Austell, GA 
Frog Rock Share
Uploaded By: Bencybul Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 249ft.   -- / --   3 / 300ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ribbit

5+    6/15/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: atl scott
Played: 152  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads
Lots of shade
Almost never busy
Cons: Difficult to navigate
Extremely flat course
Little to no "rough" or penalty for errant shots
Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Frog Rock provides a relatively straightforward version of disc golf. It almost feels like what it would be like to have baskets in your back yard. There are plenty of trees spread out relatively evenly to the point that you don't get a "fairway" feel but instead more of a "which trees to go around" kind of vibe.

The concrete pads are great. They are flat and generously sized and pointed in the right direction. The red (short) pads generally just felt like shorter versions of the blue pads and mostly didn't change the dynamic of the holes.

There are nice tee signs (at the long pads only) that state the distances to 3 basket locations (6 distances in all with red pads) which feels a little overwhelming at times, especially since there is no marking system in place to let you know which pin is actually being used. That was usually frustrating, and so was throwing from the red pads with no tee signs at all.

The layout of the course feels confusing. There are no signs pointing to the next tee at the baskets. To get from hole 2 to hole 3 you have to walk across hole 9 (near the pads). I (and others I witnessed) initially walked toward hole 9's tee thinking it was the closest one so it must be hole 3 then realized it was 9 and figured I must have gone the wrong direction. After turning around and wandering around to other wrong tees I finally wandered back and found hole 3. To get from hole 4 to hole 5 you have to backtrack a good bit (half the hole or so) and to get from hole 7 to 8 you have to backtrack the length of the entire hole. To get to hole 9 you have to walk past another hole up a small hill back toward the parking lot (you can't see the pad from 8's basket).

The course has a nice secluded feel to it. I saw a deer last time out and some others have seen a baby deer and some snakes.

I enjoyed playing the course. Some of the shots were really fun to throw including but not limited to the par 4.

They are currently working on installing the back 9 holes and it will be more worth the trip when these are complete. Looking forward to updating my review then!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not to Shabby

1    11/10/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: AD23
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course, it's a nice little 9 hole course. When I played it I played it twice from both tee pads to make a full 18. It's still pretty tough from the short pad.

I looks like it's maintained pretty well, I hear the maintenance crew is a bunch of disc golfers themselves so they take care of this little course pretty well.

I has a nice practice area to warm up on.

There is a good variety of shots at this course. Each hole has a few different lines you can take so it caters to different throwers.

This course is in the woods, but there is grass everywhere and no little trees just big trees. This is a feature I wish every course could do because those little trees are sneaky.

This park is nothing but a walking trail and disc golf course so you basically have the whole park to yourself.

Cons: My only con to this course is that it is only 9 holes. I'm sure there is a plan in the future to make it a full 18 and I will be excited to play it if that happens.

Other Thoughts: This is a great little course, it has some really long holes and is a good workout. I would defiantly recommend any one to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great potential

1    8/16/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course. Tee pads are great and baskets are great. Its lightly wooded with pine trees peppered around the fairways. Distances are good ranging from 200+ to 600+. I would love to see the course get another 9 holes.
Cons: Signs pointing to the next tee are desperately needed. Bugs suck, but there is nothing to be done about that. Needs another 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I would recommend it to anyone of any skill level.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Opportunity

1    6/3/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: seapalmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/15/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Dual concrete pads for each tee. The course developers spent the time and money to place excellent tee pads on every hole. Since the course is currently only 9 holes, this gives players an opportunity to play 18 without it feeling redundant. 2. Thoughtful pin placement with three options on each hole. 3. Enough trees to be a challenge, not so many that you feel like you are in a jungle. The trees also provide shade for most of the course. 4. Location - the west side of Atlanta needs more courses. 5. Reasonable design - this course is a nice balance for experienced and newer players to enjoy. It's not overwhelming to a new player, but I think it has enough obstacles to be interesting to an experienced player.
Cons: 1. Bugs - just a part of playing a course in a creek bottom in the south in the summer. Not a criticism of the course, just our lovely and humid south. 2. The transition from the 2nd pin to the 3rd tee needs a next tee sign. There WERE very good maps at the parking lot, but my memory didn't last that long. 3. A sign in log at the beginning might be a long-term good idea, just to keep the park folks convinced that it is getting used on a regular basis (like the one at Lake Point in Heflin). Adding this to my original review; the park service needs to keep this course cut during the summer. Much of the property is covered with old scrub including lots of poison oak... keeping it cut on a regular basis will kill the weeds off and make for a better playing experience.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the developers of this course! My friends and I just started playing this past year and we appreciated finding a course that is nearby and that we can be competitive on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable

1    5/24/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great area, very nice park. Lots of nice shade and great park. Overall I enjoyed playing the course and look forward to going back. Even with it being a 9 hole course you still can play 18 if you play using the two different tee pads for each hole. I went without a map, and for the most part was able to navigate the course without too much trouble. I was surprised at hole 4 with a nice long shot. I also felt that this course was designed with both left and right handed players in mind. I felt that each hole had multiple flight paths which is nice. Also to find a course that has great tee pads, and signage is always a plus!
Cons: The only holes where it is a little confusing are 2 to 3 and 3 to 4. From hole 2, you turn to your right, and walk behind hole 9 to the tee pad for 3. And after playing 3 the long tee pad is to your right. However I believe that 3 to 4 will get better as traffic increases at the course. Also the only area with issues was the area from 8 to 9, where you have to walk behind the basket at 2. This area seemed a little tight, and might cause some issues should the course be very busy.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a good course. I feel like the county would benefit with more parks like this. I look forward to what is to come of the additional holes if they should happen, but also feel like if they should keep this layout it would provide enough change with the multiple pin placements and dual tee pads. Thanks for the hard work and for another course in Cobb!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Frog Rock Disc Golf

1    5/21/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Louise Suggs Memorial Park in Austell, GA boasts a really nice nine hole disc golf course. Remembering what many nine hole courses sometimes lack, The Frog Rock Disc Golf Course is a nice surprise.

Conveniently located just a few minutes off I-20 and just 30 minutes from downtown Atlanta, the course is just as accessible to those passing through town as it for those living in the northwest Atlanta suburbs.

Beyond the gravel lot offering ample parking you'll immediately notice a landscape that's just right for disc golf. A perfect mixture of hardwoods and pines define the course and set the tone for the round. It won't take long into your round to also notice and appreciate the clean forest floor either. There's virtually zero undergrowth here. Overall the fairways are clean wooded areas defined by grassy paths and knolls. Regular maintenance by the city will guarantee that the grass will be mowed and golf ready anytime you're ready to play. Although the course is basically flat, a couple of holes take advantage of some very modest elevation changes. A paved walking path circles the course and brings out-of-bounds into play on several holes.

Concrete tees, both on the long and short pads are here and set the bar for the course. They're generously sized and bordered by 6x6 timbers set flush with the surrounding grade. Further, the borders are painted blue for longs and red for shorts. Tee signs for each hole are on the long pads. They give distances and map the holes and pin placements. Brand new DGA Mach 3 baskets are here and they catch great. There's also a roomy practice area with a matching Mach 3 as well. While the area may not be quite big enough for practicing drives, there's certainly enough room to brush up on some pre-round upshots and putts. Very nice city installed steps and ramps/bridges lead you from the parking lot and one's long tee down to the course.

For those liking variety, the multiple pin placements on this par 28 layout will surely be appreciated. They're thoughtfully positioned in short/medium/long configurations and they offer some good changes to the holes. Often the change of position not only changes distance but also tweaks the hole just enough to offer a change of pace that keeps the course fresh and interesting. I especially like the fact that rather than random baskets getting moved sporadically there's actually three distinct official layouts, A, B, and C. Presumably they will be on a scheduled rotation in the future. A kiosk near the first tee indicates the current course configuration as well as offering a look at the course map and overall park footprint. As mentioned earlier, having long/short tees pads give options too. Overall the short pads will shorten the course by about 680' compared to the longer ones.
Cons: I struggle to find any major cons here. Besides being only 9 holes (although there are talks of 18 soon) it's a pretty solid course. Everything else is just minor in my opinion.

Heavy rain will saturate low lying areas throughout the course. And of course the standing water coupled with the springs adjacent to the course will probably be an ideal area for mosquitoes. Bring some spray just in case.

Because of the compact layout there are some areas where pads and baskets are fairly close to one another. The transitions near five's tee pads could also be a little confusing your first trip out. That's because a couple of intersections getting from basket to next tee on a hole or two cross paths in the area (namely hole 2 going to 3 and 8 going to 9). This is really only a problem for easily distracted players and would only be an issue if the course is crowded.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the City of Austell for installing the course. It's great to see this municipality take disc golf seriously and follow through with a professional install including a lot of the desired bells and whistles.

I understand that 9 more holes are in the works (or at least being talked about) to complete this current nine hole course to a full 18. When complete I feel like this will be one of the nicer 18 holes courses in the Atlanta area.

On an interesting note, the park is named after Louise Suggs who is the LPGA founder and was a golf champion as well. The park is the location of the former Lithia Springs "ball" golf course which was owned and operated by her family. I'd like to think she'd appreciate disc golf and is happy to see the park getting some good use.

Make sure you hit up Wallace's Barbecue while you're in the area. It's right behind the course. They're closed Sunday's.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Gem of Austell

1    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a lot to say about the course, but I'm not going to get long winded on it.
Course is brand new, and very well maintained. The parks crew are fans and players of the sport, and will continue to keep the course up well. The city really supports the course, and are already talking about expanding to 18 holes.
Plays through light to heavy woods, with 2 concrete pads and 3 pin positions on every hole. It's set on the grounds of an old ball golf course, and is mostly pretty flat. Each pin position is pretty fair and keeps the course balanced.
The park is scenic and somewhat historic, with the main feature being the Giant Frog Rock.
The DG course is set away from most of the other attractions, as is common with courses around here.
There's plenty of parking, and talk of expanding the lot to 3X the size. It is also directly across the street from a liquor store.
Cons: Not many cons here, and what there is seems to be temporary.
There aren't any trash cans on the course, but several near the parking lot and practice area. Same deal with benches.
There are a lot of bugs, but that's how it is during GA summers.
It was muddy today, and looks like it will always be a bit swampy after rains. Some of the giant mud puddles act as bunkers on some of the holes, but some of the mud is almost unavoidable.
Other Thoughts: I went out there for the grand opening today, and played a round before the ceremony, and another after. It was very refreshing to see the the city and community support the course and the sport so much. They are backing the course 100%, and only want to keep expanding and improving. During the opening ceremony, they gave out Custom stamped Buzzzes, and put out spread of food and beverages that probably cost several 100 dollars. They also had tents with carpeting, and chairs for the ceremony. The mayor, city council, and various other influential members of the community came out and showed their support. The parks crew was also there, and after speaking with many of them, it was clear that this course is their pet project, as many of them play DG and take pride in their work.
Overall, It is one of the nicer courses in Metro Atlanta. It is fair and balanced, but much more challenging than the other 9 holers around.
This course will most likely expand to 18 holes within a year, but in the mean time, it is a great detour during a trip to Deer Lick. I don't really go out to play 9 holes, but I could see it being worthwhile to go out and play this course two or three times. If you live in Metro Atlanta, I'd call it a must-play. If you're just visiting, it's a great stop on the way to Deer Lick or White Oak.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.