Springfield, MO 
Oak Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #5 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Good warm up

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: beaker
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course with interesting short shots. Enough trees to keep it challenging. Would be a nice neighborhood course, but not worth driving to.
Cons: Hole signs are often wrong. A little scary with drives close to houses.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Course

2-4    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: Parablehead
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course if you want to get nine holes in in a half hour after work. This was the first course I ever played on, so I have a fondness for it.
Cons: Neighborhood houses with lots of plate glass windows border the park and made me antsy about my throws. Not all of the holes are clearly marked. Also, the last time I played on it (in the middle of the week -- but not on league night) there were an inexplicably large number of people playing, which made for some interesting disc-dodging moments.
Other Thoughts: Solid course in the middle of town -- easy to get to from any number of campuses.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simple Fun

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice little neighborhood course. It was in a well kept park, with amazing trees. Wasn't busy when we played.
Cons: Short, simple. Do look out for all the back and forth/zigzagging going on between multiple parties.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had one of these in my neighborhood. It provided some easy, throw back fun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your putter

5+    5/7/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old course. It dates back to 1979, so it has a lot of history. The course flowed well. It was easy to find your way around.
Cons: Like a lot of old courses, it has not held up very well. A lot of the trees the course was originally designed around have been cut down. The holes are short, and the area is land-locked with no way to expand. A lot of the baskets are very near back yards, so I'm sure the neighbors have a lot of problem with people retrieving discs from their yards. They promote throwing from established tees to alternate baskets to create additional shots, so you can be putting at a basket and have some yahoo throw at you from a completely different direction.
Other Thoughts: Old courses that were designed for Midnight Flyers obviously will not be liked by players who want to let 'er rip, but if you break out your putter you can have a good time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.