought it favored the righty but not by much.

Course condition: Everything is mowed but plenty of duck poop to deal with. The fountain sprays water up 300' for about 15 minutes every hour between 9am and 9pm which increases the wind.

Navigability/signs/maps: Easy to follow with DGCR map. Without a map, I think it's still easy enough since you can see the upcoming tee-pads and/or baskets.

Local DG involvement: There is good leadership with the Fountain Hills Disc Golf Club. They have a weekly league. They have a website: http://www.discgolf.club / and a Facebook site.

Tee pads/benches/shelters/picnic tables/parking: 12' diameter circular tee-pads. The benches are located next to the sidewalk and are used by pedestrians. There are a couple shelter areas on the course. There is plenty of parking spots available.
Cons: Cons: Pedestrians are everywhere on weekends. It's best to play during the week. Please be patience.
Other Thoughts: Remember the Disc Golfer's Code:
1) Play Smart - Never throw into a blind area or when players, spectators, pedestrians, or other facility users are within range. Use a spotter.

2) Respect the Course - Observe all posted rules. No littering, graffiti, or abuse of equipment or flora.

3) Represent the Sport - Be positive and responsible. Teach others.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Most Over Rated Course in the US

1    3/20/1995   1/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2016
4 Helpful / 37 Not
Pros: There are no pros to this course except for the fact that it looks beautiful and has a Fountain. The problem is that it looks like ball golf and not disc golf.
Cons: Courses like this are dinosaurs that should simply be pulled and forgotten. The technology has passed them by. There are virtually no obstacles, they ludicrously use arbitrarily drawn lines as artificial OB (something the PDGA should eliminate in favor of real obstacles that only penalize a player when he fails to throw out of trouble), and it becomes tantamount to a distance competition.

Other Thoughts: This sort of course may be TV friendly, but it isn't what skill based and challenging golf is all about.

It's setting the game and the marketing of the game back 35 years.

4 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Nice views and a very good course

2-4    3/28/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: hawk12
Played: 216  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 26.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding park, great lake views, mountain views, nice bathrooms, running water, walking paths and restaurants all surround the course - so that covers amenities clearly in the pros.

Nice circle concrete tees on most holes. Nut utsed to that type of tees, but was interesting to have different run ups than the righties. The rest of the tees were from the concrete walking paths, so that was a nice bouns to have great footing.
Excellently manicured grass and park, with beautiful palms, bushed, and war memorials near hole one. Take the time to read them, some nice history there.

The design is interesting, as I played the Memorial layout, it was roped/flagged and had some slight modification baskets, but mostly the same as standard with some more OB.
The flow was nice & couldn't be much different (other than winding it counter-clockwise around the lake...
Before I went out, all I heard is you throw just hzyers, and as a lefty was concerned that I'd be forced into annys in the high winds - not true. All I threw was hyzers also... Its just that open of a course.

The opening 9 holes were very challenging, as a lefty, I went out over the lake about 5 of the first nine holes, played as intended > high risk = high reward when properly executed. That goes very much in to the pro section of separating talent for an event and creating skill speration on the scoreboard. As well ttaking the low risk shots could lead to fun casual play by staying safe and using the ample grass fairways.

The Fountain going off on the hour was a very cool aspect, and one that I completely now understand the mystique of this place. One you pretty much have to experience in person - the water shoots much higher than video or photos can do justice.

Mach X baskets are new, and quite nice. I personally prefer other baskets as that is a lot of chain weight to be a touch putter on, those X baskets really seem to prefer a hard push putter IMO - but that is personal preference and it still falls as a pro to have great new baskets.

Cons: The peninsula holes were indeed fun, but after those I felt a lot of the back 9 were similar - long throws with not much in the way of trees of obstacles.

The attempt to overcome that was to have Hole 13 (I believe) have a tree 10 feet in front of the tee, offering only a low hyzer, very skinny lane up the middle, or skip flick... Interesting way to manufacture the feel of a wooded hole, a con in my book, but I'm an east coast player that has the luxury of many trees to force a shaped shot instead of one tree. Maybe with more play I might change my mind on this holes as it did break up the monotony of throwing me slightly overstable distance driver on nearly every hole after 9...

Other Thoughts: I loved having several places within walking distance to eat after rounds, something very few courses can offer.

Overall, a great place to play disc golf. The mystique of the Memorial was excellent to see in person & an experience more golfers should come to, even if only to spectate.

The course was indeed a good course, the design absolutely maximizes the property available, and uses nearly every piece of grass in the park. The variety is limited the the park shape and available land itself, so I cannot fault the design, only wish that the park was bigger...

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 iconic, if a little overrated

1    8/3/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 9.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -park is defined by the lake, the huge fountain, and the course design's great use of the water
-OB lake and sidewalks put a premium on accuracy on what is otherwise a pretty wide open course
-great Mach X baskets and nice circular tees (except for the few that are just on the sidewalk)
-a bit of elevation gets utilized, there is a wide variety of distances, and there are a few well-protected baskets and cool peninsula greens
Cons: -the design going counterclockwise around the lake means you get to throw hyzers all day
-i thought hole 13's tee, with the tree right in front of it, was silly
-a few extra baskets here and there around the course were kind of confusing
-the course kind of fizzled out for me by the last few holes. it seems like you just throw back and forth a few times on the last bit of wide open field until you hit 18 holes.
-obviously, it's AZ. it's hotter than Satan's backside. bring water.
Other Thoughts: Having seen so many tournament videos here, I already had a good idea of what to expect from this course but it still gave me a smile to actually be out playing it. It's hard not to think of McBeast's 39 when you're out here.

The fountain and enormous fountain that shoots 300' in the air periodically dominate the scenery but the park itself has beautiful lush grass and a nearly tropical vibe with all the palms. That water may smell a little funky and the grass make also be covered in duck poop but the park is in great condition and seems to be well maintained, except for some missing signs.

The course is pretty straightforward but at least half the baskets have OB water or sidewalks inside the circle so putting up a good score is really about placement from a variety of distances and not letting the water get inside your head. This keeps the course interesting until you get toward the end and away from the lake. I definitely felt that the course ended weakly.

This is certainly a beautiful and iconic course that provides for a fun and challenging round. The OB has the potential to really get inside your head and ruin your round and the water can steal your plastic but it is a great test of mental focus and execution. It also seems like a cut above in challenge and presentation compared to some of the other courses nearby.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Kenny Rogers Classic

1    5/20/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
Contrasting scenery - interesting coloured (and smelling?!) man-made lake (with fountain in middle), surrounded by green grass, surrounded by a trio of roads, surrounded by distant, semi-barren hills.

Challenging greens - some near water, some near slopes, some near both!
Cons:
In the water = disc loss.

Fairly flat and open
Other Thoughts:
Course plays counterclockwise around a man-made lake. The first half of the course will always have looming out-of-bounds - either the water to the left, or pavement to the right. Holes lengthen and water/pavement come into play less on the back nine, as there is more space between the lake and the road. Overall, decent variety in distances - I threw mid, fairway, and distance drivers from the circular teepads.

There are a few scattered trees and random bits of elevation, but there are minimal shot-shaping challenges here. The primary question here is - how much of a gambler are you? With ~1/3rd of the baskets near water, and a few other baskets near pavement, how confident/bold (deluded/foolish) are you about your accuracy?

Not sure how crowded this public park typically is, but on a hot Tuesday mid-afternoon, it was practically empty! Both the walking path and enticing open space could have other park users occupying them when the temperatures are cooler.

If you like the contrast of open but simultaneously requiring accuracy, too, you'll find this course appealing.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain Hills Fun!

2-4    12/28/2013   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The fountain: it's just too iconic! I think the new Innova calendar has a picture of it? Anyway, playing around the fountain is pretty awesome.

The challenge: there is a water hazard on virtually every hole. Water in the desert? It's all here. Challenge yourself with some risky throws over the water. If your disc goes in, you might still be able to recover it - the water is cold, but shallow. We always bring water shoes just in case.
Cons: The pedestrians: they're everywhere! Gotta be careful. Some baskets are right next to the sidewalk too. Most of the walkers out here are retirees - please don't hit grandma with an errant drive.

The duck poop: this is also everywhere. Be sure to wipe your feet often. It's unavoidable - if you don't step in it, your disc will probably land in some.

The drive: takes a while to get out there... But it's worth it!
Other Thoughts: Too cool. If you live in AZ and haven't played this course yet, go play it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Fountain

1    3/28/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What an amazing setting for a beautiful course. I was told this was THE course to play when I was in town and it certainly was worth the 30 min drive to do so.

The obvious aspect to this is that fountain. Wow. I saw a lot of pictures from friends at The Memorial and thought it was impressive, but to see it in person is a whole different story! It's stunning! The swirling wind it creates is incredible... not great for the disc control, but incredible just the same.

The park area is beautiful. I can see why so many people come to it, (which I'll address in the cons). I had a chance to meet several fantastic people while playing.

Ok, enough of the gawking, on to the technical review:

This is certainly a challenging course with lots of hazards which I personally enjoy. Boring golf is just that, boring, and this is anything but. The near constant threat of losing a disc to the reclaimed water monster is certainly one that makes you think about nearly every shot you take.

It has a good range of distances across the board. In it's standard layout there were only par 3's, which is ok. Having a couple par 4's would be nice. The course didn't seem to favor right or left handed players too much.

Multiple pin placements for each hole means that they can mix it up nicely.

It's not too busy with regards to disc golfers. In act, I didn't see a single other disc golfer the entire time.

The Mach X baskets are really nice. They are also using the old baskets to do beginner layouts while doing the Mach X baskets in the pro layout.

Arrows attached to the bottom of the baskets point to the next tee pad, which is usually easy to find with the exception of hole 12. (I'm sure there was a "next tee" sign on 11's basket that I didn't see)
Cons: By far the biggest con for this course is how crowded it is with pedestrians everywhere. I waited several minutes on a few holes for people to move out of the way, which is important to do on courses like this. Pedestrians have the right of way, even if you have to skip a hole to avoid them.

The peninsula shots on 6, 8 and 9 are all pretty similar throws. They vary in distance but are extremely similar to one another.

Hole 12 on the map is incorrect. The tee pad is up on the sidewalk by the basket for hole 11 and shoots down toward the lake. The map shows it by the amphitheater which is the old location according to a local I spoke with. They will likely change that soon since I brought it to his attention, (he was mending pin sleeves) and if/when I notice that the map has been updated I'll remove this con and likely rate it a 4.0.

The flow is ok for the most part, but gets a little funny in a couple spots. This is not a huge con and really didn't affect the overall rating too much, just an observation. The next tee signs help greatly as does the map.

When you feel the mist from the fountain then suddenly realize that it's poop-water it's a bit unsettling.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really liked the course! I've seen it a few times on film and was really happy to make it out to it. The fountain is impressive and daunting! That wind can really mess with your shots in a hurry. This is compounded by the elevation making discs pretty flippy to begin with. Every single bogey I had was when the fountain was going off.

From what I hear the fountain water can be pretty harsh on sun glasses. I didn't experience that myself, but since I heard it I thought I'd warn others to wear sunglasses that you don't care too much about. I guess the acids from either bird crap or the reclamation tend to etch into the lenses.

It's a good idea to have a golden retriever or the like here. Not that you can see your disc if it goes in much farther than 3 ft, but hey, it's worth a shot.

And finally again, please remember to give pedestrians the right of way. No round is worth nailing some old lady or child in the head with a disc.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.