Disc Golf Store
Salisbury, MD 
Horse Bridge DGC - Original Share
Uploaded By: discNDav Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 259ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Advanced - Very Long

1    6/18/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Pro shop. However, while we were playing, he left and closed it. The used discs inside were also very overpriced.

BYOB
Cons: Course is not only on a ball golf course, it IS a ball golf course.
There are multiple tee locations, but there are no signs or pads, so there really are no tee locations, just ball golf tees. I could put some rocks on the ground and say there are some more tees.
No sign maps. Baskets are very hard to locate. In combination with TONS of water, you pretty much have to drive the course ahead of throwing so you don't loose anything. Still lost a disc because of some hidden ponds.
There was no one playing ball golf when I was there, but if there was, it would be a major problem.
I guess if you are a pro, the difficulty and distance is a plus. It was a huge negative for me.

Cost was high for all day + cart (Which you need to have)
Other Thoughts: This course is an after thought. There is enough space for it to be thoughtfully redesigned however.

Hot to Trot!

1    3/11/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2014
Pros: CARTS!!! Three sets of natural tees and 18 Discatcher baskets. Excellent use of the existing ball golf course features. Navigation is easy as you just follow the golf course. 2 loops of 9 holes back to parking lot. Well maintained as a disc golf course. Extra 9 hole short wooded course on site starts behind hole 2 tee. Mini dg course on site as well. Restroom, BYOB allowed, pro shop with map.
Cons: Not much to complain about. Shares same course as ball golf. Different tees only change the distance. Spiders, the entire course ground is a huge spider web and the baskets too.
Other Thoughts: Set in Salisbury, Md the Horse Bridge Disc Golf Course is situated on the Horse Bridge Ball Golf Course. The executive style ball course boasts that it is home of the "World's Toughest Little Course". As a disc golf course it's anything but little and it's tough despite the wide open air off the tees. You must hit landing zones as sand traps, ponds, creeks, and greens are all OB and present on every hole. I had too many OBs to count on one hand and lost 3 discs in one round! Ouch! One lost disc was due to mistaking my Roadrunner for my Firebird, doh. The wind was whipping around when I played and since the course is flat and open that was a major obstacle. There are few trees to shape your shots off the tees except for hole 8. $3 for the 1st round, $2/round after, $9/cart seems like a good deal to me. BYOB.

I found Horse Bridge to be a surprisingly challenging course from the long tees. It has a good mix of holes from a few ace runs with danger, and a few long par 4 holes that are all out bombs. On most holes the longer you throw off the tee the more risk you encounter. Baskets were often placed close to OB and slightly raised, so you have to constantly weigh risk vs reward and think about laying up and setting up for the approach. Hole 3 was my favorite despite going OB. I typically prefer big elevation changes and wooded fairways and challenges, but the challenges presented here are different than usual and I had a lot of fun zooming around on a cart! I highly recommend anyone traveling through Salisbury to play this course, just bring a few floaters or discs you don't mind losing.

Golf course quality. Literally

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Shares location with a golf course. Maintenance is superb. Hole design is great, and very challenging. Variety in distances, including some ace opportunities and the longest holes I've ever seen on a disc golf course. The golf course tee boxes are much better than the usual concrete since you have plenty of room for approach with no fear of tripping. Other fun things to do like mini disc golf and foot golf, as well as regular golf. Carts are available. Very friendly staff.
Cons: WATER HAZARDS! Wind can be a big problem with such an open area. The combination of wind and water hazards equals lost discs. This is almost not worth the difficulty in my opinion since I don't want to buy more discs. (in fairness i played on a day when the baskets were in tournament locations so the difficulty was much higher than normal, and many baskets were next to the water, plus the wind was very strong that day) This course is Pay to play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course which is still new and will continue to improve. Playing on a golf course is great and makes very long drives possible. Some of the holes are extremely long (near 1000ft in current hole locations) Bring floater discs for the water hazards. I enjoyed playing here.

Horse Bridge!

5+    8/13/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Three teepads for different difficulties.
Brand spanking new baskets!
Awesome distances.
Nice use of ponds and greens(ob's)
Golf Cart
Low price ($3 to walk and $9 for optional cart + play all day option w/ cart for only $25)
Looks like a ball golf course but was born to be a disc golf course!
BYOB!
Sweet 18 hole mini disc golf w/ baskets, mandos, water obs, obstacles that is tons of fun.
Cons: Sometimes very windy (On those days you WILL learn how to drive and putt in windy conditions)
Other Thoughts: Close to a local store with great food for low prices/beer/gas

I always have a good time at Horse Bridge. If you are near salisbury, md surely stop by and check it out!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Electric Buggy

1    7/31/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three tee locations per hole.

Compact, with some water/ball golf green challenges.
Cons:
On the flat and open side.
Other Thoughts:
This disc golf course has recently been added to a short (18=hole/~2700 yard from longs) ball golf course located just east of Salisbury, with an old house, sitting in the center of the roughly 1/3rd x 1/3rd mile plot of land, serving as the clubhouse. $3 for the first round/$2 per round after is reasonable, as is $9 for a golf cart - a luxury, not a necessity, as the course is quite flat and sits on a small footprint, but fun to have, too!

As you might expect from a small golf course on the Eastern Shore, the course is quite flat, and open. However, there is one treeline along the west side of the course, water hazards scattered about, and stray trees/bushes separating the fairways, and these have all been used, along with playing the ball golf greens as out-of-bounds, to good effect. While straight off the tee works well on most holes, there were a few that required mid-to-late left or right turns to reach the basket
.
The yellow-banded baskets are easy to spot, often sitting about green high, although some are closer than the green, and a few just beyond (e.g. #4). On the front nine, the basket is typically somewhere left of the green, while on the back nine, to the right is more common.

Tees: You tee from the ball golf tees, so they are natural, flat, and quite wide! The different tees are typically in line with each other, so add distance, but don't often change the look angle.

The ball golf scorecard is useful for moving from hole-to-hole, but the distances are for the ball golf greens, not the disc baskets. Holes 1-9 play to the left or far behind the clubhouse, while holes 10-18 to the right / near behind the clubhouse. The longest holes are found on the front, while there is more water to be avoided on the back.

While I liked many of the holes, 3/11 were probably my favourites, as they play similarly. Both have baskets (Number-11's elevated a bit, while number-3 has a couple trees nearby) located just on the other side of water. While the water carry isn't extreme, the variables are: 1) how close, or far, to the edge of the water did your earlier shots leave you, and 2) how closely do you want to park your approach, risking the water on a shot too short.

An enjoyable play, if you like them open with some relatively-easily-avoidable water hazards.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

rent a cart, play DG

1    5/30/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Driving and/or riding in a golf cart is a tremendous bonus usually not associated with DG. The carts had a roof on them keeping the sun off of you on a mostly open course.

This very short ball course turns into a good/very good place for DG.

Not many trees to hit and LOTS of water to contend with, especially on the back nine.

Lots of variety, not every shot is a bomber.
A few ace runs are available. Shaping your shots around bunkers and water makes you think about how to attack the holes. Strategy is important here.

Not very crowded mid-week. By 1p we were the only ones on the entire course.

BYOB.





Cons: The horse mature smell near basket 4 and hole 8 was simply disgusting.

8 modified Mach 1 baskets... I had one putt jump out of the bottom. The 10 DisCatchers caught well. New baskets are expected very soon, maybe next week.

No bar or restaurant on the premises.

Other Thoughts: The condition of the greens and bunkers on the ball course were the worst that I have seen but they are OB while playing DG so this aspect doesn't matter too much. This isn't Pebble Beach.

There is a prevailing wind on a daily basis so don't expect a round without some wind.

B&J's a small grocery and grill is only 1 mile away.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.