Great Bend, KS
Great Bend DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 252ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: OB drainage ditch short



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Bend split

1    8/17/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: templink
Played: 52  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery. The lake is lovely. The grass is well maintained.
-Welcome sign showing full-course map at parking lot near hole #1.
-Back nine offer more challenge and variety.
-Water hazard on several holes heightens the challenge.
-Easy to navigate.
Cons: -Very small teepads. Teepad #16 is only 1 foot square! Most are just a few feet long.
-As others have said, front nine are not interesting. Maybe in 10 years when the saplings grow up, front nine will be better.
- Holes #9 and #11 share a teepad due to dog park.
- Holes #8 and #11 share a fairway in opposite directions, next to dog park.
- Many fairways would be unplayable on busy days due to non-golfers. This includes dog park, walkers, joggers, picnicers, etc.
Other Thoughts: Like 2 courses in one - beginner and intermediate, with front nine like a 9 hole beginner/practice course, and the back nine closer to what an 18 hole course should offer, but only half of it.
I enjoyed the lake scenery as I played the back nine. If I returned I would probably only play the back nine again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 lacks imagination

1    6/13/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 227  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained city park. The tee signs were excellent. Baskets were in great shape as well. As previously stated the front 9 would be a great place to learn the game. Very open for the most part. Chance of losing a disc on the front 9 is low, unless you put one in a tree or the dog park.
I really like the elevated, by Kansas standards, tee box and short shot on #14. Also #15 was a cool hole as well. You have a little stream that feeds into the pond to navigate across and trees guarding the basket. This made for a great hole in my opinion. I really like #16 because you have a tunnel shot, road out of bounds to your right, and a row of trees to the left plus the pond to contend with on this hole. Basket dog legs left from the tee box. #17 shoot it low under the trees or go out and around to the right and you should be fine.
Cons: Short tee pads!!! If you are going to spend the money to put in a course why not scrape up the extra gravy and make the tee pads longer. Back 9 could get crowded with other park users, especially 13-15.
Why does #9 and #11 have to share a tee box? If Great Bend can spend the money to put in a dog park, and I have nothing against this mind you, why can't they pour another tee pad for #11? Just saying!!
Other Thoughts: The back nine, especially holes 10, 14-18 have a risk reward to them. On #14 if you throw too hard you could end up in the water, on this short hole. All the water is to your left so be aware of this. Strong north winds could cause you grief on this course. With a little tree planting and better placement of the baskets on the front nine this course would get a 3.5 from me. What the front 9 lacks in imagination the back 9 makes up for in risk/reward and fun factor. Good mix of shots will be needed on this course. This is a good course if you are in the area or are on a road trip and want to stop and play a round. I would not classify this as a must play, but it is a good course non the less.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: schnelle
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful park. Good mixture of long and short holes. Very challenging. Well maintained, and bathrooms near by. Great tee signs, and very easy to follow. New baskets 2005. Park just replaced the missing tee signs they're all here.
Cons: Tee pads are small, christmas decorations become obstacles in the month of december. Teepad for hole eleven has been moved, and now shares the pad to hole nine. This move was made due to a new dog park wich can be an obstacle on holes eight and eleven.
Other Thoughts: Front nine great for beginners while back nine accuracy comes into play if you don't want to lose a disc. Come play it I'm sure you've played worse.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It doesn't suck, but doesn't make you go wow either.

2-4    9/6/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is well maintained by the city. Good beginner to intermediate level course (for the most part). Baskets are in good shape. Flows logically and has good signage. Plenty of parking and bathrooms onsite. Some along water holes and one knothole over creek crossing (#15) along the back nine add challenge, albeit most advanced players won't have much problem with these. The front nine is good for families trying out the game.

UPDATE: Due to some tree cutting on Hole #15, there is now a low route where you can shoot under the trees.
Cons: The entire front nine is flat, open and feels rather monotonus. About the only difference is the hole length. The back nine has more character to it, with some woodsier holes with water threat and minor elevation, but there's a long walk around the lake between 12 & 13 to get to them. A number of spots in the park where conflicts with non-players could come into play. There's a walking path near several of the front nine holes. On the back nine, there's a picnic area near 13. 15 and esspecially 16, while challenging, are dangerous as you can easily put a disc into a busy street or the water. There are also walking path conflicts. "Triscuit square" teepads could have been done better (upside is they are flush with the ground).

UPDATE: I am downgrading this course 1/2 a disc, because the city of Great Bend in its infinite wisdom has decided to build a dog park right where Hole #11 now sits. Fence posts are already going in so I doubt there is little that can be done to stop it, but this is going to put another long walk in a course that already has a long walk, assuming the other 17 holes stay put. The location of the dog park is going to make playing Hole #8 very precarious as RHBH shots are going to have to shoot right over the dog park. Assuming that holes aren't going to be rerouted (and there is very little land in this park to reroute with), this is going to add another hazard to safe play, especially with the wind we get here in Kansas.
Other Thoughts: A course I would probably play often if I lived in Great Bend, but nothing I would really go out of the way for. Alongside the nine holer out at BCCC, this is about the only game in town. That being said, its a little bland and undefined, and a little dangerous where it isn't. Adding some trees to the front nine would really help things.

UPDATE: If you have played this course before, I would encourage you to relay your concerns about having a hole of this course removed to accommodate the dog park to the Great Bend Parks Department:
Contact - Scott Keeler, Park Supervisor

By Mail:
1209 Williams
Great Bend, KS 67530

Phone: (620) 793-4160
Fx: (620) 793-4108
E-mail: http://www.greatbendks.net/emailpage.aspx

In person: Office Hours
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG at The Vet

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: VetsPlayer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Newer course is in good condition and has nice scenery
A fun and challenging back nine
Course provides a challenge but is also fair for a beginner like me just learning the game
Signs with clear indicators of where the hole is and where the next one is
Cons: The concrete tee boxes aren't long enough and a couple of them, notably hole 10 and 12 are on a bit of a sidehill lie which makes them uneven
The 445 yard par 3 is asking a lot of a beginner
It's easy to lose discs along the water holes, I guess that's just a beginners complaint though
Other Thoughts: I just picked up disc golf about 2 months ago and have played this course a ton. I enjoy it because it is a quick round and a good way to get experience in the game without being too simple.
How about hole 15, where you do have to cross that creek? Can expert players even tee off through the narrow opening in the trees to set up a birdie chance?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vet's Park Disc Golf, Great Bend, KS

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: chriselsen
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained park. Huge map of the whole course at Hole #1. Well detailed signs at each hole including map, distance, par, and next hole arrow. The course is designed around a lake which makes it challenging for beginners. Holes distances vary from 148 feet to 595 feet.
Cons: Some trees but not a huge number in play. The front 9 is pretty simple with not a lot of obstacles in the way. You play around a lot of water but rarely play over water. If you have halfway good accuracy you shouldn't lose a disc. Pretty flat as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a pretty fun course in an absolutely beautiful park. Not the most challenging course in the area, but maybe the most groomed. Definitely worth playing once or twice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two nines

1    9/1/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Each sign has a "next tee" arrow on it, a nice plus.
- Trashcans and restrooms.
- Back nine plays around a scenic lake with quite a few trees offering a significant challenge especially on windy days.
Cons: - The front nine. Wide open and pretty boring... the only challenge that presents itself is the wind. If you keep your disc low and straight you won't have many problems.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area I'd only recommend playing the back nine. It's a nice course but they just didn't have enough suitable land to work with.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.