Flagstaff, AZ 
Thorpe Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer  



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lots and lots of litter...

5+    8/2/2013   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The challenge: this course gives you a little bit of everything! Plenty of variety here: both wide and narrow fairways, short and long holes, and some baskets with elevation changes. There are also a few holes with blind shots - this place has it all!
Cons: The trash: seriously? Flagstaff is one of my favorite places to visit - the scenery is beautiful and the locals really take good care of their surroundings. Thorpe Park is the exception. The park is so disappointing to me: there are broken glass shards and beer cans on literally every single fairway. Flagstaff has such a great course and it has been trashed by idiots.

Don't get me wrong, I still love to play here! It's just disappointing to have such a nice course receive so little consideration for upkeep. Take away the trash and this course gets a 4.5 / 5 in my book.
Other Thoughts: If you're playing this course, please, PLEASE don't litter. No one wants to pick up after you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites!

5+    1/20/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tee pads
-tee signs with maps showing distances, par, ect
-quality baskets
-beautiful wooded setting
-challenging (holes vary in style)
- some holes are tunnel through trees and others have well placed trees adding a challenge
Cons: -VERY muddy in the winter time
-brush, snow, ect. make finding your disc difficult at times
- lots of rocks
Other Thoughts: Overall great! one of my favorites!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, but Well-Defined

1    3/29/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 110  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Multiple Pin Positions
Beautiful Scenery
Nice and Informative Tee Signs (Next Tee Marked)
Multiple Shot Types Required
Easy to Locate
Disc Golf Exclusive Area
Great Layout (Begins and Ends Near Parking)
Baskets in Good Shape
Friendly Locals
Trash Cans Throughout Course
Amazing Terrain
Great Design
Cons:
Broken Glass Throughout Course
Novice Players May Find the Fairways Too Tight
Can Get Crowded
Parking is Limited
Other Thoughts:
Thorpe Park Disc Golf Course is located in a large city park in the northwest part of Flagstaff, Arizona. From US-180 head west on Cherry Avenue to Thorpe Road and make a left. The entrance and parking lot will be about 400ft from the intersection on the right just before the tennis courts. From the parking lot you should be able to see the bulletin board and the first tee pad.

The course plays through, what I would consider, some pretty unique terrain. Rocky with the large boulders, many protecting the baskets, dirt, and dense pine forest. Premium plastic is a must on this one.

The first tee pad will be located behind the bulletin board near the back of the parking lot. The first hole is one of the more open holes on the course, but it is a great first hole with three pin positions.

Holes 2 and 3 start to bring you into the more wooded holes and the rocky terrain starts to come into play a little more. While neither hole is heavily wooded trees come into play forcing you to choose your shot carefully and the baskets are well-guarded.

After hole 3 you really start to what this course is all about. Hole 4 starts with a more open fairway, but the basket is heavily guarded and you will need a well-placed shot to get near the basket.

Holes 5 through 12 are all moderately to heavily wooded with tight, but well-defined fairways. These, in my opinion, were some of the more interesting and fun holes on the course. They are tight but fair, and give players with a variety of skill levels the ability to play together fairly.

Holes 13 and 14 open up a bit and give you a chance to catch your breath before heading back into the trees for the finish. The last few holes, 16 through 18, are also where you will start to see the elevation changes come into play giving this course a nice balance.

Overall this course has a good variety and high fun factor. While beginners may find the fairways a little too tight rec to adv, maybe even open, players will have a great time here. Navigation is made simple by the great tee signs that not only show each pin position, also indicate where the next tee pad is located. If you do have any problems the locals were friendly and extremely helpful, even letting me tag along for the last few holes, so if you do have any questions I'm sure they would be more than happy to help you out. All-in-all I really enjoyed playing Thorpe and will definitely play it again when I am in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: dickybird
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Of the three courses in town, I think this is the best. With multiple pin placements the course can vary from a pitch and putt to a longer course requiring a good mid-range game. I disagree with the previous review. With excepetion of a couple pin placements, there are well defined fairways. They're tight but, heck, it's a forest course!
Cons: Lots of glass on some holes. Most of it is "historical" and reflects decades of kids partying in the woods. Even so, it doesn't represent a hazard.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Phun in the Phorest

5+    3/19/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2010
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course deserves a 3, in my opinion, because of the variety of shots this course demands to be successful. depending on the basket placement, this course can play very long, tight and challenging or short, with many birdie opportunities. MANY. however, the club always has a good mix to allow all to have fun.
Cement Teepads
Nice baskets
Great Views
Tight fairways
Open year round
Cons: This course can be very crowded at times, especially until the other courses open (mcp and the bowl). Your plastic will be punished! lots of rocks so watch where you are walking.
Beware of the broken glass on the course. It wont really cut you, but it is apparent throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: as my home course, I like to play but it is not in my top 25 that I have played. (played around 150 courses). Scores for an above average player with range from a 48-54 depending on the settings. However, since I have lived in Flg they have never moved all the baskets to the long settings. Bring lots of water in the summer, they have an adult center with a drinking fountain, and wear good shoes. My personal best is a 42.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

2-4    8/1/2003   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just the right amount of trees to define the fairways and keep you honest. Some holes require a good combination of power and accuracy. Pins can be in tricky positions that reward smart play .
Cons: Rough terrain at times, with a few fluky shots tossed in.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It always left me hungry for more.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 thorpe dg course

5+    1/11/2010   11/3/2008
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: thorpe is a moderate to heavily wooded course.always some type of obstruction from tree's to more tree's. some mild elevation on the front nine, more on the back nine.the baskets are in great shape, they are mach 5 baskets. thorpe is mainly a dense ponderosa pine forest along with some oak trees throughout the course. Considering its basically in downtown flagstaff, the course has a deep wooded feeling, its great. multiple pin postions for alomost every hole (which get moved on the regular ). ( rhbh ) the front 9 you find yourself throwing alot of hyzer's and straight shots. the back 9 you will find yourself throwing anhyzer's or forhands. beware of hole 18 c position....it can add a few strokes.
lots of friendly locals.
trash cans threw out the course. favorite holes 1( c position ), 7 ( B position ), 9 ( c position ) 14 ( B position ).
all in all great course, its always enjoyable and fun to play. you can either shoot hot here or when its playing long you could have a tuff time.also 2 other courses within 3 miles. ( also snowbowl dgc 10 miles north of town ) flagstaff is a great day trip. 3 courses in a small town deep in the woods. To me its the best course in flagstaff,az when the pins are in the longs.
Cons: some pads are to shorter then others it seems, packed all year around. you tend to see homeless people in the woods. ( but the course is very safe, no issues at all ) on the back nine you have to watch out for walkers, the fairways get close to a walking path. no rollers here, the terrain is to rocky. no practice putting basket.
Other Thoughts: if you are in flagstaff,az.come on out and play this great course that flagstaff holds. pin positions change all the time here, always keeping it fresh and fun. friendly locals always playing.
Also check out downtown flagstaff. lots of bars and cool shops to look at.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.