Baytown, TX 
Jenkins Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Jenkins Delivers

2-4    10/2/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 74  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Tee boxes are concrete and big.

2. Baskets are are new with two sets of chains.

3. Tee signs at every hole with O.B. labeled.

4. Park is well kept. Mowed frequently.

5. Restrooms and other amenities. Jogging paths, dog, park, skate park, etc..

6. Lots of parking

7. Holes 1, 9, 18 all near parking lot.

8. Holes Nine and 18 are elevated islands.

9. Course has good use of trees , bayou and open space.

10. Practice basket right near hole 1 tee and parking lot.

11. Bag Hooks Tee Signs At Each hole.

*12. Park and city have an ongoing involvement in the park. Some of the brush along some of the fairways have been cut back.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Jogging paths can cause serious back ups.

2. The front nine plays near jungle gyms and jogging paths. So please be considerate of others. This is really the only big Con of Jenkins DGC.
Other Thoughts: I feel Jenkins is a great mix of short and long, wide open and moderately wooded holes, and uses the terrain and geographical features very well.

Hoels 1-6 play through trees and near the jogging path to bring you to the the bayou. After hole six you cross over to holes 7-18.

Best Holes front 9: 3, 4, 9

3: First shot is nothing more than a spot selection for your second shot. Careful because the trees are not forgiving if you dont pick a good line and follow it.

4. I would assume Big hyzers are the way to go since once you get past the big oak, you pretty much park it nea the basket or within 30 ft. That being said for RHBH and LHFH (LHFH is my style).

9: Elevated basket hello!! Texas Army Trail (TAT) is the only other DGC i can think back on that has an elevated basket. I love this because its one of the features of DISC GOLF that i love. You cant do that in ball golf. Other sports the basket, hole, strike zone, goal is always the same regulation size both in shape and distance form the ground. DISC GOLF IS AWESOME! ITS DIFFERENT! As with hole 18 the basket is elevated on an island as well.

The back nine hole open up to offer distance and accuracy. Hole 13 is the monster for Jenkins. posting at over 700'.

Best holes on Back 9: 13, 15

13: At over 700' this hole allows the big arms to come out and play. also gives those with drives less than 300' to work on long range rollers. The hole is pretty open some a 4 on this hole is easily manageable.

15: Being a LHFH I stepped up to the tee box thinking a perfect "S" shot would be sweet and sexy. As soon as I threw my dirver I was reminded of why i love Disc golf. My "S" left me less than 10' from the basket and watching it fly was so amazing. The beauty in disc golf is the flight of different discs and the paths you can take with them.

Jenkins is just a lot like my first course in Wisconsin. Not as much elevation though, but provides different shots to choose from to get to the basket, a range of short and long shots, wooded and non wooded holes, water hazards, and the FUN FACTOR! I highly recommend this course to all in the Houston area. With the PROS winning out right I can only say that Jenkins is a course i will go back to over and over again. A tiny bit more difficulty would put this course on my favorites list.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cool Elevated Baskets

2-4    6/23/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2014
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park space. Latest/greatest DISCatcherPro model baskets with just about all the chains you could want. Ample sized concrete tees (see Cons). Plenty of parking and the course loops back to the parking lot between holes 9 & 10 so you can restock if necessary. The elevated baskets on holes #9 and #18 are very well done and add a nice element to the course. The first half of the course is more technical requiring reasonably accurate shots to card birdies for INT/ADV players. The second half of the course opens up a lot and is more forgiving of errant drives but #10, #13, #14, and #17 really let you try to crush some drives. While the first half wouldn't be considered "woodsy" by most standards, I do like the balance of shorter shot-making holes and longer bomber holes. Very nice tee signs with accurate pictograms and rules. "Next Tee" signs placed where needed.
Cons:
The distances on the tee signs are not all that accurate; some are off by 30ish feet. Be cautious on the nice looking concrete tee pads: they are lightly textured, and can actually be slippery especially with just a little bit of dirt/dust on them. The next issue is the walking path that winds through the course (or visa-versa) can lead to significant back-up times while you wait for pedestrians to clear the throwing areas. Then there's the issue of the dog park; it comes it to play moderately on hole #10 and is definitely in play on hole #18. On 18, I envision most RHBH players throwing big hyzers out over the dog park intending to fade back into the fairway... which may or may not happen. Unfortunately, this is dangerous to unsuspecting dog park users. Lastly, the course easily favors RHBH throwers with only hole #15 being an obviously lefty-friendly hole vs. holes #2, #5, #6, and #12 as obvious righty-friendly holes. Many of the other straighter shots have better lines for RHBH.
Other Thoughts:
Be wary of throwing in the rough on #5 & 6 the poison ivy and thorns are unbelievable! Overall Jenkins was a fun course to play, though not a destination course. You're better off playing the course at non-peak park-going times to avoid pedestrian interference. Also, kudos to the Baytown P&R folks to reaching out to the DG community for input on the course before blindly installing it.

Update:
The Baytown P&R folks have cleared all the [thorny] brush from the area of holes #14-16! While this gives the park and course a much nicer look and is a welcome addition it does make these holes easier than they originally were.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: cjt613
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First off, i'd like to say how i'm excited to have a course in Baytown!!! I can now play often with a short drive to get to the course.

The course was a lot of fun and I can't wait to play it more.

Definitely had to use a lot of my bag on this course...lot's of variety.

I was able to navigate the course very easily without the t signs being put up yet.

Baskets are great and installed nicely!
Cons: The back 9 wore me out a bit with the long wide open shots but still fun.

Not much shade for a lot of the course, especially the last half. Bring water and stay hydrated...gets a little toasty.

Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing the sport grow in Baytown and the surrounding areas.

The front 9 plays around the park area so be careful of walkers and other park goers as they get use to the new activity.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a huge piece of land in a multi use park in the middle of the city of Baytown. The concrete tees are some of the best around and the baskets are brand new and very nice; they are cemented into the ground and two of the tees are elevated.

Even with a lack of tee signs (which should be here soon) navigation was not an issue. Most, if not all, of the teepads were near the previous basket.

The course has some interesting shots. Shots that involve throwing over fences or throwing over a creek. #8 was the shortest hole on the course but comes to mind as the basket is interestingly place in between two tight trees.

The course has a good variety of shots. The first nine being shorter and a tad tighter while the back nine are much longer and much more wide open, think 750 ft a number that you will not find anywhere in Houston besides Tom Bass Park. There is a little something for everyone.
Cons: The back nine killed this course for me. Long holes are fine. However, five long holes in a row with little to no obstacles can suck the fun factor out of the course pretty quickly. #13, which is the long hole, is a fine hole but #14,#15,#17,#18 are all ~450ft and wide open. Where is the fun to that?

A couple of the holes in the front nine played very close to the playground and other activities at the park. Because disc golf is a new scene at the park many park patrons will not be aware for a while about what disc golf is.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this side of town got a course because there really was nothing over here. This is a good course but not a great one. The park has a TON of space which is probably why there are such long holes. This would be a great place to hold a tournament and a good place to play a few times a month.

Bring water. With the lack of shade, the sun can be quite hot.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.