Fate, TX 
The Cedars Share
Uploaded By: xhypocr4cyx Hole #14 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Diamond in the Cedars

5+    9/12/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Tbud12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several things that make this course a a great course to play and learn on:
tight shots
Multiple lanes to the basket on each hole
good changes in shot distance
knwledge of disc golf strategy
great scenery
Close to Harry Meyers
Cons: Little rough still as it is still being beat in as more people play it.
can get muddy after rain
Poison Ivy/oak
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course and a great place to work on your accuracy. This course is great because it was made to help with your disc golf strategy and thought process rather than pure brute force grip it and rip style play.
There are a couple holes that you can really let loose on and watch the disc fly, but the rest really show you what type of accuracy you have when it comes down to it. there are several lanes to the basket on each hole if you look so you can come out and work on different shots each time you play.
Since it is a new course, the wilderness is still pretty overgrown and if you go off the fairways it can be pretty hard to find your disc and play from, especially on some holes like 6,10, 12, 13, and 14.
each time i have played this course i leave feeling like a could've done better and wanting to start again and that is exactly the kind of course i like because it makes you want to improve.
Overall i would say that this is a great course to work on your accuracy. it might not be the best for beginners but there are lines to the basket on each hole carved out for you if you want to come try it out.
This course is a great compliment to Harry Meyers (long, open, hyzer bomb city) and i would love to see some tournaments played with these two courses combined. My hat is off to LifeDisc Sports and the town of Fate for giving the avid disc golfer another good course in the area.
Everyone should come take a look at the course and have some fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: Mr. Dupree
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a ton of varity here. Confidence builder on first few holes I liked for sure. Some very tight make it or break it holes are very well maped out. Very nice baskets. Couple good wide open holes to boom a few. Overall very pleased.
Cons: Only cons I found was some underbrush that needed to be hauled off as well as a few trimming of trees here and there but overall still had a awesome round
Other Thoughts: Would like to see some alternate pin placements out here and could hopefully draw in some big crowds and tournys soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another Gem in DFW

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since some of the previous reviews were negative, let me approach this review by stating my current abilities so one can hopefully, get a true perspective. I am a 912 rated, RHBH player capable of shooting an occasional high 900 round. I have a weak forehand, but can shape most shots. My average driving length is 350 to 375. Therefore, when I drove up to the parking lot and saw the height of the cedar trees, I wanted to hate the course before even teeing off, thinking most throws would be up and over the trees. Man, was I wrong. The designer(s) did an outstanding job of carving out some of the holes, as evidenced by the trimming of tree limbs throughout some of the fairways and around some of the baskets. Navigation between holes was easy enough with the addition of 'next tee' signs in place. The walking path from 12 to 13 took a lot of hard work, and is much appreciated. Similar to a Houck design, some holes/shots require hitting a landing area instead of just trying to park your tee shot. Overall, the course provides a very high fun factor with some tight, technical shots, as well as a few bombers that require accuracy, not just the ability to throw for distance.
Cons: Not really any 'Cons'. Yeah, the rough is rough, but the idea is to stay on the fairway, right? A few more benches would be nice. The bench added on #15 provided some welcomed relief. The directions to the course could be tweaked. I had a difficult time finding the course.
Other Thoughts: Different strokes for different folks. If you're not a fan of this course, you probably prefer, open, less technical courses. A low rating because the course is not 'beat in' is kind of weak. Another 'must play' course has been added to the DFW disc golf community.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Let it Grow On You

5+    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the technicality of this course. It does have a number of shorter holes which definitely test every shot, but they are still not easy birds which I think is good on a course like this. At the same time I really think this course evens itself out nicely as far as hole distances and shot selection. Although there are none over 600, there is a 595 and a 490 ft hole on this course along with a number of 325 to 390 ft shots ranging from hyzer, to anhyzer to straight. Once again, there are not many easy bird opportunities but there are 3 or 4 that you should definitely get which I think every course should have. At the same time there are as many as 9 or 10 that with a great shot could definately be birds. I think this course has a great variety of shots and will test every aspect of your game.
Cons: The cons of any new course is the fact that it needs to be beat in. This course has poison ivy, and if you get off the fairway it may be hard to find your disc. But hopefully these things will work themselves out over time. Some of the signs are a little misleading as far as basket locations which can be a pain because there are a number of blind shots, and there are some footages that are a little off as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think this course has a ton of potential. Once it gets played for a good year or two and lines get worn in and the course has had time to develop, this course will be a great addition to DFW.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy required

2-4    6/12/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well designed technical course that will require you to use a lot of shots and your wits. It's not another common "step up and throw on a wide open fairway to a clearly defined putting area" course. On most of the holes, there are multiple lines to choose from and none of them are easy. It's a test of skill on your ability to control your disc and choose your lines. There are open drives on some holes, but the approaches are usually technical.
Cons: Cedar trees are great obstacles, but they make finding errant throws very difficult. They block the wind really well, which would be a pro in the winter, but it's hot dead air in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I really like technical courses so I rated this course highly. It's not for everyone. Newer players will be very frustrated and experienced players that are having a bad round may not find this course enjoyable. I know a lot of players would like more clearing to take place, but I like it very technical "as is". There are plenty of courses with wide open fairways, let's hope this one stays different from the rest.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Throw Smarter Not Harder

2-4    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: nahtanoj_o
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Mix: There is a good mix of Left Hand and Right Hand holes. A even mix of short and long holes. A good mix of open and narrow holes. The shorter holes tend to challenge you to hit narrow windows and control your disc, while the longer holes to really air it out.

Game Challenge: This course requires you to come prepared with multiple discs and multiple throws. It give different looks at different types of holes.

Favorite Holes: I personally like the shorter challenging holes. So 2, 5, 7, and 14 are great. I'm not as fond as the longer holes like 8 and 12, the first time I played I had to walk the hole first because the basket was hidden behind trees. By far one of the coolest holes is 17 with an awesome look out at a big ol tree. A reward for wrapping up a good round.

The Scenery- This is a wooded course causing you to navigate a lot of cedars (obviously) a small creek (not a disc eater threat) and some pretty tall brush. Some holes (like 9) they literally cut straight through a patch of trees to create a 15 foot wide gap.

The Park- They somehow managed to wedge an awesome 18 holes into a this area. They made very efficient use of space without awkward overlapping and cross overs. It also doesn't give too much overlap with the walking path it revolves around. Very well laid out. The only part I didn't like is the walk from 12 to 13.
Cons: Bridges: The bridges are really the only thing that bugged me. They were not secured properly and felt like they were placed in a rush. The city needs to get out there and fix these.

Tee Pads: At the moment (June 2012) not all tee pads are filled. This doesn't bug me because half of the local course don't have 100% cement tees either. All tees are identified even if not cemented.
Other Thoughts: I've played this a few times and the first time I was pretty frustrated. Don't write the course off after the first run. After I figured out how the course flowed it made everything much easier and has challenged me to throw smarter. It forces you to choose your discs wisely and make good throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy Needed

2-4    5/17/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: ntxdiscgolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course utilizes the existing land very well and the City of Fate has done a great job in making the land usable.

The course tantalizes the eyes from about hole 3 on. The first two holes are fairly simple, but tight and hole 3 is an 'air it out' shot on the north edge of the cedars. Hole 4 is a big sweeping hyzer that invites you to go straight after the basket (although it isn't readily visible). Holes 4 through 9 require better than good accuracy with great risk/reward benefits. Hole 10 and 12 invite the big arm guys to go long, while 11 gives one of the best opportunities to lower your score. The walk from 12 to 13 is awesome! 13 is picturesque, with the pin placed atop a berm in the middle of the fairway, with water and rough to the right. The same water and rough are in play on 14. Holes 15 through 17 offer a little more open play than the rest of the course, but that doesn't mean it's easier or any less fun. Hole 17 is the signature hole on this course, in my opinion. Slightly elevated tee with a throw across the creek to the basket nestled slightly under and behind a very mature tree. You'll want to empty your bag on the variety of lines. Hole 18 finishes similar to how you started, with a narrow fairway to a visible basket.

The Cedars probably caters more to the experienced player and is a fantastic duo to Harry Myers in Rockwall. The course will challenge you, frustrate you, and elate you all within the same round. Excellent job by the course designers (Life Disc Sports) and the City of Fate.
Cons: Poison ivy and oak are very prevalent right now. The land was dense and previously unusable. That being said, I'm sure that consistent traffic will take a good bit of that out of play.

There are a couple of shots that could possibly put pedestrians at risk. Specifically on #10 where the walking path winds around the left side of the fairway. The walking path is blind to the thrower and vise versa. Not a major issue, but could come in to play.

There are no bathrooms or water on the course or in the park.
Other Thoughts: Another great course for the DFW Metroplex. I would highly recommend this course to anyone planning to make a trip out to Rockwall County to play Myers. Make it a day and enjoy!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.