Awendaw, SC 
Sewee Outpost Share
Uploaded By: Apsey Hole #14 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 260ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course!

2-4    5/28/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of the land
-Friendly Staff
-Purchases in the store count towards your $5 fee to play
-Technicality makes up for shortness of course
-Well shaded
-Great Discatcher baskets
-Quiet atmosphere
Cons: -Short course
-When other events are going on at the Outpost holes 1, 17, and 18 will not be playable as they are used for parking
-Rubber Tee Pads
Other Thoughts: I recently moved to the area and have played the course 3 times now. My first impression of the course was that it was beautiful, well shaded with tight holes. After shooting -11 my very first round, I was disappointed as I generally like courses that kick my butt. However, after playing a couple more times I got a taste of what the rough can be like if you find it and got a whole new appreciation for the course.

I consider myself to be a tee pad snob. I don't pick up my feet much at all during my x step so any unevenness could put me on the ground. I was surprised to see that these tee pads didn't bother me at all and I found them to be quite nice. The staff there at the Outpost does a fantastic job of keeping them level which is awesome. The pad are also very large which is good for those of you who have long run ups.

The day that I'm writing this review, I went out and played during their "Barn Jam" that they have every Wednesday evening. Holes 1, 17 and 18 weren't playable. If you get there early enough before the lot starts getting full you can get those holes out of the way and still get your full 18 in. If you are ok with that, I recommend going out there on a Wednesday evening and playing because throwing a disc around on beautiful property with the sound of good live music echoing through the woods while the sun is setting was VERY cool.

I will be coming here more often to play. Though the holes are short, they do demand a good accurate throw and can really help your short game. And there are still a couple holes you can throw your driver on. During my round I thew backhand, forehand, flick roller, thumber, and turbo putt. The folks at Innova that put the course in really did a good job at making sure you throw all the shots in your arsenal on this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun, good mix of wicked tight and nicely open

2-4    3/26/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Jumpfiend
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The vibe from the staff at the Outpost is great from when you first walk on the campus.
It's well marked and easy to follow from hole to hole.
The technicality of the holes makes it a lot more challenging than you'd first think from scoping out the distances.
Lots of fun with the changing open to tight lines mixing it up from hole to hole.
Amenities available are great! Plus live music every Wednesday that you can listen to as you play? Awesome!
There's a couple elevated tee pads (in otherwise FLAT Charleston area) that make it lots of fun.
Cons: A bit of a distance from Charleston proper, but well worth the drive.
The rubber tee pads aren't completely flat on a couple holes, so that's a bit disconcerting.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It's not a giant drives every hole type course, but it's very technical and makes you plan your shots accordingly. It's well manicured with plenty of birdie opportunities, as well as plenty of bogey opportunities if you miss your lines and end up in the woods. Lots of fun, it's definitely going to be a regularly played course for me.
Also, I met one of the owners and sat and talked with him for about 45 minutes. Great guy with lots of love for the sport, really humble and down to earth, just makes the whole experience there even better!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Course to play!

1    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Innova Discatcher Goals in great shape.

*All rubber tee pads in great shape.

*Navigation is very easy, with good signage.

*Ace race chances for stronger arms and a good course to challenge your control shots.

*Very little chance of losing a disc, with no water hazards.
*Features a nice selection of disc in their outpost
store. (with a very friendly staff.)

**Hole 4 has set a new standard for "cool". it is a elevated tee box that drops off into a slight dog right shot. A++++

*No boring holes, all of the holes are fun, and with a good mix of distances for the am player like myself.

*Although the course has wooded holes, they are nicely groomed with great upkeep.
Cons: *Wildlife could possible be a problem for younger kids, bring bugspray and wear boots.

*Although I found this course fun and challenging, better skilled players might find the course too easy. There are some very short holes.
Other Thoughts: *$5 dollars to pay, or buy something from the store that equals that value. Very friendly staff, very well maintained course with great holes and easy naviagation. This is one of my favorites courses. I just wish it were closer to me. My weakness is my control of my drive, and this course gave me a real challenge.
***a must play in my opinion!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sewee-t Outpost

1    10/6/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sewee Outpost has 18 holes of disc golf, and is probably a pretty fun place for other reasons. The Wednesday night Barn Jams would be another thing I would likely enjoy. There is a gas station, with all sorts of food, drinks, snacks, as well as disc golf gear, clothes, toys, and other assorted items. The reason for my visit of course: disc golf. They never charged me green fees since my girlfriend and I bought a couple of tasty sandwiches, a fruit salad and drinks. They did require us to wear wristbands on the course. As for the facilities, tees were rubber mats, that was marked with posts, and an illustrated sign for each hole marking the fairway's path, basket location, direction to the next tee. Baskets were all Discatchers in practically new condition. There were a number of other handwritten, laminated notes, and numbered crosswalks over roads to help guide you along. Hard to get lost here. Recycling bins were plentiful. Layout flowed pretty well, and avoided other traffic at most times.

The course was not overly difficult, tending to be average to short in terms of distance, especially on the front nine. The course alternates from open fairway one hole, to woods the next and back again repeatedly. Number 1 is short and open with sparse trees near the target. 2 is a short, left turn hyzer, and I got the birdie there. 3 is one of three holes over 300', and open, but some mature trees make you choose one side or the other. 4 is interesting, starting at the tee, which is a nice wooden deck that is elevated 6 or 7 feet. The fairway turns right around some trees, to a basket that is also on top of a dirt mound a few feet tall. Left and right turning holes are about evenly mixed, with some straight shots thrown in too. 5, 6, and 7, are short but woodsy. 8 tees from the same mound as 4, but has a separate rubber mat. It is a long (334' is second longest on the course), fairly open, left turn hyzer. 9 and 10, short and wooded again. At 11 the average length of holes stretch, around 260' to 290' except for 16. 12 is a straight shot through some moderately thick trees, and I pulled a very fortunate deuce here, filtering through some very narrow gaps, it was beautiful and felt great. 13, 14, and 15 are all somewhat open. 16 is the longest hole, measuring 352', and has trees lining both sides of the fairway that turns slightly left. 17 is a left hyzer to a basket that is guarded by fairly thick brush and trees if you miss the front door. 18 is pretty much wide open finishing right next to the entrance of the Sewee Outpost, close to the first hole. I liked this course because it is compact, and fun. There are not many holes where you feel a birdie is unrealistic, but you're required to make good throws consistently to stay out of trouble. A lot of holes I took a 3 and it felt like a bogey. I also took a handful of legitimate bogeys.
Cons: Few reasons to be disappointed. Concrete tee pads would be nice. Probably way too easy for exceptionally skilled players. A sign indicated that a couple of holes may be used for overflow parking at peak busy times, and then become unplayable.
Other Thoughts: I liked the disc golf course at Sewee Outpost, and would play there frequently if I lived nearby. No water in play, and no natural elevation change. Some nice holes, but nothing that is extraordinary. Not championship caliber, but fun all the same. Short and efficient layout would make multiple rounds fairly easy here. Part of a very nice October day was well spent checking this one out. The store was well stocked, employees were super nice, and dog friendly. There is also a restaurant across the highway. Next time I'm staying for the barn jam.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

another charleston area gem

1    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good utilization of the land.
Good balance of Right vs. Left
Short holes that can go badly
Good mix of Wooded vs. Open
Elevation in the low country..yes
Good signage
Nice facility in general....the pay 5 but spend it in the store is great concept
Nice new baskets
I can deal with the teepads....maybe just take a little getting used to.
Even though there are tight fairways there are lines
Thinking mans course
The field by 18 is a nice warm up zone
Well maintained
Funfactor is high
Cons: No true par 4s
Wish it was closer to me

Other Thoughts: Very impressive new course that will only get better over time.
I would suggest cleaning up more underbrush as the woods are penal enough
This might also knock down some of the bugs.
Must play for the charleston area

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

"It's All Good"!!!

5+    9/23/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Shade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All of the previous 'Pros' are dittoed here...Personally, I like the variety of holes within the general wooded motif. Some of the fairways are very tight, some of the rough is very penile and some holes contain both. But, every player can devise a strategy to negotiate the layout with the tools they currently have even if that requires laying up half way down a fairway until they have an opportunity to develop longer, more accurate shots that will work on the tight corridors. Additionally, I believe the variety of left to right, right to left, etc requirements encourages experienced players and novice alike to learn and hone a full arsenal of shots. This course (with the exception of holes over 300 ft) is a training ground for short to medium shots that are required to play all courses well regardless of the particular course type. New post: I noticed a new parking area is being designated for the music events, etc. Way to go Brooks!!!
Cons: My only concerns have already been mentioned (water retention on a few holes and occasional parking challenges). Other than that, I find this course and all the additional services very enjoyable and I'm sure that the 'powers that be' will do all that they can to continue to make 'The Outpost' better and better...
Other Thoughts: Perhaps long time playing professionals, and or long arms may not enjoy this course more than a few times, but almost everyone else should find the layout to be very enjoyable and effectively challenging. It will be fun to see how low the course record gets once the word gets out and many more experienced and capable players make their rounds. I see See Wee as one of the best training / beginner courses in the region. I'm not aware of many other round totals to date, but I do know of one ace already, Bucky hit # 9 a few weeks ago...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: jacetheace517
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tight Fairways
-Challenging pin placements
-Couple of blind shots that require a lot of thought
-Several signature holes. 2 Teeing off from a large hill with a beautiful sun deck.
-Mid-range-ish, longest hole is about 350 but most are tight fairways or tight pin placements so it is still a challenge to shoot well
-Easy to shoot a morning round, then hit the beach for the day
Cons: -Summer can be a nightmare with lots of bugs. Some of the woods are pretty thick and getting to discs through spiders and such is not always easy.
-Never been a problem for me as I try to avoid times where events are happening but a couple of holes can get blocked off if there is one.
-Its a good distance away from any of the other courses in town (although it is probably still worth it)
Other Thoughts: Newer course that is very well maintained. Bug spray during the summer is almost always required.

It is a pay to play course, but the Outpost sells food and drinks as well as all kinds of other stuff, so if you spend the $5 in the shop, playing is free, I generally just buy my Gatorades there and that covers it.

There is a lot of shade, so it isn't a hot as some of the other courses in town.

I personally really like the tight fairways on shorter holes approach to course building, I don't have a huge arm (max around 300ft) so being able to throw mids and work on control and accuracy is a big change from the other courses in town, especially Trophy Lakes

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

nice new course

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: diskchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a new gem close to home. Challenging pin placement makes this course a must play if you are in the Charleston area. Management is committed to building up this course to be a premier destination. Lots of tight holes. woods to open, open to woods, blind baskets, 2 elevated tee boxes (1 of which is a huge wooden deck with benches) and 2 elevated baskets adds to the excitement. The staff is fun and friendly with the sewee outpost serving as the clubhouse. They have innova discatcher baskets that are brand new. If you have never played disc golf they will even let you throw some of their loaner discs for free! (never see this) Nice signage that is easy to follow.
Cons: No course is perfect so there has to be some cons. After a few days of rain some holes have a bit of standing water. They are working on putting up some walkboards to take care of the issue. Bugs can get thick in the summer but , hey bugs are everywhere in the lowcountry. so bring some spray and you will be just fine. Barn jams on Wednesday and from 5 pm on 17 and 18 can get blocked so play them first then back up to 1. It is very cool when the music starts and you can hear good tunes and vibes coming through the woods while you throw your plastic. Management of both the music venue and the disc golf course are working together for a permanent solution to the parking situation, and I see then coexisting happily in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course in its infancy and I see nothing but good things ahead as they streamline the process. There is a 5 dollar all day fee but when you buy snacks at the Outpost that takes care of your fee as well. Not a bad deal as most of us get a snack and a drink before we play anyway.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Leahy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really technical turns also very well maintained. In general everything at Seewee outpost is very good especially the live music events and outpost it self so it is no surprise that the disc golf course was similar. I thought there was going to be an issue with markers but the maps and signage worked perfectly.
Cons: In a very wooded area so depending on the time of day it can get very buggy quickly. Other then that just make sure to plan your tee off on the events that are being put on that day/night.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not that impressed

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: kmelton
Played: 105  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The "clubhouse" is a gas station/convenience store that is quite convenient. Restrooms, snacks, some food, and some discs are nice.
Holes 4,8, 15, and 17 are the stand out holes. #4 is fun with a wood deck tee box perched atop a 10' mound throwing to the basket on another mound. #8 throws from the same mound and a longer throw that you can put some power into. #15 is a hyzer shot through pines with gaps wide enough for an easy recovery if you stray. #17 is a cool shoot through a 12' gap to an open field to the basket tucked into some small trees--well guarded. Nice rubber tee pads that gripped well even when wet. (it was really wet when we played). Tee signs on trees at every hole with garbage cans/buckets/bins at every hole as well. Overall I had a pretty good time.
Cons: Holes 5-11 were repetitve (#8 the exception) with short, tight fairways. #11 is a shortish dogleg with too tight of a fairway for your disc to be able to do work. Some fairways (although clear of brush) had trees right in the middle forcing a throw and pray scenario. Since they were so short you aren't far away from an upshot that puts you in for 3 anyway. For a pay to play course it was not maintained very well. Not very many benches and 17-18 may become a parking lot. Holes 5-11 hold a lot of water.
Other Thoughts: When we played it had been raining quite a bit, but still some holes were unplayable due to ankle to knee high standing water in the fairways and trails with no way to go around. If you are visiting Charleston play Trophy Lakes for the same price and you wont have to drive as far. This course is not worth $5. Although you can spend that much in the store, most of the items are overpriced convenience store fare. My opinion is to just make a single purchase in the store as the fee--that would be more appropriate for what you are getting. Not a destination/tournament course, but if you are driving by on hwy 17 it is worth checking out if you want to take a break, it is right off of the hwy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.