Odessa, TX 
Comanche Trails West Share
Uploaded By: Aggiepi Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 230ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice for Odessa, but not that great.

1    9/1/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets.
Fun to play with variety.
Cons: Plays along a walking trail. Some tees are on the walking trail.
Confusing navigation. No signs. Poorly marked tees.
The tees that aren't on the walking trail are dirt.
Holes too close together.
No elevation changes at all.
Boring "filler" holes in a field.
No benches.
No trash cans.
No course map or bulletin board.
Other Thoughts: The locals won't like this review, but I'm comparing this course to courses all around Texas and a couple in Louisiana, not just to the other courses in Odessa. It's not that great.
Almost every hole has some "issue".
There were plenty of people on the walking trail when I played. It's simply not a good place for both the course and the walking path.

It's nice to have a course in the trees that can block some of the wind, but crowded and confusing aren't conditions for even a good rating. It's fun to play most of the holes, once the walkers have moved on. The "field" holes are zero fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    9/15/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: csheller89
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Forces you to throw multiple shots
Multiple tee boxes
Still playable when it rains (a major plus for the area)
Lots of O.B
The wind only affects a few holes
Tight lines (rare for this area)
Cons: Some of the tee boxes play from the walking path.
You can't see a few baskets from the tee box
Plays on a moderately used walking path.
The man-hole smells terrible when the wind blows
Tees are marked by wood posts


Other Thoughts: By far the best course in the area.
All this course need is a little regular maintenance and a few tee signs, a few more trash cans and a little brush cleared and this course could easily compete as one of the best in the state

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Variety for Middle-of-Nowhere-Texas

1    9/1/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +located in a very nice park with quite a few of benches, nice trail, and shade
+several holes have 2 tees, an amateur and pro tee
+hole 18 ends near hole 1 which is always a plus
+I don't know if it would be possible to loose a disc
+great variety, some open shots, several tree shots, and always some kind of obstacle
Cons: -no course map, no tee maps - there are a few "blind" holes
-"natural" tee pads (no concrete or rubber pads)
-bathrooms were all locked while I was there...
-several holes are very close together on the tight layout of the course which can cause congestion and confusion
-follows a nice and well used walking path so you need to be aware of other park visitors
Other Thoughts: There are a few logistical kinks to work out (tee signs, tee pads, a course map, maybe a few signs informing other park visitors) so this course just isn't a 5 out of 5 or even a 4 out of 5 but it is very enjoyable to play. I had fun despite spending time figuring out where holes were and waiting on other park visitors.

Admittedly, I havent played the other courses in Odessa so I cant say which I enjoyed more. I did play Cowden Park in Midland and if you are looking for a permanent full 18 course to play I suggest making the drive to Odessa. Cowden was a fun 9 holes though and offers some good challenges for a city park.

**BOTTOM LINE**
Fun course, good variety, just needs some more course enhancements

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Start

1    6/28/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Aggiepi
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is brand new
It is the best course in the area as of when it opened IMO
There is good diversity in the shot selection
The technical level high on some holes, but not crazy like some courses in more wooded parts of the state.
Cons: Tee pads were not done yet when I played
Needs trash cans
Needs a map or some direction on where the OB is and Mandos
Plays along a walking trail and some holes are almost on top of each other.
Other Thoughts: This course will only get better.
Tee pads are coming and the more it is played the better it will get.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dont believe the hype

2-4    6/12/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a new course so the baskets are in perfect shape. It is in what could be considered a forest in west Texas so you will have protection from the wind and hot sun. It has both wide open and technical shots.
Cons: Plays along a well used walking path.
Several blind shots. There was trash all over the place. On a hole or 2 you have to throw into a field of Mesquite bushes so you have to go looking around plants with 2 inch thorns to get your disc.There is no map to be found anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I know the locals don't like my review because they wanted this to have a good rating. For someone like me who has played in several other states this just isn't that good, in my opinion!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best course around to practice for the rest of the world's courses!

5+    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely the best course in this area. It is definitely not a grip-n-rip course. It has some holes that offer a big arm a chance to loosen up, but most of the course requires technical shots and finesse. There are definitely some very ace-able holes on this course with lots of opportunities to birdie, and even some that will only ever see a handful of twos. There are a few really cool mandos and even one "island" shot that isn't technically an island, but plays across OB with a drop zone if you smoke the wrong tree. This course ranges from 200'-500+ and has some really interesting holes. Most holes have multiple lines and are not all RHBH hyzers or dogleg lefts which is a welcomed change. Wind is also not nearly as big a factor as on the other courses due to all the surrounding trees. This is quite literally the thickest woods in all of Odessa. It is a legitimate forest.
Cons: There are a few holes that you walk across loose dirt so prepare to get dusty. But if you wanted to stay clean you wouldn't be playing disc golf! On a couple of holes you throw blindly toward the walking path and can't see your lie until you get up through the thicket. I don't mind throwing blind, but definitely would be ticked if someone found it laying there and ran off with it (which I'm sure will happen eventually). Also, if you were to short it on a few holes it lands in some THICK stuff that looks ideal for rattlesnakes. Maybe one of these days those awesome guys who take such good care of the other courses will clean this one out too. If you ever see them, tell them thanks. They are just disc golfers volunteering to take care of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is such a cool course that will be friendly to new-comers to the sport (as far as not losing discs, but not on score!) that will teach every disc golfer in Midland/Odessa a thing or two about finesse. The walking path that goes through this course is heavily used so play cautiously around others and make sure you don't have walkers getting in your line before you throw. This course has the potential to bring Odessa into the disc golf spotlight as now we can host some legitimate big name tournaments on our three awesome courses that are all within a mile of each other!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.