Springfield, MO 
Oak Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
neat old coarse

2-4    2/15/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: kirk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: A cute old coarse ( 1979) in a nice neighborhood concrete pads ( although some dont point the right direction)
Cons: signage and tee pads could be updated, a little crowded , surrounded by houses
Other Thoughts: I like this coarse, it has history, people have been tossing plastic here since " steady Ed" laid this thing out 35 years ago.. Its short, you can play nine holes in 40 minutes,Its easy to go under par, you dont need drivers, its a good place to practice up on approach and putting...not the most challenging but a pretty good time ..

Fun Course

1    7/1/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: hhardaway
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Short grass makes discs easy to find
-Solid baskets marked with hole numbers
Cons: -Crowded
-Trash on a lot of the holes
-All short holes
-Tee order not well marked
Other Thoughts: Small course, looks very cramped at first but the wholes are set up to allow some good shots. None of the holes are very lengthy, but trees in the park make for some fun and interesting shots. There may be nicer courses around, but this one is fun and worth a play.

The college course

5+    9/25/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Bigben932
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. 9 holes. Optional pro holes marked with little square rock(however I haven't found all of them yet. Nice baskets. Lots of parking. Friendly people.
Cons: Where to start. There might be a lot of cons, But this is still the most enjoyable course near MSU.
1.Lady that lives at the end of Hole5 had a lot of "stuff" in her yard and isn't willing to help you get your disc back.
2.Hole 2, I had the problem for a few years shanking my shots to the right and land in every yard. Most years on hold to are accessible, However there are a few stops where you will lose a disc FOREVER
3.Hole 7. I hate that hole. All years accessible except the Black spiky gate yard directly to the right of the tee( don't ask, terrible shot)
4. Crowded After 3pm
5. Crowded Until Sunset
6. Did i mention Crowded
7. Lots of dog walkers
8.Mostly shorter style holes
Other Thoughts: everyone is friendly beside hole5 lady and a few people on hole 2 side. Not very challenging, but a fun course for everyone. My everyday course. I play closer to sunset time and drive an orange katana, feel free to join.

Some people don't know what Four means. (ie: lots of beginners)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

1    5/26/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: CThomp85
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good location, no shrubbery or tall grass.
easy to navigate. Nice tees
Cons: Tees aren't always lined up with pins
too easy to play
lots of people
ugly signs, if you can read em at all
Other Thoughts: This is a good course if you live nearby... not worth a drive to play it again, though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Facelift needed

2-4    4/14/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: rabbott
Played: 44  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very few. Holes are short/tight so it doesn't take long to play. Low possibility of losing a disc.
Cons: Baskets are FUGLY (that's f'n ugly!!)!! Tee boxes ARE cement BUT are pointed in the wrong direction in some cases due to baskets being moved. Signage might as well be taken down - they are FUGLY also.
Other Thoughts: Could be upgraded and be a MUCH nicer little course. The 1.5 passable was generous!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: drdupree
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You have to understand that part of my rating is that the park is just a few blocks from home.
Challenging fairways with lots of trees.
Most of the yards have gates on the park side which makes for easier disc retrieval.
Cons: "B" Tees are not all marked. Some have stone markers, but others are just worn places.
Other Thoughts: It helps to make friends who know the "B"s. Everyone I've met there has been most willing to show me.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plays fast

5+    1/12/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: Bender
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: Ability to play very quickly. Great course to practice your mid range and putter shots off the tee box. Great course to learn on.
Cons: Big groups that slow down the play. Some holes are close to tee boxes so you need to wait sometimes to throw. 2 holes criscross so if there are people playing one of the holes you will need to wait.
Other Thoughts: I live very close to Oak Grove and rarely play this course due to the crowds. Sometime you will get lucky and be the only person out there. Mornings are a great time to play the course. There are back tees for each hole if you want to play 18. I like to play jungle golf a lot at this course to make it more interesting.

 

1    8/12/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the baskets are open so there is a chance to ace some of the shots.
Very shady.
Quick to play.
Cons: Too congested. On several holes you have to wait for other players to play before you can shoot. Two of the holes actually cross each other.
Course has been changed a few times but the tee boxes haven't changed to reflect that so you have to search for a few of the baskets before you shoot.
Easy to throw a disc into someones fenced in backyard.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short!

5+    6/20/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Quick - You can literally finish in 20 minutes. I live north of town, so we play it 4 or 5 times in a row, or on the way home from playing something further south

2. Well designed, there are some pretty tough holes, all are short so it makes it easy to salvage a par after you nail a tree on the 1st shot.

3. Concrete pads are still in pretty good shape

4. The people in the houses surrounding are all super nice, and occasionally cheer for a good shot, which is always fun!
Cons: 1. Course is old, and short, it's fun for that reason, but some people might not find it challenging.

2. They have changed the course layout several times, so there are two tee boxes that face the wrong way, one is no big deal, but the other is ok.

3. The baskets suck balls(but that does make it more challenging) and it's normally pretty busy. There's always a couple idiots drinking or smoking weed, but it comes with the territory.

4. The signs aren't helpful at all, but you can still find your way.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, it feels good to play if for no other reason than it forces you to really work on your approach shots. There are only three very long shots, the whole thing is quick, and fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most boring course ever

1    5/14/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Hossinburger
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros? Well you can fit 3 rounds in one hour. You can't loose your disc. The course does make good use of what its got area-wise.
Cons: Very boring. Flat with a couple of trees equals no fun. Not challenging at all. I did play with a couple guys who knew the alternates which did make things a bit more challenging. Overall, I would never go out of my way again to play there. Also, the signs and baskets were worn and dated. The local gov't needs to update they're parks badly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.