Lander, WY 
Lander Ridge DGC Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #5 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Well Executed Course

1    9/25/2015   9/25/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 132  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is sandwiched between a ball golf course and the hospital grounds. So you have lush green grass to your right, and lush green grass to your left, but tall dry grass to play through. First impression is that it is going to be a dull field course, but things start looking up quickly.

Excellent concrete tee pads, and brand new Mach 5 baskets. Can't ask for more.

The tee signs are among the best I've seen on a DG course, and the "Next Tee" signs are the best. The tee signs have a useful hole diagram, par, distance, and next tee arrow. The next tee signs very clearly point the way and if there is any distance at all give the distance and in some cases additional info ("across the road in the trees"). As a travelling DG'er who often gets to play a course only once, these are very welcome.

Distances vary widely from 195' (but straight up a hill) to 640'. The longest hole offers a alternate tee that knocks 300' off of the hole, but the back position is a very fair par 4. Hole 18 throws across the main drive, and offers a shorter tee that eliminates the road crossing.

Given the almost total lack of tall trees on this course, the designers used distance and elevation to make things interesting. Several of the par 3 holes are over 400', often with a significant element of elevation. The shorter holes tend to be uphill holes, and a few of the holes have baskets near small groves of trees and shrubs.

Adding additional interest are some man-made earth mounds that have been added around a couple of baskets. And one basket is placed up on a mound. This is done sparingly so doesn't seem like a gimmick. A few baskets are placed on ridges and edges that give a risk.reward element to longer putts.
Cons: This is a rough piece of land with few trees. I saw several places where trees had been planted but had died. Strategically placed trees would make this a more challenging course in time, but I imagine getting them up and growing is a major challenge.

I played on a warm sunny afternoon, so the elevation and lack of shade made it somewhat uncomfortable. Bring plenty of water and take your time.

They have done a nice job of mowing narrow fairways and paths between holes, but your drives will end up out in the tall grass and brush. It is itchy and pokey, and I brought home a ton of seeds and stickers in my socks. If it is cooler I'd definitely wear long pants.
Other Thoughts: This isn't exactly prime land for a disc golf course, but I think that the designers did an excellent job making the most of what they had to work with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Around the hospital

2-4    8/26/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: chevis
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Nice signs. The tees have distance, elevation, and a hole layout diagram. The next tee signs have distance and direction
-Good baskets.
-Elevation on the back 9
-18 ends close to 1
-all unique holes, no 2 look/play the same.
-uncrowded - I was the only one playing the day I played at 5pm
-parking lot
-a couple of mulitiple tees (7 & 18).
Cons: -No restrooms, benches, or trash cans (the sign states not to use the hospital facilities)
-Not many trees/shade
-No stopping at the car half way through. (better bring a big water bottle)
-some long walks between holes (13 walking the entire length of the hole)
-unmanicured, weeds & dust/dirt
Other Thoughts: When playing the holes that border the neighboring golf course greens I wished I was playing on that kind of grass, but I reminded myself I didn't have to sell my soul to play here (free!). There has been some mowing, which is great, but there needs to be more at least to define the fairways (not cool to be searching for a disc that landed in the fairway). There is hiking up and down hills, so be prepared for some exercise (wheeled devices might have issues). The canal that runs along the course really only comes into play for hole 11 on the the right side and you could get your disc back, but you would have to get wet. 18 is close to the helipad & the sign states not to play when there is a helicopter in the area, so that is unique. Overall a fun course with good variation in hole length and elevation.
I really hope this course continues to improve and not get ignored.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course With Great Views

5+    6/9/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: TeeDoubleU
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. This course has the best, most attractive, and most complete signage I've ever seen. Period. Despite being an expansive course, players can't get lost. Everything is signed and clear.
2. The views are outstanding, especially holes 8 and 18. The entire Wind River range rolls out in front of you as you play. The course smells of pine and sage and is home to plenty of curious deer.
3. The course boasts tremendous variety. Water comes into play on four holes, there are huge elevation changes, some holes are short and technical while others are open and very long, there are holes that play in a park-like setting, and others that play over rugged terrain.
4. The course is easy to find and navigate with good parking and an intuitive layout.
5. Long, professionally poured tee pads provide sure-footed driving conditions. A few tee pads aren't yet installed, but the forms are in place, so I assume they should be going in this summer.
6. The course boasts a variety of challenges that should create issues for any style of player.
Cons: 1. It gets awfully windy in the spring. Wind makes a round more interesting, but sometimes, early in the season, it's so bad that the course is unplayable.
2. While the fairways are generally mowed, the rough on the back 9 is really rough. Finding errant drives in the tall grass on holes 8-13 and on 16 can be a challenge.
3. Trees come significantly into play on half of the holes, but the other nine are pretty open. The course designers did a bunch of dirtwork to create berms and canyons that make the non-treed holes interesting, but it's a pity that the hole course isn't more wooded.
4. Bring water! There's no where to get a drink or take a bathroom break on the course.
Other Thoughts: For out-of-towners, this course is very worth the stop on the way to Yellowstone. It's the best course in Fremont County and among the very best in the state.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Potential

1    5/24/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: DarthDiscMan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of tee shots(uphill, downhill, sidehill, etc.)
One of the best views of the Lander area and Wind River Mountains.
Challenging Terrain.
Great use of available property.
Course has a nice flow.
You get a nice hike in while playing a great game.
Cons: Front 9 could use some trees.
Could use some clean up in some areas.
Other Thoughts: It should be noted that the Lander Ridge Disc Golf Course is still under construction. Many of the cons one might find are to be expected like the tee pads for example. I appreciate the opportunity to play the course and see it evolve. I think this course will be a 4.5 or 5 disc course upon completion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Bad Tee Pads

1    6/7/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: JohnnyQ
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Some challenging shots on challenging terrain.
Cons: Horrible Tee pads. They are too short and leave no room for a run up. They are also raised and are going to lead to a broken ankle, why they are not sunken into the ground is beyond me.
I would also recommend watching out for rattle snakes.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.