Fountain Hills, AZ 
Fountain Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 437ft.   3 / 437ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Championship level course

2-4    1/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a beautiful park so unlike any other of the Phoenix courses Fountain Hills plays around the edge of a lake and is covered in actual green grass. There is good length throughout the course with a good mix of left, right, and overhand shots. Only mild elevation but it is put to good use with tee shots up and downhill. The grounds are beautifully kept with giant circular tee pads that are a great addition with the multiple pin placements offered.

The extra pin placements are what make this a high caliber course. Water is in play for 8 of the front 9 holes with pins within 20-35ft. of the water's edge and all at distance. Makes for very interesting choices off the tee and approaches. Extra plastic is must as you will most likely drop one in the drink. It forces you to think and be precise with your throws as well as skips off the short turf.

The back 9 plays away from the water and also stretches out a bit with a picturesque 500 footer from on top of the hill that is reachable with the right oomph. The entire course is easily navigable and the signage clearly directs to the next tee.
Cons: The front 9 favors the RHBH hyzer and the hyzer only. The water does not smell nice and it wants to suck in plastic. Quite a bit of foot traffic on the weekend even in the morning but the locals have some sort of clue about the sport and will be out of the way. The back, while away from water and longer is a bit wide open, I'm sure alternate pins force more thought to tee shots but it's very straightforward.

The course is over 30mins outside of Phoenix/Scottsdale but has facilities/stores nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that forces you to think about your shots and will test your confidence in your drives. The water really factors into the course and they use it well if not a bit too much on the front. Easily the best overall course in the Phoenix area in terms of difficulty, setting, amenities, shot diversity, and overall character. The one course to hit in the Phoenix area when here, there's a reason the Memorial is contested here, it's a true high level course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    2/12/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the prestine course. Plenty of length and technical shots with the pins so close to the water.
Cons: Lots of people in the park. Benches between tee pad and baskets with people sitting there right in the way. Short tee pads and as nice as the water looks it's disgusting, if you lose a disc good luck getting it out!
Other Thoughts: Bring discs that float and a long fishing net to retrieve them. Over all I loved it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course in my hometown

5+    1/17/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: conorthemick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful manicured grass park.
A wide variety of shots; some wide open for a nice big drive, some shorter but with lots of water to consume your discs.
Great signs.
Restrooms, playground, shops nearby... bring the kids!
I feel that the holes are very well designed, and the park itself is totally unique for a desert course.
Cons: Smells funny sometimes...no joke.
All the reviews about duck/goose crap are right on.
The water is NAAAASSSTY!!! If you can somehow retrieve your disc if it has gone in the water, you might wanna consider some hand sanitizer or something. (Nursing student talking here.)
Lots of non DG traffic, esp. on weekends and when the weather is nice. YELL FORE!!
Other Thoughts: I am a beginner/novice player, so when I review courses, it is from that standpoint... just a matter of disclosure. I feel OK about this, 'cause it doesn't seem like there are very many reviews written by anyone of my level of experience.
That said, if the baskets on this course are in the "C" position (or even "B"), and you are not an experienced player, this course will EAT YOUR LUNCH! (And the water will feast upon your discs as well.)
However, I literally learned how to play the game on this course, so if you are looking to jump right into the fire as a newbie, this is a good place to do it. As a result of learning on this course, other courses seem fairly manageable by comparison.
This is a must-play course if you're in the metro Phoenix (especially Scottsdale) area.
Water is in serious play on holes:
1, 2, 6, 7, 8, and 16. In my opinion, the 1st hole is actually the most soul-crushing water hazard.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nothing special

1    10/24/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: decent signs.
baskets at every hole.
grass throughout.
almost like playing a real golf course.
Cons: teepads are circular and rather small which makes for less run up than I like. Some teepads are actually just part of the side walk that goes around the park. I was not impressed at all with these teepads, and some of the placement was horrendous. One hole has a bench and two trees less than 10 feet away, and a little off center. I'm all for obstacles, but this was ridiculous.

This is one of the greenest public places i've seen in the phoenix area. This causes several problems, The biggest problem I had with this course was the difficulty of playing with other park users. Families with picnics set up around baskets. People relaxing in the shade of trees all over the course including trees 15 feet in front of the tees. We had to skip one hole completely and shoot way off target on a few others to safely avoid other park users.
My second issue with a green course: I've played tons of grass courses in the mdiwest. I'm sure it's nice for residents in the area to play something other than rock, dirt, and pine trees, but for me, it just seemed out of place.

There were multiple pins for a few holes, but many times this just meant multiple baskets. I'm used to baskets being moved from time to time not three baskets to choose from on a hole. It was a little tricky since the tee signs were good, but not that good.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was fairly annoyed by this course. Granted I played on a sunday afternoon, so the traffic of other park users was probably at it's worst, but it made the course almost unplayable.

I wasn't impressed with the teepads themselves, and while the course was pretty, it would be more fitting in another part of the country.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoy the scenery

1    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a nice park this is set in! Great views of the mounitans surround the area. Park is nice and clean, trash cans everywhere and the fairways are nearly as neat and clean as a ball golf course. The signs are in great shape, not vandalized. The fountain in the middle of the lake is pretty cool to watch when it goes off. As far as the actual course, each hole has giant circle teepads, a little unique, but providing plenty of room to throw. Signs on every hole that shows the hole as well as a map of the whole course so you know exactly where you are at. Baskets were in great shape. Water is a factor on a number of holes, but not so much that it creates too my of a hazard and detracts from the enjoyment. There is some minor elevation changes and there are just enough trees with the baskets carefully placed to provide a challenge. A few shorter holes with some longer ones on top of a slight hill that begs for you to let them rip.
Cons: This is a course in a public park. This means few trees, mowed grass everywhere with no underbrush, and a walking trail right next to some of the holes that can cause delays with other park users. I definately prefer heavily wooded courses that are isolated from other park users. Though there are some trees on the course, not enough to provide too much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice disc golf course in a park. Very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for water holes, you won't find a course in the area with more than this course. However this park lacks the challenges of careful placement and choosing difficult lines by not having more trees. For me an open course is kind of a boring course. However with that said, the baskets are placed in just the right spots to maximize the challenge on each hole. This course is definately a welcome change from the Phoenix area courses and is definately worthy of playing again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic beauty

5+    9/1/2006   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The beauty that surrounds this course is amazing. Four Peaks is easily seen and when the fountain goes off the views and your pictures can be amazing.

Not alot of trees but there are enough to get in your way of some nice drives and force you to rethink your shot. Contrary to other reviews this course is not that short and does require technical accuracy. Water comes into play on more than 2/3rds of the baskets. Multiple pin positions on some baskets. Lots of signage and brand new tee pads. Restrooms water and food right next to the course. This is a well kept and manicured park. Almost like playing on a ball golf course.
Cons: The pond is reclaimed water it stinks and is gross.
Other Thoughts: Do not pass up the opportunity to play this course when you are in town. If you have the first issue of Flying Disc magazine the cover picture was taken at the Fountain. One of my most favorite courses in the valley. This course is one of two that the Memorial plays.

Hole one is located to the East of the parking lot by the war memorial. Park in the lot and follow the sidewalk away from the bathrooms tee pad one is about 100 yards down.

It is a multi use park so a few shots require you to wait for people using the walking paths.

Locals are very friendly and willing to help.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful

1    7/9/2007   7/9/2009
Review By: Brooks
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the most scenic courses I've had the pleasure to play. Bring a camera!
A great course for a relaxing round of golf.
Cons: Easy to loose discs if your not accurate.
Mid-day heat can be brutal.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. For a guy from the mid-west, this is the perfect vacation course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 358  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Extremely manicured grass course with LOTS of danger.
- Requires good shots and good judgement to keep your plastic. Literally... 13 holes have some form of water danger - never experienced this before.
- At least, the holes weren't terribly long considering the risks. But, this almost dares you to go for it.
- Wonderful tee-pads with stamped numbers (very professional). And, good tee-signs.
- They must move the baskets a lot... because they don't have the dirt rings around the baskets you usually find on grass cousres.
Cons:
- To start, this course isn't in Phoenix as implied by the Phoenix (fountain hills) location description. It's in Fountain Hills! and that's at least 1/2 an hour away from Phoenix! That's like saying Sylmar is near La Mirada (not quite that close if your on a DG road trip with a time crunch). This could have screwed up the timing of my road trip... but fortunately I was still able to make it up to Flagstaff to play.
- The Water - it smells. When the fountain was going off there was this atmospheric, dense, smelly smell... can't explain it... but, I didn't enjoy the mist misting me!
- The basket number plates don't face the tee-pads... and even though it seems obvious as to where you're supposed to throw... when the number plate is facing the opposite direction... it's confusing.
- I don't know how you could play this course on a daily basis and continue to afford plastic... there's that much danger of losing discs.
- No maps at hole 1.
Other Thoughts:
- As was mentioned below... this course was nothing to write home about. Water comes into play a lot; but, that's not everything. The course was short and none of the holes seem memorable. None of the shots requires a long shot across water... just shots near water.
- The fountain... although cool to see, SUCKS. Waste water mist flying everywhere... and the wind it produces messes up even the shortest putts. There is a noticeable difference betwwen fountain on and fountain off - hard vs. easy.
- I got through this course really quickly - 1:20 at most... easily navigable.
- My Score: - 3

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain of Youth

1    3/28/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 150  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circular teepads so you can have a good run-up for all basket settings. Never seen this before it was cool.
Nice green grass, well groomed
Water in play on many holes
Huge fountain that runs every hour for 15 minutes
Nice baskets with chains that really grip the disc
Some benches and bathrooms
Cons: Hyzer, Hyzer, Hyzer. . .regardless of your handedness you can hyzer almost every hole
Very crowded with walkers and other pedestrians
Kind of tough to navigate, but doable
No privacy, very open course
Few trees with questionable placement on a few holes
Very short
Other Thoughts: This course is very unique and aesthetically beautiful. Similar to other reviews, the beauty of this park attracts many dog walkers and the like. I waited on quite a few holes until the coast was clear. This course does not demand a variety of shots. The hyzer seems to play almost every holes with almost no exceptions. It was enjoyable and the water was fun to negotiate, but this course is nothing to write home about. However, it is a good course worth playing and depending on the settings can be challenging, or relatively simple. Dont go in the water, it is reclaimed sewage water.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain Hills Rocks

5+    3/6/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous Phoenix area retirement community. Some of the best Risk-Reward shots in disc golf, that I have ever experienced. Most of the basket positions bring the water into play. Even wayward putts have a great chance of finding water. Perfectly manicured greens play very fast, and the fountain keeps the wind swirly.
Cons: Stay out of the spray of the fountain! Besides it being the waste of all of the water birds in the area, I have heard stories of it spotting sunglasses to the point of disrepair.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course. Play conservatively unless you like donating plastic. A Golden Retriever(disc retriever) is a good purchase before going there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.