Monroe, NC
Dry Creek Share
Uploaded By: dtriscari Hole #8 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee: Red tee on left, gold tee on right.



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
You'll like it!!!

2-4    1/18/2014   1/10/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Plenty of Open holes. Nice Tee Pads. Longs are more than fair for us average players. Short tees available for beginners. Located in a safe, bucolic location.
Cons: Drains very slowly after a substantial rain
Other Thoughts: Succinct reviews are the best, thus you'll enjoy it very much!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Even Tempered Stroll

2-4    10/8/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 34.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated on the grounds of Southern Piedmont Community College, comprising about 110 acres total. This area is, in the main, reclaimed farmland, which has been left fallow to the pioneer species of plants, particularly groundsel bush (blooming nicely at the time of playing) from which fairways are cut. In these 'open' areas of the course, small trees, particularly pear, dot the landscape and give the fairways definition/obstacles. About 30% of the course consists of sub-climax mix of pines and various hardwoods typical of the region. Terrain is very gently rolling and quite the nice walk. There is ample area for almost any future enhancement to the course, and may be an easy site for a 10,000'+ super course one day. Strong seasonal winds will frequently affect play at Dry Creek.

Course is the only 'official' activity on this part of the grounds and is spatially distant from the community college. The course seems designed around the gold set-up, as playing the reds, one frequently experiences redundant transitions. Transitions overall, even for the gold, are longer than average and in several instances can be confusing for the uninitiated. Equipment, signage & tee pads are above average. The numerous 'next-tee' signs were critical to a less frustrating time of it (the transition between #'s 13 & 14 is particularly rough and confusing). Please note this is a 'no tobacco' zone and that all refuse must be packed out. There are no amenities, practice facilities or a practice green. It should also be noted that the tee pads lack the preferred heavy texture finish, and may get slick in adverse conditions. OB areas are very limited and are clearly marked or intuitive. There are no mandatory flight paths.

From the reds, average hole distance is about 230' and from the gold tees, just under 360'. The gold course distances are very well distributed and from either set of tees scoring chances abound. Players with average power can score very well here and the course should be a delight for power players, as every par 4, except one, can easily be reached in 2 with very limited interference from trees. I dare say this course could easily be overpowered and the professional expectation would be in the mid-high 40's to stay in the hunt. The caveat being that the wind isn't up (During my play sustained winds were about 12 mph with gusts over 20, making scoring much more difficult).

From the golds, course is fairly well balanced regarding fairway/shot shape from the tee and approach, although it does set up a bit better for the clock spin thrower overall - particularly on all but one of the par 4's. Variety is solid, and since a large part of the course is open (and can be windy), creativity is encouraged and can be rewarded. Elevation changes throughout are gentle; miscalculations in play regarding same are of the kind that will tend to increase the length of your putt (or up), while not getting one into really serious trouble. Only 2 holes on the entire course, both short, straight 'deuce or die' types have unobstructed looks at the basket from the tee box. Roughs are a mixed bag throughout; except for the serious gaff, I could find no consistent correlation between the size of the throwing error and the penalty one receives. Poor shots will frequently 'get lucky' (or may even be rewarded), while even minor errors can be completely stymied. Provided the course is mown, this factor alone will determine playability for the recreational to advanced level player. If the course is not mown, it can be a disc-eating nightmare with diligent spotting and/or conservative, accurate play required for all levels. Greens overall are flattish and open. All targets are mounted at standard height. Green spin receptivity is largely determined by the fairway/obstacle geometry, not slope of the ground. Greens here offer some of the most 'straight-up' putting of any Charlotte area course.

One hole in particular proved especially noteworthy - the par-4 14th; I feel it's the course's toughest. A narrow flattened 'S' shape, it's basically not cuttable from the tee, as the fairway is severely height and width restricted. What makes it really tough is the fairway's thick penal rough, a semi-blind landing area and the gentle convex curve of the 'S's' top portion out to an open green - one is shielded from an accurate wind read on the upshot. It's a tricky technical par-4, very hard to birdie and very easy to bogie this one.

Dry Creek receives high marks for situational appropriateness, general playability, balance and variety, but is a bit rough around the edges and inconsistent throughout. It certainly lacks the care, refinement and polish of other local offerings, but Dry Creek is still quite young and these matters are more a matter of time. I dare say the more skilled and powerful the golfer, the less challenging this course would be to play, as this course can definitely be overpowered; for the recreational to advanced level golfer, it offers a solid test, with frequent opportunities to experiment with unimpeded disc flight. The routing is acceptable and one of the most gentle pleasing walks of any area course. It might also be said of Dry Creek that the difficulty is spread very consistently throughout the route - every hole is vulnerable to scoring and there is no real increase or letdown of intensity throughout via clever sequencing. Some may appreciate this even-tempered solution. Dry Creek's main drawback seems to be its relative remoteness from Charlotte; it requires a 'special' trip for visitors and Charlotte residents alike. I hope it doesn't get lost in the shuffle.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Yin and Yang

1    6/18/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1st thing you need to know is that this is one of the best balanced (woods/open) courses around. Really good NC style wooded holes and really good open holes. The short tees (didn't play) look like good easy fun, bravo. The longs (did play) provide lots of jollies for more experienced hacks like myself. Really good concrete tees, informative signs, signage makes it easy to get around, everything you can ask for. Like others have mentioned, even though it's beside a comm. college the school is pretty much not there. The vibe is a really well maintained private course.

Woods holes: Lots of good line variety and well defined fairways. For the most part, nice and wide tunnels compared to a lot of NC courses.

Open holes: Like ball golf, long multi-shot holes that require big hyzers and annys, etc. Big arms will beat up on these much more than my 300-350' max D on a good day arm can but for me (and probably most DG'ers) they did a great job with the distances.
Cons: The wooded holes on the back 9, can't remember which ones but there is like 3 in a row, aren't as good as the front 9 holes unfortunately. They aren't bad, but a little rough and could use a little clever tweaking IMO.

The rough on the open holes is not something you would want to do 90's dance move "the running man" around in sans pants but I've seen much worse and really, why would you want to do that anyway? You need help, your drinking is out of control, Steve.

I have no idea if there is a place to deposit human waste other than going Bear Grylls' style. The usual park amenities of trash cans and benches and water fountains are not available on the course proper.

Pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: Really fun, good course. It's really hard for a new Charlotte course to saddle up to the table with all the big boys and grab a seat but I think this one not only accomplished that but gave Eastway a wet willy as it did. I can't really decide if this is a 3.5 or a 4 but since it could conceivably be improved with amenities or some tweaking of those holes I mentioned in the Cons it really could flirt with a 5 IMO. Flirt, but probably never get due to lack of elevation and natural beauty and other things that get Dave242 a raging hard-on but I digress.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Lil Kalahari

1    6/18/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Starts with two tees on 12 holes which greatly change the difficulty and layout of the course. The shorts are for more casual and beginner play, and they are great for that if that's you. The longs offer a real challenge. (the rest of my review will be based on the longs)

There's a great balance of open/wooded. The wooded holes offer a challenge but nothing overbearing and super tight. Plenty of room to hit the lines. The wooded holes do a good job of creating different lines and not feeling really standard.

The open holes offer up something much different than most courses I've seen in the area. It's basically an overgrown field full of Bradford Pears that has fairways cut out like a ball golf course. The trees are still short and sparse so you have plenty of room to work whatever line you choose.

These fairways are decently wide enough if you're accurate and challenge you to push your disc out farther on the long holes.

There's a serious risk/reward factor here which is also a con. If you drive one out pretty far and go in the grass off the fairway you are very likely to not find your disc. It's a pro in that it creates a situation where you want to play it safe and not try to just rip them everywhere, makes you stay within your game.

These open holes have a very good layout within the holes, some real quality par 4's. You can throw over most of the trees as of now but the baskets are hidden and bent around all of the death grass.

Good flow to most of the course, it's easy to follow. Mixes up the open/wooded holes really great so you go back and forth.

Equipment - New large concrete pads for all tees. Tee signs on all pads.

Atmosphere - It's a community college course but it's all completely behind the college and we were all alone with none of the college in sight. Really great atmosphere in that perspective, on top of it being pleasant views in and out of the woods.


Cons: Layout - There's a few bum holes even on the longs. The shorts are really boring holes right now so don't even worry about that if you're a serious golfer.

I think my biggest complaints have to do with the how new the course is. I can see in two or three years when the trees grow up more that this course will offer a super challenge and really make you shape lines. As of now you can just throw huge hyzer or fade shots around everything on a lot of the open holes.

The grass off the fairway is just complete crap. if you end up here you will look for your disc in scratchy briar laced crap for a good while and hope you find it. That alone takes a lot away from the feel of this course.

There's some serious tweeners. I had short upshots to many times. I think the basket placements should be re-examined on some holes.

There's two kinda weird long walks through woods. I remember wishing they would of put a couple more holes in the woods and they definitely could have with all the space.

No real elevation at all here.

Atmosphere - The tall grass stuff really sucks. It sucks so much here I am mentioning it again.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like where this course is going but I find it hard to see what can be done about the grass situation. For a lot of people that's going to be a huge drawback when they are constantly looking for discs. I think it's hard to ask people to bomb one out there and just hope they don't catch a wind gust and end up losing a disc.

I still think it's worth checking out if you want something a bit different than what most of the CLT area offers.

I also think it makes this course even more interesting to play the tall grass OB.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very good course with a great mix of open and wooded holes

1    6/9/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dry Creek is a solid course just outside of Charlotte, with a great mixture of wooded and open holes. If this were in the Queen City, it'd be getting a lot more love.
- There is a lot to like here. Sometimes courses just have that feeling of something special, and you get that with Dry Creek. There is a great flow from hole to hole, with each being challenging, enjoyable, or simply solid. Of the entire course, there were only two holes I'd argue that were subpar, especially by this course's standard, and that had more to do mainly with poor design. The rest of the course offers one good hole after another.
- There's a wonderful mix of wooded and open holes on this course. Holes 1 -4 are wooded; #5 - 10 are open; 11 - 14 are wooded; 15 - 16 open and then 17 - 18 end back in the woods. The wooded holes at the front of the course (#1 - 4 & 17 - 18) have a strong Kilborne-esque quality to them. The course's strongest holes are actually the open ones, especially from the long tees. It's a credit to the designers that the open holes offer a variety of looks and feels, keeping the challenge and interest aplenty.
- Expanding on the above comment, the open holes offer some good layouts , with lots of strategically placed baskets and/or trees coming into play. The course emphasizes accurately placed tee shots, especially on some of the par fours on the long layout, namely #7, 10 &15. For example on #7 & 10, if you're on the wrong side of the fairway for your second shot, you're going to have a bad angle towards the basket with your approach shot. On #15, the fairway splits around a cluster of trees for your second shot. If you land in the middle of the fairway, you might have to lay up, just to get around the trees.
- The fairways are in great shape, with the grass recently cut. If you stay in the fairway, you're in great shape. Land in the rough and you might have an awkward second shot and/or spent lots of time looking for your disc in the tall, tall stuff. The rough really is unforgiving in some spots.
- Great tee pads and above-average tee signs. Tee pads are nice and long, which is always a huge plus. Tee signs are solid pictures that offer pretty accurate descriptions of the basket, fairways and tree clusters. Tee signs would be even better if there was a sign pointing towards the next tee and an even better indication of where fairways end and the rough begins. More on both of those concerns later.
- From the longs, there's a great variety of difficult holes, where you'll be struggling to get par, as well as some chances for birdies. In addition, there's also variety of really narrow wooded holes to wider fairway wooded holes. Even the open holes, when including the rough, have fairways ranging from wide open to much narrow. That all adds to the good risk-reward feel of the course.
Cons: For a somewhat new course, things are generally in great shape. The major problems are all smaller, maintenance-level problems.
- Signage could be much, much better. After parking, and walking behind the building, the only sign I saw was one arrow. Following the trail, I eventually saw another sign, which led to the first tee. The bigger problem is that signage is needed on the open holes in the back of the course. There are many cleared out paths/transition areas between holes, and at least once, I started walking down one before realizing I was on the wrong one. It's a somewhat similar problem to what you see at Mint Hill DGC, only on a larger scale. Some holes have good signage, it just needs to be consistent throughout the course.
- There are several LONG transitions between holes, several of which, even when they did have next arrow signs, I wondered if I they were wrong or I had missed a turn. The worst transitions were from #10 basket to #11 tee , #13 to #14 and #16 to #17. The whole stretch from #11 to #14 is somewhat weird, as a whole. After playing #11, you follow the trail where the first thing you see is the tee for #14 to your left. Head right to get to #12's tee instead. After finishing #13, you then backtrack, walking the entire length of #12, just to get back to the tee for #14. It was a little confusing playing that stretch, so I know it had to be confusing reading that explanation.
- I mentioned there were two below average hole layouts on the course, and they both were in that same stretch - #12 & 14. The main issue is that neither has a good fairway. Both are really narrow, especially with the trees and rough being so thick. #14 is essentially a wide path serving as a de facto fairway. Make both wider, or at least knock some trees down to thin out the rough, and they would both be suitable holes. #14, with a normal fairway, would actually be a really good hole. The approach shot, a dogleg right into an opening is actually a good layout.
- On the open holes, it would be nice if the rough/tall grass was better indicated on the tee signs, especially on holes involving blind shots. The inconsistency in fairway widths got frustrating at times. Case in point, on #6, my tee shot sailed to the right, over the tall stuff, so I think I'll be searching for my disc. Nope. It ends up in the fairways, in a cleared out area. On #15, another semi-blind tee shot, my shot sails a little to the left, before I lose sight of it around the curve. I think I should be ok, the grass didn't seem too tall. Nope again. This time it is in the tall stuff, and after 30 minutes of searching, I finally find it. I know one could walk every single fairway before playing each hole, but that doesn't seem like the most ideal solution.
- The back 9, overall was far less cleared out than the front 9. I don't know if the front 9 has been in longer, or has just gotten more attention, but the back 9 wasn't as broken in yet.
- I actually don't remember seeing many, if any, trash cans or benches anywhere on the course. Those aren't problems for me, but I know they're used, and preferred, by many players.
Other Thoughts: I was cautiously optimistic about playing Dry Creek, and was more than pleased with the course. There is a ton to like here for most players. As a true compliment to everyone involved, despite being a new course, Dry Creek, for the most part, already had that existing course feel.
- I continue to remain cautiously optimistic about the future of the course. If it's well maintained, and some of the minor issues are fixed, this is going to be a great course. I have a little concern that the course could become neglected over time, that the school and volunteers won't have the manpower to maintain the course. If the grass isn't constantly cut, the open holes are going to be really difficult to play. And in turn, this course is going to suffer.
- I feel this course could easily get lost in the shuffle. The Charlotte CDC, and all of its courses carry so much weight, that courses in the Charlotte-region can get overlooked, as we've seen with Stumpy Creek. That actually could become a blessing in disguise, possibly keeping the casual players away from this course, leaving it available for the more serious players.
- The open holes reminded me a lot of Falling Creek DGC in Bedford, VA. That's one of my favorite, if not the favorite, open courses I've played anywhere. So anytime I get a layout that reminds me of Falling Creek, it's a great thing.
- I struggled with rating this course. I felt like it was just short of being a 4.0 course, that there were too many small problems that kept it from that level. It also felt better than most of the 3.5 level courses I've played. In the end, this is a strong 3.5 in my book, closer to a 3.75 due mainly to the several issues I listed above. Once those are fixed, this is a 4.0 in my book.
- Regardless of that rating, this is a great addition to the Charlotte region disc golf scene. It's definitely a must play for anyone in the area. And for anyone making a disc golf trip to Charlotte, you should strongly consider adding this one to your itinerary.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Land of many contradictions.

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: markmanchette
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With a mix of long tees, short tees, tight alleys, and wide open fairways, there is something here to make just about everyone happy. I feel like the parking lot is a very low-risk location to park, due to campus security.
Cons: No benches or trash cans as of this time. Not sure if there is an easily accessible bathroom in the area. The surrounding JUNGLE can swallow a perfectly good disc with ease, if you miss the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. There are a good number of Ace and Birdie opportunities from the short tees. But the long tees can be very challenging! Get stuck in the woods, and you'll be sorry. In my opinion this is going to be a great course for Charlotte, and especially for those of us on the East side of Charlotte. Check this place out, I really think you'll love it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great addition.

5+    5/14/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: jhargett71
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 3 courses in one. Each with its own challenge. Open holes the wind really effects throws. Tight pine tree fairways on back nine. Hard wood holes you need to be accurate with drives. The course flows nice from open to woods back to open then in the woods to close. Nice sets of tee pads. Short/long.
Cons: Still some thorns out there and the high grass to hard to find disc in. But if I hit fairways I wouldn't need to worry.
Other Thoughts: Great job on this one. Lets have some big tournament out there.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New to DGCR but not a new course

2-4    5/19/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While I have the memory of this course being very open it really is a 50/50 split which makes for fun times. The flow allows for variety throughout the round and not just a bunch of open holes followed by a bunch of wooded ones.

Teepads are very nice as well as the signs.

Easy to find your way around

The Course is absolutely beautiful once you get. The trees and openness make you feel like you are on an African Safari. The types of trees with the tall grass right off of the perfectly manicured fairways give it a cool vibe.

I feel that the Short pads are very good to have where a person who has never played before having a disc golf class can play without being destroyed by the longs. The longs are defiantly a fun challenge.
Cons: The tall grass off the fairways looks good and gives the hole shape but it can also make it difficult to find a misplaced shot.

A lot of new Growth is taking over the wooded fairways which is to be expected this time of year.

The rough on some of the wooded holes is very very thick.
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely unique and is a good balance of open and wooded. You get a taste of traditional NC woods golf and also get to let 'er rip a few times. The course has improved immensely since I first played it and I know it will continue to do so. I strongly recommend checking this place out!

Good Job Wheeler!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.