Spring, TX 
Northside Christian Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #13 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great mix

2-4    11/18/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are like jet runways
Baskets are excellent DGA in perfect condition
Opportunities for birdies although the shorter holes can show their teeth.
A few chances to let it rip.
Very fair rightie leftie mix with lines that reward a well controlled shot.
Cons: The 5,6,7 stretch offers 3 really nice birdie holes, but the hike disrupts the flow of the round.
Course grooming is not there yet.
Other Thoughts: That bramble on the right hand side of 2 is nasty, I crashed into it both times i played. Ouch!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fair and Balanced

5+    8/22/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off being that I helped design this course my opinion of it might be a little biased, but I can confidently say you won't find a more fair playing, balanced course in all of Houston.

An exciting aspect of this course is even before this course was a "9" holer it still had 18 legit disc golf holes on it, 9 "A" tees and 9 "B" tees which were all good holes and all but 1 are still on the property and perfectly playable. Thus, including some new alternate tee boxes on the new holes, you have essentially 30+ holes of great golf you can play on the same property.

As other reviewers have also stated, a lot of time and effort was made to make sure there were no "throw and pray" holes on this course. Every hole whether its leftie or righty friendly, is fair with actual disc golf lines.

Hole by Hole Breakdown

Hole 1 - 684' Par 4 - Hole 1 is a beast, it plays along the major culvert that runs the through the property with creek and beyond being OB to your right. This extends the entire length of the fairway along with a road on your left being OB the entire length of the fairway as well. The fairway itself is actually pretty wide, at just about 30 yards, but half of it is on the decline of the culvert, thus if you don't land on top your next shot, is a "bunker" shot. This is one of my favorite features of this hole, giving it a ball golf like feel. The Pin resides up and slightly to the left under a nice canopy of trees, providing a cool green.

Hole 2 - 279' Par 3 - Playing along the furthest north section of the church property, it is bordered on the left by a gravel road which plays OB, the Pin is slightly up to the right about 40 feet from a large tree. As is a common theme on the first 6 holes of this course OB can bite you but so can the rough on the right which is very dense. This is flick and leftie friendly but a competent righty can get it up there.

Hole 3 - 321' Par 3 - Offering two options off the tee, this hole has hazards on the left and right with the path on the left being OB and beyond and on the right with a road being OB.

Hole 4 - 336' Par 3 - Another hole offering two paths to the basket, this hole brings OB into play beyond the basket, road and beyond.

Hole 5 (The Elephant) - 231' Par 3 - At first glance this hole may seem simple but perils abound. A path comes into play off the tee, with it and all grass to the right of it being OB, also a mando tree, preventing shots over the playground, about 70 off the teebox forces an anny or flick shot for right handed players. Finally a parking lot about 60 feet behind and to the left of the basket brings OB into play again. Be sure to pay a visit to the baby elephant tree that resides about 10 feet off the box on the left and his Momma down by the basket.

Hole 6 (The Fountain) - 225' Par 3 - Another shorty with a ton of hazards, this hole has been described as the "Signature Hole" of the course, due to its beauty,uniqueness and overall aesthetic appeal. The shot itself isn't complicated, a straight shot with a mid or putter. The hazards come in the forms of a pond and fountain off the box, which when on provides a neat feature and something to think about. The next hazards are the two mandos on opposing trees on the left and right of the pond clearly marked. They are there to eliminate shots out over the church's busy entrance on the left and shots out over the property of a Vet clinic to the right. Once by these obstacles, trees form two lines to the basket and OB resides about 30 feet behind the basket.

Hole 7 - 254' Par 3 - A RHBH hyzer shot with two possible lines, either the inside "skinny" gap or a larger one on the outside.

Hole 8 - 321' Par 3 - Tough RHBH turnover/flickshot over a dry culvert to a shaded green.

Hole 9 - Approximate Distance 312' Par3 - This is the first hole that leads back into the new heavily wooded area of the course and it's a doozy. When not super dry you start off by throwing over a pond trying to hit two possible gaps. One is a lefty straight to hyzer shot the other is a RHBH straight shot, both lines are fair but tough. The hole ends with an elevated green shaded by beautiful big pines and oak trees.

Hole 10 - 225' Par3 - Some holes don't need to br long to be tough and this is one of them. It's short, tight fair turnover/flick hole with an elevated green.

Hole 11 - 291' Par 3 - Arguably the toughest of the three holes in the woods, this hole is a longer tougher version of hits little brother 10. OB on the right over the fence.

Hole 12 - 312' Par 3 - Using the same culvert as 8, this hole requires an accurate shot off the tee to hit two right turning gaps to a shaded green.

Hole 13 - 276' Par 3 - One of the few "gimme" holes on the course. It offers lefty or righty lines to the basket. Just watch out on windy days, that culvert can get ya. OB to the left in parking lot and behind the basket over the barbed wire fence.

Hole 14 - Approximate Distance 585' Par 4 - Combining old holes 5 and 6, this new Par 4 is the "easiest" of the 3 par 4's on the course but still offers many challenges. With an OB parking lot the left and OB fence on right an errant teeshot can cost you. The hole finishes slightly off to the right towards the back corner of the property.

Hole 15 - 393' Par 3 - Staying with the common theme of this course there are multiple lines to the basket on this full bodied Par 3. Big arms can go outside on the big RHBH Hyzer or more daring players can go inside with the straight, lefty or flick line.

Hole 16 - 429' Par 3 - A birdie hole for big arms, this hole allows you to rip it without too much penalty, just be sure to get through the two big trees in front you ;)

Hole 17 - 291' Par 3 - Golfers will notice the lattice work on this hole that prevents the hyzer line. This is done to prevent errant shots to hit people on hole 18's teebox. The path plays as a creek and only shots on it are OB. Green is elevated and can be hairy with a good wind.

Hole 18 684' Par 4 - One could say we saved the best for last on 18. 1 is arguably a Lefty friendly Par 4 and this is its evil Righty twin. Using the same culvert as 1 does all shots in or past the creek are OB. Also the parking lot and all concrete on the hole play as OB. Getting a 3 on this hole is a true test of a golfers skills and Pro's and Am's alike will be happy to get it.






Cons: Flow can be a little wonky from 5-6 but 6 is definitely worth the walk.
Other Thoughts: NSCC is my favorite course in Houston PERIOD. It offers the most balanced, varied play experience in the area. It also sits right between Windwood and Spring Valley, making it the perfect compliment to both and for a great day of disc golf. Finally everyone who goes out there should thank the church and appreciate what they have allowed us to do (paid for everything!!!!). Only through them would this have ever happened. NSCC Rocks!!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Grand Redesign

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The 18-hole course for this church that I had been hearing about is finally here! And it does not disappoint. This course was good when it was nine holes. It is now great as an 18-hole course. Some of the multiple tees could be even retained on some of the older holes so as to be in use on them. Hole 1 is 670 feet and plays to the edge of the picnic area on the north side of the grounds. There are some OB areas, but well-placed shots should keep you out of trouble. This hole is mostly open. Holes 2 through 5 play in and around the picnic area and through the trees. Excellent technical set-up. Only problem I see is when a church function is being held and they might have to close that part of the course. All are around 300 feet except for hole 5, which is 228 and all are good birdie holes. Then there is a slightly longer walk over to the south side of the main drive for hole 6. This one is my favorite hole overall. It contains a pond that covers at least 100 feet of the fairway for 6 and is a good initial throw challenge. Then the thrower progresses to an older part of the course. Hole 7 is the old hole 1 and hole 8 is the old hole 2 and also still has the multiple long and short tees. Holes 9 through 11 play back in the woods and are some of the best technical holes I have seen on just about any course. Some thought must be put into every shot since these fairways are tight and an errant shot could put you in the brush easy. All of the newer holes are marked by a number and distance on a stump, while the older holes retain the original signs that came with them. They are just renumbered. Hole 12 is the old hole 4 that plays over the retention pond back of the maintenance barn. Hole 13 is the old hole 5 that plays to the basket on the north side of the retention pond. Hole 14 uses hole 6's old tees but has been expanded to a par 4 607 foot hole and there is a bonus: there are trees and bushes to dodge. This one is my second favorite here. Hole 15 is the old hole 7 and is 449 feet. both long and short tees are present on this one as well. Hole 16 is the old hole 8 and 17 is the old hole 9. All of these are mostly open and have the long and short tees as well. Hole 18 is a par 4 707 foot hole and plays to a basket that is just a few feet from the practice basket. It is numbered and should not be too confusing.
Cons: If there are any cons for this course it might be that not all tees are concrete as yet. I am pretty used to playing courses with mixed tees so this proves no problem for me. Navigation between holes 5, 6, and 7 are somewhat muddled, but printing out the map on this site should help.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to add to the list of great courses on the north side to play. I had heard this course was being expanded to 18 holes and this redesign is one of the best I have seen yet. This one is worth the drive to play and should give Windwood Presbyterian DGC and Spring Valley DGC some competition in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the top rated 9 hole courses in the country is now an 18 hole course with most of the original tee and pin placements present on the course as well as new holes that are as well thought out as the original.

This course has a ton of variety. There are three huge long holes on the course, longer then any hole on any course you will find in the area. There are four new wooded holes that demand an accurate drive and not just throwing your disc as hard as you can in the area of the basket. I felt as if all 18 holes were all well thought out and there are no holes that were "filler" holes.

The church property is beautiful and the baskets are all brand new and the course is always in great shape.
Cons: A huge con I feel if that this course plays right up against the church on holes 2-5. Obviously, the church allowed the expansion of the course but I could not help that I may have been invading.

There is a long walk from Hole 5 to the Hole 6 over the water then a long walk from 6 to 7. Hole 6 is a very fun hole so I can say that the walk is okay.

Hole 1 and Hole 18 are two of the longer holes. They both play with the creek on the right and the road or parking lot like on 18 to the left; The basket of hole 1 actually wraps around the road. This can prove to be dangerous with parked cars or unsuspecting cars driving b.
Other Thoughts: I am super excited to see this course 18 holes and I think it is a great expansion. Concrete tees, tee signs are coming so those were not part of my review. When they are in I will come back and say in my review.

Also the new wooded holes are a bit rough with freshly cut down trees. Again, this course is brand new and is still a work in progress so I did not deduct the downed trees off the review because as of right now they do not interfere much with play and they will be cleared soon.

All in all there are now three great 18 hole courses within 8 miles of each other. I would rank this course ahead of Spring Valley but I would still prefer and recommend Windwood Church over this.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.