Pine, CO 
Bucksnort DGC Share
Uploaded By: ldtrainman Hole #7 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Long downslope to an open area on top of a rock dome that looks like a moonscape.



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
SWEET!

1    9/13/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The list goes on too long.. I could ramble all day about how cool this course is. Great scenic views, custom baskets, holes in caves, on top of rocks, in awesome spots. You get to tee off of a great boulder, you get to play some of the best designed holes in CO. The hike is moderately difficult and some of the terrain can be tricky but if your up for it, it's a blast!
Cons: I can't say anything that bad really. We were told this course was supposed to be better for beginners but I have to say it was much more challenging than that still. Trees can be menacing here and the pin placement makes it exceedingly difficult when you miss a put. Risk/reward is huge at this course. This isn't so much a con as an opinion that if easier is the goal, it could still be a lot easier mostly with easier pin placements.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paradise!

2-4    9/24/2013   9/25/2014
Review By: Sean Mullins
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Stunning rocky mountain course! Great variety of shots. Zero repetition, good baskets, good natural tee-pads, plenty of trees, killer views! You cant go wrong with this course! Lowell, Linda, and Paulie are all awesome people and will show you a great time!
Cons: I cant play here every day......
Other Thoughts: Many other great courses nearby when you are done with the Bucksnort!

2 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

1    8/14/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: bilen434
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: All types of shots required.
No repetitive hole layouts.
Utilizes all of the geography, including a cave hole.
Breathtaking views of the mountains from almost every hole.
Great signage and markers.
Paulie gives you a 10 minute orientation and gives some advice for a few of the holes.

Cons: Some tee pads could be a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: 22 holes on some very prime real estate. This course is a must play if you are in the area.
Shots are prone to horrible rolls.
The rocks tear up discs, even star and champion plastic.
100% worth the $15

4 of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is one of the 7 Wonders of Disc Golf

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8 Years
40 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My camera died on hole 8, every hole needed to be shared. Views rival any state park or scenic look out.

Flow and navigation is "100% idiot proof" a 3 colored arrow system allows you to find the basket, the next hole, and the safest walking path.

So many holes would be signature holes on any other course. This is definitely the only place you will ever putt into an elevated pine basket in a cave (hole 4)

The amount of risk vs. reward shots is never ending. The roll aways were much less frequent than the other near by courses.

There was a shaded "rest stop" with furniture and water coolers at hole 6.

You are given a course map and a cheat sheet to help you through the course.

Great variety in shots while keeping holes intermediate friendly.

I emptied my bag several holes. (5, 6, 21, and 22 off the top of my head)

Finally, Paulie is a gracious and professional host. He even loaned me a rain coat to keep me dry while I was playing.
Cons: Most cons are rendered mute by this being a private course with only one group per day. I struggled to come up with cons so much that I had to save and come back to add these nit-picky cons.

1. Course terrain is pretty treacherous and not suited for the general public.

2. some chance of disc loss, but discs get returned. Some chance of disc destruction. soft plastics can be chewed up and cracked easily here.

3. You cant just spontaneously play this course. A tee time must be set up in advanced and you must go through a short orientation.

4. If you don't factor in elevation this course does not have a lot of long holes, but with elevation and hazards I felt hole distances were selected well.

5. 18's super shot double mando may be called gimmicky, but its the only double reverse mando I have ever seen, also one hole out of 22 is a great ratio.
Other Thoughts: I have played Flyboy, Renny Gold, Deer Lakes, Hawk Hollow, Maple Hill, and many other quality courses and feel this course can compete with the best courses in the world. If you have an opinion on this review shoot me a PM and we can debate and I can make changes as needed. Much more mature than a thumbs down.

On my drive down the course I saw an entire other course using chime targets. It was tempting, but I did not have permission to play.

Cost $15.

The nearby camping is $55 a night and 7 people can fit in a cabin at Beaver Ranch.

40 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course

1    6/16/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: rivetshack
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Since it is a private course, it is rented out to only one group per day. It is fantastic to be able to play at your own pace, have these amazing views and not worry about anything but having a good time. The course layout was phenomenal - easy to navigate and a good use of the land. It is a very challenging course, but my friend who came with me doesn't play very often and he still had a good time. Rock formations, interesting basket locations, elevation changes, technical shots - this course has it all. I have played courses all across the country and even overseas and this course beats them all. If you are ever in the area, definitely give this course a shot.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of. You will want to leave your DX and Pro D plastics at home. With the rocks and the trees, your discs can get beat up pretty quickly, even with good shots.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

mountain disc golf at its best

5+    6/10/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: PineBasketBuilder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: What a great course in an area with lots of great courses. Great views of Pine Valley, amazing rock formations to play on and around. Beautiful ponderosa pine forest to challenge players on most drives. Many different shots needed for this course with good putting a must for a good score. Great owners, respect their property and few rules (smoking in designated areas only). Maybe best of the best in the area, great for both competitive and casual players.
Cons: Could be difficult to get a tee time, but once you do you won't be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of shorter technical courses, so I love that this course isn't too long with only a few big drives needed. Get Out and Play This Course!

2 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 best course I've ever played

2-4    6/30/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: fuzzyg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: This was hands down the best most interesting course I have ever played. It's is absolutely beautiful the location is perfect. The holes are set up with enough challenge that even pros will find it fun. The couple that owns it are the most loving caring most interesting people I've met..... I can't wait for out next mile high trip next year to go and play it again......
Cons: Nothing to speak of
Other Thoughts: Love this course.. I envy the owners that live right on the mountain and can play it as much as they want...

1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

best course in the us

2-4    6/29/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: mrbdizzle83
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: The views!
The mountain is yours!
Smoking holes/rain shelters
Water jugs
Cutest happiest owners living a dream.
True test of disc golfing skill. Bring your whole repituar.
My 1st ace on hole 4 the cave hole.
Cons: Dirt pads=foot twist divots that throws off your drive which is dangerous on this course.
The Views make putting hard sometimes they will take your breath away.
Other Thoughts: By far the most beautiful course ive ever played. Well mapped. not to long of a jaunt compared to the other courses we played in CO.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Bucksnort a line of this track

1    6/10/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: invideojim@aol.com
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: Breathtaking views, top notch design, absolute serenity.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Hands down the best course I have ever played. Impossible to choose a favorite hole. Must return to see it all again. The rest of this rant is just filler...this website requires a certain amount of characters, or something.

2 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Make Sure You Visit This One

2-4    5/31/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 124  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.2 Years
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Huge amount of elevation change. There are straight downhill shots, straight up-hill shots, side hill and couple valley type shots. This land had a lot of good elevation change available and it was used well here.
-There are a lot of fun really tricky pin-positions here. A lot of the pin are placed on rocks, behind rocks, or near big drop-offs. This adds a lot of risk vs. reward on approach shots and putts.
-There are a lot of tight fairways on this course. There are a lot of trees on many of the holes. In order to score well you have to be able to hit some tight lines, but the lines never feel unfair, just challenging.
-The rocks on this course are one of the best features of the course. They add a lot of challenge by creating barriers between you and the basket, serving as interesting pin-placements, or knocking down errant drives.
-Benches and trashcans at many of the tee-pads.
-Course is very easy to navigate. There are yellow arrows pointing from the last basket to the next tee. They are very well placed and make it very easy to find the next tee. For baskets that are hidden from the tee, there are orange arrows pointing where the basket is, so you don't have to walk up the fairway to find it.
-There are a lot of very memorable holes on this course. Hole 4 is short shot to a basket tucked very tightly into a tight cave. Hole 7 is tight downhill shot through the trees out onto a rock that looks like a moon rock. Hole 15 is an ace run, but if you over throw the basket very far, your disc will be flying very far down the hill.
-Baskets are in good shape and caught well. I always enjoy the wooden basket that some of the courses in Pine area have.
-Requires a good variety of shots in order to score well.
-Wonderful views
Cons: -The course could use one or two longer holes. None of the holes feel overly long, especially since some of the longer ones are downhill shots.
-The tee-boxes are ok, but could use a little work. I felt like I wanted a little more room on a couple of them and a few of them felt a little slick.
-Hole 13 felt a little gimmicky to me. It is a basket tucked in a shed or house like structure and it just felt a little unnatural compared to the rest of the course.
-There is definitely a chance to lose a disc on this course in some of the underbrush
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a spectacular course. There are a ton of amazing memorable holes. This is an amazing piece of property for a disc golf course and the potential of this property was used very well in the design. This is easily one of the best courses, I've played. If you enjoy fun disc golf, make sure you visit this course.

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.