Orland, CA 
Vinsonhaler Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #2 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 277ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Better Than Most Typical Small City Park Courses!

1    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 939  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vinsonhaler Park is a nice little flat city park featuring a great looking children's play area, baseball & softball fields, horseshoe pits, tennis courts, wading and swim pools and probably anything else a city park should have. The park is filled with both large mature trees and plenty of smaller, bush type trees which provide a nice variety of obstacles for your round here.

There is a practice basket at the start near the parking lot. There are also tables and a barbecue pit. The course starts and finishes right here by the practice basket. The tee pads are smaller concrete, perfectly functional for this course. There is a basic fiberglas tee sign, only at # 1. But all nine teepads have a placard in the bottom corner giving the par, distance and hole #. The DGA baskets are the very cool, orange Popsicle colored ones complete with red number on the top.

Although short (175-277) many of the holes feature tight or otherwise interesting choices off the tee. Rollers could be used here routinely. The course often plays back and forth across the center of the park. Many holes force tunnel shots due to low hanging branches, either close to the tee or near the basket. Holes 5 & 6 both demand an accurate shot off the tee. # 7 is an interesting, short little hole (175') giving you the choice of an hyser up and over the tennis courts, an annie coming in from the left side or a short thumber or tomahawk shot up and over. # 8 forces you to thread a shot between two trees which are off set from each other. And the # 9 has a peek-a boo basket tucked in behind a small tree.
Cons: Other than it's recreational length and flatness, I see no cons here.
Other Thoughts: Excellent little course for beginners. Short and open enough not to frustrate but challenging enough for most players. It's an easy little stop on your drive up or down I-5, just minutes off the freeway. Obviously, a great course to work on the mid-game and approach but excellent for chasing ACES or just enjoying a 20-30 minute round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good quick 9 hole disc golf course

1    10/7/2015   12/16/2015
Review By: rondre
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Some obstacles
Beautiful Scenery
Kid Friendly
Cons: Not very long
Limited disc usage
Other Thoughts: For what it is I thought it was excellent so in that respect i'd give it 5 stars, but based against all disc golf courses the 3.5 rating of very good fits. This is in a cute little park and the hole layout is pretty decent. There are holes where trees are a factor but I only used a mid and a putter. Those with cannons could easily get away with just using a putter here. If you're in the area and have 30 minutes to kill I would definitely recommend checking it out - especially since you can leave your bag in your car.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course for field work: Approaches and Short Drives

1    7/11/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice layout and easy to follow.

2) Good mix of holes, ranging from 175 feet to 277 feet. Lots of practice on approaches and short drives, great for easing the frustration felt by a majority of beginning players.

3) Practice basket as you enter course from parking lot.

4) Bathroom on site (near basket of hole 1).

5) Easy layout but trees and basket positions make this challenging for most players, but not too challenging to frustrate a beginning player.

6) Teepads were large and had all the hole information on a placard located at the bottom right corner of the teepad when facing the basket.

7) Holes 1 and 9 were in close proximity of each other and really close to the parking lot.

8) No major concerns of losing a disc, only if you sky a shot into the trees but almost all shots should be kept low as to avoid dangling tree branches. In other words, those type of shots won't be needed when playing this course.

9) Some holes had 2 teepads (1 for beginners, 1 for all other levels).
Cons: 1) No benches or seats at/or near the teepads, not a problem since the course was well manicured when I played.

2) No other major negatives about course, just that there was some open field between the edge of hole number 2 and the baseball field, so maybe an expansion of 3+ holes might be considered???
Other Thoughts: After playing Sherwood Forest in Chico, I was pleasantly surprised with this 9 hole course. My friend and I were able to have fun throwing discs without having to really worry about nothing else (Rattlesnakes at Sherwood Forest). If my friend and I weren't on a time line, we probably would have played this course at least one more time, if not two. Thoroughly enjoyed the brief time that we were there. And coming from Sacramento, I would make the trip to this course again and again and again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Father's Day 2015 #1: Pleasant Surpise

5+    6/20/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 379  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vinsonahaler Park is an 18 acre city park with large mature trees and bright green mowed grass. The park sports a huge swimming pool and an adjacent wading pool for kids. It has two tennis courts complete with lights for night play. It has a baseball field and a softball field complete with a concession stand, dugouts, press box, and scoreboard. It has multiple picnic and bbq areas and two childrens play areas. The park also has drinking fountains and restrooms to make for a very relaxing park. The disc golf course was a fairly nice rec course with DGA Mach V's and adequate concrete tees. The park is perfectly flat using the mature trees as obstacles and requiring you to keep a lot of your shots low. This course will serve as great quick throw off the 5. Great course for family and beginners. Also a great warmup for the more challenging black butte lake course west of town. There is a practice basket located next to the parking lot and picnic areas.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty short and not going to require a lot of power for better players, but the holes are fairly well laid out to provide at least a fun round. There is only a tee sign at hole 1, a standard DGA fiberglass sign, the rest of the holes have markers in the concrete tees, identifying hole number, par, and distance, and making navigation a little more difficult but definitely doable. I would imagine with all the other park activities this course is going to get busy with non-disc golf traffic, although there was no one here the entire two hours we played several rounds. There will be some safety issues as the holes play close to other activities such as horseshoe pits and tennis courts and picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course on my recent 11 course Fathers day weekend roadtrip. I had a difficult time turning east on 32 to come here and not going west to the great lake course, but I managed as I wanted to only play courses I hadn't played before this trip, and found it to be a pleasant surprise and a nice warmup, and break from a long drive on the I5. We had the course to ourselves the entire time we were there, it was just us and the sprinklers going off throughout are round. We got there about the crack of dawn, and if this is like most city parks I would imagine traffic will start filtering in as the day goes on. The course itself is a fairly nice above average rec course and a fun play, if short.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great place to play and BBQ!

2-4    11/1/2014   2/1/2015
Review By: Philbert
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lets hit the basics first.
Concrete tee pads of adauate length.
Mach 5 baskets in the eye catching orange. Very easy to see.
Tee signs at each hole with a possible alternate tee pad for each hole. (Alternates are still mostly natural.)
Bathrooms onsite.
BBQ pits and tables between holes 9 and 1.
This is a great course for learning and perfecting your abilities. The holes are all flat land, but have quite a good mix up of trees. Lots of room to throw all types of shots. From rollers, to overhand. A pro isn't going to unwind here, but for the average player this is the place to be to fine tune your game.
Cons: For a small inner city course, I do not see a lot of cons. It has all of the needed amenities for a relaxing day under the trees.
Other Thoughts: For a fun family day I bring the family out and we start the BBQ and throw a few rounds. Lollypop land is right across the parking lot for the smaller kids, and plenty of disc for the bigger kids.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the perfect warm-up for Black Butte

1    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: rudge
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty straightforward, but a great little course to work on the short game. a few holes allow one to throw a long mid or even a driver at 75%.
Cons: straight fairways and it is easy to see how this course can be difficult to navigate with other people using the park.
Other Thoughts: the park was empty when we arrived and we played 3 rounds in about a 1.25 hours. one of the very best 9 hole courses I've played. under par is most definitely in play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Short and sweet

5+    12/14/2013   1/5/2014
Review By: Rob Cardenaz
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has lots of low trees, for most holes, making you practice your aim not your distance(making it a great starter course. Still has some challenging holes even for seasoned players.
Cons: Compact and kind of close together. Some nights it's hard to get in a full 9 with all the kids practicing football and cheerleading. Most of the time I haven't had to many problems with people at the park but you do share it with all the people at the park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.