Springfield, MO 
Oak Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 171ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Beginner's dream

2-4    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 152  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well marked course with easy layout. Decent tee markers and the baskets also have numbers. This course is nestled between houses in a small park. The course layout is good enough that you don't really have to worry about throwing your disc into a backyard. Great for beginners and kids.
Cons: Multi use park. Usually very busy. Bathrooms are Johnny on the spots. Very heavy leaf cover on the ground in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course for me and my 10 year old son. Experience players probably would not enjoy this course unless they want to increase their chance for an ace.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flashback To Da Past

1    6/14/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is 9 holes in a small residential area. These are all straight-ahead, semi-short, and wide-open holes. This is a simple back and forth layout with old tree shade. The tee signs were recently updated with some nice hand drawn maps. The layout is simple enough to follow along. There are some mystery alternate tees that the locals were telling me about. They use the same baskets to make a "make-shift" back 9 that they use for their league.
Cons: This place is very crowded most of the time. This was actually the most people I have ever seen on one course at one time. The holes are not challenging enough to keep the boredom from setting in. There is no bathroom or trashcans. The park is not well maintained, but at the same time, there is enough of it shaded that the grass does not grow that tall here. This course seems to be constantly evolving. Two of the holes have changed distances from the new tee signs already.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK for me. Nothing unique or exciting about this place and the holes all seemed about the same. It is worth seeing a 70's style course at least once, but I doubt I would make a 2nd trip back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    4/3/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: ajdovepin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent woods protection on the right side of almost every hole makes for nice sidearm practice.

Cons: Too short. Too many leaves come fall. People walk their dogs here, and don't really care much about disc golfers for some reason.

Other Thoughts: Got my only ace ever here. Also lost that ace disc later in the round to a dog... Ripped to shreds.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good warm up

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course with interesting short shots. Enough trees to keep it challenging. Would be a nice neighborhood course, but not worth driving to.
Cons: Hole signs are often wrong. A little scary with drives close to houses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

2-4    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: Parablehead
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course if you want to get nine holes in in a half hour after work. This was the first course I ever played on, so I have a fondness for it.
Cons: Neighborhood houses with lots of plate glass windows border the park and made me antsy about my throws. Not all of the holes are clearly marked. Also, the last time I played on it (in the middle of the week -- but not on league night) there were an inexplicably large number of people playing, which made for some interesting disc-dodging moments.
Other Thoughts: Solid course in the middle of town -- easy to get to from any number of campuses.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simple Fun

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice little neighborhood course. It was in a well kept park, with amazing trees. Wasn't busy when we played.
Cons: Short, simple. Do look out for all the back and forth/zigzagging going on between multiple parties.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had one of these in my neighborhood. It provided some easy, throw back fun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your putter

5+    5/7/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old course. It dates back to 1979, so it has a lot of history. The course flowed well. It was easy to find your way around.
Cons: Like a lot of old courses, it has not held up very well. A lot of the trees the course was originally designed around have been cut down. The holes are short, and the area is land-locked with no way to expand. A lot of the baskets are very near back yards, so I'm sure the neighbors have a lot of problem with people retrieving discs from their yards. They promote throwing from established tees to alternate baskets to create additional shots, so you can be putting at a basket and have some yahoo throw at you from a completely different direction.
Other Thoughts: Old courses that were designed for Midnight Flyers obviously will not be liked by players who want to let 'er rip, but if you break out your putter you can have a good time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.