Baytown, TX 
Jenkins Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 486ft.   3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best For Miles Around

1    9/10/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jenkins Park is a great disc golf course and just what this area needed as there are not too many others that are close. I enjoyed my round here. The layout was good for using the land well in the park and had some good challenges throughout. My favorite holes were: # 5 with its throw over the bayou-excellent birdie hole; # 6 which is also an excellent birdie hole. # 9 is a great challenge with its trees in just the right spots, narrow fairway, ob's and elevated basket. # 13 with its "grip and rip" open fairway. And I had to like # 14 as I got birdie with a 100 foot sunk putt. And, of course, # 18 with its elevated basket. Great signage and excellent concrete tees made this course a joy and privilege to play.
Cons: The only con I can name here is the wind a person can encounter on the wide open holes. Otherwise I see no other cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf course that was a long time coming for the city of Baytown. I was glad to come out this day and experience it with a couple of friends. This is a great course and worth the trip out to play. I know I will do so again sometime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cool Elevated Baskets

2-4    6/23/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park space. Latest/greatest DISCatcherPro model baskets with just about all the chains you could want. Ample sized concrete tees (see Cons). Plenty of parking and the course loops back to the parking lot between holes 9 & 10 so you can restock if necessary. The elevated baskets on holes #9 and #18 are very well done and add a nice element to the course. The first half of the course is more technical requiring reasonably accurate shots to card birdies for INT/ADV players. The second half of the course opens up a lot and is more forgiving of errant drives but #10, #13, #14, and #17 really let you try to crush some drives. While the first half wouldn't be considered "woodsy" by most standards, I do like the balance of shorter shot-making holes and longer bomber holes. Very nice tee signs with accurate pictograms and rules.
Cons:
The distances on the tee signs are not all that accurate; some are off by 30ish feet. Be cautious on the nice looking concrete tee pads: they are lightly textured, and can actually be slippery especially with just a little bit of dirt/dust on them. The next issue is the walking path that winds through the course (or visa-versa) can lead to significant back-up times while you wait for pedestrians to clear the throwing areas. Then there's the issue of the dog park; it comes it to play moderatly on hole #9 and is definitely in play on hole #18. On 18, I envision most RHBH players throwing big hyzers out over the dog park intending to fade back into the fairway... which may or may not happen. Unfortunately, this is dangerous to unsuspecting dog park users. Lastly, the course easily favors RHBH throwers with only hole #15 being an obviously lefty-friendly hole vs. holes #2, #5, #6,and #12 as obvious righty-friendly holes. Many of the other straighter shots have better lines for RHBH.
Other Thoughts:
Be wary of throwing in the rough on #5 & 6 the poison ivy and thorns are unbelievable! Overall Jenkins was a fun course to play, though not a destination course. You're better off playing the course at non-peak park-going times to avoid pedestrian interference. Also, kudos to the Baytown P&R folks to reaching out to the DG community for input on the course before blindly installing it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    6/13/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: griff17
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads, new innova "28"baskets, good mix of holes, risk/reward-path ob's on the front 9 mk you think about your shots. Back 9 offers a different style of play, 5 of 9 holes over 400 , but with similar risk/reward. Fun course.
Cons: Back 9 is more open , but course was designed with new growth trees in mind .
Other Thoughts: I try not to be biased, as I offered design input on this course. I can give some insight into the design process . The front 9 landscape lent itself easily for a fun, moderately wooded, "park golf" design . Back
9 is different in landscape, more open, and lent itself to a bigger arm style of play . 5 of the back 9 holes are over 400 with hole 13 being 750ft, it was designed with new growth trees In mind to shape a great 60-70 dt wide fairway in the future. Holes 15 -16 are just over 300 and offer hazards in the form of thick shrubs/trees . Well placed shots provide a birdie chance , while errant can be punished . Hole 17 offers 3 distinct options off the tee , lefty or righty safe play hyzer , or the big turnover or hyzer flip center gap (much tighter) that Players would have to thread to reach the pin for a two. I'd encourage players to think thru some of the obvious hyzer lines ,as they may be "sucker bets". My last thoughts , fun course , good mix, great course for turny play and will get better when the trees grow in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad!

1    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: ZPEN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: kept up well, nice tee boxes, easy to follow, I like that 1 and 10 start at the parking lot. great to play front or back 9.
Cons: still kinda under construction, no tee signs yet, no numbers on tee baskets yet.
Other Thoughts: watch the ditch on hole #5, hole 10 to 18 are great for the distance shooters and 1 to 9 for the accuracy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.