Awendaw, SC 
Sewee Outpost Share
Uploaded By: Apsey Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 166ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
Good Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: jacetheace517
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tight Fairways
-Challenging pin placements
-Couple of blind shots that require a lot of thought
-Several signature holes. 2 Teeing off from a large hill with a beautiful sun deck.
-Mid-range-ish, longest hole is about 350 but most are tight fairways or tight pin placements so it is still a challenge to shoot well
-Easy to shoot a morning round, then hit the beach for the day
Cons: -Summer can be a nightmare with lots of bugs. Some of the woods are pretty thick and getting to discs through spiders and such is not always easy.
-Never been a problem for me as I try to avoid times where events are happening but a couple of holes can get blocked off if there is one.
-Its a good distance away from any of the other courses in town (although it is probably still worth it)
Other Thoughts: Newer course that is very well maintained. Bug spray during the summer is almost always required.

It is a pay to play course, but the Outpost sells food and drinks as well as all kinds of other stuff, so if you spend the $5 in the shop, playing is free, I generally just buy my Gatorades there and that covers it.

There is a lot of shade, so it isn't a hot as some of the other courses in town.

I personally really like the tight fairways on shorter holes approach to course building, I don't have a huge arm (max around 300ft) so being able to throw mids and work on control and accuracy is a big change from the other courses in town, especially Trophy Lakes

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice new course

5+    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: diskchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is a new gem close to home. Challenging pin placement makes this course a must play if you are in the Charleston area. Management is committed to building up this course to be a premier destination. Lots of tight holes. woods to open, open to woods, blind baskets, 2 elevated tee boxes (1 of which is a huge wooden deck with benches) and 2 elevated baskets adds to the excitement. The staff is fun and friendly with the sewee outpost serving as the clubhouse. They have innova discatcher baskets that are brand new. If you have never played disc golf they will even let you throw some of their loaner discs for free! (never see this) Nice signage that is easy to follow.
Cons: No course is perfect so there has to be some cons. After a few days of rain some holes have a bit of standing water. They are working on putting up some walkboards to take care of the issue. Bugs can get thick in the summer but , hey bugs are everywhere in the lowcountry. so bring some spray and you will be just fine. Barn jams on Wednesday and from 5 pm on 17 and 18 can get blocked so play them first then back up to 1. It is very cool when the music starts and you can hear good tunes and vibes coming through the woods while you throw your plastic. Management of both the music venue and the disc golf course are working together for a permanent solution to the parking situation, and I see then coexisting happily in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course in its infancy and I see nothing but good things ahead as they streamline the process. There is a 5 dollar all day fee but when you buy snacks at the Outpost that takes care of your fee as well. Not a bad deal as most of us get a snack and a drink before we play anyway.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Leahy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really technical turns also very well maintained. In general everything at Seewee outpost is very good especially the live music events and outpost it self so it is no surprise that the disc golf course was similar. I thought there was going to be an issue with markers but the maps and signage worked perfectly.
Cons: In a very wooded area so depending on the time of day it can get very buggy quickly. Other then that just make sure to plan your tee off on the events that are being put on that day/night.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not that impressed

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: kmelton
Played: 114  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2015
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The "clubhouse" is a gas station/convenience store that is quite convenient. Restrooms, snacks, some food, and some discs are nice.
Holes 4,8, 15, and 17 are the stand out holes. #4 is fun with a wood deck tee box perched atop a 10' mound throwing to the basket on another mound. #8 throws from the same mound and a longer throw that you can put some power into. #15 is a hyzer shot through pines with gaps wide enough for an easy recovery if you stray. #17 is a cool shoot through a 12' gap to an open field to the basket tucked into some small trees--well guarded. Nice rubber tee pads that gripped well even when wet. (it was really wet when we played). Tee signs on trees at every hole with garbage cans/buckets/bins at every hole as well. Overall I had a pretty good time.
Cons: Holes 5-11 were repetitve (#8 the exception) with short, tight fairways. #11 is a shortish dogleg with too tight of a fairway for your disc to be able to do work. Some fairways (although clear of brush) had trees right in the middle forcing a throw and pray scenario. Since they were so short you aren't far away from an upshot that puts you in for 3 anyway. For a pay to play course it was not maintained very well. Not very many benches and 17-18 may become a parking lot. Holes 5-11 hold a lot of water.
Other Thoughts: When we played it had been raining quite a bit, but still some holes were unplayable due to ankle to knee high standing water in the fairways and trails with no way to go around. If you are visiting Charleston play Trophy Lakes for the same price and you wont have to drive as far. This course is not worth $5. Although you can spend that much in the store, most of the items are overpriced convenience store fare. My opinion is to just make a single purchase in the store as the fee--that would be more appropriate for what you are getting. Not a destination/tournament course, but if you are driving by on hwy 17 it is worth checking out if you want to take a break, it is right off of the hwy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excited about Sewee

1    4/28/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 265  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The location off of Hwy 17 is fantastic.
- Plenty of amenities onsite at the Sewee Outpost.
- Good variation of holes throughout the course.
- Beginner and advanced player friendly.
Cons: - Only con I can think of is that you need to plan around events scheduled at the Sewee Outpost. Sometimes I recommend starting with Hole 1, 17, and 18 then go to hole 2 to play course to avoid any conflict with events and parked cars and such. (i,e. wednesday night Barn Jams)
Other Thoughts: - I am beyond excited about this course. I am a regular attendee at the weekly Awendaw Green Barn Jams which are a lot of fun. They just got funner as you can play a round while chilling out to some great music. The people at the Sewee outpost are incredibly nice and fun. Check out the Sewee Restaurant across the street( possibly the best seafood restaurant I have been to in SC). Part of me wishes there were a few more long holes, there is only one par 4, but needless to say the course was challenging. I scored right around Par. They did a great job with the layout of the course and the sequencing of the holes. Instant favorite

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course

5+    5/6/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 new brand new Innova Discatchers at the really cool Sewee Outpost.

This new course has a really nice balance of wide open holes and some incredibly technical doglegs.

Course conditions are great. Grounds are well mowed and course paths through the woods are easily navigable.

Makeshift hole signs right now are laminated notecards, but they do quite nicely. These same signs are present at all baskets that have a tricky walk to the next hole to give concise directions.

All road crossings are clearly marked as pedestrian crossings, which was a nice touch.

Hole 4 tee box is a really fun, unique shot. You start on an elevated wooden platform that seems to have been built as a concert venue.

The "pro shop" actually has a small selection of reasonably priced discs, and reportedly has a lost and found system.
Cons: $5 to play...although this course is definitely worth it. (Although if you buy a soda and a snack you can easily rack up the $5 tab)

A few of the holes are a bit too narrow considering the thick underbrush.

Only 1 par 4 on the card - it would be nice to have a bit more variety.

The location is somewhat in the middle of nowhere.

Seems like there are a lot of music concerts and festivals that happen out on the course which closes holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice new course in a nice, open location. Scenic. Hole 4 is itself worth the trek.

I definitely won't gripe about the pay to play on this course . You can get $5 of food and merchandise instead of simply paying the $, and the Sewee Outpost has great stuff to spend the money on - nice variety of frozen meats, local sauces and produce, and a great sandwich stand.

UPDATE: Played a recent round on a Sunday -17 and 18 were closed. Local course rules say to go back and play 7 and 8 to finish. This was actually a really quick walk, a path was cut to get you back to the 7th fairway. Not ideal, but nice to see that the course has a contingency plan for their frequent social events.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.