Baytown, TX 
Jenkins Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #18 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 452ft.   3 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
  

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: cjt613
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First off, i'd like to say how i'm excited to have a course in Baytown!!! I can now play often with a short drive to get to the course.

The course was a lot of fun and I can't wait to play it more.

Definitely had to use a lot of my bag on this course...lot's of variety.

I was able to navigate the course very easily without the t signs being put up yet.

Baskets are great and installed nicely!
Cons: The back 9 wore me out a bit with the long wide open shots but still fun.

Not much shade for a lot of the course, especially the last half. Bring water and stay hydrated...gets a little toasty.

Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing the sport grow in Baytown and the surrounding areas.

The front 9 plays around the park area so be careful of walkers and other park goers as they get use to the new activity.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: griff17
Played: 69  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads, new innova "28"baskets, good mix of holes, risk/reward-path ob's on the front 9 mk you think about your shots. Back 9 offers a different style of play, 5 of 9 holes over 400 , but with similar risk/reward. Fun course.
Cons: Back 9 is more open , but course was designed with new growth trees in mind .
Other Thoughts: I try not to be biased, as I offered design input on this course. I can give some insight into the design process . The front 9 landscape lent itself easily for a fun, moderately wooded, "park golf" design . Back
9 is different in landscape, more open, and lent itself to a bigger arm style of play . 5 of the back 9 holes are over 400 with hole 13 being 750ft, it was designed with new growth trees In mind to shape a great 60-70 dt wide fairway in the future. Holes 15 -16 are just over 300 and offer hazards in the form of thick shrubs/trees . Well placed shots provide a birdie chance , while errant can be punished . Hole 17 offers 3 distinct options off the tee , lefty or righty safe play hyzer , or the big turnover or hyzer flip center gap (much tighter) that Players would have to thread to reach the pin for a two. I'd encourage players to think thru some of the obvious hyzer lines ,as they may be "sucker bets". My last thoughts , fun course , good mix, great course for turny play and will get better when the trees grow in.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 151  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a huge piece of land in a multi use park in the middle of the city of Baytown. The concrete tees are some of the best around and the baskets are brand new and very nice; they are cemented into the ground and two of the tees are elevated.

Even with a lack of tee signs (which should be here soon) navigation was not an issue. Most, if not all, of the teepads were near the previous basket.

The course has some interesting shots. Shots that involve throwing over fences or throwing over a creek. #8 was the shortest hole on the course but comes to mind as the basket is interestingly place in between two tight trees.

The course has a good variety of shots. The first nine being shorter and a tad tighter while the back nine are much longer and much more wide open, think 750 ft a number that you will not find anywhere in Houston besides Tom Bass Park. There is a little something for everyone.
Cons: The back nine killed this course for me. Long holes are fine. However, five long holes in a row with little to no obstacles can suck the fun factor out of the course pretty quickly. #13, which is the long hole, is a fine hole but #14,#15,#17,#18 are all ~450ft and wide open. Where is the fun to that?

A couple of the holes in the front nine played very close to the playground and other activities at the park. Because disc golf is a new scene at the park many park patrons will not be aware for a while about what disc golf is.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this side of town got a course because there really was nothing over here. This is a good course but not a great one. The park has a TON of space which is probably why there are such long holes. This would be a great place to hold a tournament and a good place to play a few times a month.

Bring water. With the lack of shade, the sun can be quite hot.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  not bad!

1    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: ZPEN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: kept up well, nice tee boxes, easy to follow, I like that 1 and 10 start at the parking lot. great to play front or back 9.
Cons: still kinda under construction, no tee signs yet, no numbers on tee baskets yet.
Other Thoughts: watch the ditch on hole #5, hole 10 to 18 are great for the distance shooters and 1 to 9 for the accuracy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.