Fort Morgan, CO 
Optimist DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChevelleChevy Hole #7 (Taken 5/2013)
4 / 293ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Technical disc fun

1    7/13/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts off in a groomed grassy park for the first 8 holes and then weaves it's way through a Cottonwood forest for the remaining holes. Two of the holes border the pond in the park and are very easy to lose a disc in. The holes in the Cottonwood forest all seem to have at least two sets of trees to get by before the basket making this a very challenging course. The tee pads are some of the best I've seen yet with lots of texture and plenty of room.
Cons: The day I played it seems as if someone had been tweaking the layout of the course. Many of the holes didn't match the tee signs. Two of the holes seemed to be brand new adjustments with no tee boxes at all, but they were neat challenging holes. I've uploaded a photo of the course map I found at tee 1 with it's long list of complicated adjustments. Hopefully things will get sorted out before too long.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the hour drive from Denver. Make a road trip out of it and hit the fine course in Sterling as well for a weekend of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the drive

5+    4/18/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large tee pads that you won't slip on really help you drive. Several holes are long enough to make this a huge plus. The course starts off in a groomed community park and ventures off into a more rugged area with plenty of large cottonwood trees. No two holes are exactly same type of shot or look entirely the same. There are long turnover drives, tight tunnel type shots and long bombs through the forest. One water hazard in the form of a small pond comes into play on holes 4, 6, 7 and 8. The long hole 5 will become more and more difficult as tthere are several small trees in the fairway. Right now they are small enough to soar over but they keep creeping higher. Hole 17 is one of my faves as you shoot across a 300 something foot clearing to a pin that is guarded by a large cotton wood stand. It seems as though this course has something for everyone. There are picnic pavilions at the park for a between rounds meal. Almost every hole has a bench to sit and rest your legs on. Tee signs on every tee box add to navigational ease. I have not met one person that has played and disliked this course.
Cons: The back half can be rugged in spots, so dress appropriately; meaning there are thistles and tall grass throughout the back side(13 holes). Bring water for the long course journey. Kiss your disc goodbye if you end up in the cattails on #8. A few holes had the tee sign either too close or actually in the tee box area, not too much of a problem though.
Other Thoughts: This course is more fun every time I shoot it. Well worth the drive from Greeley for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long unique course.

1    3/4/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I nice big course, 21 located in the city park. The disc golf area is somewhat separte from the park meaning that there is not a lot of foot traffic and cars to worry about. The teepads are nice, large, level cement. Baskets were in great shape. Front few holes are open and then tightens up a bit in the middle of the course. Long and short holes with definate birdie/ace potential. Some pins were placed with good use of trees to add to the challenge. Water comes in play on a couple of holes. Appears well maintained, clean and benches throughout the course for a breather.
Cons: There are a few holes with missing signs and thus leads to some confusion but could be figured out fairly easily. Lack of elevation on this course, not like some of the mountain courses in the western half of the state. Some of the shots seemed repetitive. Most of the shots are fairly straight, not much of left or right throws needed. The first few holes seem out of place with the rest of the course as they are placed around a baseball field. If there is a game being played, I would assume the first 4-5 holes would be unplayable.
Other Thoughts: I definately enjoyed my time on this course. I would love to play it in the summer when everything is fully grown, I could see how that would add to the challenge of the back half of the course. Though there are some pretty short holes, a beginner might get frustrated with the trees and longer holes on the back half of the course. I really enjoyed this course and would play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ft. morgan

5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge Teepads, great teesigns. Free camping in park, with power hookup for rv's.
Cons: Bathrooms are run down. weeds get high in summer on course. russian olive.
Other Thoughts: This course starts on a grassy mowed area then moves to a non-maintained area with cottonwood and russian olive to navigate around and through. Course is well marked though and you wont get lost, just need to keep an eye on your disc. Play is long for the most part, big-arms have the advantage as long as you stay on the fairways. Risk/Reward factor for the average pro player is better than most courses. most holes have options to shoot for with higher risk for certain lines, or play it safe...not much elevation change, but the trees make it a real challenge. The city of Ft. Morgan is 100% behind the disc golf community here so it makes it a great place to play at. Right off the freeway with amenities almost within walking distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Optimist

4/1/2008   4/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 21 holes most of them 300+. The front 9 plays in a well a groomed park with the back 12 playing in a jungle of trees and weeds that you would find within a few hundred yards of a river. The signs more than made up for the lack of people to guide you, they show the location of alternate pin locations and the direction of the next tee box. The course as wide open with some trees. Just enough trees so that you can really rip drives out on this course and the baskets are all close enough to trees to still make some skill out of it. The front nine plays in the park and makes use of water.
Cons: The weeds can be rough, if you have allergies like me you will want to take something. Bring mosquito repellant, Ft Morgan is lush and right next to the river. The signage breaks down some in the back twelve but you will still be able to find your way.
Other Thoughts: I heard someone say that its Optimist Park with the back 12 being Pessimist Park, but for me the last 12 really made the course. In fact it felt to me that the course is a strange experience with every hole being more interesting than the hole before it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.