Springfield, MO 
Oak Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice for a quick round

5+    2/2/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of park space, all 9 holes (and extended 18) fit in this very compact course very nicely.

There is always a decent crowd (both in quantity and quality) so you can join up with friendly locals pretty easily.

EVERY hole is ace-able so there is a chance to get excited on every tee shot.

Good use of mature trees add some difficulty to a very short course.
Cons: The course is incredibly short, and you wont be testing your whole bag here. A putter and a mid range will give you all the distance you could possibly need here.

The course floor is pretty worn down meaning your discs will skip for days! (could be a positive if your looking for those sorts of aces)

can get crowded enough that you have to wait on other groups pretty frequently (especially if you or another group is trying to play the back 9 which all go to a pin being occupied by the front 9)
Other Thoughts: its a great place to go to practice approach after approach. You could get through this course in 30 min no problem, so its great practice for your pitch n' putt if your tight on time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than it looks on paper

2-4    1/7/2011   1/11/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Massive oak trees make this course what it is. They are sprawling, large, and their limbs can create a low ceiling to throw under.

2) Massive concrete tees add the the quality of this course because the sandy soil when wet could be slippery and soft when really wet.

3) Some might consider the hard fast greens with no turf to be a negative, but I kindof like it. It really makes you think twice about an ace run and about going for longer putts. You can easily get an additional 10-20' on a missed putt with no turf, and drives can easily skip as opposed to digging into the turf. I like it because all of the greens are pretty consitant.

4) Beginner friendly course because it is mostly open. I always appreciate a course that caters to all.

5) Garbage cans at the parking lot . . .I thoroughly enjoyed watching the squirrels climb down the trees and into the garbage cans looking for food.

6) This course can be played quickly. I played two discs simultaneously and finished in under 30 minutes.
Cons: 1) Turf is thin and compact from years of use. Supposedly one of the oldest courses in MO.

2) Some of the concrete tees are a little damaged and cracked.

3) DGA signs are old and some are worn off. Hole #7 sign is missing altogether.

4) 5 and 6 fairways cross and create a bottleneck in the corner of the park when they could easily not cross and still have 2 good holes back there.

5) Concrete sleeves around the baskets are rasied, will do damage, and can affect some shots as they come in.

6) Shallow Mach baskets that have lots of damage and inconsistancy and do not always catch that well. S hooks create the inner rings after being welded or attached to the baskets. They are helpful but at the same time somewhat inconsistant. These chains do not have a ring holding them in their place at the bottom, which would help tremendously in how they catch.

7) It seemed like a few of the holes were redesigned and because of the baskets being moved the tees are not pointed the right direction.

8) A little close to a few fences and houses, but you really shouldn't throw outisde the fence areas unless something freakish happens. Regardless, I have a feeling that is why the course had to be redesigned, because of errant throws ending up in their properties.
Other Thoughts: This course has a fairly high rating despite its poor condition. It is still fun to play despite all of its issues because you have to plan your route on each hole. They are mostly hyzer holes but not all of them so you do need to execute a couple different shots to score well.

This is not an outstanding course by any means, but it still can be fun. Just another course played for me, and it was close to my hotel so I chose this one over any of the others in the area.

I got out of my car, and started walking to find the first tee and saw a penny on the ground. I bent down to pick it up and accidentally set off my car alarm with the panic button, so I apologize to any locals who live right there.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Good

5+    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The nine holes and short-drives make this a perfect go-and-throw course if you have a half-hour or so. The mature trees are spaced apart, but still can pose a challenge. The concrete pads are great, but sometimes point the wrong way (see Cons).

The course is in the back 2/3 of the park and most non-DGers stay in the front 1/3 where the playground equipment is, so most days, the only people to worry about are the other golfers. I don't think I've ever played when there weren't at least one group ahead and one group behind me.
Cons: Because the course is so old, some of the holes have been moved from their original location, so the concrete tee pads sometimes point in a different direction than the hole, giving you a shortened pad to throw from.

Very flat, so no hills or valleys for variety. The ground is extremely hard, especially in the 10-15 feet around the holes, so a disc that might drop and stop at another course will skip, roll and slide here for several feet. In addition to the ground being hard, it is made up of fine dust which sticks to discs and can interfere with your grip, so bring along a towel and use it frequently.

The signage desperately needs updating and I suspect that the distances aren't accurate, especially on the holes that have been moved.

The park is surrounded closely by homes, but only one hole (#7) poses a real threat of a disc being thrown into a yard, as long as you're not WAY off on a drive.
Other Thoughts: The short holes make for great potential birdies and can give you a real boost of confidence.

If you need short-course practice, this is a great place to go.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Moderate amount of trees.
- Lots of shade.
- Concrete pads
Cons: - No distance
- Feels a little squeezed in but not too bad
- Only 9 holes
- Course signs are in bad shape
Other Thoughts: A fun, popular course with lots of shade.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short allowing for quick rounds just to get your DG fix

great for beginners, or to work on your short game

not a bad course usually not real busy
Cons: in my opinion its too short could play with just a putter and shoot par

back yards can make you play a little conservative
Other Thoughts: #5 basket got moved sometime between may and aug had me confused

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course

2-4    7/28/2003   7/28/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great to bring a beginner to
-Nice park
Cons: -Neighbors backyards back up to the course, you have to be mindful of not letting your disc go over a fence
-Lots of people walking around in the park not paying attention to the discs whizzing by their heads
Other Thoughts: It's been awhile since I have played this course, but it was one of the first courses I played on while I was working at a summer camp so I remember it fondly

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/26/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is easy to follow .It has nice driving pads and there's no brush or cedar trees to loose your discs in. Great corse for beginners or if you just have some time to kill. Its in a great genral location really easy to find.
Cons: There are a few signs missing in the back of corse. The signs that are there are hard to read. And there are no signs telling you where the course begins.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot being from CA. The humidity was a killer. We went in the evening and there was no one there outher than another cuple playing so that's how we found the first tee.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's dream

2-4    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 145  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well marked course with easy layout. Decent tee markers and the baskets also have numbers. This course is nestled between houses in a small park. The course layout is good enough that you don't really have to worry about throwing your disc into a backyard. Great for beginners and kids.
Cons: Multi use park. Usually very busy. Bathrooms are Johnny on the spots. Very heavy leaf cover on the ground in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course for me and my 10 year old son. Experience players probably would not enjoy this course unless they want to increase their chance for an ace.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flashback To Da Past

1    6/14/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is 9 holes in a small residential area. These are all straight-ahead, semi-short, and wide-open holes. This is a simple back and forth layout with old tree shade. The tee signs were recently updated with some nice hand drawn maps. The layout is simple enough to follow along. There are some mystery alternate tees that the locals were telling me about. They use the same baskets to make a "make-shift" back 9 that they use for their league.
Cons: This place is very crowded most of the time. This was actually the most people I have ever seen on one course at one time. The holes are not challenging enough to keep the boredom from setting in. There is no bathroom or trashcans. The park is not well maintained, but at the same time, there is enough of it shaded that the grass does not grow that tall here. This course seems to be constantly evolving. Two of the holes have changed distances from the new tee signs already.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK for me. Nothing unique or exciting about this place and the holes all seemed about the same. It is worth seeing a 70's style course at least once, but I doubt I would make a 2nd trip back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    4/3/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: ajdovepin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent woods protection on the right side of almost every hole makes for nice sidearm practice.

Cons: Too short. Too many leaves come fall. People walk their dogs here, and don't really care much about disc golfers for some reason.

Other Thoughts: Got my only ace ever here. Also lost that ace disc later in the round to a dog... Ripped to shreds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.