Flagstaff, AZ
Thorpe Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer  



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lots and Lots of Trees

1    6/14/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin-positions on most of the holes
-Baskets are in great shape and catch well
-When the tee-signs are readable they are very useful and give you a good layout of the hole, each pin position, and the distance to each pin position.
-The holes on this course do a good job of not playing near or crossing over each other
-The course has a good variety of distance on it (A few holes are under 200 feet, there are some over 400 feet and quite a few between 200 and 400 feet).
-Most of the holes are heavily wooded and this course requires a lot of accuracy in order to score well on it.
-There are a lot of very tight lines on this course and not always distinct fairways but I never felt that any of the holes seemed unfair in terms of how tight they were.
-Due to being heavily wooded this course can play pretty challenging.
-There are two or three open more open holes that do a nice job of providing a quick reprieve from the heavily wooded holes.
-The course is very easy to navigate and the flow makes a lot of sense, you will spend very little time looking for the next tee-pad.
-Elevation comes into play on the last couple holes. Hole 18 is a fairly tightly wooded downhill shot that is a nice way to finish the round.
-This course features a lot of fun well-designed holes that will force you to use quite a few different shots in your bag.
Cons: -Some of the tee-signs had graffiti all over them, which made them next to impossible to read.
-At times the baskets blend in with the woods and you have to walk a little ways up the fairway in order to figure out, where exactly you need to throw.
-Long walk between a couple of the holes (the walk between 9 to is the most notable) and there is a long walk back to the car from hole 18.
-A walking path crosses through a lot of the holes, so make sure no one is coming before you tee off.
-Some of the holes don't really have distinct fairways (but there are still fair lines through the trees to the basket).
-The rocks on this course will eat up base line plastic and possibly lead to bad footing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with a lot of heavily wooded holes that requires good accuracy to score well. If you don't like heavily wooded courses with tight fairways, this is not the course for you, but other wise it is definitely worth a trip to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dateline: UFO’s Sighted Near Space Observatory

1    11/24/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 204  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This beautiful park is located at the base of the hill from one of the world's largest telescopes at the Lowell Space Observatory. This is a great setting for "un" or more accurately identified flying objects of our sport. This course is full of trees. The ground is a combination of pine needles, leaves, dry dirt, and LOTS of rocks. Many shots are needed for these holes, however this course is most challenging when the holes are in the long position. When the pins are in the shorts, the course becomes much easier. Most of the holes are pretty flat, although a few of the latter holes have some really good elevation. This course is marked with great signs and excellent length cement tee pads. The baskets are in great shape and there are plenty of trash cans along the way.
Cons: The rocks on the ground are is such abundance that you will need you sturdiest plastic to survive a round. If you play here often your discs will suffer. The signs are very good about showing the way to the next tees. I found #10 and #16 a little tougher to find. #10 is up beyond the road's curve and #16 is also across the road near one of the #12's basket. Otherwise, there is no real need for a map here. The last real negative I could think of is the lengthy walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, however it is down a nice walking road.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor at this course for me is decent. I really enjoyed my round and threw a few extra discs on several holes as they were fun to throw drives on. This course was also the site of the PDGA 2003 Worlds. (The extra holes were not still there that I could tell.) You just got to love the fact that you can go visit the Lowell Observatory when it gets dark and get a chance to see space through that huge telescope. I saw deer, squirrels, and wild chinchilla. The wild life was a real treat. I loved playing here and found the surrounding area to be peaceful and beautiful.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Flagstaff

2-4    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 62  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was an absolute blast. Lots of trees to help define the fairways. It was a very fair course. The course flow is pretty good. Could use a bit more signage though.
Cons: Lots of shattered glass around the course. So I suggest not taking kids to this park.
Other Thoughts: This was by far the best course I got to play while in Flagstaff. Snowbowl had just got 12 inches of snow on it the week before I got there, so unfortunately I didn't get to play it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 thorpe

7/10/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 130  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain and foliage. Concrete teepads and teesigns. Within the city limits so its close to stores and other amenities. Bathrooms on site.

Cons: Can't think of any. No grass, but thats to be expected for that kind of terrain.

Other Thoughts: This course has lots of trees. Its fantastic the city allows the area to be utilized by disc golfers almost exclusively, since its obviously a prime location within the city limits. The ambience and environment is special. There is a walking path that conflicts with a couple of tee shots but for the most part its disc golf heaven! Some minor elevation changes throughout the course, not as much as you would think. Course design accounts for densely wooded areas on the course and has created a very fair but tough course with pine trees and other, lighter foliage to navigate past and around. Advanced and pro players will like this course more so than a beginner player.
Fairways are well established, leaving it up to the disc golfer to advance down the them in a safe manner. Some holes are tough par 3's (doglegs or straight narrow and long), but at least half the holes are reachable on the first shot if you place your drives down the fairways correctly. Getting off the fairways will bring pine trees into play and bring your final score up. Execute your game on this course accurately and you should be under par every time. Using a sidearm shot or an overhead shot to get you out of trouble if you stray from the fairways is very helpful. There weren't too many people there the times I played, but I imagine the weekends may be crowded on the course, especially if big groups of beginners are trying to make their way around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mars Hill Marvel !

4/13/2006   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 104  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding terrain (some awesome trees and great boulders), local wildlife, 18 fantastic holes through mostly pine-studded "wilderness", great tee boxes and atmosphere. Good smells, too!
Cons: Maybe the lack of a set of alternate tees....this course is more suited towards pros and experienced golfers. The baskets are nice, but some could use better markings. A real pleasure to play, though.
Other Thoughts: Played this course almost daily during my college days at NAU in 1999. Now one of 3 or 4 in the Flagstaff area, this sturdy old course is a rollicking good time start to finish. Some stunning landscape and one-of-a-kind shots here. Thorpe has hosted national events and plays very nicely for the golfer who seeks a powerful test of skill. I make the 160 mile drive to play it (usually passing through on I-40) at least once a year ever since i left the Flagstaff area. A wonderful relic. Check it out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.