Pearland, TX 
Centennial Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 408ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Alt. Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

5+    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: DG Drunken Master
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well put together with a range of different looks. this is my home course and compared to others I am happy to have it close to home.
Cons: A few boxes could be tightened up and yardage is not always visible.
Other Thoughts: I saw Cory out there measuring the course and said he was going to put up some updated signs. I cannot wait for that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course LOVE IT

5+    12/5/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: txtroutslayer84
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course! I feel like with the space that is provided i do not think it could be any better. I love that it is its own section of the park and only other golfers are there. It is a clean and well kept park. The best feature i think is that the course has a very technical shot apeal to it. All of the holes have a very nice flow to them. Well shaded which is very nice in the summer trees also have a nice canopy effect on a couple of the holes most noticeably hole seven. The alternates make this small course fun and offer different looks to all most every basket. All in all I love it i can play a round ion about an hour or less by myself and I have been known to do a couple of laps. It to me does not seem repetitive as most holes have alternate lines as well as different tee placements. I hope Cory and Griff keep making courses they really know how to use the enviorment and provide a fun and challenging course.
Cons: The tee box on five is a little rooty could use a bench or two and please fix the signs. All of rthese things will be addressed im sure and i had to really think about the cons
Other Thoughts: Go see cory at corys bike shop on thirty five he designed this course and is a great guy to get some advice new discs or just bs about golf.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Centennial Pearland

5+    10/20/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: DikkaD
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Low tree lines.
Multiple lines on most holes.
Alternate Teeboxes
Away from other park "goers"
Lighted Parking
Cons: Short Holes
Some repetition, though the alternate tees help.
No elevation, or other obstacles. (Hole 1 from the longs has water on the left that is OB)
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course for intermediate/advanced players but will suit new players well. There is enough difficulty to seperate the skill levels but enough ease to allow scores well below par. I recommend this to all skill levels as it should help to hone your short game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun in Pearland

2-4    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 66  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Alternate tees for 9 holes.

2. Holes 1 and 9 start/ finish near the parking lot across the street.

3. Plenty of shade from the trees.

4. Very easy to navigate without course map. Though the parking lot for the course is across the street. Hole one begins near the bayou. there is a DG Rules sign near tee 1.

5. New MAch 2 baskets.

6. Mandos are marked with orange arrows either on trees or small posts in the ground.

7. Course offers a good look at different shots. The alternate tees offer variety. Variety is good in DG. Without it the course would be very repetitive.
Cons: THE CONS:

1. Natural tees. Though they are not routed yet, rain and heavy play with turn them into puddles in the near future.

2. Tee signs for several holes have the distance scratched out. A sharpie has been used to correct the distance.

3. Even though a plus for having alt tees there is no distance information for the alt tee.

4. No elevation. The course relies heavily on the fact that with only nine holes you get a mix of left and right. But for the most part the holes are pretty easily thrown on very reasonable lines.



Other Thoughts: This course offers a fun time in Pearland. With this course taking Woody Street's place I would say the the land was well used. I wish hole three was a little longer. Possibly putting the basket behind the the big oak to offer more difficulty. The course overall is very clean and well kept.

Holes 2-4, 6 and hole 8 offer pretty easy birdies. Hole two is an easy line for a RH BH Anhyzer or a LHBH hyzer. Hole three is short with little difficulty. Hole four offers a line for a LHBH hyzer, or a RHBH hyzer the difficulty being the large tree in the fairway. Hole six offers a look at both RHBH and LHBH. I chose to go with LHFH to "S" curve through the obstacles. If you can reach the thin palm between the two bigger tress you can look foward to a decent birdie putt. Hole eight is a LHBH hole or RHBH anhyzer. Though not much angle is required on the drive. I used a ROC LHBH throw to get within 15ft of the basket.

Holes 1, 5, 7, 9 offer the distance for this course. These holes can easily be pared. Thus making the course a fun chance at an under par round. I think that this course is better than Miramar in Seabrook. So for the area i would say that Centennial is best nine hole course in SE Houston.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love it

2-4    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1- trees
2-shade
3-nice layout
4-nice intermediate distance holes
5-clean and upkept
Cons: A little confusion on hole distance and can be hard to find alternate tees, at first.

Maybe the canopy could be raised just a little more
Other Thoughts: I have to say this has just become one of my favorite courses in Houston.
Its clean, well laid out, shaded and fun.

I can see myself playing here a lot when those temperatures go up into the 90+degrees because of the nice shade offered here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good potential

1    5/8/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the layout of this course. It has nice variety of hyzer, anhyzer, low ceiling, high ceiling, long and short. The longest hole is hole #1 at 408 feet, where you can play a big hyzer to the right of the tree-line over the creek. The shortest hole is a 190ft anhyzer hole #3. The designers really did a good job of mixing it up and utilizing the existing trees. It is probably theoretically possible to birdie every hole, but you will need an arsenal of precision shots to make it happen. This is a great course for practicing and developing a precision short game.

There are plenty of tall trees, so you get a lot of shade during your round.

The baskets they brought from Woody are solid, and they are correctly numbered.

Hole distances are currently marked on the tee signs apparently imported from Woody with a black sharpie, but I suppose this is temporary. But it doesn't look like the alternate tees are well marked.

Hole #1 tees off from the end of the sidewalk, so you have an awesome cement tee pad, it would be nice if there were other cement teepads.

There is decent parking right across the street and there is a walkway to tee #1.

Other than hole #1, there really isn't any water hazard where you could lose a disc (this is a bonus for me)
Cons: I don't know what the eventual plan is for the tee pads, but right now they are really rough, uneven, and bumpy, so it is difficult to get a smooth run-up for a drive. (except hole #1)

It is in a relatively flat area, and there is no elevation change.

There are some nice lush trees growing on the property, and so there is a possibility of getting a disc stuck in them. I got one stuck that I couldn't get out (if you find my orange Star Eagle, please feel free to give me a call.)

Even though there is good variety to the hole layout, it can tend to seem a bit repetitive... probably because it is the same type of terrain and vegetation.

The alternate tees are marked but not labeled, so you are left guessing that you are on the right tee area. It would be nice to get a course map uploaded to this site to help navigate.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. I would really like to see a way to get nice big cement tee boxes in some of these courses. Kudos to Cory, Griff, and everyone else that made this happen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a brand new course that took Woody Street DGC's place in Pearland. It is leaps and bounds a better course in almost every way.

The course is filled with big trees. There are no "gimmie birdies," because the baskets are strategically placed with trees surrounding most. There are different lines off each tee. This course does not have any boring holes that stick out in my mind. It is quite apparent that Cory and whoever else made this course possible really took the time to think out each hole rather then just putting the baskets and tees in.

The course is situated alone a bit away from Centennial Park itself. No other park patrons should ever be in the way. As of now the course is pretty quiet of other golfers, this may change with word of mouth since this course is brand new.

There are alternate tees for 7 out of the 9 holes. The alternates give a fresh look at the holes and are not just longer holes of the main tees.
Cons: One of the biggest cons of Woody Street was playing too close to people's houses. Hole #3 does feel a bit intrusive to the nearest house's yard.

With use the grass tees will become dirt. However, as of right now the grass is a bit long on the tee pads.

There are a few rough spots where the grass is long enough to lose a disc. The grass near the water on hole #1 and to the right of the fairway on hole #9 before the street are a few examples.

Cory mentioned that there used to be houses on the course but they consistently flooded. After a heavy rain this course may flood easily.
Other Thoughts: I did not comment on the tee signs. Right now they are the old woody signs with the old distance scratched off and the new distance sharpied on. I am sure they are looking into new signs.

Pearland does not have any courses worth mentioning but with Centennial in the ground this serves as a good course for the area. With the alternate tees, you can potentially play 16 different holes (with just #2 and #3 lacking alternates). This is a good course to come play. Definitely worth the drive for me from UH.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.