Disc Golf Center
Pine, CO 
Bucksnort DGC Share
Uploaded By: ldtrainman Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 177ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Unbelievable

2-4    9/28/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: Tom Z
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is yours. Enjoy the views. They are spectacular. I've played about 30 courses in about 8 states and have never seen such a beautiful setting.

This course gets high rating because of the Disc Golf Course not the amenities.

Every hole has a unique feature. And I mean EVERY hole. It would take pages to describe them all. Let me just say, play the course and see for yourself. I had my doubts about what I read in other reviews but once I had played the course I became a believer.

There aren't many courses where you feel like you are throwing off the roof of a 6 story building. Even if you lose a disc here (you were warned in the briefing) it is fun watching it fly off into the abyss.

When you play here you feel like you own the place thanks to the hospitality of the owners.

I could write much more but it has already been said by someone else. The superlatives are all true.
Cons: More bathrooms might be nice. There is a porta-potty at the start/end of the course. The previous sentences are a con. This next sentence is the pro that offsets the con. The owners, when present, often offer there home bathroom to the ladies.

We had to wait at one hole for a group of 7 deer to get off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: No matter what anyone writes about this course, you will not believe it until you play it. Don't just go there to throw discs and ignore the scenery. Sometimes you are just going to want to sit there and take it all in.

The owners give you (for a small donation) their property to enjoy. Please follow their rules. It would be a great loss to the disc golf community if this place closed due to abuse.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Best!

1    9/20/2014   10/9/2014
Review By: reverendbacon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Speechless; the views are amazing, the course layout and variance of technicality is yearned for at other top courses; the property owners are most humbling, enjoyed a long conversation with them and my friends, and Paul - the guy who pulled this all together - what a great vision and collaboration of a community, and most gracious host. Respect.
Cons: None - other than hole 8 - hehe =) Love this course!
Other Thoughts: Playing this course is a must! Make it happen! You will not be disappointed.

Pro Shop is well stocked! Bring your cash!! There are some disc's there that you can not find anywhere else!

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

A True Gem

1    9/20/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: Jimmy Haahr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: No one other then your group on the course, this give you a chance to really enjoy the amazing views and all around amazing course.

The course is challenging and technical with big elevation changes making even the short holes a challenge.

This is a high risk with high reward course with plenty of ace chances and plenty of bogie chances, there isn't one hole on the course i disliked and cant wait to go back and play again, it is well worth the trip as i flew in from New Orleans to play this course and it did not disappoint.
Cons: Hole 8 will take your disk forever if you miss left, though it is an amazing hole to play
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a course to travel and play i recommend this one i will be flying back out to play next year.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

SWEET!

1    9/13/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The list goes on too long.. I could ramble all day about how cool this course is. Great scenic views, custom baskets, holes in caves, on top of rocks, in awesome spots. You get to tee off of a great boulder, you get to play some of the best designed holes in CO. The hike is moderately difficult and some of the terrain can be tricky but if your up for it, it's a blast!
Cons: I can't say anything that bad really. We were told this course was supposed to be better for beginners but I have to say it was much more challenging than that still. Trees can be menacing here and the pin placement makes it exceedingly difficult when you miss a put. Risk/reward is huge at this course. This isn't so much a con as an opinion that if easier is the goal, it could still be a lot easier mostly with easier pin placements.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paradise!

2-4    9/24/2013   9/25/2014
Review By: Sean Mullins
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Stunning rocky mountain course! Great variety of shots. Zero repetition, good baskets, good natural tee-pads, plenty of trees, killer views! You cant go wrong with this course! Lowell, Linda, and Paulie are all awesome people and will show you a great time!
Cons: I cant play here every day......
Other Thoughts: Many other great courses nearby when you are done with the Bucksnort!

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

1    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: bilen434
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: All types of shots required.
No repetitive hole layouts.
Utilizes all of the geography, including a cave hole.
Breathtaking views of the mountains from almost every hole.
Great signage and markers.
Paulie gives you a 10 minute orientation and gives some advice for a few of the holes.

Cons: Some tee pads could be a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: 22 holes on some very prime real estate. This course is a must play if you are in the area.
Shots are prone to horrible rolls.
The rocks tear up discs, even star and champion plastic.
100% worth the $15

4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

This is one of the 7 Wonders of Disc Golf

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
36 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My camera died on hole 8, every hole needed to be shared. Views rival any state park or scenic look out.

Flow and navigation is "100% idiot proof" a 3 colored arrow system allows you to find the basket, the next hole, and the safest walking path.

So many holes would be signature holes on any other course. This is definitely the only place you will ever putt into an elevated pine basket in a cave (hole 4)

The amount of risk vs. reward shots is never ending. The roll aways were much less frequent than the other near by courses.

There was a shaded "rest stop" with furniture and water coolers at hole 6.

You are given a course map and a cheat sheet to help you through the course.

Great variety in shots while keeping holes intermediate friendly.

I emptied my bag several holes. (5, 6, 21, and 22 off the top of my head)

Finally, Paulie is a gracious and professional host. He even loaned me a rain coat to keep me dry while I was playing.
Cons: Most cons are rendered mute by this being a private course with only one group per day. I struggled to come up with cons so much that I had to save and come back to add these nit-picky cons.

1. Course terrain is pretty treacherous and not suited for the general public.

2. some chance of disc loss, but discs get returned. Some chance of disc destruction. soft plastics can be chewed up and cracked easily here.

3. You cant just spontaneously play this course. A tee time must be set up in advanced and you must go through a short orientation.

4. If you don't factor in elevation this course does not have a lot of long holes, but with elevation and hazards I felt hole distances were selected well.

5. 18's super shot double mando may be called gimmicky, but its the only double reverse mando I have ever seen, also one hole out of 22 is a great ratio.
Other Thoughts: I have played Flyboy, Renny Gold, Deer Lakes, Hawk Hollow, Maple Hill, and many other quality courses and feel this course can compete with the best courses in the world. If you have an opinion on this review shoot me a PM and we can debate and I can make changes as needed. Much more mature than a thumbs down.

On my drive down the course I saw an entire other course using chime targets. It was tempting, but I did not have permission to play.

Cost $15.

The nearby camping is $55 a night and 7 people can fit in a cabin at Beaver Ranch.

36 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course

1    6/16/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: rivetshack
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Since it is a private course, it is rented out to only one group per day. It is fantastic to be able to play at your own pace, have these amazing views and not worry about anything but having a good time. The course layout was phenomenal - easy to navigate and a good use of the land. It is a very challenging course, but my friend who came with me doesn't play very often and he still had a good time. Rock formations, interesting basket locations, elevation changes, technical shots - this course has it all. I have played courses all across the country and even overseas and this course beats them all. If you are ever in the area, definitely give this course a shot.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of. You will want to leave your DX and Pro D plastics at home. With the rocks and the trees, your discs can get beat up pretty quickly, even with good shots.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

mountain disc golf at its best

5+    6/10/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: PineBasketBuilder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: What a great course in an area with lots of great courses. Great views of Pine Valley, amazing rock formations to play on and around. Beautiful ponderosa pine forest to challenge players on most drives. Many different shots needed for this course with good putting a must for a good score. Great owners, respect their property and few rules (smoking in designated areas only). Maybe best of the best in the area, great for both competitive and casual players.
Cons: Could be difficult to get a tee time, but once you do you won't be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of shorter technical courses, so I love that this course isn't too long with only a few big drives needed. Get Out and Play This Course!

2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 best course I've ever played

2-4    6/30/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: fuzzyg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: This was hands down the best most interesting course I have ever played. It's is absolutely beautiful the location is perfect. The holes are set up with enough challenge that even pros will find it fun. The couple that owns it are the most loving caring most interesting people I've met..... I can't wait for out next mile high trip next year to go and play it again......
Cons: Nothing to speak of
Other Thoughts: Love this course.. I envy the owners that live right on the mountain and can play it as much as they want...

1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.