Battle Creek, MI 
Leila Arboretum Share
Uploaded By: Jazzbones Hole #15 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Disappointing Sadism

2-4    12/5/2015   12/5/2015
Review By: Mark R
Played: 92  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Those with lots of time and arm strength will enjoy this course the most. Hole 5 has a great elevated tee shot onto a long, straight fairway, leading around a pond to an 810' basket. Hole 11 has a tee perched on a steep ridge, leading to a pretty meadow below, and also has one of the best pin positions up a short hill with pine trees. Has quite a few elevation changes on the best holes, including undulating short hills on Holes 12-15. Even the woods holes tend not to be flat here. Has terrific tee signs and sidewalk plank tee pads. A free course, and a lot of exercise in a three-hour round.
Cons: Has many frustrating flaws that lead to a less-satisfying disc golf experience. Among these are somewhat baffling pin positions that are occasionally ill-conceived (Holes 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 17). Some holes play longer than the posted distances. Has some high pain-to-gain woods holes, which unfortunately make up a majority. A few holes seem to have RHBH-only tee shots. Others are way too long for the tree density. Disappointingly, many beautiful grassy areas of the park aren't utilized. Most frustrating was the fact that baskets for Holes 3, 6 and especially Hole 15 (a missed opportunity for a signature Hole) are currently missing; there is little more frustrating in the game than walking through wooded hills looking for a non-existent basket.
Other Thoughts: Good in spots, but not consistently. Very difficult, but doesn't necessarily reward good play in all instances. Though shorter and less exotic, the nearby Irving Park course is often more fun overall.

Course redesign ideas:
-Keep 1 and 2 as is, possibly moving the basket for 2
-Redesign 3 or Skip to 4
-Split up 5 into two holes
-Eliminate 6, 8, 9, 10 and 17
-Reverse Hole 7 from hole to tee
-Open up 18 slightly, especially near the tee
-Add 4 meadow holes by parking lot and/or the opposite side of the street from 11

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spring 2014

5+    4/30/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has not greened out yet so now is a good time to play it. Cement tees and tee signs are in!
Cons: Big tree down on Hole #1.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with the course manager and he plans to finish cutting fairway trees and stumps before the end of May. Landscaping, benches and flags should be up by the end of the summer.
The concrete tees are a big improvement over last summer and the foot paths have been worn in a little bit.
The course needs to be broken-in and trimmed up but it is a lot of fun to play. The estimated PDGA Pro level Par is 68.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Welp, it has tee markers now.

1    4/7/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 84  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets - I think all but one or two had the vortex baskets and this may be the first time i have putted on these.

- Risk Vs Reward - this is one of those courses where throwing a mid safe and short may be better then bombing a driver.

-Tee pads - Nice long cement tee pads.

-Elevation - this course is a beast when it comes to elevation, it was my 5th course of the day, so my legs were tired, but it was a monster. Bring water.

Cons: - No Drinking - While this shouldn't be a con, the biggest con is that so many people were leaving there beer bottles on the course. This could be an issue with the trash cans as there only seemed to be 1 and it was where I think 8 or 9 meets 17.

- No benches - the park itself has a few but they are randomly not really accessable, for this course it would be nice to have a bench to sit on here or there.


-Tee Signs - (this is super nit picky, but I don't think I could mention it as a Pro as it bugged me a lot) They have em now, I was not really a fan as a lot of the holes seem to be over done and a bit dramatic,(for the lines) which as most of the course is blind it makes it hard to figure things out without walking forward.

-Condition - When I was there hole 1 and 4 or 5 seemed had huge branches down and made the fairways not as playable. It seemed the course took a huge beating this winter.

Fairways - I am all for wooded disc golf, but a few of the holes seemed crazy wooded. it may of been because of the conditions at the time.
Other Thoughts: This was one of those courses that seemed so good, and up there in pro caliber. I am not sure if when i played the course took a bad beating or what, because there was a lot of broken branches and brush all over.

If this seems to be getting better please let me know, I will most likely come back in the summer to check it out again and maybe change up my review depending.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Be prepared

2-4    5/18/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: newhunter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The set up is challenging yet enjoyable. Love the long drives.
Cons: This course seriously needs tee markers. There is nothing to indicate as to which way to go to get to the next tee from the current basket. Many of the stumps are still 4-6 inches sticking out of the ground, they really need to be ground down. SERIOUS hazard!!!!
Other Thoughts: The Leila Arboretum course will be one of the absolute best courses in southern Michigan once the tees and baskets get marked to give direction as to where to go from one spot to another.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center