Fate, TX 
The Cedars Share
Uploaded By: xhypocr4cyx Hole #3 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 565ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some fine tuning

1    10/19/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety and good use of obstacles in the area. New tee boxes and signs. Peaceful rural area. Near Harry Myers so playing 18 on each is available.

(Update: They have cleaned up the stumps, barbed wire, and poison ivy since I first played)
Cons: Lots of cedar trees can really slow play when retrieving or searching for an errant throw. Bringing something to extend your reach for discs under or in trees might help.

If you play this course too soon after a rain or with early morning dew on the ground your shoes with get very heavy.

As previously stated, Hole 3 at 565 ft seems a bit long for a par 3 for an average player like me especially with that wind. lol

Hole 7 could use a few less skinny trees blocking the basket so your tee shot doesn't feel like pure luck should you actually make it through.

Long trek through the trees between 12 & 13.

Need bridges for 14 & 17.

An earlier rest bench besides the much needed one on 15 would help.
Other Thoughts: I'm a mainly RHFH player so some of the holes forced me to go to a backhand throw which I sorely need work on.

Hole 2 seemed a boring over-the-top throw until I played it a second time with a skip shot and just missed an ace.

Hole 4 is very unique in that it curls around to the left into a grove of trees. Both times my playing partners have tried going over the trees they have paid for it.

Hole 9 was unique and again forced me to go backhand through the tight tunnel.

Hole 12 had a nice finish that was unique. After a long throw over the creek into an open field I went over the trees and into the grove area where the basket was located.

This course allows you to be creative on many holes. I would suggest experimenting with different throwing styles and lanes. Once the cedars grow taller I believe this course and it's lanes will play better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good with potential to be better

1    11/7/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of challenging holes in the thick cedars
-nice concrete pads, baskets, signs
-next tee signs everywhere, easy navigation
-good mix of distances, starts shorter and gets longer toward the back
-not busy, plenty of parking, benches
Cons: -rough is very rough, course is still new
-needs bridges to cross the creek
-i don't think the fairways are unfairly tight but some trimming here and there will makes things more pleasant
-multiple pin locations would go a long way here, it would add variety and replay value and has the potential to drastically change your look on the holes in the woods
Other Thoughts: I think this course has suffered so far from both reviewers who think that difficult equals good or reviewers who think that too many trees are bad. I found it to be a challenging yet fun course that just needs to be broken in a bit.

There are a good variety of distances and fairway sizes among the holes. The course generally starts shorter and tighter and gradually gets a bit longer and more open as it progresses. Navigation is easy with the next tee signs between each hole and the baskets and concrete tees are great.

I think this course will be in much better shape once it gets played in more. There are still many stumps, the fairways are not all clear yet, the rough is really thick, the paths between holes are well marked but could still be more obvious in places (like between 12 and 13), and hopefully things will get moved around a bit too. I'd love to see multiple pin locations and some holes that I'd just plain rather have the basket somewhere else. Hole 12 comes to mind; I think a shorter pin would be better for a par 3 or make it a par 4 and put the basket even further back to the right. Hole 13 could have pin locations tucked to the right or the left. Hole 17 has a great looking tee shot with the basket behind a cool tree. There are several fun ace runs, especially 14 and 18.

This is a good course that will get better with time. Definitely worth stopping to play here if you are on your way to Harry Myers. Makes a great compliment to that course and is only about 10 mins away.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun new course m/

1    9/14/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: BHelms62
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course close to home. Challenging for all levels. Nice mix of shots. Course layout, nice flow. Tee boxes on all 18. Course designers play this course and continue to improve it. Signs pointing to next tee box. Wild life!
Cons: May not want to play alone the first time out. Need a spotter on a couple of holes with thick Cedar trees. Some issues crossing the creeks. with my stroller but all good. A couple of signs need adjusting. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Work in progress. It can only get better. Thanks Life Disc golf guys. Nice job.
Thanks for the personal tour Josh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New to disc golf

1    9/4/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: shaggyruns
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was in pretty good shape and the baskets and tees are brand new.
I liked the technical nature of the course and the folks who put it in (thanks Josh!) did a great job of fitting it in to a fairly tight space.
Cons: While it was my first time playing it, there is definitely some work that needed to be done to make the course more playable. There were places where the basket was not easy to determine from the tee diagram, especially as many of the tee shots were blind.
Also, hole 6 has a path which goes over barbed wire.
Other Thoughts: Even though I may be a newb, I don't think that a 560+ yard hole should be a par 3.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center