Flagstaff, AZ 
Thorpe Park Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / 319ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket (B Position)



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lots and lots of litter...

5+    8/2/2013   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The challenge: this course gives you a little bit of everything! Plenty of variety here: both wide and narrow fairways, short and long holes, and some baskets with elevation changes. There are also a few holes with blind shots - this place has it all!
Cons: The trash: seriously? Flagstaff is one of my favorite places to visit - the scenery is beautiful and the locals really take good care of their surroundings. Thorpe Park is the exception. The park is so disappointing to me: there are broken glass shards and beer cans on literally every single fairway. Flagstaff has such a great course and it has been trashed by idiots.

Don't get me wrong, I still love to play here! It's just disappointing to have such a nice course receive so little consideration for upkeep. Take away the trash and this course gets a 4.5 / 5 in my book.
Other Thoughts: If you're playing this course, please, PLEASE don't litter. No one wants to pick up after you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lora

1    11/30/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: loraski
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable elevation changes and it seemed like a long course to me. Lots of nice trees along the way.
Cons: When I played the conditions were not the best, it had snowed a week before and it was pretty muddy. LOTS of broken glass everywhere and graffiti on some of the markers.
Other Thoughts: Like any of the courses I have played, it's too bad that there are people who want to mar or destroy something so many of us enjoy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots and Lots of Trees

1    6/14/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin-positions on most of the holes
-Baskets are in great shape and catch well
-When the tee-signs are readable they are very useful and give you a good layout of the hole, each pin position, and the distance to each pin position.
-The holes on this course do a good job of not playing near or crossing over each other
-The course has a good variety of distance on it (A few holes are under 200 feet, there are some over 400 feet and quite a few between 200 and 400 feet).
-Most of the holes are heavily wooded and this course requires a lot of accuracy in order to score well on it.
-There are a lot of very tight lines on this course and not always distinct fairways but I never felt that any of the holes seemed unfair in terms of how tight they were.
-Due to being heavily wooded this course can play pretty challenging.
-There are two or three open more open holes that do a nice job of providing a quick reprieve from the heavily wooded holes.
-The course is very easy to navigate and the flow makes a lot of sense, you will spend very little time looking for the next tee-pad.
-Elevation comes into play on the last couple holes. Hole 18 is a fairly tightly wooded downhill shot that is a nice way to finish the round.
-This course features a lot of fun well-designed holes that will force you to use quite a few different shots in your bag.
Cons: -Some of the tee-signs had graffiti all over them, which made them next to impossible to read.
-At times the baskets blend in with the woods and you have to walk a little ways up the fairway in order to figure out, where exactly you need to throw.
-Long walk between a couple of the holes (the walk between 9 to is the most notable) and there is a long walk back to the car from hole 18.
-A walking path crosses through a lot of the holes, so make sure no one is coming before you tee off.
-Some of the holes don't really have distinct fairways (but there are still fair lines through the trees to the basket).
-The rocks on this course will eat up base line plastic and possibly lead to bad footing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with a lot of heavily wooded holes that requires good accuracy to score well. If you don't like heavily wooded courses with tight fairways, this is not the course for you, but other wise it is definitely worth a trip to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites!

5+    1/20/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: scrowl92
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tee pads
-tee signs with maps showing distances, par, ect
-quality baskets
-beautiful wooded setting
-challenging (holes vary in style)
- some holes are tunnel through trees and others have well placed trees adding a challenge
Cons: -VERY muddy in the winter time
-brush, snow, ect. make finding your disc difficult at times
- lots of rocks
Other Thoughts: Overall great! one of my favorites!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, but Well-Defined

1    3/29/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Multiple Pin Positions
Beautiful Scenery
Nice and Informative Tee Signs (Next Tee Marked)
Multiple Shot Types Required
Easy to Locate
Disc Golf Exclusive Area
Great Layout (Begins and Ends Near Parking)
Baskets in Good Shape
Friendly Locals
Trash Cans Throughout Course
Amazing Terrain
Great Design
Cons:
Broken Glass Throughout Course
Novice Players May Find the Fairways Too Tight
Can Get Crowded
Parking is Limited
Other Thoughts:
Thorpe Park Disc Golf Course is located in a large city park in the northwest part of Flagstaff, Arizona. From US-180 head west on Cherry Avenue to Thorpe Road and make a left. The entrance and parking lot will be about 400ft from the intersection on the right just before the tennis courts. From the parking lot you should be able to see the bulletin board and the first tee pad.

The course plays through, what I would consider, some pretty unique terrain. Rocky with the large boulders, many protecting the baskets, dirt, and dense pine forest. Premium plastic is a must on this one.

The first tee pad will be located behind the bulletin board near the back of the parking lot. The first hole is one of the more open holes on the course, but it is a great first hole with three pin positions.

Holes 2 and 3 start to bring you into the more wooded holes and the rocky terrain starts to come into play a little more. While neither hole is heavily wooded trees come into play forcing you to choose your shot carefully and the baskets are well-guarded.

After hole 3 you really start to what this course is all about. Hole 4 starts with a more open fairway, but the basket is heavily guarded and you will need a well-placed shot to get near the basket.

Holes 5 through 12 are all moderately to heavily wooded with tight, but well-defined fairways. These, in my opinion, were some of the more interesting and fun holes on the course. They are tight but fair, and give players with a variety of skill levels the ability to play together fairly.

Holes 13 and 14 open up a bit and give you a chance to catch your breath before heading back into the trees for the finish. The last few holes, 16 through 18, are also where you will start to see the elevation changes come into play giving this course a nice balance.

Overall this course has a good variety and high fun factor. While beginners may find the fairways a little too tight rec to adv, maybe even open, players will have a great time here. Navigation is made simple by the great tee signs that not only show each pin position, also indicate where the next tee pad is located. If you do have any problems the locals were friendly and extremely helpful, even letting me tag along for the last few holes, so if you do have any questions I'm sure they would be more than happy to help you out. All-in-all I really enjoyed playing Thorpe and will definitely play it again when I am in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: dickybird
Played: 78  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Of the three courses in town, I think this is the best. With multiple pin placements the course can vary from a pitch and putt to a longer course requiring a good mid-range game. I disagree with the previous review. With excepetion of a couple pin placements, there are well defined fairways. They're tight but, heck, it's a forest course!
Cons: Lots of glass on some holes. Most of it is "historical" and reflects decades of kids partying in the woods. Even so, it doesn't represent a hazard.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dateline: UFO’s Sighted Near Space Observatory

1    11/24/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This beautiful park is located at the base of the hill from one of the world's largest telescopes at the Lowell Space Observatory. This is a great setting for "un" or more accurately identified flying objects of our sport. This course is full of trees. The ground is a combination of pine needles, leaves, dry dirt, and LOTS of rocks. Many shots are needed for these holes, however this course is most challenging when the holes are in the long position. When the pins are in the shorts, the course becomes much easier. Most of the holes are pretty flat, although a few of the latter holes have some really good elevation. This course is marked with great signs and excellent length cement tee pads. The baskets are in great shape and there are plenty of trash cans along the way.
Cons: The rocks on the ground are is such abundance that you will need you sturdiest plastic to survive a round. If you play here often your discs will suffer. The signs are very good about showing the way to the next tees. I found #10 and #16 a little tougher to find. #10 is up beyond the road's curve and #16 is also across the road near one of the #12's basket. Otherwise, there is no real need for a map here. The last real negative I could think of is the lengthy walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, however it is down a nice walking road.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor at this course for me is decent. I really enjoyed my round and threw a few extra discs on several holes as they were fun to throw drives on. This course was also the site of the PDGA 2003 Worlds. (The extra holes were not still there that I could tell.) You just got to love the fact that you can go visit the Lowell Observatory when it gets dark and get a chance to see space through that huge telescope. I saw deer, squirrels, and wild chinchilla. The wild life was a real treat. I loved playing here and found the surrounding area to be peaceful and beautiful.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

1    6/14/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably the best course that I have played! Set on a mountian at nearly 7000 feet adds to it's appeal. Large trees throughout contributes to the beauty and challenge. Well designed and thought out course, this person knew what he was doing. Many types of shots required from sharp anhyzers to long straight throws. Elevation changes throught gives you a little workout. Baskets are well placed to make it tougher. Large level cement teepads on every hole with nice signs that shows distance, O.B., trees, next hole and pin placement. Some of the fareways are pretty tight, but if you have the skill to tread the trees, then birdies are possible on several holes. Trash cans throughout and park was fairly clean without graffiti.
Cons: At this point, I really can't think of much.
Other Thoughts: This is what disc golfing is all about. Beautiful course in the mountains. Each hole seems unique, hard to get bored here. I played this course slower than normal just because it was so great just to be out there enjoying the natural environment. Each hole I came to I had a smill on my face! I am now in Phoenix but will certainly drive 2 hours to play this course. What a spectacular course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Phun in the Phorest

5+    3/19/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 121  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2010
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course deserves a 3, in my opinion, because of the variety of shots this course demands to be successful. depending on the basket placement, this course can play very long, tight and challenging or short, with many birdie opportunities. MANY. however, the club always has a good mix to allow all to have fun.
Cement Teepads
Nice baskets
Great Views
Tight fairways
Open year round
Cons: This course can be very crowded at times, especially until the other courses open (mcp and the bowl). Your plastic will be punished! lots of rocks so watch where you are walking.
Beware of the broken glass on the course. It wont really cut you, but it is apparent throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: as my home course, I like to play but it is not in my top 25 that I have played. (played around 150 courses). Scores for an above average player with range from a 48-54 depending on the settings. However, since I have lived in Flg they have never moved all the baskets to the long settings. Bring lots of water in the summer, they have an adult center with a drinking fountain, and wear good shoes. My personal best is a 42.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best of Flagstaff

2-4    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was an absolute blast. Lots of trees to help define the fairways. It was a very fair course. The course flow is pretty good. Could use a bit more signage though.
Cons: Lots of shattered glass around the course. So I suggest not taking kids to this park.
Other Thoughts: This was by far the best course I got to play while in Flagstaff. Snowbowl had just got 12 inches of snow on it the week before I got there, so unfortunately I didn't get to play it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.