Houston, TX 
Milby Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: crashzero Hole #6 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sick of ass clowns rating an unfinished course

5+    10/25/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: theviolinman
Played: 65  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 21 hole layout with more elevation change than any other course in Houston. Pro level course with several 500+ foot holes. Well maintained park mowed every 2 weeks. Many old oak trees and scenic shots off the tee. Recently dug alt pins for more variety.
Cons: There is a Goodyear plant nearby that emits pollution which can be smelled when the wind comes from the SE. The bayou deposits trash along the bank which nobody cleans up.
Other Thoughts: Those have given this course low ratings need to understand that this course has been entirely designed, built and constructed by a few dedicated golfers, who have donated all the basket money and time to put this together, as manpower and help have been limited the course is a work in progress and does not represent a finished product. It is much easier to log on your computer and write a negative review than it is to come out w some trash bags and help clean up apparently. As someone who has golfed every course in the Houston area I can say that if this is not the best course in the city now it will be soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    10/24/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: danzoll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course with a variety of shots. Not as challenging as some courses, but plenty of long shots and obstacles. 21 holes (3 brand new).
Cons: The highway is loud.
Other Thoughts: Still building, ie// no numbers on posts. Still one of the best courses in Houston.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

*Work in progress*

2-4    10/14/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: Austocans
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice quite course
-21 holes of different variations and hazards.
-Right off the highway and easy to get to.
Cons: -Grass doesnt seem to be mowed often
-Signs were yet to be installed and had to make up some of the holes as my phone died with the map on it about half way through.
Other Thoughts: Ill be back to check this course out now that signs have been installed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf by the refineries

1    8/21/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Crazy Buffalo Guy
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A few nice shots but nothing special. Not much elevation but this is Houston. Also not very well marked. I am sure signs will be coming and make it better. Hopefully they will have a clean up day.
Cons: Surrounded by polluting factories and more trash than I have ever seen at a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Waste of time,wont be back.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Houston Course

1    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Richtho4
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice new course in Houston. Used a range finder to determine that holes range from 250' to 600'. Some reviews are calling this the best course in Houston; but I think that Agnes Moffitt and TJ Jester are better courses for the weekend golfer at this point.
Cons: Ankle high grass. Will need to be mowed more often than once per quarter. Hole 16 is currently missing. Tee posts still not in. Couldn't find tee for 13. Watch out for tree grove behind 17 hole. It's a water filled ditch that has no way to cross. Some holes are too close to Sims Bayou IMHO. The tree line is right on the water. A little too far left and you will lose a disc. All holes are also missing numbers.
Other Thoughts: The park is also somewhat secluded. A patrol car drove right onto the course when I was playing. It may be unfounded, but I had some concerns about security.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best course IN HOUSTON

2-4    7/2/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes; rolling terrain; open/tree cover/low ceiling/wooded holes - enough variety of shot selection; the course/park has little traffic early in the mornings
Cons: this will change but, needs tee signs/markers;( I can go either way on tee pads) ; just not a fan of courses next to deep bayous but thats life
Other Thoughts: Milby is THE BEST course IN HOUSTON. You have to go to Jenkins(Baytown) or Cornerstone(Lake Jackson) to find a better course in the Houston/surrounding area. Its a welcome site for sure!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good? Yes. Great? Eh.

2-4    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 2.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For one thing, the course at Milby Park is in a location that really lacks any kind of good course. The nearest to courses are dilapidated Mason Park and wide open MacGregor Park. It is a good location for any people living inside the city.

The property itself is fantastic. The park has rolling hills and big oak trees and a bayou to the south side of the park that comes into play on a few holes.

The course utilizes this elevation very well. A few holes play down and then back up the hill. Hole 6 plays on top of a hill. This course has great elevation change for being a Houston course.

The course has a good amount of length. The park is huge and the designers used that to make the course have a fair amount of long holes.

I liked how the designers implemented the three wooded holes. In my opinion, they are a good break from the monotonous long hole over and over again. The wooded holes will only continue to get better as they are worn in more and more.
Cons: My biggest complaint about the current layout is the amount of holes that just feel repetitive. There are not too many score separating holes, and it can feel like you are throwing the same type of shot with the same discs off each tee, minus the ones in the woods.

With the wooded holes being added, a few of the holes that actually added some variety in the temporary layout were removed. Hopefully, the course can be approved with a few more holes to add a little bit more variety.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely much needed and Houston disc golfers are excited to have it in the ground. This course may eventually be the most played course in the city.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A championship level course

1    6/30/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: sageathor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start out, I've only played this course once, and that was enough for it to be one of my favorite courses that I have had the chance to throw. Although the course is still in it's early stages of development, the level of aptitude and masterful course design easily makes this one of the best courses in the surrounding area of Houston. My favorite quality is the idea that no hole is the same, none of them are even close(except 15&16, but planning is in the works to relocate 15). There's a huge variety of different lines to take on most holes, the elevation changes on some holes make them that much more grand, and the overall flow of the course is exceptional. The park is in a great location as well, the pedestrian traffic is very low, except on one hole(11) that the tee pad may need to be moved due to throwing almost directly near a pavilion, other then that the course feels dedicated to disc golf.
Cons: *Beware of Chiggers in the wooded holes*
There is no map, tee sings or tee pads right now but there is a highlighted tape that guides players through the course so its not too difficult to navigate. Holes 13-16 are very underdeveloped and unless you're extremely confident in your throw I would advise passing them for now until they get cleaned up. Hole 11 shoots right next to a picnic table and a pavilion, when we played this whole area was full of pedestrians and we had to skip this hole. Also, beware of the sticky sticker patches, these plants will eat you alive if you are not careful.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses I've ever played. The design and layout is almost perfect and the location is awesome. There's just a few minor things that need to be fixed up and that will just take time. I would recommend this course to any type of player, it's very enjoyable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Milby is a gem

2-4    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Overall course layout and beautiful location makes this course the best in the Greater Houston Area. Holes are tough but fair and distances will challenge you. Water comes into play as do several majestic old trees so skill shots are rewarded too. Rolling hills give elevation changes that are a true rarity in our flat city! Average hole length over 400 ft so bring your fastest drivers. A must play for all Houstonians when it is available.
Cons: Still just a temporary course so no permanent signs or markings yet.
Well flagged for tournaments and hopefully it will become a permanent course soon.
Other Thoughts: This site is perfect for disc golf...central, scenic and yes secluded so no worries of hitting pedestrians, campers, bikers etc.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.