Austell, GA 
Frog Rock Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2016)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Flat, Shaded Course

1    9/4/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The newly added back nine makes this course somewhere to check out in the area. In the hot summer, the entire course is shaded from the get go so it's not as miserably hot. This being said, there is somehow clearance. Somewhere that is that shady would sound like it would be completely dense with trees. Somehow this isn't the case. It is a wooded course throughout, but plenty of fairway for any skill level.

There are signs with distances and all basket positions on the map at every tee box. There are also a few navigational arrows on trees. The tees are large and concrete. There are two tee boxes for each hole and also areas where the park staff can change up the basket placement (not sure how often this is changed since I've only played it once). When I played they were in the b position. You can check the position of the basket on the news board as you walk in. Each tee also has trash cans and I believe a bench at every tee.

There is a practice basket and picnic table at the front of the park. For the most part, the park is solely disc golfers. There is a walking track that flows along the edge and never in the way, but I saw 8-10 cars in the lot and nobody on the track when we played.

Not a knock on the course, but it's apparently rarely played so you may have the course all to yourself. We played on Labor Day weekend are there were only 6 or 8 others on the course.
Cons: In the summer as well as the course being low flatlands, the bugs were pretty annoying. I however did not bring bug spray.

It would also be nice if they had some sort of bathroom/water fountain area as there is nothing of the sort there.

The last minor con was my particular dislike to the baskets. They are in fine condition and it may be personal preference, but compared to the Innova, Prodigy, and Dynamic baskets I've played, these seemed strangely small.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are sometimes hard to locate from the tee. Painted a portion of the basket or using flags could possibly solve this.

A few more signs in between certain holes would help like from 11 to 12, but other than a few issues like that, the course is nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Delight

1    7/14/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 167  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great quite course.
Good signage.
Good easy flow.
Good long and short tees.
Large varieties of shots.
Great for all level of player.
Course is basically completely covered in shade.
Cons: Hard to find a con.
Baskets blend in a little.

Other Thoughts: Great park.
Port a Jon.
No playground.
Nice walking trail around the park.
If you are short on time you an play a quick 9.
Would really love to have a course like this close.
I really recommend playing this course if your in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Frog Rock

5+    5/29/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 87  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both tees

Has tee signs

Has good mix of wooded and open fairways - lots of trees but not dense

Has a lot of shade

Has three alternate basket placements for each hole

Course flows pretty well and has next tee signs where needed

Has many benches throughout course

Has bridges to mitigate any standing water

Good split of the front and back nines in case you want to start on hole #10 first

Quiet

Walking trail doesn't interfere with play

Free Parking

Porta Potty
Cons:
Some parts of the course will flood long after it rains and stay muddy ... specifically holes #4 - #8 - recommend waiting at least a few days to play after it rains

Lots of mosquitoes here - definitely wear some repellent before playing

Some parts of the fairways are rough to step on

DGA baskets are hard to locate at times - be nice if they all had flags

Mostly flat but there are slight elevations on some holes
Other Thoughts:
This is one of my favorite courses to play. I like to give a big thanks to the city and the designers of this course. With all the trees and not so short distances, I do find this course to be challenging. The addition of the back nine holes in 2015 completes it and makes it even more fun to play. Be sure to wear some insect repellent for this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Attractive course, now a full 18

1    10/11/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course give a very good first impression as you approach.

Ample parking, picnic area, porta potties all in good repair.
The teepads are great! Large tapered affairs surrounded by wooden beams that are painted to denote the color layout you are playing. These may be red or blue(red=short, blue=long). The back 9 does not have this yet, but I don't think it's been in the ground that long.

Many benches dot the holes, and the signage is quite good and accurate.

The baskets are new DGA baskets, and catch quite well. They have 3 possible pin positions and are currently in the B position which is noted on the board by the course map.

The course appears fairly well maintained and though the elevation is minimal and the only water are small streams the copious trees make it a very challenging play.

Some of the most direct lines are through small gaps with copeses on either side, making for some mind games to find your route.

They did a lot of things right with this one, and the park as a whole is quite nice.
Cons: Looks like it holds some water in spots, but the course has several bridges to help with that.

The baksets are all silver and can be hard to see at some junctures.

No elevation to speak of and the trees are really the only element adding another element.

No real gripes about the course, it just doesn't have that X factor that makes you say,"wow that's a great course!"

That's not a knock on it though, they made the very best they could with the land they have.
Other Thoughts: Overall well worth a play. It's a great place to bring a group since it's pretty big, not very crowded and walking distance to the best BBQ in the area.

I will be back and might try to play some of the events they hold there occasionally.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice, quiet course

5+    9/19/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: pjhayes7
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -never have to fight a crowd
-although mostly a short course, the amount of trees keep it from being easy
-nice hole layout signs at each blue tee
-there are multiple approaches to the basket so you can try something different if you play through more than one time
-addition of back 9 made this a better course
Cons: -can be difficult to navigate the first time there. New holes suffer from the same problem. Next upgrade should be signs pointing to the next tee
-on some holes, it is a little cramped where the tee box is too close to the basket of the previous hole, and this is with very few people on the course. I could see tournaments being a mess here.
-be careful of several small holes in the ground all over the course or you could twist an ankle
-don't go left on hole 16. It is a jungle and you will never find a disc. I know from experience
-some of the distances on the tee signs don't match the pictures. For example, the sign may say B is longer than A, but the picture shows the opposite. I think the distance is correct and picture are what is wrong
Other Thoughts: -Make sure to check the large bulletin board at the start of the course to see which pin location is being used on the given day. If you know which of the three it is, you only have to use the signs by the blue tees to determine your distance.
-Just a fun little course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ribbit

5+    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: atl scott
Played: 170  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads
Lots of shade
Almost never busy
Cons: Difficult to navigate
Extremely flat course
Little to no "rough" or penalty for errant shots
Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Frog Rock provides a relatively straightforward version of disc golf. It almost feels like what it would be like to have baskets in your back yard. There are plenty of trees spread out relatively evenly to the point that you don't get a "fairway" feel but instead more of a "which trees to go around" kind of vibe.

The concrete pads are great. They are flat and generously sized and pointed in the right direction. The red (short) pads generally just felt like shorter versions of the blue pads and mostly didn't change the dynamic of the holes.

There are nice tee signs (at the long pads only) that state the distances to 3 basket locations (6 distances in all with red pads) which feels a little overwhelming at times, especially since there is no marking system in place to let you know which pin is actually being used. That was usually frustrating, and so was throwing from the red pads with no tee signs at all.

The layout of the course feels confusing. There are no signs pointing to the next tee at the baskets. To get from hole 2 to hole 3 you have to walk across hole 9 (near the pads). I (and others I witnessed) initially walked toward hole 9's tee thinking it was the closest one so it must be hole 3 then realized it was 9 and figured I must have gone the wrong direction. After turning around and wandering around to other wrong tees I finally wandered back and found hole 3. To get from hole 4 to hole 5 you have to backtrack a good bit (half the hole or so) and to get from hole 7 to 8 you have to backtrack the length of the entire hole. To get to hole 9 you have to walk past another hole up a small hill back toward the parking lot (you can't see the pad from 8's basket).

The course has a nice secluded feel to it. I saw a deer last time out and some others have seen a baby deer and some snakes.

I enjoyed playing the course. Some of the shots were really fun to throw including but not limited to the par 4.

They are currently working on installing the back 9 holes and it will be more worth the trip when these are complete. Looking forward to updating my review then!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not to Shabby

1    11/10/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: AD23
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course, it's a nice little 9 hole course. When I played it I played it twice from both tee pads to make a full 18. It's still pretty tough from the short pad.

I looks like it's maintained pretty well, I hear the maintenance crew is a bunch of disc golfers themselves so they take care of this little course pretty well.

I has a nice practice area to warm up on.

There is a good variety of shots at this course. Each hole has a few different lines you can take so it caters to different throwers.

This course is in the woods, but there is grass everywhere and no little trees just big trees. This is a feature I wish every course could do because those little trees are sneaky.

This park is nothing but a walking trail and disc golf course so you basically have the whole park to yourself.

Cons: My only con to this course is that it is only 9 holes. I'm sure there is a plan in the future to make it a full 18 and I will be excited to play it if that happens.

Other Thoughts: This is a great little course, it has some really long holes and is a good workout. I would defiantly recommend any one to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

1    8/16/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course. Tee pads are great and baskets are great. Its lightly wooded with pine trees peppered around the fairways. Distances are good ranging from 200+ to 600+. I would love to see the course get another 9 holes.
Cons: Signs pointing to the next tee are desperately needed. Bugs suck, but there is nothing to be done about that. Needs another 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I would recommend it to anyone of any skill level.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent Opportunity

1    6/3/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: seapalmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/15/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Dual concrete pads for each tee. The course developers spent the time and money to place excellent tee pads on every hole. Since the course is currently only 9 holes, this gives players an opportunity to play 18 without it feeling redundant. 2. Thoughtful pin placement with three options on each hole. 3. Enough trees to be a challenge, not so many that you feel like you are in a jungle. The trees also provide shade for most of the course. 4. Location - the west side of Atlanta needs more courses. 5. Reasonable design - this course is a nice balance for experienced and newer players to enjoy. It's not overwhelming to a new player, but I think it has enough obstacles to be interesting to an experienced player.
Cons: 1. Bugs - just a part of playing a course in a creek bottom in the south in the summer. Not a criticism of the course, just our lovely and humid south. 2. The transition from the 2nd pin to the 3rd tee needs a next tee sign. There WERE very good maps at the parking lot, but my memory didn't last that long. 3. A sign in log at the beginning might be a long-term good idea, just to keep the park folks convinced that it is getting used on a regular basis (like the one at Lake Point in Heflin). Adding this to my original review; the park service needs to keep this course cut during the summer. Much of the property is covered with old scrub including lots of poison oak... keeping it cut on a regular basis will kill the weeds off and make for a better playing experience.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the developers of this course! My friends and I just started playing this past year and we appreciated finding a course that is nearby and that we can be competitive on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable

1    5/24/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great area, very nice park. Lots of nice shade and great park. Overall I enjoyed playing the course and look forward to going back. Even with it being a 9 hole course you still can play 18 if you play using the two different tee pads for each hole. I went without a map, and for the most part was able to navigate the course without too much trouble. I was surprised at hole 4 with a nice long shot. I also felt that this course was designed with both left and right handed players in mind. I felt that each hole had multiple flight paths which is nice. Also to find a course that has great tee pads, and signage is always a plus!
Cons: The only holes where it is a little confusing are 2 to 3 and 3 to 4. From hole 2, you turn to your right, and walk behind hole 9 to the tee pad for 3. And after playing 3 the long tee pad is to your right. However I believe that 3 to 4 will get better as traffic increases at the course. Also the only area with issues was the area from 8 to 9, where you have to walk behind the basket at 2. This area seemed a little tight, and might cause some issues should the course be very busy.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a good course. I feel like the county would benefit with more parks like this. I look forward to what is to come of the additional holes if they should happen, but also feel like if they should keep this layout it would provide enough change with the multiple pin placements and dual tee pads. Thanks for the hard work and for another course in Cobb!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.