Milledgeville, GA 
Rolling Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #3
3 / 142ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Trying to help

1    8/6/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: jimireece
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: -Great elevation course, even for being so tightly layed out.

-Another course in a region desperately short on courses.

-Quite, I did not see anyone else all day or have a car pass on the road (which is good cause I landed one in the road on the 9th).

-Short, it seems odd but I like having short courses (9 hole so). If you need more then you can play the other tee pads.
Cons: Poorly maintained, this is my main con because it was so evident.
-The 10th basket is missing the chains and basket.
-The 11th black tee post is knocked over.
-Only half of the course was mowed.

-Obstacles, the first hole has a team building/ropes course built in the way. So no flat shots.
Other Thoughts: -I would like to see some clearer definition of the tee pads. I like concrete tees but have had some of my better games from dirt or mulch. I am not sure who manages this course or what kind of club support there is. I tried to help out with this by making a quick map of the course and uploading. Signs on top of baskets to let you know if you are throwing the right way would also be a plus.

 Let her rip!

1    11/24/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course that has both elevation and length on most holes. Open layout gives opportunity to score well, without being too easy. Very close to Myrtle Ridge, fast and easy to play.
Cons: There is not a lot of trees to force accuracy off the tees. Tees are not concrete, or well marked. No signs, no next tee indicators, and one holes has just a post with no basket or chains.
Other Thoughts: A course that I enjoyed, but would not go out of my way to visit. Go ahead and check it out if you are in Milledgeville. A nice contrast to Myrtle Ridge, with similarly bare amenities.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The HILLS!!!!!

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: -Best use of elevation i've seen yet...Requires long bomb downhill shots, uphill shots, overhill shots. Amazing for the fact of how open it is.

- Has a good mix of distanaces

- Loops around on itself fairly well


-wide open for the most part (see cons)

-Very good exercise.
Cons: -No Teepads/ signs are wooden poles

-Hard to follow the first time around

-High grass (school's out for the summer, may just have been inbetween mows)

-WIDE OPEN, almost zero trees (hole 6 is about the only one that really comes into play)

VERY hot in the summer, No shade, Lots of hills
Other Thoughts: Coming from the Gulf coast the Elevation was a shocker on this one, almost painful at times. Fun course, and best use of elevation in the area.

Gets a 2.5 because it's Too open, no pads/ map signs. great play though. combine with myrtle ridge (a mile down the road) for a pretty good day trip

Since it is summer and schools out (even the school board building was deserted)...I put these as side notes rather that cons, because I assume these problems will be fixed when school gets back in.

Hole 8- Black Post was down/ hole filled in.

Hole 10- Pole only, no chains or basket

Hole 11- No red tee (or I couldn't find one at least)

 lots of rolling hills

5+    12/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: meurek514
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: -tons of hills makes it tons of fun.
-no to long of a distance from tee to pin.
-compact course
Cons: -no tee boxes, plus they are grass and aren't level
-no distance markers or hole maps
-very confusing the first time you go. no map so you need to walk to course before you play.
-no par labels

 

1    9/14/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2011
Pros: Very hilly terrain provides a challenge and workout. Two sets of tees, tees easy to find. The terrain mainly provides the challenge here, not the trees. Course designer cares about the sport, wants to make course better. He introduced himself as we left the course. This course is not great, but they are trying.
Cons: Wide open, and VERY hilly. I prefer more trees for the challenge and the shade. Poorly marked Tees are easy enough to find but no hole maps or distances. I had to walk the first hole after throwing to the wrong basket. Course is all hills and grass. Grass had not been mowed in awhile, hence fairways hard to discern, and I was trudging through grass that had gone to seed (knee high). Beware of multiple fire ant hills - pay attention to where you walk! Only 11 holes, but course designer told me they are adding more. On Middle School property. Grass tees marked by a pole in the ground.
Other Thoughts: We were in the Lake Oconee area looking for a place to play. Not bad to go out and fling it around, but there are better courses north/east in Winder and Athens, or west at Indian Creek in Rutledge.

  Great workout

2-4    8/16/2008   8/23/2008
Review By: jimigsu
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Fun and challenging course to play.
2. Great for exercise. First time out played through 4 times and got a great workout. Have not sweat that much in years.
3. Hills- The hills are a great problem and challenge even great players. This is a wonderful change from the usual trees and flat land. Makes it hard to play and that is a good thing!!
4. Beautiful- This is a beautiful course surrounded by rolling hills and lots of green.
Cons: 1. Hills- Will wear you out if you are not in shape.
2. Vision- hard to find many of the holes without walking from tee to pin first.
3. Shade- a lack of shade on many of the holes.
4. Hole 2- If you are right handed and throw and it curves to the left you will be in the bad brush and thorns looking for your disc.
Other Thoughts: Great course. With the new basket placements that are coming this will be a great challenging course. The maintainer of this course cares about the sport and works hard to improve as is necessary. Play it sometime and you will appreciate the work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The name says it all

5/29/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The hills (see cons as well)
-Duel tee pads
-Great for speed disc golf.
Cons: -Only 11 holes
-The hills (see pros as well)
-Grass tee pads
-May be difficult to find the baskets for a first time play
Other Thoughts: If you ever wanted to know how a game of disc golf would be in Tele-tubby land you have to check out this course. This is not only the hilliest course I have ever played; it is possibly the hilliest area I have ever seen. The Tele-tubby Windows XP background analogy is no exaggeration. Every hole will have you going up or down a hill at least once if not multiple times. This course offers a unique challenge; Many Rolling Hills. One issue you may have the first time out is you will see multiple baskets from the tee without the ability to differentiate your target basket from the rest. The best solution I found was to line up the black and red tees and look straight down the field. You will always be throwing at least close to that direction. Do not look for a natural boundary to guide you, because with the exception of holes 1 and 2, you will only see a few trees on the remainder of the course. You do not play this course for wooded holes and long fairways; you play it for the grassy Windows XP hills. These hills are very steep as well. I could feel the burn in my shins after just 11 holes. Most baskets are placed in a way that if you miss your 10 to 20 foot putt, you will pay for it. I missed a 15 foot putt from one knee and my Wizard rolled at least 100 feet to the next tee. For practice, I threw my Roc and then watched it roll just past my wizard. You will find the basket placement to be the most challenging part of this course. The "cliff like" edges are very unforgiving. I generally prefer courses that require technique over long arm throws but this is completely different from either type. I suspect that every hole is approximately 250 to 300 feet straight shot with no obstructions. You might suspect that you will be putting for birdie on every hole but you must consider that missing putts may have your disc roll back to the tee pad so a conservative player want to will lay up several shots. If you are in the area and want to experience a unique kind of course then by all means give it a shot, but be prepared to play a different type of game.

This course will be fair for left-handed and right-handed players.

On another positive note, if you play speed disc golf, this course will give you a great workout.

(I understand that Rolling Hills will be expanding to 18 holes soon.)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.