Fountain Hills, AZ 
Fountain Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 294ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Enjoy the scenery

1    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a nice park this is set in! Great views of the mounitans surround the area. Park is nice and clean, trash cans everywhere and the fairways are nearly as neat and clean as a ball golf course. The signs are in great shape, not vandalized. The fountain in the middle of the lake is pretty cool to watch when it goes off. As far as the actual course, each hole has giant circle teepads, a little unique, but providing plenty of room to throw. Signs on every hole that shows the hole as well as a map of the whole course so you know exactly where you are at. Baskets were in great shape. Water is a factor on a number of holes, but not so much that it creates too my of a hazard and detracts from the enjoyment. There is some minor elevation changes and there are just enough trees with the baskets carefully placed to provide a challenge. A few shorter holes with some longer ones on top of a slight hill that begs for you to let them rip.
Cons: This is a course in a public park. This means few trees, mowed grass everywhere with no underbrush, and a walking trail right next to some of the holes that can cause delays with other park users. I definately prefer heavily wooded courses that are isolated from other park users. Though there are some trees on the course, not enough to provide too much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice disc golf course in a park. Very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for water holes, you won't find a course in the area with more than this course. However this park lacks the challenges of careful placement and choosing difficult lines by not having more trees. For me an open course is kind of a boring course. However with that said, the baskets are placed in just the right spots to maximize the challenge on each hole. This course is definately a welcome change from the Phoenix area courses and is definately worthy of playing again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic beauty

5+    9/1/2006   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The beauty that surrounds this course is amazing. Four Peaks is easily seen and when the fountain goes off the views and your pictures can be amazing.

Not alot of trees but there are enough to get in your way of some nice drives and force you to rethink your shot. Contrary to other reviews this course is not that short and does require technical accuracy. Water comes into play on more than 2/3rds of the baskets. Multiple pin positions on some baskets. Lots of signage and brand new tee pads. Restrooms water and food right next to the course. This is a well kept and manicured park. Almost like playing on a ball golf course.
Cons: The pond is reclaimed water it stinks and is gross.
Other Thoughts: Do not pass up the opportunity to play this course when you are in town. If you have the first issue of Flying Disc magazine the cover picture was taken at the Fountain. One of my most favorite courses in the valley. This course is one of two that the Memorial plays.

Hole one is located to the East of the parking lot by the war memorial. Park in the lot and follow the sidewalk away from the bathrooms tee pad one is about 100 yards down.

It is a multi use park so a few shots require you to wait for people using the walking paths.

Locals are very friendly and willing to help.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful

1    7/9/2007   7/9/2009
Review By: Brooks
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the most scenic courses I've had the pleasure to play. Bring a camera!
A great course for a relaxing round of golf.
Cons: Easy to loose discs if your not accurate.
Mid-day heat can be brutal.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. For a guy from the mid-west, this is the perfect vacation course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Extremely manicured grass course with LOTS of danger.
- Requires good shots and good judgement to keep your plastic. Literally... 13 holes have some form of water danger - never experienced this before.
- At least, the holes weren't terribly long considering the risks. But, this almost dares you to go for it.
- Wonderful tee-pads with stamped numbers (very professional). And, good tee-signs.
- They must move the baskets a lot... because they don't have the dirt rings around the baskets you usually find on grass cousres.
Cons:
- To start, this course isn't in Phoenix as implied by the Phoenix (fountain hills) location description. It's in Fountain Hills! and that's at least 1/2 an hour away from Phoenix! That's like saying Sylmar is near La Mirada (not quite that close if your on a DG road trip with a time crunch). This could have screwed up the timing of my road trip... but fortunately I was still able to make it up to Flagstaff to play.
- The Water - it smells. When the fountain was going off there was this atmospheric, dense, smelly smell... can't explain it... but, I didn't enjoy the mist misting me!
- The basket number plates don't face the tee-pads... and even though it seems obvious as to where you're supposed to throw... when the number plate is facing the opposite direction... it's confusing.
- I don't know how you could play this course on a daily basis and continue to afford plastic... there's that much danger of losing discs.
- No maps at hole 1.
Other Thoughts:
- As was mentioned below... this course was nothing to write home about. Water comes into play a lot; but, that's not everything. The course was short and none of the holes seem memorable. None of the shots requires a long shot across water... just shots near water.
- The fountain... although cool to see, SUCKS. Waste water mist flying everywhere... and the wind it produces messes up even the shortest putts. There is a noticeable difference betwwen fountain on and fountain off - hard vs. easy.
- I got through this course really quickly - 1:20 at most... easily navigable.
- My Score: - 3

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain of Youth

1    3/28/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Circular teepads so you can have a good run-up for all basket settings. Never seen this before it was cool.
Nice green grass, well groomed
Water in play on many holes
Huge fountain that runs every hour for 15 minutes
Nice baskets with chains that really grip the disc
Some benches and bathrooms
Cons: Hyzer, Hyzer, Hyzer. . .regardless of your handedness you can hyzer almost every hole
Very crowded with walkers and other pedestrians
Kind of tough to navigate, but doable
No privacy, very open course
Few trees with questionable placement on a few holes
Very short
Other Thoughts: This course is very unique and aesthetically beautiful. Similar to other reviews, the beauty of this park attracts many dog walkers and the like. I waited on quite a few holes until the coast was clear. This course does not demand a variety of shots. The hyzer seems to play almost every holes with almost no exceptions. It was enjoyable and the water was fun to negotiate, but this course is nothing to write home about. However, it is a good course worth playing and depending on the settings can be challenging, or relatively simple. Dont go in the water, it is reclaimed sewage water.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain Hills Rocks

5+    3/6/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous Phoenix area retirement community. Some of the best Risk-Reward shots in disc golf, that I have ever experienced. Most of the basket positions bring the water into play. Even wayward putts have a great chance of finding water. Perfectly manicured greens play very fast, and the fountain keeps the wind swirly.
Cons: Stay out of the spray of the fountain! Besides it being the waste of all of the water birds in the area, I have heard stories of it spotting sunglasses to the point of disrepair.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course. Play conservatively unless you like donating plastic. A Golden Retriever(disc retriever) is a good purchase before going there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fountain hills Memorial layout

2-4    3/5/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most unique and memorable courses that i have had the pleasure of playing. 18 high quality baskets on several pin settings. I played this course during the memorial, so i got to play the hardest, or wettest pin settings. The fountain in the center of the small lake can actually create its own weather patterns. As soon as it starts to spray you will notice a strange wind starts to blow. I lost 4 discs on my first round. I loved the round teepads with ample surface texture so traction was never an issue.
Cons: The water in the lake is reclaimed sewage. There are lots of ducks, birds, geese so lots of turds under foot. Memorial pin settings will make your discs disappear quickly. Lots of other park users, people wandering onto the fairways.
Other Thoughts: WOW this course is just phenomenal i am looking forward to playing it again next year!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Paradise

1    1/17/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park is top notch. Very well maintained, and clean. It plays around a pretty pond with an "Old Faithful" like fountain. Perfect park to take the shoes off and enjoy why you started playing this game in the first place.
Cons: Most the holes are placed on the water edge so use caution or floatable discs. It makes it very challenging so if your a beginner jusy "lay up".The water has poor visibility, so if there more then a few feet out forget about it. Other then that AWESOME!!!
Other Thoughts: Learn from me....Don't throw your favorite discs or some custom dye you spent hours making. There will be alot of chances to send them to there watery grave.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scary -

1    1/19/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 1/22/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place to put a course
Very scenic. Holes are beautiful and spacious with nice variety and lots of hazards that make this course great. There are some shots that look like something out of a movie...Hole 5 is as picturesque as any I have ever seen. A constant demand is placed onto the player to "consider water nearby" and when your first shot goes wide to "play it safe" your next shot often is now at a basket with water behind it and a steep dropoff as well. This course really gets your excitement going. I found myself bogeying alot of shots on purpose because to go for par was just too dangerous and the risk/reward payoff seemed dubious.
I like the circular teepads...really roomy and provides options for the placement of your feet. This course is immaculate and very friendly. We had more people stopping to watch than most other places in Arizona - This might be because the designers made many of the teeboxes in places where they share concrete with the lake-ringing sidewalk.
Cons: There is a big chance that you may lose some discs. If you are easily psyched out by the thought of throwing discs in the water and losing good discs...this course can mess with your peace of mind.
Lots of non-golfers about near 16-18.
Other Thoughts: I think this course was a great idea. Really good use of hilly terrain and many holes that are just awesome. I like that it plays so long around a single giant lake. The ground was really over-soaked and spongy in some places but maybe that is the cost of really green and lush grass.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/8/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: The Hammer
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I absolutly love this course!! This is where I learned to play, talk about trial by fire. The lake and grass make for beautiful scenery. The course plays long, which is nice for us guys with big arms. Very challenging well laid out. Easy to navigate with the exception of #12 (tee box is up near the street). Good signage and new tee boxes complete with non-slip surface.
Cons: -Lots of goose crap (bring a towel)
-Tons of pedestrian traffic; don't even try on the weekends.
-Be prepared to lose a couple discs in the lake.(bring a floater)
Other Thoughts: Very challengeing and not for the faint of heart. Basically the only time you can play without having to skip holes is middle of the day, mid-week. This park is very popular for family picnics.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.