Fort Morgan, CO
Optimist DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChevelleChevy   (Taken 5/2013)
Course Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Perfect for Tourneys!

2-4    9/15/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 35  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I go into this review, I want to preface that when I played here it was set up for the Colorado State Championships, but the layout was more or less the same. I had a great time competing (and losing!)

---The front 5 holes are well-groomed, fast greens with amazing teepads.
---The following 16 holes are good as well, incoporating a lot of the natural vegetation to increase the challenge
---Hole 5 (my favorite hole) is the signature hole, with a huge pond right off the teepad that required either a monster arm or a good hyzer lay-up
---Excellent flow between holes, with simple but effective, tee signs to guide you
---Good teepads, which couldn't have been easy to install out in the woods
---A good variety of shots
---Even at 21 holes, it's a pretty quick play
Cons: ---Overly generous pars
---Hole 5 should probably be skipped by begginers, or you may be suffering some heartbreaking disc loss
---TONS of non-disc golf traffic, as this is really the only big public park in town (on the weekend we played the State Championships, there was also a cross-country meet going on)
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course, tucked way back away from Denver. I'm not sure how much use it gets because of this, but it's worth a drive out to if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great flow from hole to hole. The course plays extremely well with its space and environment. Most holes are short to mid range holes with shaped throws required. Most holes are guarded from easy approaches. The tee pads are some of the most usable I've ever played with the grating on them preventing slipping in wet conditions.
Cons: Most holes are very short. Course pars are a bit excessively family friendly. All holes are securely par 3's. The few long holes are a bit confusing your first time through with more than one hole visible in the direction given by the tee pads. A quick walk and some logical choices will get you were you need to go.
Other Thoughts: This is really a different course for what Colorado tends to offer. The front range courses being very up and down and open this course is a short skill shot course. Most holes play long open but into treed and brushy areas especially into the ladder part of the course. Bring some creativity with your shot selection and the course is very fun quick play. Those playing with years of experience under your belt this is a straight 3's course. even the longer drive holes are reachable with a second shot and short putt. Great overall play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: dborrego
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick, challenging, easy to follow, well kept.
Cons: Every hole on this course should be a par 3 but I guess they are trying to make it beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through town on my way to Oklahoma and stopped to get some fresh air and stretch my legs. Im glad I did, I was able to play all 21 holes under 2 hours. It has lots of short holes with guarded baskets. I will definitely play it again on my way back to work.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So/So

2-4    7/9/2010   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has a few shots that will challenge even the best of players.
Cons: Much of the fairways or what should be deemed a fairway is considerably overgrown.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray. The mosquitoes in the summer are bad for Colorado standards due to all of the stagnant water in and around this park.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    6/23/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Vintageskis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like that it goes from well groomed grassy park like setting into a more rugged rough course half way though. Great long drives with a few potential ace holes. Great bird watching and very scenic course.
Cons: Bring bug spray, we got eaten up!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not The Expected

1    6/4/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads that are very consistent from hole to hole. These may be my favorite tee pads that I have seen or played on. Nice tee signs on every hole. Good variety of holes from the nice long open holes to the super short and technical holes to those holes that are somewhere in between. The little elevation change that is there is well used. There are a couple of baskets sitting at the top of hills just waiting to punish a bad putt. Good use of maintained park area for the first 8 holes. Well maintained course in general. Was not busy, even on a Saturday morning. Good baskets in general. Good signage when next hole was not obvious. Sits on the side of a very nice park with many ammenities, including a really nice bathroom that can be accessed after hole 7 and 12.
Cons: The hole signs themselves were put right into the tee pad making them significanly less functional for lefties. Some signs were missing though there were usually sharpie information on the wood pole that used to hold said signs. Some holes were so short that they did not really add anything to the course, though there is a tournament layout that negates said holes. The grass can get high after hole 8. Hole 8 is really tough for those who are scared of water, especially if you play tournament OB lines. Par on the signs is not accurate, there is really nothing more than par 3's on this course.
Other Thoughts: I am about to play this course for an A tier PDGA tournament in June that was been going on for several years. It is a great little course and has a lot of character to it. Still this is not necessarily a difficult course but it has moments when you might not want to be a beginner on this course. While hole 8 is definately a signature hole, it is also the reason you might not want to play the course. The course really is out there in the middle of no where being in Fort Morgan, but if you are passing by it is defiantely worth a play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Take the drive to this little gem

2-4    4/16/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a well thought out great course. Nice tee pads and signs. The first nine holes start off in well groomed park setting. The course ends in a nice lay-out wooded area.
Cons: No place to fill up your water bottle.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the park. Really looking foward to the Pessimist course in June at the HPC.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course worth the drive

2-4    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course begins, like most other reviewers stated, in a grassy area and moves to a more rugged area of the park with large cottonwoods and natural vegetation. Each hole is different and provides a shot variety of hyzer, straight, anhyzer, short, long and in between. There is a good mix of decent birdie opportunities mixed in with the holes you have to fight for the three. There are a few holes that go near a pond, but only two holes are really a problem. Those are holes 7 & 8. Hole 4 can be a problem if you go long, but if you stay near the basket you should have a birdie. Hole 5 is the only shot where elevation comes in to play being a long hole shooting uphill then slightly downhill to the pin. This course forced you to throw lines instead of just open bomb after open bomb that some of the Colorado courses have. There were enough trees to provide obstacles, but not too much that a good shot wouldn't make it to the basket. I have played courses where the same exact shot can be thrown twice in a row and the slightest breeze can change the entire play of the hole. The course is well maintained. The natural area holes had the weeds/natural grasses cut. Not too big of chance of loosing a disc here if you stay clear of the water. Each hole has nice tees that provided grip. Each basket has a little tab on the rim that points to the next hole. This helped a bit because the map we had seems to not reflect some changes to the course.
Cons: The course must have been updated recently and while the tee signs and baskets have been moved to accommodate this, our map was a little off and has us second guessing a few hole. I can see hole 1 being hard to play if there is baseball game going on in the park. This hole shoots on a very narrow line down an OB parking lot that could fill up if there was a game. A few of the redesigned holes had hand drawn tee signs. Some of the lengths on the tee signs seemed off as most of the holes played shorter than the sign.
Other Thoughts: I am looking forward to being able to play this course at the 2011 High plains Challenge. I also want to play the Pessimist course that the club sets up out here. There seems to be room for more. None of the holes seemed crammed. We had been talking about coming to play this course for a while and I am glad we finally made the trip. This course is well worth the drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Technical disc fun

1    7/13/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 116  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts off in a groomed grassy park for the first 8 holes and then weaves it's way through a Cottonwood forest for the remaining holes. Two of the holes border the pond in the park and are very easy to lose a disc in. The holes in the Cottonwood forest all seem to have at least two sets of trees to get by before the basket making this a very challenging course. The tee pads are some of the best I've seen yet with lots of texture and plenty of room.
Cons: The day I played it seems as if someone had been tweaking the layout of the course. Many of the holes didn't match the tee signs. Two of the holes seemed to be brand new adjustments with no tee boxes at all, but they were neat challenging holes. I've uploaded a photo of the course map I found at tee 1 with it's long list of complicated adjustments. Hopefully things will get sorted out before too long.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the hour drive from Denver. Make a road trip out of it and hit the fine course in Sterling as well for a weekend of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the drive

5+    4/18/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 76  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large tee pads that you won't slip on really help you drive. Several holes are long enough to make this a huge plus. The course starts off in a groomed community park and ventures off into a more rugged area with plenty of large cottonwood trees. No two holes are exactly same type of shot or look entirely the same. There are long turnover drives, tight tunnel type shots and long bombs through the forest. One water hazard in the form of a small pond comes into play on holes 4, 6, 7 and 8. The long hole 5 will become more and more difficult as tthere are several small trees in the fairway. Right now they are small enough to soar over but they keep creeping higher. Hole 17 is one of my faves as you shoot across a 300 something foot clearing to a pin that is guarded by a large cotton wood stand. It seems as though this course has something for everyone. There are picnic pavilions at the park for a between rounds meal. Almost every hole has a bench to sit and rest your legs on. Tee signs on every tee box add to navigational ease. I have not met one person that has played and disliked this course.
Cons: The back half can be rugged in spots, so dress appropriately; meaning there are thistles and tall grass throughout the back side(13 holes). Bring water for the long course journey. Kiss your disc goodbye if you end up in the cattails on #8. A few holes had the tee sign either too close or actually in the tee box area, not too much of a problem though.
Other Thoughts: This course is more fun every time I shoot it. Well worth the drive from Greeley for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.