Disc Golf Center
Angleton, TX 
Bates Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best feature: low ceiling

2-4    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice DGA double chain baskets with easy to read number plaques on the top. Decent course map posted by tee #1. Tees are all numbered on posts (although a couple have lost the number plates). The course provides a challenge unlike most other courses in the Houston area except First Colony Aquatic Center... and that is low ceilings on shots of fair distances. That's a good skill to have when playing courses in other parts of the country and it's hard to develop in Houston.
Cons:
The rubber tee pads are a joke being well undersized and several are installed perpendicular. The tee pads are also absurdly close to the previous baskets, literally less than 10' in some cases. Tee #2 and basket #9 are in #1's fairway. Holes #2 & #3 throw through a baseball field and bleacher area. Hole #8 throws dangerously close to a kids' playground.
Other Thoughts:
I played very early in the morning and there were several walkers/joggers that needed to be avoided on #1 and #9. But otherwise I had the course area to myself. But on a nice afternoon I can see lots of problems with baseball, picnicers, and kids on the playground. The course was clearly installed by folks with no knowledge of the game or the tees wouldn't be on top of the previous basket. There's no way you could have a tournament, as the course isn't safe for more than a few people at a time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

9 Hole in Angleton

2-4    10/9/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 65  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. New course with fresh baskets.

2. Easy to find and navigate

3. Big and easy to read sign at beginning of course.

4. Big number plates on the baskets.
Cons: The CONS:

1. Tee pads are rubber, but its the lack of size that makes them cons.

2. Baskets and next tee pads are so close that if there are other players you have to be on the alert for a flying disc.

3. No tee signs by the tee pads.

4. I didnt knock off any points for this, but some of the holes are labeled as a par (4) when really there is no justification for it being any higher than (3). I typically play every hole under 500-600 ft. as a par (3) unless its tightly wooded. So for instance hole 3 is a par (4), but the distance is only 300ft. Not to mention its a wide open shot with no obstacles in the way.

5. Basket for hole 9 is literally in the middle of hole 1's fairway. So again you need to be paying attention to your surroundings at all times.

6. Hole 8 plays dangerously close to small playground.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is fun to play. Recommend it as a beginner course. I did get a chance to talk to the designer of the course. He was out and about asking for feedback about the course. He admitted to me that he knew basically nothing about disc golf until he heard about from someone and decided to put in a course at Bates park. He invited me to be apart of the back nine design if the funds get approved. So with most of the cons being that of basket location and tee pads.. I offered advice about small relocation to make the course safer and more appropriate. The course does play on a mostly unused part of the park which is nice. Low traffic means less innocence people in the way of flying discs. The course is a fast play course which means playing the course can be accomplished in under 20 min. I played two rounds in 20-30 min. This course is a nice end to a day of disc golf if you played Dunbar earlier in the day or you just happen to be in the Angleton/ Lake Jackson area. Like i said though, not a course for the serious disc golfer.

I would give it a 2.5 if there was more variety from hole to hole, and larger tee pads with signage. and it offered a little more challenge. The only challenge the course really offers is the fact that the fairways have mostly low ceilings from the surrounding trees.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park Course

1    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: djkeyzer
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice small course in a very clean park. Good challenge from the low hanging tree limbs. Shady.
Cons: It's short, which is ok for me. It's all mid-range shots for you bombers out there. And as mentioned in other reviews, the next tee box is often too close to the basket, like less than 10 feet in some cases.
Other Thoughts: My first visit, and I was the only one there.. walked it three times and had fun..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course and surrounding park was very clean and well kept up. The baskets are brand new and in great shape and have big numbers on the top, easy to see from the tee. The tee posts are all present. There is a big course map near hole one, it is not necessary as the course is easy to navigate but it is still nice to see.

Shot wise this is not your run of the mill public park course. The back six holes are in a part of the park with a lot of low hanging trees that need a low, clean shot for a chance at a 2 (Houston folks, think of First Colony Aquatic Center when I mention low ceilings).

A great course for this town to introduce people to the sport in an easy way. There is little chance to lose a disc and the course is easy enough that will encourage beginners and not discourage them
Cons: Sadly, this course has more cons then pros. The first real big thing is that the next hole tees are literally five feet from the previous basket. If more then one group of people played here this could become a huge hazard.

Hole 9 plays across the street. This means that you have to throw across a street which also could be hazardous if an unsuspecting car drives by. One tip would be watch where you throw your drives.

Speaking of Hole #9. The basket is right in the middle of #1 fairway. Again, this could be seen as a hazard.

The rubber tee pads are ridiculous. They are maybe 3'x4' and some are pointing in the wrong direction. They are doing more bad then good. I would much rather have preferred the grass getting worn into dirt than have these small, pointless tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This course is easy to get to from 288 and can be played in ~30 minutes and that would be slow play. This course adds to the mini trifecta of the courses in this area along with Dunbar and Clute. This is a good course for beginners as mentioned previously.

The course description said that there may be hopes for an 18 hole course else where in town and that would be huge and greatly looked forward to by many players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good start

1    5/27/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: GMSdrum
Played: 107  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a recently installed course, the baskets are new, and the rubber tee pads are in good shape.

The baskets have large visible numbers on them. The layout is easy to follow except in a couple spots. (Signs pointing to the next tee are unnecessary since they're so close - see cons).

You are unlikely to lose a disc.
Cons: The tee pads are very small. No run-up is possible.

No tee signs, no distances, no markings on the tee pads. [Update Aug 2013 - All tees now have a post with the hole number]

Two of the tee pads (4 and 9) are pointing in the wrong direction.

*** The tee pads are WAY too close (about 10-15 feet) from the previous basket. If a group is ahead of you, it would be best to wait until they are two holes ahead before driving.

The #9 basket is directly in the fairway of hole #1. This is poor design. It needs to be moved northeast across the road, which would complete the loop back to the parking lot without disrupting play on hole #1. Also, anyone overthrowing the 226 foot Hole 7 would risk hitting players at basket 4 and tee 5.

Not much variety in the holes - all pretty much a straight shot.

Obstacles - if there's a ball game on the southwest field you will have problems with holes 2-3, and possibly 1. Hole 2 throws directly at a seating area and a "dugout". Hole 3 throws directly *through* center field. Hole 8 has a playground, trash can, and picnic table *in* the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of shade from #4-9, a good thing for the Texas summer heat.

The course map is posted at the south end of the large parking lot. It is a nice map with distances. The numbers are the basket locations. The tees are not indicated on the map, except for tee 1, since they are next to the previous basket.

Easy access from highway 288.

It's a multi-use park with playgrounds, a half-dozen softball/baseball fields, tennis courts, covered basketball court, and multiple restrooms. The ones I tried were locked but there are more in the adjacent Dickey Park.

The park was active with a few early morning walkers/joggers and others hanging around, but they didn't interfere with my round. I could see it being very busy with softball tournaments. There doesn't appear to be enough parking if all the ball fields were in use at once.

This is a nice addition to the area - the first course in Angleton, hope to see more. It's longer and more challenging than the 9-hole course in Clute Park not far to the south, but does not have the variety of Dunbar Park's 18-holer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.