Fate, TX 
The Cedars Share
Uploaded By: xhypocr4cyx Hole #7 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
cedars - unique course

5+    2/16/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: variety of holes.
lots of trees - challenging terrain-
the rough is "rough"
less traffic than Meyer
exciting and fun course
Cons: Has anyone in the history of playing this course gotten a birdie on hole 3? In my opinion it should be a par 4 along with a few other holes.
It can be confusing the first few times that you play where the next basket is at. numbers on the baskets would be nice.

Needs some fine tuning

1    10/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety and good use of obstacles in the area. New tee boxes and signs. Peaceful rural area. Near Harry Myers so playing 18 on each is available.

(Update: They have cleaned up the stumps, barbed wire, and poison ivy since I first played)
Cons: Lots of cedar trees can really slow play when retrieving or searching for an errant throw. Bringing something to extend your reach for discs under or in trees might help.

If you play this course too soon after a rain or with early morning dew on the ground your shoes with get very heavy.

As previously stated, Hole 3 at 565 ft seems a bit long for a par 3 for an average player like me especially with that wind. lol

Hole 7 could use a few less skinny trees blocking the basket so your tee shot doesn't feel like pure luck should you actually make it through.

Long trek through the trees between 12 & 13.

Need bridges for 14 & 17.

An earlier rest bench besides the much needed one on 15 would help.
Other Thoughts: I'm a mainly RHFH player so some of the holes forced me to go to a backhand throw which I sorely need work on.

Hole 2 seemed a boring over-the-top throw until I played it a second time with a skip shot and just missed an ace.

Hole 4 is very unique in that it curls around to the left into a grove of trees. Both times my playing partners have tried going over the trees they have paid for it.

Hole 9 was unique and again forced me to go backhand through the tight tunnel.

Hole 12 had a nice finish that was unique. After a long throw over the creek into an open field I went over the trees and into the grove area where the basket was located.

This course allows you to be creative on many holes. I would suggest experimenting with different throwing styles and lanes. Once the cedars grow taller I believe this course and it's lanes will play better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good with potential to be better

1    11/7/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of challenging holes in the thick cedars
-nice concrete pads, baskets, signs
-next tee signs everywhere, easy navigation
-good mix of distances, starts shorter and gets longer toward the back
-not busy, plenty of parking, benches
Cons: -rough is very rough, course is still new
-needs bridges to cross the creek
-i don't think the fairways are unfairly tight but some trimming here and there will makes things more pleasant
-multiple pin locations would go a long way here, it would add variety and replay value and has the potential to drastically change your look on the holes in the woods
Other Thoughts: I think this course has suffered so far from both reviewers who think that difficult equals good or reviewers who think that too many trees are bad. I found it to be a challenging yet fun course that just needs to be broken in a bit.

There are a good variety of distances and fairway sizes among the holes. The course generally starts shorter and tighter and gradually gets a bit longer and more open as it progresses. Navigation is easy with the next tee signs between each hole and the baskets and concrete tees are great.

I think this course will be in much better shape once it gets played in more. There are still many stumps, the fairways are not all clear yet, the rough is really thick, the paths between holes are well marked but could still be more obvious in places (like between 12 and 13), and hopefully things will get moved around a bit too. I'd love to see multiple pin locations and some holes that I'd just plain rather have the basket somewhere else. Hole 12 comes to mind; I think a shorter pin would be better for a par 3 or make it a par 4 and put the basket even further back to the right. Hole 13 could have pin locations tucked to the right or the left. Hole 17 has a great looking tee shot with the basket behind a cool tree. There are several fun ace runs, especially 14 and 18.

This is a good course that will get better with time. Definitely worth stopping to play here if you are on your way to Harry Myers. Makes a great compliment to that course and is only about 10 mins away.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

1    10/1/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: Tobo6570
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: brings disc golf a little further out of the metroplex to help attract new players and another course for existing players to try
could potentially be a good (not great) course
Cons: Too many obstacles within throwing lanes. Some holes have no throwing lanes
Other Thoughts: This course could have some potential but there needs to be a lot of work. Some of the holes are so cluttered that there are no throwing lanes. I enjoy playing a tight challenging course, but there are limits. There needs to be better locations to cross the creek. I will return much later after hopefully a lot of work has been done to the course. This course has potential to have 4 or 5 signature holes. But as it is now it is a waste of time.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Cedars

5+    9/12/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Tbud12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several things that make this course a a great course to play and learn on:
tight shots
Multiple lanes to the basket on each hole
good changes in shot distance
knwledge of disc golf strategy
great scenery
Close to Harry Meyers
Cons: Little rough still as it is still being beat in as more people play it.
can get muddy after rain
Poison Ivy/oak
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course and a great place to work on your accuracy. This course is great because it was made to help with your disc golf strategy and thought process rather than pure brute force grip it and rip style play.
There are a couple holes that you can really let loose on and watch the disc fly, but the rest really show you what type of accuracy you have when it comes down to it. there are several lanes to the basket on each hole if you look so you can come out and work on different shots each time you play.
Since it is a new course, the wilderness is still pretty overgrown and if you go off the fairways it can be pretty hard to find your disc and play from, especially on some holes like 6,10, 12, 13, and 14.
each time i have played this course i leave feeling like a could've done better and wanting to start again and that is exactly the kind of course i like because it makes you want to improve.
Overall i would say that this is a great course to work on your accuracy. it might not be the best for beginners but there are lines to the basket on each hole carved out for you if you want to come try it out.
This course is a great compliment to Harry Meyers (long, open, hyzer bomb city) and i would love to see some tournaments played with these two courses combined. My hat is off to LifeDisc Sports and the town of Fate for giving the avid disc golfer another good course in the area.
Everyone should come take a look at the course and have some fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun new course m/

1    9/14/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: BHelms62
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course close to home. Challenging for all levels. Nice mix of shots. Course layout, nice flow. Tee boxes on all 18. Course designers play this course and continue to improve it. Signs pointing to next tee box. Wild life!
Cons: May not want to play alone the first time out. Need a spotter on a couple of holes with thick Cedar trees. Some issues crossing the creeks. with my stroller but all good. A couple of signs need adjusting. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Work in progress. It can only get better. Thanks Life Disc golf guys. Nice job.
Thanks for the personal tour Josh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: Mr. Dupree
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a ton of varity here. Confidence builder on first few holes I liked for sure. Some very tight make it or break it holes are very well maped out. Very nice baskets. Couple good wide open holes to boom a few. Overall very pleased.
Cons: Only cons I found was some underbrush that needed to be hauled off as well as a few trimming of trees here and there but overall still had a awesome round
Other Thoughts: Would like to see some alternate pin placements out here and could hopefully draw in some big crowds and tournys soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New to disc golf

1    9/4/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: shaggyruns
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was in pretty good shape and the baskets and tees are brand new.
I liked the technical nature of the course and the folks who put it in (thanks Josh!) did a great job of fitting it in to a fairly tight space.
Cons: While it was my first time playing it, there is definitely some work that needed to be done to make the course more playable. There were places where the basket was not easy to determine from the tee diagram, especially as many of the tee shots were blind.
Also, hole 6 has a path which goes over barbed wire.
Other Thoughts: Even though I may be a newb, I don't think that a 560+ yard hole should be a par 3.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another Gem in DFW

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since some of the previous reviews were negative, let me approach this review by stating my current abilities so one can hopefully, get a true perspective. I am a 912 rated, RHBH player capable of shooting an occasional high 900 round. I have a weak forehand, but can shape most shots. My average driving length is 350 to 375. Therefore, when I drove up to the parking lot and saw the height of the cedar trees, I wanted to hate the course before even teeing off, thinking most throws would be up and over the trees. Man, was I wrong. The designer(s) did an outstanding job of carving out some of the holes, as evidenced by the trimming of tree limbs throughout some of the fairways and around some of the baskets. Navigation between holes was easy enough with the addition of 'next tee' signs in place. The walking path from 12 to 13 took a lot of hard work, and is much appreciated. Similar to a Houck design, some holes/shots require hitting a landing area instead of just trying to park your tee shot. Overall, the course provides a very high fun factor with some tight, technical shots, as well as a few bombers that require accuracy, not just the ability to throw for distance.
Cons: Not really any 'Cons'. Yeah, the rough is rough, but the idea is to stay on the fairway, right? A few more benches would be nice. The bench added on #15 provided some welcomed relief. The directions to the course could be tweaked. I had a difficult time finding the course.
Other Thoughts: Different strokes for different folks. If you're not a fan of this course, you probably prefer, open, less technical courses. A low rating because the course is not 'beat in' is kind of weak. Another 'must play' course has been added to the DFW disc golf community.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Let it Grow On You

5+    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the technicality of this course. It does have a number of shorter holes which definitely test every shot, but they are still not easy birds which I think is good on a course like this. At the same time I really think this course evens itself out nicely as far as hole distances and shot selection. Although there are none over 600, there is a 595 and a 490 ft hole on this course along with a number of 325 to 390 ft shots ranging from hyzer, to anhyzer to straight. Once again, there are not many easy bird opportunities but there are 3 or 4 that you should definitely get which I think every course should have. At the same time there are as many as 9 or 10 that with a great shot could definately be birds. I think this course has a great variety of shots and will test every aspect of your game.
Cons: The cons of any new course is the fact that it needs to be beat in. This course has poison ivy, and if you get off the fairway it may be hard to find your disc. But hopefully these things will work themselves out over time. Some of the signs are a little misleading as far as basket locations which can be a pain because there are a number of blind shots, and there are some footages that are a little off as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think this course has a ton of potential. Once it gets played for a good year or two and lines get worn in and the course has had time to develop, this course will be a great addition to DFW.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.