Springfield, MO 
Oak Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #5 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice niner- needs some love

1    10/21/2016   10/21/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 150  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Typical City Park course with not a lot of length, solid concrete tee pads, mature trees, adaquate signage, and easy to navigate.
All the concrete pads were numbered.... so the fact that the #3 sign was missing was not a problem.
Pads were good sized.
Course was definitely fun to play... couple of ace run possiblities and definite birdies to be had.
Lot of trees, but plenty of openings.
Cons: Reconfiguration has some fairways crossing... specifically 5 and 6.
Course crams the holes into the limited space... possibility of hitting others is there.
Older baskets.... I didn't have issue, but I can see where other reviewers found them challenging for longer throws.
Tee for 9 faces straight down the line, while the basket is at about 10 o'clock in relation to the tee.
Other Thoughts: If you've read any of my other 50+ reviews, it's all about the fun factor that determines my ratings.
My 13 y/o daughter and I played while on break from her volleyball tourney, which is why we were in town...
We both loved it!! Nice walk.... managable throws.. easy to navigate.
Upgrade the sgnage and baskets and this moves to over a 3 easily!!

Older Course

2-4    3/30/2015   4/10/2015
Review By: danad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees.
Always short grass and maintained grounds.
Good course for putting and midrange work.
Can be played in thirty minutes if needed.
Cons: Older baskets reject longer shots.
Crowded.
Trash litters fairways.
Drives can go into private property if not careful with the hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you're in a hurry or just want to shoot a quick round. I'd like to see some updated baskets (I know DGM in SGF is working on that), but they like the original for character.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 neat old coarse

2-4    2/15/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: kirk
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: A cute old coarse ( 1979) in a nice neighborhood concrete pads ( although some dont point the right direction)
Cons: signage and tee pads could be updated, a little crowded , surrounded by houses
Other Thoughts: I like this coarse, it has history, people have been tossing plastic here since " steady Ed" laid this thing out 35 years ago.. Its short, you can play nine holes in 40 minutes,Its easy to go under par, you dont need drivers, its a good place to practice up on approach and putting...not the most challenging but a pretty good time ..

 Short course

1    5/26/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: CThomp85
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good location, no shrubbery or tall grass.
easy to navigate. Nice tees
Cons: Tees aren't always lined up with pins
too easy to play
lots of people
ugly signs, if you can read em at all
Other Thoughts: This is a good course if you live nearby... not worth a drive to play it again, though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Plays fast

5+    1/12/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: Bender
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Ability to play very quickly. Great course to practice your mid range and putter shots off the tee box. Great course to learn on.
Cons: Big groups that slow down the play. Some holes are close to tee boxes so you need to wait sometimes to throw. 2 holes criscross so if there are people playing one of the holes you will need to wait.
Other Thoughts: I live very close to Oak Grove and rarely play this course due to the crowds. Sometime you will get lucky and be the only person out there. Mornings are a great time to play the course. There are back tees for each hole if you want to play 18. I like to play jungle golf a lot at this course to make it more interesting.

 Old School

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Moderate amount of trees.
- Lots of shade.
- Concrete pads
Cons: - No distance
- Feels a little squeezed in but not too bad
- Only 9 holes
- Course signs are in bad shape
Other Thoughts: A fun, popular course with lots of shade.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's dream

2-4    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 169  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well marked course with easy layout. Decent tee markers and the baskets also have numbers. This course is nestled between houses in a small park. The course layout is good enough that you don't really have to worry about throwing your disc into a backyard. Great for beginners and kids.
Cons: Multi use park. Usually very busy. Bathrooms are Johnny on the spots. Very heavy leaf cover on the ground in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course for me and my 10 year old son. Experience players probably would not enjoy this course unless they want to increase their chance for an ace.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    4/3/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: ajdovepin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent woods protection on the right side of almost every hole makes for nice sidearm practice.

Cons: Too short. Too many leaves come fall. People walk their dogs here, and don't really care much about disc golfers for some reason.

Other Thoughts: Got my only ace ever here. Also lost that ace disc later in the round to a dog... Ripped to shreds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.