Disc Golf Store
(Camden) Osceola, NY 
Osceola Tug Hill - South Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice compliment to the North Course

2-4    8/5/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation throughout
- Rubber teepads in good condition
- Navigation is simple with next tee signs where appropriate
- proshop on site
- This course is an excellent compliment to the much tougher North course (on site).
- A good mix of right & left finishing shots
- Very tight and technical throughout the course (excluding 1-4). Most fairways are ~25' wide x-country trails that require a specific line shapes to stay on the fairway.
Cons: - A few long walks between holes
- The first few holes felt uninspired. I get that they are a warm up for beginners before getting into the woods, but a little more use of obstacles to ease them in would be nice. For example, just moving 1s basket to the left to force a L>R shot would help.
- A few of the par 4s in particular have some awkward distances & lines creating NAGS - especially for intermediate or better players. One in particular (I want to say 7 - may be mis-remembering) was ~75' to a pretty tight bend left, then ~200' straight to the pin. There was a *tight* gap to shoot for the pin but the risk/reward wasn't there. The awkwardly shaped dogleg wasn't anything I could see a reasonable golf shot making. This lead to shooting ~100' just around the bend. Then ~175' straight approach, tap in 3. zzzzzzz Just open up another reasonable risk/reward line to let someone with the arm to go 275 try and get the deuce....and maybe end up carding a 4/5.
- Hole 15 needs a little more work. It is short (198) and easy enough to reach. The problem is at ~150' there is a wall of small trees all ~4' apart. This leaves a beginner trying to hit a 4' gap (or hope to hit one of 3-4 gaps) or else be hoping for a good tree kick. The trees are far enough out from the pin that if you get knocked down there by them you are 30-40' out and outside of a beginner's putt range. Just taking out 1 of these would do the trick.
- Although our group (which included a few complete newbies) didn't have an issue - there is a lot of ferns & thorny fun off the fairway. Could be some long searches.
Other Thoughts: Not a con to me as it is well worth it - but it is $5/day to play (2 courses)

I am viewing this course as one designed to be beginner friendly given the much tougher (and excellent) North course on site. The distances are shorter. The pars are (very) friendly. For a beginner - I think the course does a good job and hits the mark. For a more experienced player I found this course to be a bit frustrating in that the par 4s were just designed as par 4s for a beginner...not something that could be a 4 for a beginner but an int+ player would be trying to get a look at a 2 on.

The land itself is beautiful but be prepared to get in some exercise. Long walks and lots of hills. I'd definitely recommend some decent footwear

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A nice course in the forest on Tug Hill

1    7/7/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: bdjohns1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aside from the first four holes just playing around in the meadow off the parking lot, many of the holes play through cross-country ski trails, so by default, this course rewards good shot shaping, as most of the cleared trail areas are in the range of 30-50 feet wide. I didn't feel like there was a strong bias one way or another towards holes favoring lefties or righties - as a main RHBH thrower, I felt the number of holes where the FH throw was the best option were reasonable.

The first few holes once you're in the woods just follow the trails.

Starting from hole 9 on is where this course really shines. Short par 3s with tight lines reward skill shots versus brute force. Water is in play on 9 (a small creek if you catch a bad kick off a tree) and on 14 (short carry off the tee). 18 brings you back into the meadow, but with a basket well-protected by a cluster of trees/bushes.

$5 for 36 holes that are this well cared for is a fair price, I think. The owner also has a nice little pro shop at the back of his house. He's officially only open on the weekend and Tuesdays during the week, but I came through on a weekday early evening, and he invited me in to take a look around.

Tees all have black rubber mats now. I played right after a drizzle, and I didn't have any traction problems. The mats are new in 2014, so that's an improvement versus what the 2013 reviewers pointed out.
Cons: The first 4 holes felt tacked-on to get the south course up to 18 holes.

While the route to holes is well-signed, there's a decent hike between several of the holes, and a couple of the between-holes trails can be a bit muddy/slick. Wear fairly rugged footwear. I was in regular cross-trainer type shoes, and in hindsight, I'd have worn trail shoes.

On a lot of the holes, if you're off the fairway much of the ground cover is ferns - errant shots could be hard to find. Don't throw your green/yellow discs without a spotter. On a wet day with dark ground, my sand-stone colored Vibram was very visible. Throw your reds, oranges, and pinks during the summer.

Bugs. Not so much mosquitos, but deer flies and the like. Bring your 100% DEET.

The basket on #5 and the #6 tee are a little close together.
Other Thoughts: I was en-route from Syracuse to a work site in Lewis County, so I only had a few discs I threw in my suitcase to play with. It was a fun challenge to play with one driver, 2 mids, and a putter. I came through early evening on a Monday, and I had the place to myself.

If you're a high-rated thrower, a good exercise would be to play the longer North course, then come to the south side and take only 1-2 discs with you to really work your shot shaping on the <200-foot holes.

I imagine this place is absolutely gorgeous in the fall. I need an excuse for a work trip out to NY in October.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Such a Beautiful Course

2-4    9/6/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: JenONeil
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course atmosphere
- The range of difficulty
- Well marked
Cons: - Flip flops not recommended
Other Thoughts: At this site there are two courses you can choose from, this one on the South Side of the road and another on the North Side. I have played both and think they really offer a wide range of difficulty. Personally I liked this side better because it was the easier of the two, but it was not too easy! This course takes you through a large span of wooded area that is just simply gorgeous. The first few holes are in an open field area and can really help get you warmed up. As you continue through the course the nature only becomes more beautiful. I had a couple holes that were my absolute favorite. The first was hole #9 - at this hole you are playing over a creek and bridge. Then toward the end at hole #14 you are shooting over a pond with plenty of active frogs, fish, etc....makes for a good break. Incredibly relaxing area. Not only was this fun for the disc golf game, but the stroll though the woods was very enjoyable. One tip - wear sneakers!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Come one, come all

1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with new baskets and nice, flat crushed gravel tee pads. There are maps and scorecards available in the store on site.

Store has a good selection of discs, bags and outdoor accessories. Especially bug sprays and things for dealing with the deer flies and mosquitos.

This course is set up as the White level course for beginners, intermediate players, or just people that want a more relaxing round than what awaits across the street. Hole lengths range from 153' to 354'. The design of the holes vary also. There are some wide open ace runs, and some tight challenging holes as well.

Course is very well maintained. Open areas and fairways are mostly mowed grass. No weeds, rocks or saplings to work around. Most fairways were designed from the cross country ski trails used in the winter. Next tee signs are placed throughout the course to help with navigation.

The first 4 holes are pretty much wide open and reachable for most players. Don't let these fool you. The rest of the course plays in the woods, and offers more challenging layouts.

Remote, pristine wilderness. Private course with a great feeling of being out in nature. Hills, woods, creeks and small pond all add to the scenery. Very nice landscape.
Cons: Lack of length or big drive holes for throwing drivers.

Using the ski trails for fairways occassionally creates some strange lines and limits the shot selection somewhat.

#7 tee way too close to basket #6. #9 tee is close to #8 basket also. Safety hazard if multiple groups on course.

Not a lot of big sweeping turns or curves. Ski trails limit the shape of fairways.

Some branches neeed trimming snd ceilings need cleaning up.

Hole 15. Right now luck is important as skill. Not really any path to the basket. Good luck.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good, basic course. Plus it is very new so I would expect it to improve as the owner learns, and tweaks the design. Course will be open June 1 - Oct 31, then ski season begins.

I really enjoyed several holes on this course. #9 is a short 153' uphill shot with a creek in the middle. It could be an ace run, or you could suffer due to roll away risk by the basket. Either way it is in a beautiful spot.

#12 is a tight 354' uphill shot that might be the most challenging hole here. It is one of the holes that makes this course fun for experienced players, not just beginners.

#14 is probably my favorite hole here. It is 276' slightly uphill and over a small pond. Not really any lost disc possibility without a flukey throw or bounce, and it also has two lines you can hit from the tee. Just a pretty technical shot finishing with the basket wedged into some trees. Well done.

This course is definitely worth a stop. It has some limitations due to length and the shape of the ski trails, but for a beginner friendly private course it is nice. Plus there is camping nearby, as well as fishing on the salmon river if you are interested. All in all, this is a nice addition to the NY dsic golf scene. I look forward to coming back, and seeing the growth and improvements as this course ages.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: goodspeedg6
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was well marked with good placement of baskets. Good deals with buy one get one free greens fee for this month.
Cons: Short gravel tee boxes, tall grass could make it hard to find discs. Disc baskets have one ring of chains.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are btw 150-300 feet. A lot more par 4s than I think there should be. A lot of narrow/tight fairways, not many open holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Osceola Tug Hill South

2-4    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: cococup
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging course for the easier of the 2 courses. elevation changes, lots of left, right and roller shots. pretty course. easy to find next tee. all but 4 holes are in the woods. 4 holes open field. interesting hole placements.
Cons: some hanging branches are still in the process of getting cut.
Other Thoughts: good shoes recommended. flip flops do not provide enough support

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.