(Camden) Osceola, NY 
Osceola Tug Hill - North Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Picturesque Disc Golf

1    8/31/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got the opportunity to check out this course while attending a local music festival, and I am incredibly glad that I took the opportunity to take the drive over. We were driving through a residential neighborhood when we arrived and we pulled into what appeared to be someone's residence. As there were disc golf baskets on the lawn and an Innova banner hanging on the house I felt comfortable knocking on the side door. Upon walking in you can see that this place doubles as a cross country ski area in the winter, something which becomes very apparent once you get out onto the course.

The course is run by a really pleasant couple that lives in the front of the residence. The clubhouse has discs available. Innova, Vibram and Discraft all were represented as well as other disc golf odds and ends. The prices are really reasonable, but the selection is fairly minimal compared to someplace like Marshall Street.

They have two courses, the north and the south; I only had the opportunity to play the north as I was told it was a longer and more technical course. We crossed the street and walked down beyond the first house where hole 1 was located. As far as beauty goes, this course has it is spades. It is typical Northeast green foliage and rolling elevation changes. The first couple holes played beautiful and were equally as picturesque.
Cons: As much as I did enjoy playing this course, some of the holes were a bit trying in design. As the course was built on a cross country skiing resort, the fairways used, most likely, were previously established fairways. The reason I find this to be a con is that the lines that needed to be there on some holes were just missing. I'm not sure whether the person who designed the course was fairly new to course design or if the person was a forehand golfer. I'm not sure that I threw more than a few hyzers from the tee. And unfortunately, a lot of the turnover shots were either shaped in an unnatural manner or there was a tree directly In the way of a proper release. My last con regarding the north course would be the repetitive nature of some of the holes in the middle of the course. I felt many times when I stepped up to the tee that I had just played a hole of the same ilk.

Also worth noting was the extremely long walks between some pins.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at Osceola and I would most definitely return and play the course again as well as to check out the south course. It was challenging, technical and run by extremely friendly and kind individuals. If you've ever got a chance to stop by and play, you certainly should.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bring your hyzer flip!

2-4    8/5/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 27  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation throughout
- Rubber teepads in good condition
- Navigation is simple with next tee signs where appropriate
- proshop on site
- This course is an excellent compliment to the much easier south course (on site).
- A good mix of right & left finishing shots
- Very tight and technical throughout the course. Most fairways are ~25' wide x-country trails that require a specific line shapes to stay on the fairway.
- All holes offered a challenge - but were fair. Although I may not have been able to get a look at bird there was a fair route to get there (except 18).
- Hole #11. Its only 210 feet and its down hill. It has a hard dog leg left and very tight fairway. When staring at it from the tee it looked as if there was no line...only a hope & a prayer going up high. I decided to go roc3 and left it up high just like I planned and parked it. Of course upon walking it I could see the line - it just wasn't what I was expecting from the tee.
Cons: - A few long walks between holes
- Although our group (which included a few complete newbies) didn't have an issue - there is a lot of ferns & thorny fun off the fairway. Could be some long searches.
- Hole 18 needs some trimming. When I played there was just no way I could see a line that'd play to the basket. Some trimming up top and it'd be good to go. I ended up playing it short & safe and taking an easy 3.
Other Thoughts: Not a con to me as it is well worth it - but it is $5/day to play (2 courses)

I really enjoyed this course. It offered a good, healthy challenge with a steady dose of tight, technical lines required. In one way it did get repetitive in that every shot was keeping it in the long tunnel fairways....but it required different shots to do it. FH, BH, a variety of different shaped hyzer flips, etc.

The land itself is beautiful but be prepared to get in some exercise. Long walks and lots of hills. I'd definitely recommend some decent footwear.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must play for serious disc golfers

2-4    9/5/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: JenONeil
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Difficult (in a good way)
- The scenery
- I like that there is an easier course on one side of the road and this is the more difficult course
Cons: - If too many people are playing at once the first few tees are close to the previous hole baskets, but it would have to be very crowded to make this an issue
Other Thoughts: Get ready to walk! This course starts its first few holes heading up a very large hill. After these it levels out though and is less hilly, although you will hit a few smaller ones throughout the course. The pars on this side vs the south side are much more difficult, but they are meant to be. I would suggest starting on the south side of the road and then coming over to the north side. My personal favorite hole was #11. It veered downwards towards a creek. There is also some waterfalls if you steer off the trail by about 300 feet which is the perfect place to take a break. The baskets on this side have two layers of chains for the more serious disc golfer. It really amazes me that this is the first year these courses are open, the owner did a great job with basket placement. If you love disc golf and are great at it, this side will certainly be a must play and a challenge for you.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely worth it

1    7/20/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Easy to follow. Very challenging.
Cons: None really. This course is a must play.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course that I have played in central New York. If you have played Oxbow falls, this is the next step up.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This could get good...

1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 additional holes across the street from a nice beginner friendly layout. New baskets and well done, crushed gravel pads. The North course is the big brother to the South course. If you feel you shot well over there, come on over.

This course plays entirely in the woods. The lines are tighter, and the elevation is used more than the other course. Hole lengths range from 210'' - 396'. This course is tight and technical so be ready to hit some lines and thread some needles.

Once again the course fairways are almost entirely built from the ski trails so everything is neat and orderly. Maintenance is top notch and fairways are well cleared. Next tee signs throughout to help with navigation are in place. Hole 2 lets you know what you are in for right away. A nice, tight line with little room for error.

With the additional length on the North course, lines are stretched out and some multi-turn shots are needed. There are several fairways with tight S-curves and tough angles to hit. Plus there are spots where you can try, if you dare, to hit a small gap and take a short cut. It is fun and challenging. Course management and knowing your limitations will be critical here.

There are more severe ups and downs here so be ready for a decent workout as well. But don't worry there are some fun downhill shots as the payoff.
Cons: Seemed a little repetitive in spots due to the nature of the ski trails.

No wide open bombs.

A few tees very close to baskets. Keep your head up if other players are around.

Some long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has a similar feel to the South course, but takes the length and tight lines up a notch. It is not brutally challenging, but if you can't stay on the fairways the rough is pretty punishing. There is a nice mix of lefts and rigths, as well as ups and downs. More so than across the street. This defintely adds to the challenge and fun. And to top it all off you get a sweet 396' downhill shot on #17. It's tight so you can't just let it rip wildly, but it is an awesome hole to play.

There are a few spots where the S-curves don't seem to be shapes a disc can hit, or the sweep of a fairway just seems a little off, but some of that will change as the course ages. Remember, this facility has only been open about a month. It's a lot of fun now, but not perfect. And the fair, clean fairways that you'll enjoy will also dictate some of the limitations you'll notice. But, in the end the good far outways any negatives.

The two courses here sit on about 220 acres. The owner told me he has plenty of room for more disc golf. So please, take a trip here, and let him know you enjoyed the courses. Support this effort, and just maybe we'll see another course added for our enjoyment. And be sure to take care of what is there. Right now this course and it's little brother across the street sit on a beautiful site of woods, creeks and hillsides. Let's keep the course as well cared for and neat as it is now.

The pro shop across the street has a nice selection of discs, bags and accessories. Camping is nearby, and the town of Camden is about 10-15 minutes away. There is a sub shop, pizza joint and some fast food restaurants available. Osceloa Tug Hill is fairly remote so bring what you'll need and enjoy the round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Osceola Tug Hill north

2-4    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: cococup
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging course. 100% in the woods. 5292 foot par 59. hope to make par sometime. elevation changes, left, right and roller shots. Hole 11 drops down next to river. Mostly, open hardwoods so have not lost a disc in 4 rounds
Cons: still some branches getting cleared out as it is a new course. Pay to play, but with 2 courses, it is still a nice course to try.
Other Thoughts: good shoes recommended. Flip flops do not provide enough support

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.