Beverly Shores, IN 
Lituanica Park Share
Uploaded By: Jukeshoe Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Permit Parking Only

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: cadmaker
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: The baskets here are sweet. The layout was challenging for a putt course.
Cons: What is permit parking only. It seemed like I was trespassing to play.
Other Thoughts: For being recommended in the Dunes magazine, I was pretty disappointed.

Great compact course for the area

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 5 brand new Mach 5 baskets that are extremely grippy. Each basket has two holes that throw to it from two completely different approaches.

10 distinct holes. Very unique layout.

Signs: each hole has a sign that lists hole number, par, and a map of the hole. Tees 1-5 have red on the top of the sign and tees 6-10 have blue.

Tees: two natural tees per basket in varying order. Tee 1 does not throw to same basket as tee for hole 6. Tees are combination of sand, dirt, and grass. Have a wooden post marking the front end of the tee.

Variety: This is a beginner course with water hazards. most holes are between ~135 to 200 feet. Holes 5 and 10 are the longest and they are under 225 feet. Lots of trees and water as hazards. Holes 1, 2, 6, and 9 have a large pond near the basket. Hole 3 and 8 throw into a heavily protected basket. Only open holes are 5 and 10.

Very peaceful and scenic course. Set in a private neighborhood around a pond about a half mile from Lake Michigan. Very easy to navigate.

Basket for hole 5/10 is treated as practice basket. Pavers in ground let you know where 10, 20, 30, and 40 feet from basket are.

Trash cans and benches on site.
Cons: Very short course. A pitch and putt for intermediate or pro players. Longest hole is less than 230 feet.

Signs saying parking permit required. I didn't have an issue since I was only there a half hour.

Quicker to play course than it is to get there from Michigan City.

Sand throw pads. Although you don't need major approach steps, sand can cause you have a bad throw (but able to save par).

Overlapping holes. Could be dangerous is busy. Course was empty when I was there so it was not an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a beautiful and peaceful park in a private neighborhood. My girlfriend and I saw a buck when we parked literally 15 feet from the car. It's worth it to leave or enter the course on the road that runs along Lake Michigan.

Concrete, gravel, or tees that are rubber mats would boost this course's rating in my opinion. I enjoyed it but it could always be improved.

My girlfriend and I took a day trip to Lake Michigan from my lake house and I wanted to play this course. Although it's short, we were not disappointed and will definitely come back. It would be a great course for kids or beginners or for intermediate players looking for an ace.

I would recommend this course if in the area but if not there are more challenging courses within a 25 minute drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Burning bush

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: KRoweBar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a nice course to play for a warm game before a real game or a nice place to pick up a cool down game.
Cons: Small course, lots of over lapping with double tee's.
Other Thoughts: While playing be sure not to over shoot holes 5 or 10. sames basket for both. the bushes across the street hurt like the dickens, lost a disc and searched hard for it. Be prepared for welts that swell and sting for hours.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/17/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lituanica Park is neatly tucked into a sleepy residential neighborhood, houses dotting the surrounding wooded hills. Lake Michigan isn't far away, but the only water you'll see here is a small lillypad-strewn pond in the center of the park. On the far side is a dilapidated tennis court and a playground. The near side contains a short pitch-and-putt. Mature trees grow more or less evenly spaced along the shore of the pond, with a few scattered about the rest of the property. The road into the park bounds one side of the course.
- Good signs. No confusion despite the overlapping layout of ten holes playing to five baskets. The map at the beginning as well as the clearly marked signs at each tee make navigation a snap.
- Decent tees comprised of a natural/sandy mix with a yellow marker. These could become rutted and sloppy after the course sees some play, but currently don't detract from the round.
- Great new baskets.
- Good use of water. #1 provides a short anny over the water with a good look at an ace, or a safe but roundabout hyzer (RHBH). The first is risky but easily doable for experienced players. The later ensures beginners have fun. #2's basket is fairly close to the water, and beginners might stray into the drink on errant shots.
- Trees are used to good effect and provide the main spills and thrills (along with the pond). Mature trees make up the majority of the park's vegetation, with next to no schule or undergrowth (except behind #3's green and edging the pond). Branches and/or trunks protect #'s 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9.
Cons: - The overlapping red ( 1-5) and blue (6-10) courses in conjunction with the cramped layout (e.g., #1's basket is ridiculously close to both #2 AND #7's tees) make this course a disaster in safe course design. One, maybe two people could safely use the course at a time; otherwise, it's simply people standing at corners of the park throwing at each other.
-Picnic benches and grills in the fairway (#2) up the "accidental disc-to-the-head" factor enormously.
- The lack of length and elevation make this course rather one-dimensional. Only novices will need more than a putter.
- The partially exposed electrical cord buried directly in the middle of #4's tee presents a novel way to trip while teeing off.
Other Thoughts: - As a sort of small private-ish backyard practice area this course is pretty i-ite. As a real "course" it falls a bit short. Take the signs away and it's five baskets safari-style, lite on the safari. Bring a putter and some bug spray (the flies from the lake like to munch on elbows) and shoot waay under-par, but don't travel out of the way expecting anything solid.
- It's plain to see that the person installing the course has a good eye for disc golf and did their best to provide as much fun as possible. Despite their best efforts, the extremely limited space resulted in a cramped, unsafe, and overlapping design.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.