Mesa, AZ 
Fiesta Lakes Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #1 (Taken 11/2013)
-- / --   3 / 309ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Golf Course

2-4    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can't ask for a better looking course than this. It's on a beautiful little executive golf course with lots of large trees and a lovely little pond. The trees provide a great deal of shade and are used quite well in the course design.

The two pin locations for each hole is an especially nice touch. The alternate locations are well thought out and designed to add challenge to the course. I like that some of the longer ones are on one round while others are on the second.

The use of elevation is quite well. Most of the tee pads are elevated, but the baskets are spread out with uphill and downhill shots. It's a great mix.

The course doesn't favor right or left handed players. Most pins are located on either side of the fairway and the round design is good at mixing them up.

Four of the holes offer great risk/reward options, 5/14 and 9/18. On 5 you have the option of gunning for it to try to clear the pond, but need a solid 360 ft throw to do so. You can throw something more stable and attempt to have it cut in by the trees, but you risk the trees swatting it down into the pond.

14 is the same tee pad as 5 and the alternate location is also tricky because of the freeway on the right and the pond on the left.

9/18 are from the same tee pad and almost force you to throw over the pond. There is a window to avoid doing so but it will almost certainly add a stroke onto the hole. The good news is that it's only about 260 to clear the pond so it's much more doable. I played with a guy whom was playing his first round ever and he was able to flick over the pond.

The course is easy to follow as it follows the flow of the golf course.

The golfers I met were extremely nice and even let us play through when we were moving faster than them. They found the disc golf integration to be fascinating and liked it.
Cons: By far the biggest con is the price of the course. When we went it was $10. The guy at the club house said that they adjust the price based on the time of year. As more ball golfers use the course they raise the price for disc golf.

The only other real drawback is the lack of signage. Tee signs would have been nice to determine what hole was what cage. That being said the clubhouse gives out maps that are pretty easy to read, even though they are in black and white.
Other Thoughts: The pro shop guy said that they play a lot of tournaments there and I can see why. The course is beautiful and offers some great par 4's and a par 5 that are pretty legit. Even some of the par 3's were pretty tough. It's refreshing to see that kind of design.

This was an absolute pleasant surprise to find. The name of the course sounded a bit hokey to me, but it turned out to be fantastic! I preferred the course over the others in the area that I played. That should be expected I guess, what with the steep greens fees and all.

The combined disc/ball golf course is a fantastic idea. It made for a beautiful setting for a round of disc golf!

Overall it gets .3 down for being a 9 hole (usually I take a full point but the alternate pins really almost negated the full point) and .5 for the price. A solid 4+ rated course in my book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course worth playing...

1    11/14/2013   11/14/2013
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.6 Years
Pros: Manicured greens
Nice variety of shots for righty and lefty
Good baskets
Fairly easy to navigate
First tee is 100 yards from my hotel room
Cons: Pay to play- $10 is a little steep imo
No real tee pads
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course. It is great if you don;t have a lot of time, you can play it pretty quickly, but there a number of fairly long holes. $10 is too steep I think. $6 or $7 would seem more fair. Good variety of shots. Fairly challenging. My first time sharing a course with ball golfers. There were a few parties out there but it was no problem at all. I prefer this to Fountain Hills where there are so many pedestrians everywhere that it affects the round. Plus less goose shit than FH. Lost my one driver in a water hazard on 14 I think and finished with my midrange. In town on business and the course literally butts up against my hotel so that was sweet. This is only the second course I have played in Phoenix but it was fun and definitely worth visiting for a round. I'd give it a 3.2 if I could.

 Pay to play

2-4    10/25/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: chadd
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shade on an older golf course. Decent variety of holes.
Cons: The people that run the course keep changing the price. $5 one time $6 another and yesterday they wanted $10 per player. When there are enough free courses around save your $. You also have to share the course with ball golfers, a little crowded.
Other Thoughts: Theres also a crazy greens keeper that roams the course demanding to see your receipt. Kinda crazy and I wont be back.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

different than the usual courses in the valley

1    5/21/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a well maintained course that shares a golf course. This course doesnt look like it is busy with ball golfers, especially in the afternoon. Compared to other golf courses in the area it is pretty ghetto, which makes it better for us dg'ers if we dont have to deal with the ball golfers. I didnt see any ball golfers when I was on the course.

Tees were all on concrete except hole 2/10.
Navigation is pretty easy, as all of the dg all tee's are close to the ball golf tee pads except hole 2/10.

The layout is challenging, I wouldnt suggest this place to a new player as there are several water hazards where bad throws will be punished. Accuracy is a must on this course, there is more line shaping needed here than the majority of the other courses in the valley. On hole 9/18 there is a water carry with a tree branch overhanging that can get in the way if you are not careful.

There are big trees which equal a good amount of shade while playing. Good for summer dg here.
Cons: It is a 9 hole disc golf course on a 9 hole ball golf course. Each tee has two permanent placement baskets, so if you play each pin position on each hole, it will equal 18 holes. There are no dg tee signs, luckily the course is easy to navigate with a map in the "pro shop." Hole 2/10 does not have a concrete tee box.
Other Thoughts: Even though there are two pin placements for each hole, the different pin placements make the hole play differently, which is good. Only one hole feels similar when playing to A and B pin positions.

I will be back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just what the doctor ordered

1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: chillis
Played: 90  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fiesta Lakes is a beautifully maintained course with huge trees providing great challenge, shade, and scenery. The disc golf course is laid out on an existing executive 9-hole golf course and this means you have all the positives/amenities associated with a golf course.

With the exception of Hole 2, all the dg tee areas are near the golf tees, so navigation is a breeze.

The layout is challenging - with a handful of par 4s, plenty of trees to get in your way, golf greens to avoid (they're OB), doglegs to position yourself for an approach, and water to avoid, there's plenty of obstacles to ponder and overcome. Only two holes (9 & 18) force you to throw over the water. On the other holes with water in play there are options to go around the hazard.

From a safety standpoint: There aren't any conflicts concerning baskets and tee areas being too close. Even wild approach shots won't endanger players on the next tee. Also, there is netting between the holes bordering the driving range to the north-east.
Cons: Not many Cons to be found. The layout satisfies me enough to where it's hard to find anything wrong with the course.

There's a chance a busy course could become a bit of a hassle as ball and disc golfers vie for spacing. But due to the casual nature of the course this will likely be avoided by simple golf pace and courtesy.

Mixed tees - some are concrete, most are short grass. It would be nice to have rubber mats or something for the tee areas w/o concrete.
Other Thoughts: Visit the Pro Shop for scorecards and course maps.

This is a great summer course as it provides loads of shade and rest areas.

Although it is approachable by beginners, this course strikes me as more of an Intermediate/Advanced experience because of the water in play and length of the layout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.