Baytown, TX 
Jenkins Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #18 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 452ft.   3 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 Great layout

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: H-Town Hero
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Terrific overall layout; the course takes you on a "bowtie"-like path, where Hole 1's tee, 9's basket, 10's tee, and 18's basket all converge around the parking lot, making it very convenient to play just either set of 9, all 18 in order, or even each set reversed (like 10-18, then 1-9) if you'd like, and in any of those situations there is zero extra hiking back to your car. Also, the entire course is perfectly continuous -- each tee is extremely close to the previous hole's basket.

- Amazing signage! Each tee has a fully illustrated layout, with the hole number, distance, par, AND A PAIR OF BAG HOOKS! YAY! If you don't see the next tee right away (which is rare), there is always an arrow sign pointing you the right way.

- Long, concrete tees.

- Great mix of long and short holes, both wide open and tree cluttered, and a couple that go over / hug the creek bank.

- Nice, new, double-chained baskets that are clearly numbered.

- Park is well maintained, never overgrown.

- Need an excuse to come here? There's plenty of stuff here to convince the family: skate park, dog park, nice playgrounds, ball fields, plenty of trails including several that go throughout the trees... I usually bring my daughter, and I always remember to bring a plastic bag of Cheerios, so we can feed the many turtles that gather under the footbridge by the 4th Hole's basket.

- Benches and trash bins spread evenly throughout the course.

- The 9th and 18th's baskets being elevated on brick pyramids are a very nice touch.

- There's a practice basket by the 1st tee.
Cons: - While there are several shallow drainage ditches dug throughout the park (mostly around the playground area), Jenkins still has some flooding problems and takes longer than other places to dry out, mostly due to its overall flat terrain. Hole #1 is almost always completely underwater, unless the weather's been dry for at least a week or two. Other areas that (more often than not) suffer from standing water / mud are the 5th and 11th baskets. The 5th basket in particular seems to be placed in an area where the ground is just slightly sunken in more than everything past a 4 foot radius; one would think just moving it a few feet onto higher ground would fix this.

- While the park is well maintained, be extra careful of the thick brush growing in certain OB zones... they're very dense, and laced with plenty of thorns! Specifically around 5 and 10's baskets, and the whole left sides of 6, 11, and 12.

- The 1st and 2nd holes hug the outfield fence of a ballpark, so a bad hyzer throw on either of these would be pretty bad, mmm-kay?

- Like the other reviews say, the popular walking trails can really mess with your momentum, but I've only experienced real problems on the 9th hole, since a trail goes down its entire fairway from the parking lot... but I guess that's the price you pay for a busy park.
Other Thoughts: The 5th hole: while "over-the-water" holes are pretty cool, what makes this hole extra challenging is the extremely tight margin of error it allows... the hole is placed along a narrow trail just a few feet away from the creek's steep bank, but just in front of a treeline that's filled with some DENSE, THORNY brush. So if you throw just a little bit short, you risk tumbling into the creek, but on the other hand, overthrowing just a little bit can make you do your best Dr. Livingston impression, as you embark on your "Quest for the Lost Disc".

All in all, it's a great course, as long as the weather's been dry... otherwise it's a miserable mud fest. But the best part is having a well designed course less than a mile from my house! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid course!

5+    12/20/2014   12/28/2014
Review By: ddoublep4517
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has every shot in the book! From your tunnel shot to the big arm hyzer flip! You have a mix of the short holes to the long holes with the front nine and back nine ending on elevated baskets! If your a beginner I recomend playing the front nine a few times before moving on to the back nine, the front nine is more technical and short while the back nine is full of big arm open shots! The course stays very well maintained by the city of Baytown so you never have to worry about playing in tall grass! And my favorite part of the course is the long tee boxes!
Cons: This course is shared in a park and a very busy one at that so you will often find yourself waiting to throw!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite course! Worth the drive!

2-4    7/10/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Loganpeake
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where do I begin?? This course is awesome! Baytown did a great job when they put this course in. Not only did they seek help from the dg community, but they didn't skimp on materials and land. This course has a little bit of everything...from lightly wooded shots to shots across the bayou, to grip it and rip it shots. The concrete tee pads are the best I've seen to date, the baskets are double chains and of high quality, and the course is very well thought out. Holes 1,9,and 18 are all near the nicely sized parking lot if you need to take a break, 9 and 18 are elevated with a nicely done brick pyramid-like hill, and there are facilities on site in the event you need to use the restroom or wash your hands or feet. Everyone I have taken out here has deemed this course an instant favorite of theirs. I highly recommend taking the drive out here to check it out. Come in the morning or evening, as a few long
holes are not shaded. Kudos to those involved with the design and construction of this course!
Cons: None. Only thing I can think of is I wish it were a little closer and there are 3 looooong holes back to back. Would've been nice to see them spread throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the holes along and across the little bayou and bring bug spray and water!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jenkins Delivers

2-4    10/2/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 81  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Tee boxes are concrete and big.

2. Baskets are are new with two sets of chains.

3. Tee signs at every hole with O.B. labeled.

4. Park is well kept. Mowed frequently.

5. Restrooms and other amenities. Jogging paths, dog, park, skate park, etc..

6. Lots of parking

7. Holes 1, 9, 18 all near parking lot.

8. Holes Nine and 18 are elevated islands.

9. Course has good use of trees , bayou and open space.

10. Practice basket right near hole 1 tee and parking lot.

11. Bag Hooks Tee Signs At Each hole.

*12. Park and city have an ongoing involvement in the park. Some of the brush along some of the fairways have been cut back.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Jogging paths can cause serious back ups.

2. The front nine plays near jungle gyms and jogging paths. So please be considerate of others. This is really the only big Con of Jenkins DGC.
Other Thoughts: I feel Jenkins is a great mix of short and long, wide open and moderately wooded holes, and uses the terrain and geographical features very well.

Hoels 1-6 play through trees and near the jogging path to bring you to the the bayou. After hole six you cross over to holes 7-18.

Best Holes front 9: 3, 4, 9

3: First shot is nothing more than a spot selection for your second shot. Careful because the trees are not forgiving if you dont pick a good line and follow it.

4. I would assume Big hyzers are the way to go since once you get past the big oak, you pretty much park it nea the basket or within 30 ft. That being said for RHBH and LHFH (LHFH is my style).

9: Elevated basket hello!! Texas Army Trail (TAT) is the only other DGC i can think back on that has an elevated basket. I love this because its one of the features of DISC GOLF that i love. You cant do that in ball golf. Other sports the basket, hole, strike zone, goal is always the same regulation size both in shape and distance form the ground. DISC GOLF IS AWESOME! ITS DIFFERENT! As with hole 18 the basket is elevated on an island as well.

The back nine hole open up to offer distance and accuracy. Hole 13 is the monster for Jenkins. posting at over 700'.

Best holes on Back 9: 13, 15

13: At over 700' this hole allows the big arms to come out and play. also gives those with drives less than 300' to work on long range rollers. The hole is pretty open some a 4 on this hole is easily manageable.

15: Being a LHFH I stepped up to the tee box thinking a perfect "S" shot would be sweet and sexy. As soon as I threw my dirver I was reminded of why i love Disc golf. My "S" left me less than 10' from the basket and watching it fly was so amazing. The beauty in disc golf is the flight of different discs and the paths you can take with them.

Jenkins is just a lot like my first course in Wisconsin. Not as much elevation though, but provides different shots to choose from to get to the basket, a range of short and long shots, wooded and non wooded holes, water hazards, and the FUN FACTOR! I highly recommend this course to all in the Houston area. With the PROS winning out right I can only say that Jenkins is a course i will go back to over and over again. A tiny bit more difficulty would put this course on my favorites list.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best For Miles Around

1    9/10/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Jenkins Park is a great disc golf course and just what this area needed as there are not too many others that are close. I enjoyed my round here. The layout was good for using the land well in the park and had some good challenges throughout. My favorite holes were: # 5 with its throw over the bayou-excellent birdie hole; # 6 which is also an excellent birdie hole. # 9 is a great challenge with its trees in just the right spots, narrow fairway, ob's and elevated basket. # 13 with its "grip and rip" open fairway. And I had to like # 14 as I got birdie with a 100 foot sunk putt. And, of course, # 18 with its elevated basket. Great signage and excellent concrete tees made this course a joy and privilege to play.
Cons: The only con I can name here is the wind a person can encounter on the wide open holes. Otherwise I see no other cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf course that was a long time coming for the city of Baytown. I was glad to come out this day and experience it with a couple of friends. This is a great course and worth the trip out to play. I know I will do so again sometime.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rookie Review

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: MatthewDH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's brand new so the tee platforms and baskets are in great shape (high quality), practice basket near hole 1, good layout with regards to parking, a variety of hole layouts requiring different shots, course looks great and is easy to get around.
Cons: Back 9 is fairly open (lack of shade) but I think the plan is to let some trees mature and grow in.
Other Thoughts: I heard and read rave reviews of this course in my hometown and decided to check it (and the sport) out. I didn't give a 5.0 only because I have nothing else to compare it to, but I had a blast. From this rookie's perspective the course is truly phenomenal. The perfect level of challenege to not scare me away, but in fact get me hooked and itching to come back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: redsport3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes! Challenging holes! Nice baskets and awesome elevated baskets on #9 and #18. Cool design on the perimeter of a huge park. Lots of activity at the park for families - walking/running trail, playground, dog park, skatepark, etc. Bring your family while you play! Great spot to get picked up on a group to play anytime. Awesome long hole on #13 - 763 feet!!
Cons: Watch out for walkers. It's not too bad but you still need to keep an eye out.
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 - watch out for the bayou - you might lose a disc if you don't make it across. And be sure to have mosquito spray this time of year!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: Dustin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads, Two Raised Baskets, benches through out the course, Innova Disccatcher Baskets and parking at hole 1 that is near end of course.
Cons: Signage coming soon will help with navagation of course and distance.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for all skill levels

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cool Elevated Baskets

2-4    6/23/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 193  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2014
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park space. Latest/greatest DISCatcherPro model baskets with just about all the chains you could want. Ample sized concrete tees (see Cons). Plenty of parking and the course loops back to the parking lot between holes 9 & 10 so you can restock if necessary. The elevated baskets on holes #9 and #18 are very well done and add a nice element to the course. The first half of the course is more technical requiring reasonably accurate shots to card birdies for INT/ADV players. The second half of the course opens up a lot and is more forgiving of errant drives but #10, #13, #14, and #17 really let you try to crush some drives. While the first half wouldn't be considered "woodsy" by most standards, I do like the balance of shorter shot-making holes and longer bomber holes. Very nice tee signs with accurate pictograms and rules. "Next Tee" signs placed where needed.
Cons:
The distances on the tee signs are not all that accurate; some are off by 30ish feet. Be cautious on the nice looking concrete tee pads: they are lightly textured, and can actually be slippery especially with just a little bit of dirt/dust on them. The next issue is the walking path that winds through the course (or visa-versa) can lead to significant back-up times while you wait for pedestrians to clear the throwing areas. Then there's the issue of the dog park; it comes it to play moderately on hole #10 and is definitely in play on hole #18. On 18, I envision most RHBH players throwing big hyzers out over the dog park intending to fade back into the fairway... which may or may not happen. Unfortunately, this is dangerous to unsuspecting dog park users. Lastly, the course easily favors RHBH throwers with only hole #15 being an obviously lefty-friendly hole vs. holes #2, #5, #6, and #12 as obvious righty-friendly holes. Many of the other straighter shots have better lines for RHBH.
Other Thoughts:
Be wary of throwing in the rough on #5 & 6 the poison ivy and thorns are unbelievable! Overall Jenkins was a fun course to play, though not a destination course. You're better off playing the course at non-peak park-going times to avoid pedestrian interference. Also, kudos to the Baytown P&R folks to reaching out to the DG community for input on the course before blindly installing it.

Update:
The Baytown P&R folks have cleared all the [thorny] brush from the area of holes #14-16! While this gives the park and course a much nicer look and is a welcome addition it does make these holes easier than they originally were.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

2-4    6/13/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: cwh4soc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Multiple shots, elevated baskets, concrete tees, benches though out the course
Cons: Not very many, front 9 offers nice skilled shots, and the back is more open. From the large parking lot, you can play either the front or back 9 as they both start and end from basically the same spot.
Other Thoughts: Quality course in Baytown

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center