Baytown, TX 
Jenkins Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: c_a_miller Hole #18 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 452ft.   3 / 452ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Jenkins Delivers

2-4    10/2/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros:

1. Tee boxes are concrete and big.

2. Baskets are are new with two sets of chains.

3. Tee signs at every hole with O.B. labeled.

4. Park is well kept. Mowed frequently.

5. Restrooms and other amenities. Jogging paths, dog, park, skate park, etc..

6. Lots of parking

7. Holes 1, 9, 18 all near parking lot.

8. Holes Nine and 18 are elevated islands.

9. Course has good use of trees , bayou and open space.

10. Practice basket right near hole 1 tee and parking lot.

11. Bag Hooks Tee Signs At Each hole.

*12. Park and city have an ongoing involvement in the park. Some of the brush along some of the fairways have been cut back.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Jogging paths can cause serious back ups.

2. The front nine plays near jungle gyms and jogging paths. So please be considerate of others. This is really the only big Con of Jenkins DGC.
Other Thoughts: I feel Jenkins is a great mix of short and long, wide open and moderately wooded holes, and uses the terrain and geographical features very well.

Hoels 1-6 play through trees and near the jogging path to bring you to the the bayou. After hole six you cross over to holes 7-18.

Best Holes front 9: 3, 4, 9

3: First shot is nothing more than a spot selection for your second shot. Careful because the trees are not forgiving if you dont pick a good line and follow it.

4. I would assume Big hyzers are the way to go since once you get past the big oak, you pretty much park it nea the basket or within 30 ft. That being said for RHBH and LHFH (LHFH is my style).

9: Elevated basket hello!! Texas Army Trail (TAT) is the only other DGC i can think back on that has an elevated basket. I love this because its one of the features of DISC GOLF that i love. You cant do that in ball golf. Other sports the basket, hole, strike zone, goal is always the same regulation size both in shape and distance form the ground. DISC GOLF IS AWESOME! ITS DIFFERENT! As with hole 18 the basket is elevated on an island as well.

The back nine hole open up to offer distance and accuracy. Hole 13 is the monster for Jenkins. posting at over 700'.

Best holes on Back 9: 13, 15

13: At over 700' this hole allows the big arms to come out and play. also gives those with drives less than 300' to work on long range rollers. The hole is pretty open some a 4 on this hole is easily manageable.

15: Being a LHFH I stepped up to the tee box thinking a perfect "S" shot would be sweet and sexy. As soon as I threw my dirver I was reminded of why i love Disc golf. My "S" left me less than 10' from the basket and watching it fly was so amazing. The beauty in disc golf is the flight of different discs and the paths you can take with them.

Jenkins is just a lot like my first course in Wisconsin. Not as much elevation though, but provides different shots to choose from to get to the basket, a range of short and long shots, wooded and non wooded holes, water hazards, and the FUN FACTOR! I highly recommend this course to all in the Houston area. With the PROS winning out right I can only say that Jenkins is a course i will go back to over and over again. A tiny bit more difficulty would put this course on my favorites list.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best For Miles Around

1    9/10/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jenkins Park is a great disc golf course and just what this area needed as there are not too many others that are close. I enjoyed my round here. The layout was good for using the land well in the park and had some good challenges throughout. My favorite holes were: # 5 with its throw over the bayou-excellent birdie hole; # 6 which is also an excellent birdie hole. # 9 is a great challenge with its trees in just the right spots, narrow fairway, ob's and elevated basket. # 13 with its "grip and rip" open fairway. And I had to like # 14 as I got birdie with a 100 foot sunk putt. And, of course, # 18 with its elevated basket. Great signage and excellent concrete tees made this course a joy and privilege to play.
Cons: The only con I can name here is the wind a person can encounter on the wide open holes. Otherwise I see no other cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: This is a disc golf course that was a long time coming for the city of Baytown. I was glad to come out this day and experience it with a couple of friends. This is a great course and worth the trip out to play. I know I will do so again sometime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rookie Review

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: MatthewDH
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's brand new so the tee platforms and baskets are in great shape (high quality), practice basket near hole 1, good layout with regards to parking, a variety of hole layouts requiring different shots, course looks great and is easy to get around.
Cons: Back 9 is fairly open (lack of shade) but I think the plan is to let some trees mature and grow in.
Other Thoughts: I heard and read rave reviews of this course in my hometown and decided to check it (and the sport) out. I didn't give a 5.0 only because I have nothing else to compare it to, but I had a blast. From this rookie's perspective the course is truly phenomenal. The perfect level of challenege to not scare me away, but in fact get me hooked and itching to come back.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: redsport3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes! Challenging holes! Nice baskets and awesome elevated baskets on #9 and #18. Cool design on the perimeter of a huge park. Lots of activity at the park for families - walking/running trail, playground, dog park, skatepark, etc. Bring your family while you play! Great spot to get picked up on a group to play anytime. Awesome long hole on #13 - 763 feet!!
Cons: Watch out for walkers. It's not too bad but you still need to keep an eye out.
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 - watch out for the bayou - you might lose a disc if you don't make it across. And be sure to have mosquito spray this time of year!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: Dustin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads, Two Raised Baskets, benches through out the course, Innova Disccatcher Baskets and parking at hole 1 that is near end of course.
Cons: Signage coming soon will help with navagation of course and distance.
Other Thoughts: Fun course for all skill levels

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cool Elevated Baskets

2-4    6/23/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Beautiful park space. Latest/greatest DISCatcherPro model baskets with just about all the chains you could want. Ample sized concrete tees (see Cons). Plenty of parking and the course loops back to the parking lot between holes 9 & 10 so you can restock if necessary. The elevated baskets on holes #9 and #18 are very well done and add a nice element to the course. The first half of the course is more technical requiring reasonably accurate shots to card birdies for INT/ADV players. The second half of the course opens up a lot and is more forgiving of errant drives but #10, #13, #14, and #17 really let you try to crush some drives. While the first half wouldn't be considered "woodsy" by most standards, I do like the balance of shorter shot-making holes and longer bomber holes. Very nice tee signs with accurate pictograms and rules.
Cons:
The distances on the tee signs are not all that accurate; some are off by 30ish feet. Be cautious on the nice looking concrete tee pads: they are lightly textured, and can actually be slippery especially with just a little bit of dirt/dust on them. The next issue is the walking path that winds through the course (or visa-versa) can lead to significant back-up times while you wait for pedestrians to clear the throwing areas. Then there's the issue of the dog park; it comes it to play moderatly on hole #9 and is definitely in play on hole #18. On 18, I envision most RHBH players throwing big hyzers out over the dog park intending to fade back into the fairway... which may or may not happen. Unfortunately, this is dangerous to unsuspecting dog park users. Lastly, the course easily favors RHBH throwers with only hole #15 being an obviously lefty-friendly hole vs. holes #2, #5, #6,and #12 as obvious righty-friendly holes. Many of the other straighter shots have better lines for RHBH.
Other Thoughts:
Be wary of throwing in the rough on #5 & 6 the poison ivy and thorns are unbelievable! Overall Jenkins was a fun course to play, though not a destination course. You're better off playing the course at non-peak park-going times to avoid pedestrian interference. Also, kudos to the Baytown P&R folks to reaching out to the DG community for input on the course before blindly installing it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    6/13/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: cwh4soc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Multiple shots, elevated baskets, concrete tees, benches though out the course
Cons: Not very many, front 9 offers nice skilled shots, and the back is more open. From the large parking lot, you can play either the front or back 9 as they both start and end from basically the same spot.
Other Thoughts: Quality course in Baytown

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: cjt613
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First off, i'd like to say how i'm excited to have a course in Baytown!!! I can now play often with a short drive to get to the course.

The course was a lot of fun and I can't wait to play it more.

Definitely had to use a lot of my bag on this course...lot's of variety.

I was able to navigate the course very easily without the t signs being put up yet.

Baskets are great and installed nicely!
Cons: The back 9 wore me out a bit with the long wide open shots but still fun.

Not much shade for a lot of the course, especially the last half. Bring water and stay hydrated...gets a little toasty.

Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing the sport grow in Baytown and the surrounding areas.

The front 9 plays around the park area so be careful of walkers and other park goers as they get use to the new activity.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/13/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: griff17
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads, new innova "28"baskets, good mix of holes, risk/reward-path ob's on the front 9 mk you think about your shots. Back 9 offers a different style of play, 5 of 9 holes over 400 , but with similar risk/reward. Fun course.
Cons: Back 9 is more open , but course was designed with new growth trees in mind .
Other Thoughts: I try not to be biased, as I offered design input on this course. I can give some insight into the design process . The front 9 landscape lent itself easily for a fun, moderately wooded, "park golf" design . Back
9 is different in landscape, more open, and lent itself to a bigger arm style of play . 5 of the back 9 holes are over 400 with hole 13 being 750ft, it was designed with new growth trees In mind to shape a great 60-70 dt wide fairway in the future. Holes 15 -16 are just over 300 and offer hazards in the form of thick shrubs/trees . Well placed shots provide a birdie chance , while errant can be punished . Hole 17 offers 3 distinct options off the tee , lefty or righty safe play hyzer , or the big turnover or hyzer flip center gap (much tighter) that Players would have to thread to reach the pin for a two. I'd encourage players to think thru some of the obvious hyzer lines ,as they may be "sucker bets". My last thoughts , fun course , good mix, great course for turny play and will get better when the trees grow in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 114  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a huge piece of land in a multi use park in the middle of the city of Baytown. The concrete tees are some of the best around and the baskets are brand new and very nice; they are cemented into the ground and two of the tees are elevated.

Even with a lack of tee signs (which should be here soon) navigation was not an issue. Most, if not all, of the teepads were near the previous basket.

The course has some interesting shots. Shots that involve throwing over fences or throwing over a creek. #8 was the shortest hole on the course but comes to mind as the basket is interestingly place in between two tight trees.

The course has a good variety of shots. The first nine being shorter and a tad tighter while the back nine are much longer and much more wide open, think 750 ft a number that you will not find anywhere in Houston besides Tom Bass Park. There is a little something for everyone.
Cons: The back nine killed this course for me. Long holes are fine. However, five long holes in a row with little to no obstacles can suck the fun factor out of the course pretty quickly. #13, which is the long hole, is a fine hole but #14,#15,#17,#18 are all ~450ft and wide open. Where is the fun to that?

A couple of the holes in the front nine played very close to the playground and other activities at the park. Because disc golf is a new scene at the park many park patrons will not be aware for a while about what disc golf is.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this side of town got a course because there really was nothing over here. This is a good course but not a great one. The park has a TON of space which is probably why there are such long holes. This would be a great place to hold a tournament and a good place to play a few times a month.

Bring water. With the lack of shade, the sun can be quite hot.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.