Fate, TX 
The Cedars Share
Uploaded By: xhypocr4cyx Hole #17 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Let it Grow On You

5+    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy the technicality of this course. It does have a number of shorter holes which definitely test every shot, but they are still not easy birds which I think is good on a course like this. At the same time I really think this course evens itself out nicely as far as hole distances and shot selection. Although there are none over 600, there is a 595 and a 490 ft hole on this course along with a number of 325 to 390 ft shots ranging from hyzer, to anhyzer to straight. Once again, there are not many easy bird opportunities but there are 3 or 4 that you should definitely get which I think every course should have. At the same time there are as many as 9 or 10 that with a great shot could definately be birds. I think this course has a great variety of shots and will test every aspect of your game.
Cons: The cons of any new course is the fact that it needs to be beat in. This course has poison ivy, and if you get off the fairway it may be hard to find your disc. But hopefully these things will work themselves out over time. Some of the signs are a little misleading as far as basket locations which can be a pain because there are a number of blind shots, and there are some footages that are a little off as well.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think this course has a ton of potential. Once it gets played for a good year or two and lines get worn in and the course has had time to develop, this course will be a great addition to DFW.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy required

2-4    6/12/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: eegor
Played: 100  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a well designed technical course that will require you to use a lot of shots and your wits. It's not another common "step up and throw on a wide open fairway to a clearly defined putting area" course. On most of the holes, there are multiple lines to choose from and none of them are easy. It's a test of skill on your ability to control your disc and choose your lines. There are open drives on some holes, but the approaches are usually technical.
Cons: Cedar trees are great obstacles, but they make finding errant throws very difficult. They block the wind really well, which would be a pro in the winter, but it's hot dead air in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I really like technical courses so I rated this course highly. It's not for everyone. Newer players will be very frustrated and experienced players that are having a bad round may not find this course enjoyable. I know a lot of players would like more clearing to take place, but I like it very technical "as is". There are plenty of courses with wide open fairways, let's hope this one stays different from the rest.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Throw Smarter Not Harder

2-4    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: nahtanoj_o
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Mix: There is a good mix of Left Hand and Right Hand holes. A even mix of short and long holes. A good mix of open and narrow holes. The shorter holes tend to challenge you to hit narrow windows and control your disc, while the longer holes to really air it out.

Game Challenge: This course requires you to come prepared with multiple discs and multiple throws. It give different looks at different types of holes.

Favorite Holes: I personally like the shorter challenging holes. So 2, 5, 7, and 14 are great. I'm not as fond as the longer holes like 8 and 12, the first time I played I had to walk the hole first because the basket was hidden behind trees. By far one of the coolest holes is 17 with an awesome look out at a big ol tree. A reward for wrapping up a good round.

The Scenery- This is a wooded course causing you to navigate a lot of cedars (obviously) a small creek (not a disc eater threat) and some pretty tall brush. Some holes (like 9) they literally cut straight through a patch of trees to create a 15 foot wide gap.

The Park- They somehow managed to wedge an awesome 18 holes into a this area. They made very efficient use of space without awkward overlapping and cross overs. It also doesn't give too much overlap with the walking path it revolves around. Very well laid out. The only part I didn't like is the walk from 12 to 13.
Cons: Bridges: The bridges are really the only thing that bugged me. They were not secured properly and felt like they were placed in a rush. The city needs to get out there and fix these.

Tee Pads: At the moment (June 2012) not all tee pads are filled. This doesn't bug me because half of the local course don't have 100% cement tees either. All tees are identified even if not cemented.
Other Thoughts: I've played this a few times and the first time I was pretty frustrated. Don't write the course off after the first run. After I figured out how the course flowed it made everything much easier and has challenged me to throw smarter. It forces you to choose your discs wisely and make good throws.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unfortunately...Not Impressed

1    5/22/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Billiam
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The property as well as the layout of the property is a great place for a great course to be built. Has a lot of potential to be another great course in the Rockwall area in addition to Harry Myers DGC. Holes 1, 7, 15, 17 were fun to play…hole 17 was awesome in my opinion! Baskets are great quality and the tee pads that had actually been poured were very nicely done.
Cons: Only 3 of the holes on the course were fun to play. Many of the holes could be made better by changing the location of the basket. Most holes seemed as if the location of the basket was forced when there seemed to be much better options for basket locations throughout the course. I felt that a few of the holes had really good potential but the basket placement completely took away from them being a challenging and rewarding hole at the same time. (e.g. Hole # 9) Also, there were about 5/6 of the holes that were missing the tee pads when I played, but I'm sure this issue will be fixed very soon. Although the property is a great peace of land for a disc golf course I felt that it needed a lot of cleaning up as far as branches/brush that were present. The majority of the bridges were very poorly made and sketchy to cross on a few of them. The location of a few of the bridges could also be put in a more convenient spot. I also found it difficult to determine the location of the baskets on quite a few holes…looking at the signs on many of the tee pads actually made it harder to determine the basket location (very misleading). On some of the shorter holes (less than ~250 ft) you could easily see the basket but the odds of making it within 30 feet of the basket were VERY SLIM (kind of missing the point of a shorter hole). In other words, some of the holes did not have a clear line of site/shot to the basket.
Other Thoughts: At first I was pumped to hear that we would be getting a new 18 hole course in the Rockwall area since Harry Myers DGC gets a lot of traffic sometimes. I have been playing disc golf for just about 6 years now and have played upwards of 30/40 courses and this course ranks at the bottom and that is why I gave such a low rating. This was a great opportunity for a great course to be built, but in my opinion I was very let down. I would tell others that want to play the course that they should not waste they're time since Harry Myers DGC is so close and is also heads and shoulders above The Cedars. Overall, this place could turn in to a much better course with some major reconstruction including basket placement, changing tee pad signs, and clearing out brush. I am interested to see how the course plays in a year or so…that is when I plan on giving it another chance. Hopefully time will help The Cedars become a better/enjoyable course to play.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not ready to play yet.

1    5/19/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: GNARBARIAN
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The front two and like the last three or four are actually in the park. They are the most playable holes on the course. I like that it is close to Harry Meyers in Rockwall and hopefully in the future it becomes playable. Would be a nice course to play on a two game day if you are in the Rockwall/Fate area once the issues are fixed.
Cons: Multiple baskets did not have the chains assembled properly. They are hanging tangled up.

Multiple tee pads were not concreted yet. They were set up to be filled in but just had bars in two by fours.

The signs did NOT match basket locations in many cases. Generally they were in the right area, but there were a few holes where we misdrove one way only to have to go back another. First timers may have a tough time finding baskets.

Since the majority of the course is freshly cut out of a heavily wooded area there are still a lot of animals and bugs to be dealt with.

I almost stepped on a water Maccasin. There are a lot of small creeks that I suspect they hang out in. The bridges were very cheaply made.

The grass was only mowed to a limited extent. They didn't manacure the edges so if you threw a disc out of bounds it was extremely hard to find. Two foot or taller grass in some cases.

The long holes became difficult to navigate where the pins were because the signs were not accuarate. Some times it was obvious where to throw, others not so much.
Other Thoughts: My group plays two or three times a week all over the DFW. One of us quit mid way through because of how frustratingly bad the course was.

I saw a couple other groups walking out of the woods early around holes 12 or 13.

Like the title says... It is not ready yet. There is much work that needs to be done. They need to mow it better and probably pull out some more trees. There are a couple holes that may need to be re done all together.

I will return in a few months to see how it evolves. There is some potential but it is not a great course today. The way it is now makes it one of the worst courses I have played.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Accuracy Needed

2-4    5/17/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: ntxdiscgolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course utilizes the existing land very well and the City of Fate has done a great job in making the land usable.

The course tantalizes the eyes from about hole 3 on. The first two holes are fairly simple, but tight and hole 3 is an 'air it out' shot on the north edge of the cedars. Hole 4 is a big sweeping hyzer that invites you to go straight after the basket (although it isn't readily visible). Holes 4 through 9 require better than good accuracy with great risk/reward benefits. Hole 10 and 12 invite the big arm guys to go long, while 11 gives one of the best opportunities to lower your score. The walk from 12 to 13 is awesome! 13 is picturesque, with the pin placed atop a berm in the middle of the fairway, with water and rough to the right. The same water and rough are in play on 14. Holes 15 through 17 offer a little more open play than the rest of the course, but that doesn't mean it's easier or any less fun. Hole 17 is the signature hole on this course, in my opinion. Slightly elevated tee with a throw across the creek to the basket nestled slightly under and behind a very mature tree. You'll want to empty your bag on the variety of lines. Hole 18 finishes similar to how you started, with a narrow fairway to a visible basket.

The Cedars probably caters more to the experienced player and is a fantastic duo to Harry Myers in Rockwall. The course will challenge you, frustrate you, and elate you all within the same round. Excellent job by the course designers (Life Disc Sports) and the City of Fate.
Cons: Poison ivy and oak are very prevalent right now. The land was dense and previously unusable. That being said, I'm sure that consistent traffic will take a good bit of that out of play.

There are a couple of shots that could possibly put pedestrians at risk. Specifically on #10 where the walking path winds around the left side of the fairway. The walking path is blind to the thrower and vise versa. Not a major issue, but could come in to play.

There are no bathrooms or water on the course or in the park.
Other Thoughts: Another great course for the DFW Metroplex. I would highly recommend this course to anyone planning to make a trip out to Rockwall County to play Myers. Make it a day and enjoy!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.