Orland, CA 
Vinsonhaler Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #1 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 154ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great course for field work: Approaches and Short Drives

1    7/11/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 30  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: 1) Nice layout and easy to follow.

2) Good mix of holes, ranging from 175 feet to 277 feet. Lots of practice on approaches and short drives, great for easing the frustration felt by a majority of beginning players.

3) Practice basket as you enter course from parking lot.

4) Bathroom on site (near basket of hole 1).

5) Easy layout but trees and basket positions make this challenging for most players, but not too challenging to frustrate a beginning player.

6) Teepads were large and had all the hole information on a placard located at the bottom right corner of the teepad when facing the basket.

7) Holes 1 and 9 were in close proximity of each other and really close to the parking lot.

8) No major concerns of losing a disc, only if you sky a shot into the trees but almost all shots should be kept low as to avoid dangling tree branches. In other words, those type of shots won't be needed when playing this course.

9) Some holes had 2 teepads (1 for beginners, 1 for all other levels).
Cons: 1) No benches or seats at/or near the teepads, not a problem since the course was well manicured when I played.

2) No other major negatives about course, just that there was some open field between the edge of hole number 2 and the baseball field, so maybe an expansion of 3+ holes might be considered???
Other Thoughts: After playing Sherwood Forest in Chico, I was pleasantly surprised with this 9 hole course. My friend and I were able to have fun throwing discs without having to really worry about nothing else (Rattlesnakes at Sherwood Forest). If my friend and I weren't on a time line, we probably would have played this course at least one more time, if not two. Thoroughly enjoyed the brief time that we were there. And coming from Sacramento, I would make the trip to this course again and again and again.

Father's Day 2015 #1: Pleasant Surpise

5+    6/20/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 314  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 31.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vinsonahaler Park is an 18 acre city park with large mature trees and bright green mowed grass. The park sports a huge swimming pool and an adjacent wading pool for kids. It has two tennis courts complete with lights for night play. It has a baseball field and a softball field complete with a concession stand, dugouts, press box, and scoreboard. It has multiple picnic and bbq areas and two childrens play areas. The park also has drinking fountains and restrooms to make for a very relaxing park. The disc golf course was a fairly nice rec course with DGA Mach V's and adequate concrete tees. The park is perfectly flat using the mature trees as obstacles and requiring you to keep a lot of your shots low. This course will serve as great quick throw off the 5. Great course for family and beginners. Also a great warmup for the more challenging black butte lake course west of town. There is a practice basket located next to the parking lot and picnic areas.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty short and not going to require a lot of power for better players, but the holes are fairly well laid out to provide at least a fun round. There is only a tee sign at hole 1, a standard DGA fiberglass sign, the rest of the holes have markers in the concrete tees, identifying hole number, par, and distance, and making navigation a little more difficult but definitely doable. I would imagine with all the other park activities this course is going to get busy with non-disc golf traffic, although there was no one here the entire two hours we played several rounds. There will be some safety issues as the holes play close to other activities such as horseshoe pits and tennis courts and picnic areas.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course on my recent 11 course Fathers day weekend roadtrip. I had a difficult time turning east on 32 to come here and not going west to the great lake course, but I managed as I wanted to only play courses I hadn't played before this trip, and found it to be a pleasant surprise and a nice warmup, and break from a long drive on the I5. We had the course to ourselves the entire time we were there, it was just us and the sprinklers going off throughout are round. We got there about the crack of dawn, and if this is like most city parks I would imagine traffic will start filtering in as the day goes on. The course itself is a fairly nice above average rec course and a fun play, if short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great place to play and BBQ!

2-4    11/1/2014   2/1/2015
Review By: Philbert
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Lets hit the basics first.
Concrete tee pads of adauate length.
Mach 5 baskets in the eye catching orange. Very easy to see.
Tee signs at each hole with a possible alternate tee pad for each hole. (Alternates are still mostly natural.)
Bathrooms onsite.
BBQ pits and tables between holes 9 and 1.
This is a great course for learning and perfecting your abilities. The holes are all flat land, but have quite a good mix up of trees. Lots of room to throw all types of shots. From rollers, to overhand. A pro isn't going to unwind here, but for the average player this is the place to be to fine tune your game.
Cons: For a small inner city course, I do not see a lot of cons. It has all of the needed amenities for a relaxing day under the trees.
Other Thoughts: For a fun family day I bring the family out and we start the BBQ and throw a few rounds. Lollypop land is right across the parking lot for the smaller kids, and plenty of disc for the bigger kids.

the perfect warm-up for Black Butte

1    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: rudge
Played: 63  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: pretty straightforward, but a great little course to work on the short game. a few holes allow one to throw a long mid or even a driver at 75%.
Cons: straight fairways and it is easy to see how this course can be difficult to navigate with other people using the park.
Other Thoughts: the park was empty when we arrived and we played 3 rounds in about a 1.25 hours. one of the very best 9 hole courses I've played. under par is most definitely in play.

 Short and sweet

5+    12/14/2013   1/5/2014
Review By: Rob Cardenaz
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Has lots of low trees, for most holes, making you practice your aim not your distance(making it a great starter course. Still has some challenging holes even for seasoned players.
Cons: Compact and kind of close together. Some nights it's hard to get in a full 9 with all the kids practicing football and cheerleading. Most of the time I haven't had to many problems with people at the park but you do share it with all the people at the park.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.