Holdenville, OK 
Stroup Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent 9 hole course

2-4    5/17/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained and clean.
There is a small amount of water threat here with the pond and the little stream that runs beside holes 2 and 3. Flow is logical.
There are other amenities here like a playground.
Beginner friendly course.
Rounds will play quickly here.
Here are my observations:
1-slight downhill shot
2-shot over the pond
3-basket is guarded by a couple of pine trees
4-dog leg left around a group of trees
5-has moderate length
6-has trees upon approach
7-mostly open hole
8-slight uphill(very slight)
9-low ceiling shot upon approach
Cons: 2 and 6 tee markers were missing upon my visit.
The pole was still there for 2, but 6 was nowhere to be found.
Some holes throw over a walking path so be careful.
Most of the holes are flat and open so shot variety here is lacking in spots.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed a nice relaxing round here on a recent roadtrip. This isn't a destination course by any means but its one of those places where you would go if you were just starting out or you wanted to introduce someone new to the sport. Also its a good place to work on your short game as well.
With that said if you are in the area give this course a play. The designer(s) did use what was available as best that could be done so a tip of the hat to them for that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

reasonable pitch and putt

2-4    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good Baskets
-Nice, well maintained park with lots of flowers
-water hazards
-clean- No garbage all over the place. this is huge for Oklahoma. Also, the creek water was clear which is very rare in Oklahoma.
-tee signs were OK. Gave you a decent idea of where the basket and next tee were
-easy - good course for a beginner or a quick and low stress round
-not much foot traffic in the park
Cons: -no tee pads
-not very challenging - even your average player will probably find this course to be too short and easy
-not much hole variety. Most of the holes were a straight shot or a RHBH hyzer shot. I played the whole thing 2x and finished -10 overall with just a putter and mid range. (Vibram rules!)
-one of the tee signs was moved and erased. which, since there are no tee pads, makes it difficult to find the tee area.
Other Thoughts: Just kind of a little fun course for someone looking to work on their short game or play a very quick and easy round. I would recommend going to Seminole to play the 18 there instead, if I were in the area looking for a course.

making the creek and pond OB would make the course more challenging but it does not mention them on the tee signs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over the Creek

1    6/4/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great 2-chain DGA baskets
Good Teesigns (except 6 & 8)
Solid Grass Tees
Good bridges where needed
Some variety
A couple uphill a couple downhill
Some left/straight/right
Good use of the Creek
Great use of available trees
Navigatiion is easy/logical
Next Tee arrows on Tee signs
Beginner friendly
Very little chance of losing a disc unless you shank hole 2 or overthrow 6 by 150 ft.
Great place to work on Midrange/putter game
Great lunchbreak course
Great place to take a family
Playground and Pool for the Kiddoes or Wife
Restrooms near the pool
Plenty of parking
Cons: Short
Grass Tees
Most Tees were too close to the previous basket
Couldn't find #8's teesign
#6 Teesign has been moved to right next to the basket (vandals??)
Holds a little water right after a rain
No real chances to stretch out a driver
Walking path in play a lot (not busy)
#9 plays across a ball field/practice area
No benches/trashcans in the DG area
Other Thoughts: Overall this course has very little challenge and some fun. A good park to practice in or take beginners to. They used/fit the available area very well. This is a decent/typical park course, for what that means.

My Disc Rating is based heavily on "fun factor," which this park has some of. Then I bump it up or down based on amenities.

If I'm in the area, I will stop and play it again. But, I wouldn't drive much distance at all, unless just to add to my course count.

PM me and let me know how my reviews could be more "helpful."

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Well, That Was Fun

1    6/4/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very new DGA baskets. They caught well.

Easy to follow the flow. Nicely laid out.

A couple of interesting holes to set this course apart from your basic 9 holer.

Plenty of parking and other city park amenities.
Cons: DO NOT PLAY HERE IF CROWDED AT ALL! Most pads are very near the previous basket, creating some danger if others are playing. Also, holes 8 and 9 play across a baseball area.

Course did not drain well. Also, a couple of sewage man holes were overflowing.

Course is very short. Challenge is next to zero.

Signs were missing for a couple holes and the pads were pretty poorly marked.

Other Thoughts: This is a nice place to bring young children to play. Serious discers should look elsewhere. I enjoyed playing here. Any course is better than nothing, right?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.